Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,399 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well Timmay, like Cinderella, it is midnight, time for you to go to bed. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

8 and 5 here but one neighbour is milking at 7 and 4 and another at 9.30 and 7.30.

8 and 5 here as well, I try to be earlier in the morning during AI though so I'm ready for tech when he arrives, milking late in the evening is a bolix alright although tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

6 and 5 here when the mornings are bright ,but as soon as it gets dark my hibernation genes kick in:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭stanflt

Neighbour up the road can be seen bringing in cows at 9.30 am- he also has 450 milked in different groups before that so sometimes what you see isn't the full story

I brought a group in at 8.30 this am- cows split into 2 herds as it's taking 3 hours to milk and by the time the last cows were milked all the good nice grass was gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

stanflt wrote: »
    Neighbour up the road can be seen bringing in cows at 9.30 am- he also has 450 milked in different groups before that so sometimes what you see isn't the full story

I brought a group in at 8.30 this am- cows split into 2 herds as it's taking 3 hours to milk and by the time the last cows were milked all the good nice grass was gone

Any plans for new parlour our is it shelved with current milk price....

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Any plans for new parlour our is it shelved with current milk price....

No new parlour in the pipe line- may reduce cow numbers going forward- stop rearing young stock and let leased land go- milk 100 cows with about 20 heifers kept- total Spring calving herd
    Work off farm to make a living
    I've a young family and I don't see milk paying the bills for the foreseeable future

Farming may only be a hobby going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

No new parlour in the pipe line- may reduce cow numbers going forward- stop rearing young stock and let leased land go- milk 100 cows with about 20 heifers kept- total Spring calving herd
    I've a young family and I don't see milk paying the bills for the foreseeable future

No Stan, you have to double cow numbers, take more land. That's only way to survive. Surprised you didn't get that memo!!

visatorro wrote: »
    No Stan, you have to double cow numbers, take more land. That's only way to survive. Surprised you didn't get that memo!!

Forgot to say that I will slowly have to start selling off some parcels of land to support milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

Forgot to say that I will slowly have to start selling off some parcels of land to support milk price

Sounds like a plan.
    Sure look if your stuck I'll borrow a few cows off you there for a few lactations. Just to give you a dig out ya know!

visatorro wrote: »
    Sounds like a plan.
    Sure look if your stuck I'll borrow a few cows off you there for a few lactations. Just to give you a dig out ya know!

Jeez that would be great cause I doubt I would get someone to buy them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Joking right??

Btw will you pm me a price for 4 young bulls? Go easy on me.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Dawggone wrote: »

Joking right??

Btw will you pm me a price for 4 young bulls? Go easy on me.....
    Dawg positioning himself to be selling a load of hol heifers/ expanding mad in 2 years time I wonder.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Hi all, sorry to go off topic slighty, just wondering what are the regulations regarding movement of calves i.e. is there a certain age they have to be before movement allowed, how long can you move before tb test required, is there any other restriction on movement (know calf has to be BVD free), thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sillycave wrote: »
    Hi all, sorry to go off topic slighty, just wondering what are the regulations regarding movement of calves i.e. is there a certain age they have to be before movement allowed, how long can you move before tb test required, is there any other restriction on movement (know calf has to be BVD free), thanks
    under 42 days before tb test required, once you have bvd result you can work away, edited to say you need a valid permit to move them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Milked out wrote: »
    Dawg positioning himself to be selling a load of hol heifers/ expanding mad in 2 years time I wonder.....

Simple really..
    I'm getting paid the same money for limxhol calves as purebred hols.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Dawggone wrote: »
    Simple really..
    I'm getting paid the same money for limxhol calves as purebred hols.

And you want to get into the best black and whites in the world. #differentbreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

whelan2 wrote: »
    under 42 days before tb test required, once you have bvd result you can work away, edited to say you need a valid permit to move them

thanks whelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Just used up the last two straws my AI guy has of HMY, mainly to get a red and white minx out of my red and white minx.

I make that 5 days breeding, 50% served, no synchronisation. Tiny herds make every statistic except SCC look better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

keep going wrote: »
    If i remember rightly there was a piece of that farm up the road , did ye buy that as well,I wont have time to call , too busy milking

Yeah bought the whole farm. 'Twas a shame 50 acres of the original farm was planted as I reclaimed poorer ground than that planted. Not to worry If I'm around Youll find me chilling in the hammock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

kowtow wrote: »
    Just used up the last two straws my AI guy has of HMY, mainly to get a red and white minx out of my red and white minx.

I make that 5 days breeding, 50% served, no synchronisation. Tiny herds make every statistic except SCC look better.

You could be 50days trying to catch and successfully breed the second 50%!! AI and small herds....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Muckit wrote: »
    You could be 50days trying to catch and successfully breed the second 50%!! AI and small herds....

I don't doubt it, I've told the AI guy he can expect to still be coming on Christmas day.

By then they'll have every sort of patch in every sort of position, and at least a dozen neck collars on.

Still only a 25% chance of getting a red calf

Hmy is a carrier of the recessive gene so only has 1 allele trait

Your red cow could either be a carrier or a homozygous- if she is homozygous this would increase your chance to 50%

If you used a homozygous on a homozygous you would get a 100% red calf

I'm no geneticist so maybe I'm wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Go way to phuck will ya !!!!!!!

use norwegian red either, got a lovely red and white BULL calf from my red and white hmy cow this year.

Long day here hoofcare man here and debudded all calves. He was well impressed with my mortellaro programme, which involves a 2 litre plastic bottle and the top from a sippy water bottle and linocin powder, all mortellaro is dead:) he said people are moving away from foot baths as it spreads it more so than cures it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Stan if your selling a few cows let me know.

How much a kg were ya thinking.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Have you looked at brown swiss or montys.?

The brown swiss are supposed to produce ideal milk for cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

whelan2 wrote: »
    Long day here hoofcare man here and debudded all calves. He was well impressed with my mortellaro programme, which involves a 2 litre plastic bottle and the top from a sippy water bottle and linocin powder, all mortellaro is dead:) he said people are moving away from foot baths as it spreads it more so than cures it.

It's the same with teat dip and spray.
    Spray don't dip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mf240 wrote: »
    Have you looked at brown swiss or montys.?

The brown swiss are supposed to produce ideal milk for cheese.
    That's if they survive being fed as calves.

They are absolute ************* ***** ******* to feed as calves.

I banned the AI man from even coming into the yard if he had Brown Swiss straws in his tank in case he got one mixed up with my straws.

Sweet mother of Christ, I'm getting flashbacks now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That's if they survive being fed as calves.

They are absolute ************* ***** ******* to feed as calves.

I banned the AI man from even coming into the yard if he had Brown Swiss straws in his tank in case he got one mixed up with my straws.

Sweet mother of Christ, I'm getting flashbacks now:(

We had a limo bull back in the eighties that threw calves like that. Every one of them had a deathwish. He still comes up in conversation from time to time. The fckn flashbacks are horrendous.