Beauty blogger rants - no names - only established users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭scarbouro

Quite surprised at some of the Bloggers attending the Mac cosmetics press call. Especially since they bang on about loving animals so much. Do they not realise Mac carry out animal testing. I don't think they should be supporting companies who advocate animal cruelty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 crabbysamwich

One of things that annoyed me over the week was a snapchatter interviewing a doctor about derma fillers and saying he believes you should age whatever way you want etc. Grand. Flicked through most of the snaps with the doc but then caught at the end him comaring twins i think where one had it and one didn't and he says "as you can see the one who doesn't just looks more tired" no she didn't. She actually looked lovely.

I've actually just unfollowed 99% of the irish ones i followed. I just realised I wouldnt purposely sit in front of the telly and watch a load of ads so why am I opening up my phone to do so. Head wrecking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭CloudCumulus

Unfortunately the love of animals goes out the window when there's a chance of getting free hotel stays and goody bags and maybe some exposure in the UK.
    I wouldn't have gone with the trailer trash jeans and shoes that one particular blogger delighted in showing us though :)

Unfortunately the love of animals goes out the window when there's a chance of getting free hotel stays and goody bags and maybe some exposure in the UK.

That's very true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I never knew Mac tested on animals! And there ends my relationship with Mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

This week's 'Look what I got' seems to be T*m F**d sunglasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭hearmehearye

Anyone else notice last week or the week before a certain department store seemed to be fitting a few influencers and they came away with bras? Thought it was genuine when I saw the first but another two later I had it Sussed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

Can you pm the bloggers as i follow alot hut didnt see bra fitting post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 fitzytour

I followed about ten bloggers on snapchat/instagram up until today...I deleted them all bar three! It was actually mindblowing how little content they put up and how boring and narcisstic their stories were! One particular blogger who is pregnant at the moment is actually mindnumbing to watch and I really liked her before! All she does is make tea, take naps, go grocery shopping and for coffee....I do not think she realises how lazy she is coming across. I know she is pregnant but for christs sake..waking up first thing in the morning and rolling over to grab your phone and take a snapchat video while your still clearing a frog from your throat is actually pathetic! I mean if you are going to do this, make a private snapchat account and keep it separate from your so called 'professional blogger' account. The fact that I was getting annoyed watching her snapchats made me realise all of a sudden how bloody mindnumbing they are and how stupid I was for watching it in the first place. Why did it take me so long to unfollow!! They should go and do a bit of real work...like <snip, no names>...these bloggers actually continuously strive to put up interesting and informative content!

RANT OVER!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Unreg0909

I'd hardly call 10,000 selfies/gym photos/doc photos/flogging clothes on depop 5 mins after wearing them informative content. There are a number of relatively good influencers out there. Can't call them bloggers as they don't actually blog so much . However some of their snapchats I really enjoy, tips for women in business, managing work life , coping with mental health issues etc- that's informative content- but that's only my opinion and I am obviously a different demographic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Amore

I follow some Irish bloggers on Instagram/snapchat. I admire the girls who have worked hard to get their name out there and become successful. I noticed during the week two of the most popular bloggers went to London for an event, it also looked like they were testing high end beauty products. One of the bloggers has done a blog on it, but the other one hasn't. Correct me if I'm wrong, but if that's you're a blogger who gets an invite to an event, surely you'd blog about it? I would prefer to see more reviews, I also enjoy seeing what bloggers get sent (am I the only one?) I notice buying and showing off designer bags seems to be the latest thing, lucky for some but for followers these items could be out of their price range. I'm not saying hide it but a lot can't afford to spend thousand of €'s on a bag, there should be a balance and not isolate some of your audience.
    I do enjoy reading blogs, viewing snapchat story's and Instagram posts. I feel any slight criticism and you're labeled as a jealous hater (I despise that expression, it's so immature.) I know you can't please everyone but way's to improve content is to get honest constructive feedback.

There's one blogger at the moment who has taken her fitness to the extreme, borderline oppressive to be honest. I had to unfollow as it's becoming unhealthy. Taking 100 progress snaps a day, comparing her body to yesterday and that morning. Standing in front of any mirror she can take a snap in. I'm all for keeping fit and staying healthy but I would worry about this girls obsessive behaviour. For young girls to be watching that, hitting the gym twice a day, taking constant photos of herself. It's narcissistic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Unreg0909 wrote: »
    I'd hardly call 10,000 selfies/gym photos/doc photos/flogging clothes on depop 5 mins after wearing them informative content. There are a number of relatively good influencers out there. Can't call them bloggers as they don't actually blog so much . However some of their snapchats I really enjoy, tips for women in business, managing work life , coping with mental health issues etc- that's informative content- but that's only my opinion and I am obviously a different demographic..

Tips for business yes dont get the need to say women in business.Havent seen any blog about mental health

When someone says 'This is not an ad, I wasn't paid to show these clothes, I was just asked to call in and pick a few bits' surely that is payment? It's not cash, but it's free clothes, payment in kind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, I would agree that if the blogger received clothes/makeup/whatnot without forking out cash for it, then it's "paid" advertising.
    I follow quite a few mechanics and it's the same there. They review tools sent by companies so whatever is said, take it with a pinch of salt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭cookiesmuggler

fitzytour wrote: »
    I followed about ten bloggers on snapchat/instagram up until today...I deleted them all bar three! It was actually mindblowing how little content they put up and how boring and narcisstic their stories were! One particular blogger who is pregnant at the moment is actually mindnumbing to watch and I really liked her before! All she does is make tea, take naps, go grocery shopping and for coffee....I do not think she realises how lazy she is coming across. I know she is pregnant but for christs sake..waking up first thing in the morning and rolling over to grab your phone and take a snapchat video while your still clearing a frog from your throat is actually pathetic! I mean if you are going to do this, make a private snapchat account and keep it separate from your so called 'professional blogger' account. The fact that I was getting annoyed watching her snapchats made me realise all of a sudden how bloody mindnumbing they are and how stupid I was for watching it in the first place. Why did it take me so long to unfollow!! They should go and do a bit of real work...like themakeupfairy/lydiamillen/retroflame...these bloggers actually continuously strive to put up interesting and informative content!

RANT OVER!!
    jesus christ!!! I know i actually am going to unfollow her aswell today, the stupid million second snaps of her cat or her making coffee or just waking from a nap are getting ridiculous! Im actually coming to the conclusion that she has a problem or an addiction to snapchat! she cant turn over in bed and shes talking about it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭cookiesmuggler

When someone says 'This is not an ad, I wasn't paid to show these clothes, I was just asked to call in and pick a few bits' surely that is payment? It's not cash, but it's free clothes, payment in kind

i saw that too!! like jesus christ , why arent people just honest! Like that is a payment !! it drives me mad!!!! do they think we're thick ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

jesus christ!!! I know i actually am going to unfollow her aswell today, the stupid million second snaps of her cat or her making coffee or just waking from a nap are getting ridiculous! Im actually coming to the conclusion that she has a problem or an addiction to snapchat! she cant turn over in bed and shes talking about it !!
    I've a fair idea who this is - I unfollowed her a good while ago for the very same thing. I couldn't figure out did she actually have a job, all she seemed to do was snapchat her cooking, making tea, the cat, and rambling chat about I don't even know.
    Anyone else who did that I unfollowed also. Bloggers - only snapchat when you have some thing interesting or say or show. Time is a precious commodity to most people so don't waste it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Ya when someone snapchats first thing in the am before even wiping the sleep from their eyes or clearing the frog from their throat it's time to reevaluate their dependency. Those snaps kind of turn my stomach a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Quick q - what's the difference between an affiliate and sponsored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Affiliation is usually provision based but sponsored is free for blogger.
    Is that what you're looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Affiliates usually have an arrangement where they make a small amount for every customer they refer, ie if a blogger is an affiliate of ASOS (let's say), then for every customer they refer via URL or code to ASOS, they receive a fee or percentage of the sale.

Amazon for instance have a big affiliate scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭idunno78

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    I've a fair idea who this is - I unfollowed her a good while ago for the very same thing. I couldn't figure out did she actually have a job, all she seemed to do was snapchat her cooking, making tea, the cat, and rambling chat about I don't even know.
    Anyone else who did that I unfollowed also. Bloggers - only snapchat when you have some thing interesting or say or show. Time is a precious commodity to most people so don't waste it!

Or your face 10 times in 3 different poses!! Or the road as your driving, unless it's something amazing to see, like a foreign country or something! Have started to not watch a few bloggers I follow on snapchat or flicking through half of them because it's just useless stuff!! Some just don't snap when they have nothing to say! I wonder do they get something out of having such long snaps? Grand when it's interesting, otherwise, no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭rougegal

I've just stopped following loads of people on Snapchat. They were just not very interesting. Same stuff every day and lots of product placement or promotions, but not stating that it was that. Am sick of being told 'this is my new favourite foundation' only to never see it mentioned again. A new-ish makeup brand (name begins with C) was being used and loved by lots of people on Snapchat a few weeks ago, now there's barely a mention of it by anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Taboola

I see Charlotte Tilbury has started sending out products. There was one blogger who was constantly plugging them awhile ago but then suddenly stopped. She got gifted a load of her products so I assume she'll go back to saying they are the holy grail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Ruddler

Many of the people mentioned here are not bloggers, more snapchatters. Snap chat is the new, lazy form of blogging I think. I agree that several of them showing the same products at the same time, like the Lancome stuff recently, is off putting. How are we supposed to know if it's any good? I would discount their 'reviews' immediately. The latest craze is the new fake tan to the market. The company has targeted two of the biggest bloggers/snapchatters and they've left their previous favourite fake tan for dust! I get the impression the original tan manufacturer is put out.

The part I find the worst about Snapchat is showing their kids all the time. Like, they're cute and all, but recently a snapchat famous recently wed couple had a birthday party for their 3 year old. The entire party was documented on snapchat, not just by the parents but by other adult guests. I felt a bit sorry for the poor little boy. He had no say it in whatsoever. Makes me feel uncomfortable really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭on_my_oe

those who can't write snap chat

(And standards nowadays are low enough as many 'bloggers' mainly copy and paste PR releases)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Unreg0909

Once people start snap chatting from their bath I immediately unfollow them. Like seriously, where does it end?! Actually I don't want to think about that. Bath snaps, constant gym selfies, sorry progress photos, snaps of cats/dogs just lying there....immediate unfollow material.
    Looks like this weeks "most amazing product EVER" will be a very well known brand that begins with B.
    I've whittled it down to 4 beauty bloggers / snapchatters and feel the better for it haha!

It seems that these snapchatters only have to mention running out of a product or expressing a need for something and it miraculously arrives in the post.

This week's example is snapping from the gym and complaining how awful her saggy bum leggings and gym gear look. 2 days later she's thanking F****ys Ireland for sending bum lifting gym leggings and fab tops, and S******rs for sending runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭hearmehearye

This week's example is snapping from the gym and complaining how awful her saggy bum leggings and gym gear look. 2 days later she's thanking F****ys Ireland for sending bum lifting gym leggings and fab tops, and S******rs for sending runners

While it does annoy me that brands seem to have a "your wish is my command" approach to bloggers and influencers, in fairness to that woman she did buy bits and Bobs in penneys the day before.