Wedding drunkness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Lyaiera wrote: »
    There's lots of people saying they don't like weddings because of the drinking. I love drinking. I really fecking love drinking. Most nights? I'm drinking. I'd have a drink with breakfast and then a boozy elevensies and second breakfast if I could, hangover withstanding. You may not like weddings because of all the drinking. But did you ever think the wedding is ****e even without the drinking?

Yeah, yeah. Your special day. Committing to a life of blah, de blah. "I really like that ceremony because it wasn't as god awful as other ceremonies I've sat through. If I could list 100 ceremonies that I thought, "I'd rather be getting chemo for arse cancer" every three minutes, you'd be up around the four minute chemo wishing mark.

"You look lovely!" "And so do you?" I mean, you look lovely every time I see you, except when you have a cold. I like you. You're a friend of mine. I'll kerbstomp any ****er who says you have an ugly hair on your body. I like you as a person, not because you had your taint hair ripped out two days ago, and you were awake at 5am to get your hair pulled into shape. "Yeah, I didn't wake up until 7am. My mother stayed over and she organised things so I could get just an extra hour of rest." Feck off. I don't want to see the sun until it's the afternoon. No-ones dream is to be woken at any hour before noon to get slapped about for beauty.

The DJ is really great. We found him at the perfect wedding. We came in to watch him, and ended up staying for hours with everyone dancing with us. It didn't matter it was a wedding. We chatted to the bride for hours. We just loved the music he was playing. Sorry, the lad couldn't hear a beat if I tunnelled into his molars, and his idea of mixing is a JD and Coke. Yeah, he's playing the tunes you picked out, and told him he had to have, but I have exhausted literally every other avenue of entertainment, including going for a kip beneath the two hundred year old oak tree in the amazing grounds, I guess I just have to dance.

Weddings? No.

Wanna come to my wedding? We found the MOST amazing DJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Some people will get plastered but they're easy to avoid.

If they're the only people you know at the wedding, then you probably want to get plastered with them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭s8n

I can never understand this heavy drinking at a wedding. It’s so uncouth. Sitting in a hotel lobby drowning pints until five or six in the morning.

I was at the wedding of a cousin of mine about two years ago. It was a lovely day with a beautiful ceremony in a small church by the Shannon. They splashed out on proper champagne for the reception at the hotel, and the meal itself was surprisingly ok. I had a lovely evening catching up with my relations and letting them know how I was getting on over here in Frankfurt. I certainly enjoyed myself, and didn’t go to bed until at least 1am.

I didn’t want to let the festivities interrupt my marathon training regime, so I rose at around 6am to go for a light run around the grounds of the hotel. I arrived down into the lobby to see a bunch of drunken idiots still sitting there horsing back pints. My uncle in law –the father of the groom - arrived over and attempted to hug me. His face a deeply unhealthy red colour from the enormous excess of whiskey and stout he had consumed over the previous 16 hours of drinking. Another cousin was sitting there with an acoustic guitar, missing notes and slurring out the words to The Green Fields of France. I told them to cop on and call it a night before one of them injured themselves. Not one of them could construct a coherent response, and my brother told me to “fúck off and go run back to Germany”.

I didn’t wait around that day to see the aftermath of such excess. Why grown adults act in such a manner will always remain a mystery to me. Disgraceful.

You sound like a lot of fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

As I could never really drink much and eat,for me the next morning sessions were always the best and not the day itself re drinking.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Weddings would be great if you it was all over after the ceremony and a glass of champagne and a bit of cake or something. Bye byeeeee, see ya soon. Congratulations! Whew, that was grand, thank god that's over....LOL

That's funny, I've heard so much moaning from Irish people here in the UK about that being the case for weddings here. Maybe it's just the ones they're going to though, I've never been. For instance friend of mine was relating a recent one, "few drinks but nothing major and it all packed up at midnight, everyone off home! Wtf!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Weddings/Stag/Hen nights are the perfect excuse for problem drinkers to justify their drinking.
    They have free reign to consume as much booze as they are capable of taking on.
    They have a ready made excuse for drinking themselves into oblivion.

If you question them on it, then it's YOU who has the problem.
    You have a problem with drink etc.

Sitting in the hotel bar after a 'savage' session the morning after gulping pints of Bulmers is just a grim picture to me.

valoren wrote: »
    Weddings/Stag/Hen nights are the perfect excuse for problem drinkers to justify their drinking.

If you question them on it, then it's YOU who has the problem.
    You have a problem with drink etc.

Sitting in the hotel bar after a 'savage' session the morning after gulping pints of Bulmers is just a grim picture to me.

I'd agree with this but why would you 'question them on it'? (And what would that even mean?)

Why not just leave them to it?

A personal example is in our own family. On the older brothers wedding a few years back.
    Our dad was left to it. He was pissed as a fart due to the free wine by 9pm.
    His favorite line is "I don't drink to get drunk, I drink to socialise.....I'm not an alcoholic".
    He wasn't arguing/fighting/puking or anything like that. He was simply a drunken mess.
    He slurred that he was going up to his room for a lie down and would be back in an hour.
    He didn't get up for the night despite us calling up to the room a few times. He just waved us away.
    He missed a great night. He missed the majority of his sons wedding. He was told that.
    He trots out the standard excuse that he enjoyed himself, had a great time despite that.
    Completely ignoring the fact that he drank himself into oblivion and missed his son's reception night.

A personal example is in our own family. On the older brothers wedding a few years back.
    His favorite line is "I don't drink to get drunk, I drink to socialise.....I'm not an alcoholic".
    He wasn't arguing/fighting/puking or anything like that. He was simply a drunken mess.
    He slurred that he was going up to his room for a lie down and would be back in an hour.
    He didn't get up for the night despite us calling up to the room a few times. He just waved us away.
    He missed a great night. He missed the majority of his sons wedding. He was told that.
    He trots out the standard excuse that he enjoyed himself, had a great time despite that.
    Completely ignoring the fact that he drank himself into oblivion and missed his son's reception night.

Ah, ok, I thought you were talking about the day after with people still knocking back drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This, expect for every social/family occasion in Ireland up to and including such occasions as "Friday/Saturday night" and "just for the **** of it".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You wouldn't want to come to one of the wedding of my friends and be drinking with us if you find a few hous at a wedding long, last wedding of a good friend a few weeks ago was first pint at 2pm on the Friday and drank until 4:30 am about. Up at 10 for the breakfast sat morning and into the hotel bar at 11:55am and we drank there until 3am again without stopping that night (second night of the wedding was in the same hotel so loads of people around for the day session). Absolutely unreal craic, can't understand people not loving it.

Your liver must be glowing like an apparition

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Your liver must be glowing like an apparition

I'd love to go on the lash with nox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

Lyaiera wrote: »
    PTH2009 wrote: »
    I thought drinking early would be eliminated by the big dinner you get later, it would sober you up a bit ???

I don't get American weddings. It all happens in marquees and very little craic

Eastern European weddings go on for days and lots of craic is had lol

I think this is a matter for the UN or maybe the OECD. Divide the world into "craic havers" and "no craic." Irish, Polish, Scottish, mad craic. Americans, South Africans, English, no craic, and maybe a little racist. Then we fund the craic havers having the craic despite living in a no craic country, and maybe send them to the craic having countries to get an advanced certificate in mad craic so they can teach the craic. Soon the world would be fierce craic and we could finally afford to help anyone with a chronic case of dryballs.
    Excellent idea. You shouldcontact the un or whoever would implement such a thing. Students could fund their travelling teaching craic as a foreign concept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The amount of booze I consume at a wedding is directly in proportion to the funness of the people at the table.

Bunch of bores? Drunk to numb them from my mind.
    Great bunch? Drink just enough to enjoy the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

9pm ? Not exactly 3pm. So he missed the dancing - but he said he was happy & had a great day. What did you want - him to stand like an egyptian slave, arms folded silently observing the whole thing? Wedding people are so difficult to please - everything has to be so exactly what they have in their head. He was invited to a probably 12 am - 12 pm party - he lasted til 9pm, socialised & had a great time & then went to bed. Now stop nagging him. I'd leave & go to bed too if that level of watching, criticising & forthcoming nagging was predictably coming too. Its a party. Are the family not allowed play - or are they only there as puppets, or props, or to pay?
    Weddings are so difficult; mostly because of the unrealistic expectations - on every level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭marymary1984

It's just tradition - like paddies day or a funeral. It's the way things are. Not a communion tho, the Wayne's are too wee but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Wouldn't really care myself if my father had a bit too much at my wedding and went to bed at 9pm as long as saw the ceremony and enjoyed the day.

Agree with the previous poster. In general, as I get older, I think Irish weddings are becoming less about informal family and friends celebrations than wildly formulaic occasions where guests are micromanaged component units in The Perfect Day.

9pm ? Not exactly 3pm. So he missed the dancing - but he said he was happy & had a great day. What did you want - him to stand like an egyptian slave, arms folded silently observing the whole thing? Wedding people are so difficult to please - everything has to be so exactly what they have in their head. He was invited to a probably 12 am - 12 pm party - he lasted til 9pm, socialised & had a great time & then went to bed. Now stop nagging him. I'd leave & go to bed too if that level of watching, criticising & forthcoming nagging was predictably coming too. Its a party. Are the family not allowed play - or are they only there as puppets, or props, or to pay?
    Weddings are so difficult; mostly because of the unrealistic expectations - on every level.

We were up until about 5 or 6 am in the Hotel bar.
    We all had a great time which he missed out on.
    He missed the banter and the laughs. It's disappointing.
    He just couldn't pace himself.
    Wine, wine, more wine.
    And he is a big, big drinker.
    He was a drunken, embarrassing mess before the band had even finished.
    It was gluttony, just because it's free, I'll drink as much of it as possible.
    No appreciation for having a tipple just hoover it into ya type of thing.

The point is that drinking at wedding's is like running a marathon.
    Don't go off like a proverbial hare drinking wise and crash and burn at mile 16.
    Instead start off easy getting into a nice rhythm and then emptying the tank so to speak over the last 2 miles (i.e. 5am in the hotel bar), otherwise you might miss a great night. And there's nothing worse imo :pac:

To be honest, if my kids held that opinion of me, I wouldn't want to stay up til 5am with them either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I think people who get inebriated at weddings are the type of people who are partial to getting inebriated anyway but just don't always get the chance, and see the wedding as an opportunity to do so.

I was at a wedding at the weekend, there was a 4k tab on the bar which to my knowledge wasn't fully used (I wasn't drinking, which may explain that :p ) I don't remember seeing anyone pissed out of their head and maybe only two or three I'd have described as drunk. Everyone was in high spirits, a few drinks on board and enjoying the music and dancing... We are very civilised up north if I do say so myself :pac:

To be honest, if my kids held that opinion of me, I wouldn't want to stay up til 5am with them either

If my kids held that opinion of me then I would be seriously questioning my relationship with alcohol.
    The context is important, he's an alcoholic.

If my kids held that opinion of me then I would be seriously questioning my relationship with alcohol.
    The context is important, he's an alcoholic.

So let me get this straight. He's an alcoholic, but it's ok for him to drink the same amount into the early morning (ie, stay up all night drinking) but god forbid he get drunk by 9 and go to bed and get a decent sleep?

I'm just not understanding it. It sounds like you all got just as drunk as him. I'd hate to think I was an embarrassment to my kids, I'd rather be in bed at nine too. I'm sure it's a crap situation but sounds like you're annoyed he couldn't stay up drinking all night. Maybe that's not fun to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

The point is that drinking at wedding's is like running a marathon.
    Don't go off like a proverbial hare drinking wise and crash and burn at mile 16.
    Instead start off easy getting into a nice rhythm and then emptying the tank so to speak over the last 2 miles (i.e. 5am in the hotel bar), otherwise you might miss a great night. And there's nothing worse imo :pac:
    Or you might avoid another massively boring night of idiotic "banter" and stupidity. I am sure you all thought you were massive crack at 5am, I bet the barman could tell a different story.

Of all people I actually agree with him. Close family members particularly those in the bridal party need to pace themselves and be around for the full night. Once the dancing is going then they can start to let lose a bit and the residents bar can be for a free for all of they wish but it's very bad form to end up in bed at 9pm if part of the wedding and it would be noticed by all the guests. I drink like a fish at weddings (though I usually still last until the very end of the residents bar) as I've indicated earlier but people who are part of the bridal party need to have a bit of sense and even as a groomsman for a friend I made sure not to end up in a heap and I'd find it even less excusable for or other top table people like parents or the bride and groom themselves to end up in a heap until the end of the night anyway.

So let me get this straight. He's an alcoholic, but it's ok for him to drink the same amount into the early morning (ie, stay up all night drinking) but god forbid he get drunk by 9 and go to bed and get a decent sleep?

I'm just not understanding it. It sounds like you all got just as drunk as him. I'd hate to think I was an embarrassment to my kids, I'd rather be in bed at nine too. I'm sure it's a crap situation but sounds like you're annoyed he couldn't stay up drinking all night. Maybe that's not fun to him

To point out, I wasn't drunk. I was the best man. I had to show some restraint. A glass of white, then water, or a spritzer then some pints when the band and DJ started. If he was a guest at another wedding and the same happened then yes you would go 'that's typical Dad'. Fair enough. He got pissed as a fart and bailed. It happens.

He was the father of the groom. A part of the wedding party. His first born. Thousands spent by them on the thing. Yet he still drank himself stupid. He slurred through his speech then kicked into high gear when he sat down. No restraint, no decorum. No excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

Jaysus, this wedding etiquette is gone mad. I think next time I'm invited to a wedding of a family member I'll ask for a drinks schedule so I'll be able to check it and know exactly when I can have a drink or not. God forbid I'd only make it to the church and witness the wedding itself and then only be able to sit down and have a nice meal with them before going to bed. Wouldn't want to miss the great party and sing song in the bar in the small hours of the morning because, you know, that's what the wedding is all about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Why do people get drunk more at wedding afters than they would normally ???

Is it the shame of still being unmarried/single

Most of your peers are there and u can get off your face without consequences

Perhaps it helps to alleviate the condescension from smug marrieds.

Shame of being unmarried? I'm living in sin and still having plenty of sex. Who's smug now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Some wedding cake will sort that out

wuzziwig wrote: »
    Jaysus, this wedding etiquette is gone mad. I think next time I'm invited to a wedding of a family member I'll ask for a drinks schedule so I'll be able to check it and know exactly when I can have a drink or not. God forbid I'd only make it to the church and witness the wedding itself and then only be able to sit down and have a nice meal with them before going to bed. Wouldn't want to miss the great party and sing song in the bar in the small hours of the morning because, you know, that's what the wedding is all about.

I don't think its too much to ask for the bridal party to exert some form of control over themselves until at least all the formalities are over.

I'm not taking about not drinking, of all people you wont catch me not drinking. When I was grooms man I was drinking Jameson at 10am and over the course of the day from 2pm until about 2am I probably had 12 pints and a few glasses of wine but I knew I was well in control as it was spread out and only close to the end of the DJ/residents bar did I start on shorts and then let loose a bit of course for a few hours in the residents bar.

But I would have hated to to be up at the top table or trying to be doing the first dance in a heap. I'm as drunk as anyone if I'm just a guest but when you are involved you need to have a small bit of sense.