Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding drunkness

• 22-05-2016 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,454 ✭✭✭✭

Why do people get drunk more at wedding afters than they would normally ???

Is it the shame of still being unmarried/single

Most of your peers are there and u can get off your face without consequences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

It's the drinking all day innit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Surely actually having to go to a wedding is reason enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I agree, you'd be better off with a nice cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

free wine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

PTH2009 wrote: »

you would wonder how they show their faces in public at all:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Is it only unmarried/single people getting drunk at Weddings? :confused:

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Is it only unmarried/single people getting drunk at Weddings? :confused:

exactly, the last two weddings i was at, one married woman didn't know her name and was carried out, the other guy who was also married puked all over his table during the meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,454 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I thought drinking early would be eliminated by the big dinner you get later, it would sober you up a bit ???

I don't get American weddings. It all happens in marquees and very little craic

Eastern European weddings go on for days and lots of craic is had lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Ohbethehokey

jealous they can have a few without facing consequences from a Naggy partner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

It's the fear of marriage/instituation that drives people to drink Single / married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I thought drinking early would be eliminated by the big dinner you get later, it would sober you up a bit ???

The only thing that can sober someone up is time. Eating or drinking coffee does nothing. Doesn't help that most people still drink during the dinner.

Then you are mixing the grape with the grain along with all day drinking, what could go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Insufferable relatives. Strangers. Different generations. Shyte music. Insufferable relatives singing. Talking about nothing ad nauseam. Drink. Awful shapes on the dance floor. Insufferable relatives singing. Talking about nothing. Strangers. It's a great night out. Innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

Tell me an Irish occasion that isn't a piss up.

Weddings, funerals, football matches, concerts, graduations, Debs. Christnings and communions too, I hear.

The only large social/sporting gathering I can rembering at where there was no drinking is the Special Olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

My sisters Wedding.

I was drinking from 2pm to about 4am .....

Drunk TA includes singing sex on Fire solely with the Wedding band playing behide me.

Doing the Gangham style dance with the singer of the Wedding band singer.

Doing the sexy and i know it dance with the Wedding band singer.

Its a day to have fun you might as well enjoy it then sitting there with a face on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I don't get American weddings. It all happens in marquees and very little craic

Eastern European weddings go on for days and lots of craic is had lol

I think this is a matter for the UN or maybe the OECD. Divide the world into "craic havers" and "no craic." Irish, Polish, Scottish, mad craic. Americans, South Africans, English, no craic, and maybe a little racist. Then we fund the craic havers having the craic despite living in a no craic country, and maybe send them to the craic having countries to get an advanced certificate in mad craic so they can teach the craic. Soon the world would be fierce craic and we could finally afford to help anyone with a chronic case of dryballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

My sisters Wedding. I was drinking from 2pm to about 4am .....

I don't know how people can drink that long. At my sisters wedding I drank from 2pm to 8pm and then I had to go to bed. I'm a complete lightweight. Even if I was capable of going the distance, I wouldn't want to listen to the insufferable relatives for that length of time. I was bored off my tits by 6pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I love weddings but they are a long day. I've never been at a wedding where someone drank so much that they got into a fight or anything but I've seen a few funny falls on the dance floor.

Up until the point the dinner and speeches are over, people are fairly well behaved and just have to go along with the day set by the bride and groom. They've been drinking but they still have to sit at the table they were placed, be quiet for the speeches, become acquainted with people they don't know at their table etc.

So while slowly getting drunk, after the speeches and the music starts, there's a sense of freedom to enjoy the rest of the night and the first place people tend to go is to the bar. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We just love getting fcuked up

Dinner makes no difference if anything id nearly be drinking more as I would be drinking pints and wine at the same time during the dinner.

Weddings are great craic and it's a solid days drinking so you are going to end up in a heap. First pint is usually had by about 2pm (though I've started at 8am when I was a groomsman and we were drinking with the breakfast at the grooms house) and I'm usually one of the very last to call it a night at the end of the residents bar so minimum 4am and I've been up until 6am and I'd be drinking constantly in that time including loads of shorts and shots as the night goes on so yeah you are going to end up drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I think this is a matter for the UN or maybe the OECD. Divide the world into "craic havers" and "no craic." Irish, Polish, Scottish, mad craic. Americans, South Africans, English, no craic, and maybe a little racist. Then we fund the craic havers having the craic despite living in a no craic country, and maybe send them to the craic having countries to get an advanced certificate in mad craic so they can teach the craic. Soon the world would be fierce craic and we could finally afford to help anyone with a chronic case of dryballs.

Mighty crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Long day's drinking. Lots of really boring things happening at the start, need to drink through them. Probably going to be seeing friends and relatives you haven't seen in ages, end up buying drinks/being bought drinks to mark the occasion. Bit of social anxiety going on, need to drink through that. Free drink, yay. Lots of reasons.

I ended up too yoked to remember to drink much last one I was at, was nice to be able to remember the night and not be hungover the next day, plus I was one of the last ones standing, which I don't usually manage when drinking. Missed the first dance because I was sitting out in my OH's car listening to 2fm and hugging him though but oh well.

Long day's drinking. Lots of really boring things happening at the start, need to drink through them. Probably going to be seeing friends and relatives you haven't seen in ages, end up buying drinks/being bought drinks to mark the occasion. Bit of social anxiety going on, need to drink through that. Free drink, yay. Lots of reasons.

I ended up too yoked to remember to drink much last one I was at, was nice to be able to remember the night and not be hungover the next day, plus I was the last ones standing, which I don't usually manage when drinking. Missed the first dance because I was sitting out in my OH's car listening to 2fm and hugging him though but oh well.

you did ecstasy at a wedding? lol that must of been weird?

pgj2015 wrote: »

Ah sure it's kind of a loved up occasion anyway, it was nice

Even weirder for the priest giving her a head massage

No this was the kind of wedding where there was a Celtic hand fasting ceremony carried out by a family friend and no priest, so it really wasn't that weird. I was far from the only one :pac:

Sounds like the perfect wedding

Ah sure it's kind of a loved up occasion anyway, it was nice

ya but all those old relatives and neighbours you don't like and them not on the same buzz at all:eek:

Na it was a friend of mine, so none of my extended family there, wouldn't have been at it if there was. Waited til fairly well on in the evening, so anyone who would have cared was too scuttered to notice, hopefully I just came across as a happy drunk. I wasn't out of it either like, just the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I can never understand this heavy drinking at a wedding. It’s so uncouth. Sitting in a hotel lobby drowning pints until five or six in the morning.

I was at the wedding of a cousin of mine about two years ago. It was a lovely day with a beautiful ceremony in a small church by the Shannon. They splashed out on proper champagne for the reception at the hotel, and the meal itself was surprisingly ok. I had a lovely evening catching up with my relations and letting them know how I was getting on over here in Frankfurt. I certainly enjoyed myself, and didn’t go to bed until at least 1am.

I didn’t want to let the festivities interrupt my marathon training regime, so I rose at around 6am to go for a light run around the grounds of the hotel. I arrived down into the lobby to see a bunch of drunken idiots still sitting there horsing back pints. My uncle in law –the father of the groom - arrived over and attempted to hug me. His face a deeply unhealthy red colour from the enormous excess of whiskey and stout he had consumed over the previous 16 hours of drinking. Another cousin was sitting there with an acoustic guitar, missing notes and slurring out the words to The Green Fields of France. I told them to cop on and call it a night before one of them injured themselves. Not one of them could construct a coherent response, and my brother told me to “fúck off and go run back to Germany”.

I didn’t wait around that day to see the aftermath of such excess. Why grown adults act in such a manner will always remain a mystery to me. Disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When Aongus and I get married you can all get drunk on Buckfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,433 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Na it was a friend of mine, so none of my extended family there, wouldn't have been at it if there was. Waited til fairly well on in the evening, so anyone who would have cared was too scuttered to notice, hopefully I just came across as a happy drunk. I wasn't out of it either like, just the one.

Well, at least you don't make a complete tit of yourself tearing up the dance floor with your tie like a headband, dancing your little arse off to all the 80's hits... :o

Nothing makes a wife pretend they don't know you faster :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

My sisters Wedding.

Drunk TA includes singing sex on Fire solely with the Wedding band playing behide me.

Its a day to have fun you might as well enjoy it then sitting there with a face on you.

You should do the wedding circut, most people would pay top Euro for a party animal like that at their reception!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I've had my fair share of wedding drunkeness and madness.

I expect people to behave the same at my wedding.

Someone generally lets loose and goes hatchet. Tis the way o' the Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I was seeing a guard for a while a few years ago. Neighbour was getting married, he was my plus 1. Had a great day. He was cheerful and friendly and got on with everyone at the table (all neighbours). All going grand, until the afters people arrived. Next door lady sat down, my plus one chatting away to her, she's half cut and started giving him a hard time, he was getting drunk too, but you could see he was losing his cool. She kept it up. I tried to get him to change subject, move away etc but she was like a dog with a bone. Very very very insulting.
    The next thing he just switches, not the friendly light hearted "normal" non cop all day. It was almost like he was interrogating her trying to trip her up on what she was talking about. It's getting more heated, she's getting tongue tied, her husbands mortified, I'm mortified, you can tell she's ready for it to stop but just wants the last word. The entire table is uncomfortable, the next thing. Out he comes with the "condescending c*nt." Sentence

I have never in my life wanted the ground to swallow me up as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

My sisters Wedding.

So much craic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Often pulled a gamey old shiela loaded on the vino at 4 in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

I know any time I have gone to a wedding and have a room booked for the night in the hotel, it's only further incentive to get absolutely goosed. Also, I'm a plague for charming anyone who's sitting at a table with baskets and trays of sandwiches and finger food. One of the bridesmaids nearly had war one time because I was eating all the food and paying her f*ck all attention...the man wants what the man wants :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Because going to a wedding is similar to getting a court summons. They're awkward, expensive and boring af.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Weddings would be great if you it was all over after the ceremony and a glass of champagne and a bit of cake or something. Bye byeeeee, see ya soon. Congratulations! Whew, that was grand, thank god that's over....LOL

Instead it is just an intolerably long day really. Stuck beside people you don't know too well at a round table for ten or so. Ugh, what the actual F do you talk about for two hours? And that's after three or more fekkin hours sitting through a ceremony and waiting around like a lemon while the photos are taken. Stifling a yawn or two and kicking off the heels for a minute. Yikes.

Then the speeches. Who the F remembers speeches? Only the betting on how long they will last, anything to keep you awake!

And then the dancing and the so called craic. Well no, I have two left feet, and I sit down for it all. So I am called an anti social fekker, and I don't like that either, grits teeth.

TBH if staying in the hotel, have often gone to the room, kicked off the shoes, lay on the bed and fell asleep for a couple of hours. Then rejoined the party who wouldn't know my name for dust at that stage.

Anyway, it's an each to their own thing. Weddings just kill me. Glad for the B+G, pity the rest of us have to endure the shyte that goes with it.

No wonder people get bladdered at weddings, it's the only way to get through it all.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I've been to super lavish weddings with a huge number of guests and didnt know many there and felt the need to get drunk to counteract feelings of social anxiety.

But I've also been to smaller, more intimate weddings where there was less pressure to drink and it was a much nicer, more fulfilling experience. Yes I did drink but not to the point where I couldn't remember half the evening.

These days I don't drink at all and most of my friends/family who would have got married already have. Then again, I fully hope to be married myself some day.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I can never understand this heavy drinking at a wedding. It’s so uncouth. Sitting in a hotel lobby drowning pints until five or six in the morning.

I was at the wedding of a cousin of mine about two years ago. It was a lovely day with a beautiful ceremony in a small church by the Shannon. They splashed out on proper champagne for the reception at the hotel, and the meal itself was surprisingly ok. I had a lovely evening catching up with my relations and letting them know how I was getting on over here in Frankfurt. I certainly enjoyed myself, and didn’t go to bed until at least 1am.

I didn’t want to let the festivities interrupt my marathon training regime, so I rose at around 6am to go for a light run around the grounds of the hotel. I arrived down into the lobby to see a bunch of drunken idiots still sitting there horsing back pints. My uncle in law –the father of the groom - arrived over and attempted to hug me. His face a deeply unhealthy red colour from the enormous excess of whiskey and stout he had consumed over the previous 16 hours of drinking. Another cousin was sitting there with an acoustic guitar, missing notes and slurring out the words to The Green Fields of France. I told them to cop on and call it a night before one of them injured themselves. Not one of them could construct a coherent response, and my brother told me to “fúck off and go run back to Germany”.

I didn’t wait around that day to see the aftermath of such excess. Why grown adults act in such a manner will always remain a mystery to me. Disgraceful.

We are a one dimensional people when it comes to celebrating or socializing. It's always all about getting scuttered and if you don't like that then: **** you ya dry****e, shure we're only havin' the craic.

It's just boring as **** and it's why i dread wedding/christenings/mile-stone birthdays etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Some of you people are drier than an African footpath! Getting air locked at a wedding is great craic! It's what makes them good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I hate, hate, hate going to weddings in Ireland, mostly because of the drinking. The very few in Ireland that I have really enjoyed and liked, were small affairs, with guests who knew how to behave themselves and were more into the dancing and music than getting out of their heads.

The nicest, most civilised weddings I have gone to and really enjoyed, good food, a few drinks, great dancing, great conversations, have all been abroad (including my own).

I just avoid going to weddings here now.

The last wedding I was at was an awful dry affair. Not surprising really given the bride and groom. I smoked weed and drank and caused a scene with my then boyfriend.

This was about seven years ago. I think. Maybe weddings have changed since then? Don't people now have all sorts of bells and whistles. Sweet carts and pigeons and bales of hay with chalk board signs saying "Mr and Missus this way" or some such crap.

30K for mediocrity. No thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

armaghlad wrote: »
    Some of you people are drier than an African footpath! Getting air locked at a wedding is great craic! It's what makes them good :)

It may surprise you but there are many people in this country who intensely dislike traditional Irish social gatherings.

Back when i used to drink, i gave up going out because pubs and clubs are ****e and I started making excuses not to go to partys/weddings etc because i find them to be a mixture of boring and also downright tense at times because of peoples excessive drinking and use of "the craic" as an excuse to be rowdy, aggressive, loudmouth arseholes.

That's not fun for everyone and some people can find it very intimidating.

armaghlad wrote: »

If the wedding lasted for about four hours or so it would be grand.

It doesn't. It goes on from early morning (hair dos, makeup, travelling, and that's just the wimmin lol). to early morning. No wonder people get loaded. There's nothing else to do.

Too long a day altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

The funniest wedding I heard of was where the prof photographer turned up to discover he was an x of the bride !

lawlolawl wrote: »
    It may surprise you but there are many people in this country who intensely dislike traditional Irish social gatherings.

Back when i used to drink, i gave up going out because pubs and clubs are ****e and I started making excuses not to go to partys/weddings etc because i find them to be a mixture of boring and also downright tense at times because of peoples excessive drinking and use of "the craic" as an excuse to be rowdy, aggressive, loudmouth arseholes.

That's not fun for everyone and some people can find it very intimidating.

This is true.

Very little leeway is given to those who either don't like drinking at all, or drinking too much, and who don't like dancing or behaving like a moron.

Some people (like me and I can't be the only one surely)...just don't like all the "here's the craic, come on will ya, yahupp, woo hoo" stuff that goes on FOR HOURS...

I find it very difficult TBH. But I will play the game for a few hours then go to bed. No one misses me. I get that now, didn't always though! OH is the same, we are well matched!

I would never be rude or anything, but a discreet exit at the right time for me is what I do now.

Long, long day just the same.

worded wrote: »
    The funniest wedding I heard of was where the prof photographer turned up to discover he was an x of the bride !

Ah here, the poor fella. The HTB must have done all the bookings with him so.

Bridie never mentioned at all. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭strawdog

You get to a certain age and weddings (of people you know fairly well anyway) are the only time you get to see alot of your old friends in the same night. So we all generally, over the course of quite a lot of hours, catch up, have a laugh and a boogie, and ultimately get quite drunk. Always good fun. No biggie. Each to their own tho