Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Slattsy wrote: »
    Anyone watching the Ulster puke hand football?

Me neither.

I wouldn't be too condescending boys.

Watching the only team that might beat us this year.... very impressive, even accounting for the abjectness of the Derry boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Me neither.
    Ye'd do well to keep an eye on Tyrone.

Tearing through Derry at will.

Haven't left second gear and stuck away 3 goals.

Only team to challenge ye this year I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Me neither.

Funny how certain ****ty labels and lazy analysis just stick. Tyrone playing anything but puke football.

PressRun wrote: »
    Funny how certain ****ty labels and lazy analysis just stick. Tyrone playing anything but puke football.

Indeed.

They have the cutest fker ever on the line and you can bet your bollix, that man is obsessed with one thing and one thing only.

Even look at the way they are setting up. It's carbon copy of Dublin!

Anyway, JG is not going to be taking them for granted, for sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I'm reading on Twitter that there's been 29 players (goalkeeper aside obvs) in one teams half for a lot of the game. I just couldnt watch that crap lads.

Tyrone will be small danger, but certainly not worried about them at all. I still think Mayo are the only team to beat us!

I don't know how you can comment if you're not even watching it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Slattsy wrote:
    I'm reading on Twitter that there's been 29 players (goalkeeper aside obvs) in one teams half for a lot of the game. I just couldnt watch that crap lads.

You must close your eyes watching every GAA game so.

Dublin, Kerry and Mayo regularly have 12/13/14 men behind the ball.

Tyrone playing 3 men in the FF line at the moment. A long time since i've seen any team play 3 inside.

Tyrone will be small danger, but certainly not worried about them at all. I still think Mayo are the only team to beat us!

You were probably one of those who had Donegal down as 'park the bus' before they scored 2 - 17 or whatever to beat us in 2014!

Tyrone are the most likely team to beat Dublin imho. Just an opinion. We shall see. To dismiss them in the way you do is ridiculous. Ask Pat Spillane how that one worked out :)

Was interesting that in second half they reverted to a more defensive system and just ran the clock down. They were using Derry as guinea pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Tyrone look like a serious outfit, and will give us a serious test later in the championship if we run into them.

Was one of the 13,000 in Croker on Saturday. Thankfully was dry, unlike the standard of football and hurling on show. Dublin looked comfortable throughout, and never really had to dig in. Defensively looked good with impressive performances from the two wingbacks. Overall the game was less than exciting (following United on twitter even if it was a Cup Final is a sure sign that I wasn't engaged by the game). Conditions were horrible for hurling. Looking forward to the Kilkenny match.

Got in early so saw the Kildare Wexford match. The talk is that the standards of Dublin Football are storming ahead of the rest of the province. Based on what I saw, the standards in Kildare and Wexford are going backwards. It was a very poor match, with little of the intensity you'd expect from championship football. Kildare did OK in the first half, but were just hanging on in the second half. Maybe the game will stand to them combined with a relatively decent league, but if I was a Kildare man I wouldn't be confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Tyrone will be a tough nut to crack if they rack up an early lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Past30Now wrote: »

Got in early so saw the Kildare Wexford match. The talk is that the standards of Dublin Football are storming ahead of the rest of the province. Based on what I saw, the standards in Kildare and Wexford are going backwards. It was a very poor match, with little of the intensity you'd expect from championship football. Kildare did OK in the first half, but were just hanging on in the second half. Maybe the game will stand to them combined with a relatively decent league, but if I was a Kildare man I wouldn't be confident.

Did you not get the memo that Kildare's inability to score more than 2 pts in the second half, is all down to Dublin's resources, population advantage, backroom team, access to cryogenic recovery chambers, the price of fish, our 45 "lifestyle" coaches, Cadburys changing the formula of the creme egg & our access to sponsorship? I'll pm it on over to you. :rolleyes:

Tyrone are my mark dark horse to win the AI this year, if we don't. Said it at the beginning of the year. They cut Kerry to ribbons in last years semi final. I think it took them by as much surprise, as it did Kerry. With a little bit more belief and planning for the goal mouth situations they found themselves in, we would have met them in the AI final, not Kerry. And Tyrone would have turned up on the day too, guaranteed !

Bonniedog wrote: »

Even look at the way they are setting up. It's carbon copy of Dublin!

Reminiscent of Donegal in 2012, imo.
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Tyrone are my mark dark horse to win the AI this year, if we don't. Said it at the beginning of the year. They cut Kerry to ribbons in last years semi final. I think it took them by as much surprise, as it did Kerry. With a little bit more belief and planning for the goal mouth situations they found themselves in, we would have met them in the AI final, not Kerry. And Tyrone would have turned up on the day too, guaranteed !

They could hardly be called a dark horse at this point, to be fair! Everyone is talking about them. I'm interested to see how they get on in the latter stages of the Ulster championship, when they will have to play teams of a higher standard than what they've been playing up to now.

I take your point. They are hardly a dark horse, in the way that Carlow would be a dark horse. But if you listen to the pundits and posters in forums like this one, you tend to see them refer to the big three, or the big four....those 3/4 being Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. Tyrone is not usually mentioned as being part of the big guns club. So they are my dark horse, outside of the big guns club, if ya get me. They haven't made it to an All Ireland final since 2008 & they haven't won an Ulster title since 2010. I think they'll remain outside of the top 3/4 teams in the county, until they do at least one of those.

True story people (which means its a lie :-)

Friend of mine is involved in Tyrone womens ball. She says she called into Hartes about a month ago one morning to arrange something about a game. And what was your boy doing?

Watching videos of Dublin playing Monaghan in the league semi final last year!

Believe it, or believe it not....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I think everyone is talking about Tyrone TBH.
    It all suits Kerry and Mayo. Kerry did beat them last year, yes they ran them close but they still won. Mayo drew with Dublin and might have pipped them yet everyone is talking about the team that nearly beat a team that lost the final. Clearly to me anyway Mayo were the second best side last year.
    Tyrone may have made up serious ground on everyone since but going on last years form Mayo are right there.

Kerry had a bad final and a bad league final, but they had a bad division 1 league final compared to a good division 2 final. I think Kerry would beat Tyrone again, wouldn't be too surprised if they didn't, I don't buy that Kerry and Mayo have gone away. I just think that this Dublin team has one over this Kerry team. I wouldn't be surprised to see Kerry beat everyone else, and someone else beating Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭corny

Stoner wrote: »
    I think everyone is talking about Tyrone TBH.
    It all suits Kerry and Mayo. Kerry did beat them last year, yes they ran them close but they still won. Mayo drew with Dublin and might have pipped them yet everyone is talking about the team that nearly beat a team that lost the final. Clearly to me anyway Mayo were the second best side last year.
    Tyrone may have made up serious ground on everyone since but going on last years form Mayo are right there.

Kerry had a bad final and a bad league final, but they had a bad division 1 league final compared to a good division 2 final. I think Kerry would beat Tyrone again, wouldn't be too surprised if they didn't, I don't buy that Kerry and Mayo have gone away. I just think that this Dublin team has one over this Kerry team. I wouldn't be surprised to see Kerry beat everyone else, and someone else beating Dublin

Far from being underdogs i think they're being hyped at this stage!

They're best of the rest and have some super players coming through but besting Mayo in an AI semi (if they even win Ulster) will be an enormous task for them. Can't see it personally.

Richie Hogan got bad hand injury last night playing for Danesfort. sounds like he be out for our game.

Be big loss for them.

Would be dishonest of me to say that it doesn't potentially make it more doable for Dublin, but wouldn't wish any player an injury like that. Hope he recovers quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Richie Hogan got bad hand injury last night playing for Danesfort. sounds like he be out for our game.

Be big loss for them.

Would be dishonest of me to say that it doesn't potentially make it more doable for Dublin, but wouldn't wish any player an injury like that. Hope he recovers quickly.

He's seemed a bit off form at times this year though

Bambi wrote: »
    He's seemed a bit off form at times this year though

Maybe, but himself and TJ are the last classic Cats forwards. He's worth 4/5 points to them. Very under rated player in my opinion. Been under the shadow of the others. Totally fearless clever fker!

We can beat them anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,141 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Maybe, but himself and TJ are the last classic Cats forwards. He's worth 4/5 points to them. Very under rated player in my opinion. Been under the shadow of the others. Totally fearless clever fker!

We can beat them anyway!

Underrated by who? He was hurler of the year in 2014. Along with tj he's widely regarded as the heart of the current forward set up. Probably would say one the top five, maybe top three, forwards the country. dunno whose shadow he's been under but it hasn't been anyone I can think of in the last three or four years.

Huge loss to be without him, though his form wasn't good in the league. Certainly his absence makes playing a sweeper more attractive to Dublin. I always love seeing a team play a sweeper when Richie is on the field because he completely disrupts that game plan. Without him we don't really have a good pacey trouble maker near the 45.

Underrated by who? He was hurler of the year in 2014. Along with tj he's widely regarded as the heart of the current forward set up. Probably would say one the top five, maybe top three, forwards the country. dunno whose shadow he's been under but it hasn't been anyone I can think of in the last three or four years.

Huge loss to be without him, though his form wasn't good in the league. Certainly his absence makes playing a sweeper more attractive to Dublin. I always love seeing a team play a sweeper when Richie is on the field because he completely disrupts that game plan. Without him we don't really have a good pacey trouble maker near the 45.

Dublin should just build a trench across the 40, or maybe not bother their fkn arse turning up. 15 sweepers ;-)

Pretty sure we can score points from beyond the forty! Anyway IMO the sweeper system ultimately failed Dublin under Daly and he never put trust in the players that he had actually inspired to go and win. Not sure if the team now is as talented as it was then, but there again, neither are Kilkenny. The forward that is still there, but we're shaky at the back, to say the least, at least at the full back line, where we haven't been as poor in my adult life. Taking a forward away from there would be a ludicrous idea, letting our weakest point off the hook to worry about our strongest. Hope ye do it anyway, but without hogan it might be more effective.

Mikey, Keaney, Suthcliffe, Boland and Kelly it seems as well - are big losses. On other hand, Cunningham seems more ambitious than Daly. Cork thing perhaps!

Not sure he has the players and wary that some day in /summer they will be turned over big time and hammered, but sure be used to that!

I actually fancy them to beat you boys Realt. Don't ask me to rationalise it! just think this is game he's been looking at and there are zero expectations of them,

Mikey, Keaney, Suthcliffe, Boland and Kelly it seems as well - are big losses. On other hand, Cunningham seems more ambitious than Daly. Cork thing perhaps!

Not sure he has the players and wary that some day in /summer they will be turned over big time and hammered, but sure be used to that!

I actually fancy them to beat you boys Realt. Don't ask me to rationalise it! just think this is game he's been looking at and there are zero expectations of them,

We all thought we'd dispatch Clare easily enough in the league and we got our arses handed to us, and that was by a team with a sweeper, who scored for the craic. We were headless that day and I'd expect a more coherent game plan against Dublin, but like I say, we're suspect in the full back line, there's goals there, especially if Paul Murphy has a bad day. In the forwards we havent got hogan, but also are missing ger aylward. Might be without mick fennelly as well. The real unsung hero that we're playing without at the moment is Conor Fogarty. When he's missing our half backs end up under so much more pressure, he's a dog, exactly the player Cody loves. So yeah, ye might surprise.

But I don't think ye will.

We shall see! Should be a good game. Looking forward to it, I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Seems like we'll have London v Kilkenny in the British Junior Football Champo as the curtain raiser in Nowlan .. another reason for getting in late .. I've learned me lesson from Clones all those years ago we played Derry in the qualifiers.. the curtain raiser was Monaghan v Tyrone in Junior Hurling .. now why dafuk would I remember that other than the indelible mark it left on me :o

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Seems like we'll have London v Kilkenny in the British Junior Football Champo as the curtain raiser in Nowlan .. another reason for getting in late .. I've learned me lesson from Clones all those years ago we played Derry in the qualifiers.. the curtain raiser was Monaghan v Tyrone in Junior Hurling .. now why dafuk would I remember that other than the indelible mark it left on me :o

Kardashians and Beyoncé are flying in for that Doctor. Front row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I've a feeling if they bring their boots they'll get a game ..

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I've a feeling if they bring their boots they'll get a game ..

Ha!

She has a bigger fkn ar$e than McNally even :-)

Sure why wouldn't they? Didn't Kim & Kanye spend their honeymoon in that well known mecca of glitz and glamour, Tullamore, two years ago ! :eek: