Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boyracers at petrol stations

• 21-05-2016 2:06am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭

All lined up side by side, not buying anything in the place, but just beeping at random people going into shop. Why do they do this ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

it's because of the petrol fumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

All lined up side by side, not buying anything in the place, but just beeping at random people going into shop. Why do they do this ? :confused:

It's like the wild west, Sheriff Joe

Young fellas on horseback with nothing better to do than sit around drinking sarsaparilla and shouting at the patrons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,887 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The drivers bring the lads to the sessions and collects the girls after the nightclubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Scientific name is Toolus Dickis. It's in their nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Ruu wrote: »
    Scientific name is Toolus Dickis. It's in their nature.

Read that in David Attenborough's voice.

Good times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

There they are with their LSD acting the big men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Same reason my dog barks at other dogs when he sees them through the living room window. He's not really sure why either. He just kinda has to do it.

Pavlovian response? Youngfellovian? Throughout the ages, insecure young men, unsure if their penises were within acceptable parameters, have attempted to make themselves, in the company of their similarly insecure young peers, appear as significant as they someday hope to be. The horn (Freudian, or wha') attached to their funny little fartcannons simply represents a technological aid to a behaviour thousands of years in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

They're not boyracers they're car enthusiasts.... or something...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Because they are morons with nothing better to do.

I find boyracers aren't the worst. Not exactly profound, not the quickest witted, usually badly dressed with tracksuits stained with chip fat. But for all that, not essentially bad fellows...just fellows who think Top Gear is thought provoking and challenging.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Boyracers are hilarious. I especially like the ones who drive laps around car parks like they in a fecking Le Mans 24 hour race.

I do not like the chippy wrappers they fire out their windows though. For that they deserve an almighty slap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

It's the screeching around roundabouts at all hours of the night I just don't understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If you drive from Ennis to Kilrush or Kilkee, you'll see loads of tyre-mark doughnuts on the road where they've been doing their late-night thing. How many times do you have to spin round in a circle before you get bored of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

This happens at a petrol station near me. All that is visible are pairs of eyeballs under caps peering over the steering wheels. They also leave their cars running for some unfathomable reason and think that they're being not at all obvious smoking joints when the smell is actually all over the forecourt. Ah rurality and its myriad facets.

osarusan wrote: »
    If you drive from Ennis to Kilrush or Kilkee, you'll see loads of tyre-mark doughnuts on the road where they've been doing their late-night thing. How many times do you have to spin round in a circle before you get bored of it?

Depends. Exactly how much of an idiot is the person in question and how easily amused are they?

Car enthusiasts are sad cases. May as well be a toothbrush enthusiast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

Exactly the road I was thinking of with my post

We actually get boy racers around here who are farmers sons and drive their tractors around car parks and park up in the evenings.

Trying to attract the ladies with a whiff of slurry. In saying that where there's muck, there's brass, or do they say....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Ah but do they have road frontage? That's the burning question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

when they're not looking...stick a banana up their tailpipe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

mud wrote: »
    This happens at a petrol station near me. All that is visible are pairs of eyeballs under caps peering over the steering wheels. They also leave their cars running for some unfathomable reason and think that they're being not at all obvious smoking joints when the smell is actually all over the forecourt. Ah rurality and its myriad facets.

Surely smoking in a petrol station isn't the brightest idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They should be in the pub.
    The cheek of them socialising outside of the pub system.

fryup wrote: »

Hello, Kenneth williams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    timthumbni wrote: »
    Hello, Kenneth williams.

no, eddie murphy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

NiallBoo wrote: »
    Surely smoking in a petrol station isn't the brightest idea?

There's the pumps and then there's a wall for parking and that's where they line up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Car enthusiasts are sad cases. May as well be a toothbrush enthusiast.
    All enthusiasts are "sad cases" for those judgemental souls not interested in what they're enthusiastic about. Gamers, hill walkers, record collectors, cyclists, anglers, stamp collectors, whatever. If someone isn't an enthusiast of something, they must be a boring fart to say the least.

As for "boy racers". Sometimes I do wonder about the age demographic on threads like these, because the responses can come across like a bunch of old folks on the bus moaning and itching to ring Joe when they get home. Where ye ever young and daft? Sheesh.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭Archeron

I don't mind them at all, some of the cars are class and it's nice to see someone keeping their old cars in such good nik. I saw a beautiful 1987 civic hatchback the other day, very cool car. On the other hand, I also saw a 1996 dynorod orange astra with lime green trim and purple lights underneath so it depends how easily offended your eyes are.

They do be in my local petrol station, but oddly enough you'd be more likely to see the local police drive in the forecourt in a dangerous manner than you would do the boy racers who seem to just like admiring and comparing the cars. Nice to have a hobby, God knows my hobbies would bore the tits off a bull, so to each their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

I have a nephew, 20 yrs old, who's probably a boy racer. It wouldn't be your typical Honda Civic type thing but it has the low suspensions and it gives off a whirl type sound when it revs and I think it's chipped. He can take an engine out of a car, fix it up, and put it back in and he has never had any basic training as a mechanic.

As long as he doesn't think he's driving around the Nuburgring on public roads, I think it's a brilliant interest to have and I've never heard his mother say, 'if you're looking for 'Seany', he's down in the local'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They should be in the pub.
    The cheek of them socialising outside of the pub system.

They should be playing GAA. That's all the socialising they need. Not going out and attaching pieces of plastic randomly to a car until it looks like something from Hot Wheels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

Back in my day they drove around in Vauxhall Nova's.

I remember visiting friends in Letterkenny and noticed the boy racers driving their Nova's.
    In Clare puntos and civics were more popular.

It's all part of growing up for some teenagers and guy's in their 20's.

My dad had a classy escort during the mid 70's

He grew out of it,well actually I think he wrapped it around an ESB pole in Campile Co Wexford.

Leave them off they're there since cars were affordable,if you watch American movies sometimes you'll notice the teenagers hanging out in Diners with their cars outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,450 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Archeron wrote: »
    I don't mind them at all, some of the cars are class and it's nice to see someone keeping their old cars in such good nik. I saw a beautiful 1987 civic hatchback the other day, very cool car. On the other hand, I also saw a 1996 dynorod orange astra with lime green trim and purple lights underneath so it depends how easily offended your eyes are.

They do be in my local petrol station, but oddly enough you'd be more likely to see the local police drive in the forecourt in a dangerous manner than you would do the boy racers who seem to just like admiring and comparing the cars. Nice to have a hobby, God knows my hobbies would bore the tits off a bull, so to each their own.

Probably not the police leaving half their tyres inbedded in every roadway in the country.

Don't get the logic in spending thousands on a ****box to make it virtually undriveable.Whatever blows your trumpet I suppose.

kneemos wrote: »
    Probably not the police leaving half their tyres inbedded in every roadway in the country.

Don't get the logic in spending thousands on a ****box to make it virtually undriveable.Whatever blows your trumpet I suppose.

Not too many gardai ending up "tragically" wrapped around a telephone pole with 4 buddies in the car at 3 in the morning either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Not too many gardai ending up "tragically" wrapped around a telephone pole with 4 buddies in the car at 3 in the morning either.
    Precious few "boy racers" end up wrapped around telephone poles either. If you look at the stats most of those late night crash fatalities are single drivers, usually male, in very average cars. Speed, lack of sleep, drink taken and carelessness the usual culprits(along with some "suicide by accident" examples).

The "boy racer" thing is mostly a meme promoted by the RSA and Joe Duffy acolytes. Yes the drifting morons on the public roads should be hung up by their organs of generation, but most young lads(and lasses) into cars spend a lot of their hard earned on them and don't relish the thoughts of wrecking said cars.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Shock, horror, young lads are into cars, it's terrible Joe.
    "Why can't you like the same things I do"
    "I don't like what you're into therefore it's ****"

Wibbs wrote: »
    Precious few "boy racers" end up wrapped around telephone poles either. If you look at the stats most of those late night crash fatalities are single drivers, usually male, in very average cars. Speed, lack of sleep, drink taken and carelessness the usual culprits(along with some "suicide by accident" examples).

The "boy racer" thing is mostly a meme promoted by the RSA and Joe Duffy acolytes. Yes the drifting morons on the public roads should be hung up by their organs of generation, but most young lads(and lasses) into cars spend a lot of their hard earned on them and don't relish the thoughts of wrecking said cars.

Don't see them racing because if they go over even a tiny bump at more than 30kph they'll break their spine.
    Must be an awful lot of of morons about judging by the state of the roads.The "documentary"on "car enthusiasts"on RTE a while back seemed to consist of little else other than spinning wheels and making doughnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

kneemos wrote: »
    Don't see them racing because if they go over even a tiny bump at more than 30kph they'll break their spine.
    Must be an awful lot of of morons about judging by the state of the roads.The "documentary"on "car enthusiasts"on RTE a while back seemed to consist of little else other than spinning wheels and making doughnuts.

To be fair, those idiots aren't really representative of most people that drive non standard cars. for example, on the Motors forum, where a lot of posters have modified cars the negative reaction to that programme was unanimous.
    Most modified cars in Ireland are front wheel drive, which means they cant do donuts either way, so the association between modifying your car and doing rings at a crossroads isn't a sure thing.

My local McDonalds often has 2 or 3 cars parked together where the owners are just chatting, some of the cars are a bit tasteless fair enough, but I reckon in most cases you have young guys who mightn't be very social in the traditional sense, whose circle of friends come about through car ownership - and they're hanging out having the craic in the same way that you might when you're going to the pub on a Saturday watching a match, where your common ground is an interest in sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I think most people seem to make a distinction between car enthusiasts who are just interested in cars and like working with/on cars, and those who fly round the place and round in circles.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    To be fair, those idiots aren't really representative of most people that drive non standard cars. for example, on the Motors forum, where a lot of posters have modified cars the negative reaction to that programme was unanimous.
    Most modified cars in Ireland are front wheel drive, which means they cant do donuts either way, so the association between modifying your car and doing rings at a crossroads isn't a sure thing.

My local McDonalds often has 2 or 3 cars parked together where the owners are just chatting, some of the cars are a bit tasteless fair enough, but I reckon in most cases you have young guys who mightn't be very social in the traditional sense, whose circle of friends come about through car ownership - and they're hanging out having the craic in the same way that you might when you're going to the pub on a Saturday watching a match, where your common ground is an interest in sport.

The front wheel drive cars do those zig zag lines,the more expensive rear wheel drive do the donuts . Don't know who does them,but in my travels around the country virtually every road has them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Each to their own but I admire some so called boy racers. It's amazing to think that Toyota twin cams can go for £15k+ when about 10 years ago they were worth £3k and below (I reckon the Lexus IS200 will go the same way). My locality isn't too bad for "boy racers", and they're more into German cars like A4s, Golfs, Jettas/Boras, 3 series etc rather than anything noisy and Japanese. Still one or two coupes lurking about which I always like to see!

armaghlad wrote: »
    Each to their own but I admire some so called boy racers. It's amazing to think that Toyota twin cams can go for £15k+ when about 10 years ago they were worth £3k and below (I reckon the Lexus IS200 will go the same way). My locality isn't too bad for "boy racers", and they're more into German cars like A4s, Golfs, Jettas/Boras, 3 series etc rather than anything noisy and Japanese. Still one or two coupes lurking about which I always like to see!

People paying way over the odds for some auld hape with some tacky tat bolted to it isn't admirable, it's idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

They're compensating for small genitalia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭fima

I always wonder about that when I drive past/over them. How do they even do that? Is there people watching out for them, what happens if a car comes?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

On a side note when possible I always park beside the so called "boy racers" because I know that they won't bang doors /trollies ect. off my car and they know that I wont do it either. They put a huge amount of TLC(and money) into their cars and really take care and have pride in them.

Apart from the marks on the road what else have people to complain about..Im delighted my lot are parked up outside Texaco at the weekend ,I'm be a lot more worried when they're in town drinking tbh.

There's always a few messers in every group but Ive never seen a fight at a car meet unlike a lot of other places where youngsters gather pubs,matches ect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Boy Racers are of much intellectual depth and provide us with a detailed analysis of how a neanderthal might behave in a globalized,cosmopolitan world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Real old man stink off this thread

Would love to be back in my Mk2 flooring it around the place without a care in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Stig Inge

They don't cause any trouble around here anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,474 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Boy Racers are of much intellectual depth and provide us with a detailed analysis of how a neanderthal might behave in a globalized,cosmopolitan world.
    Interesting.

In New Guinea there are engineers who paddle upstream when they go home for the weekend. If you educate kids you can go from the stone age to now in a single generation.

Also neanderthals, coming from a gift economy would probably behave better to the rest of us than our many psychopathic business "leaders".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

People paying way over the odds for some auld hape with some tacky tat bolted to it isn't admirable, it's idiotic.

Each to their own.

I just dropped a grand on a PC.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

I'd rather share the road with a thousand "Boy racers" rather than one cyclist any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭gw80

I know a guy from here in Waterford who would have been one of these idiots as you put it, who had an interest in cars and turned it into a career, setting up a drift series and ended up touring the world with a top drift team, one of the last pictures he put up on Facebook was of him on a yaught in Dubai with bikini clad girls enjoying the sun, while you were doing your nine to five, who would he think the idiot was?

Point is some lads end up making a living from there interest in cars, there are lots of avenues people end up on because of first time they fancy modifying there first ****box, it should be encouraged more in this country

eeguy wrote: »
    Each to their own.

I just dropped a grand on a PC.

Was it from the mid nineties and have you glued a bunch of pointless **** to it?