Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Rick Martel

Just wondering are Dublin fans denying the scumbag behaviour of their players over the years also? Cluxton kicking a lad to get sent off in a semi final, Whelan's love for punching lads at throw in, the photographic evidence of eye gouging instances? Seriously lads.

Not saying Kerry are innocent, pure angels, Tomás, Dara, O Mahony, Star are / were no great shakes by any stretch either. Tyrone had no shortage of filth needed to get the job done. No need for getting knickers in a twist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Ah jaysus lads, you all sound as bad as Kerryfolk in your rush to be outraged. I heard it on the radio yesterday and thought nothing of it (aside from silently agreeing).
    I don't think we're a dirty team, but that we're a team who are capable of playing dirty when needed.

I can't say it has lowered my opinion of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Just wondering are Dublin fans denying the scumbag behaviour of their players over the years also?

A number of Dublin fans here with different opinions, clearly there is no single voice . I didn't think much if the comment. However I understand that it was a poorly chosen word and how some would not think it was harmless.
    I think the rest if the country know what different teams are capable of. I don't think anyone will fall for Fitzmaurice's attempts to paint Star as a victim or this attempt here.
    Plenty of stuff written about Kerry being the most cynical team in Ireland etc. These things just come out in the press, lads seem to have to write something to stand out. It worked in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Ah jaysus lads, you all sound as bad as Kerryfolk in your rush to be outraged. I heard it on the radio yesterday and thought nothing of it (aside from silently agreeing).
    I don't think we're a dirty team, but that we're a team who are capable of playing dirty when needed.

I can't say it has lowered my opinion of him.

I thought we had thicker skin. I think Kerry and their cheerleaders are an irrelevance tbh. They add nothing to the conversation and we are above it. So let's keep it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Just wondering are Dublin fans denying the scumbag behaviour of their players over the years also? Cluxton kicking a lad to get sent off in a semi final, Whelan's love for punching lads at throw in, the photographic evidence of eye gouging instances? Seriously lads.

Not saying Kerry are innocent, pure angels, Tomás, Dara, O Mahony, Star are / were no great shakes by any stretch either. Tyrone had no shortage of filth needed to get the job done. No need for getting knickers in a twist.

Yet another post that misses the point completely. The term he used was bandied about a lot last year. I didn't bat an eyelid. It even sneaked in here a few times, when the mods were asleep at the wheel. Didn't bat an eyelid. But when a former Kerry player is using it, it becomes a different ball game entirely, especially as he would never in a million years use the same phrase to describe players from his own county. They didn't amass 37 All Irelands by being choir boys.

It also falls squarely into the category of agenda setting. He (and the rest of the Kerry media mafia) will be banging this drum for the rest of the summer, so that it seeps into the minds of officials and refs. Anyone who thinks he is just an innocent bystander with an equally innocent opinion, is having the wool very, very firmly pulled over their eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Yet another post that misses the point completely. The term he used was bandied about a lot last year. I didn't bat an eyelid. It even sneaked in here a few times, when the mods were asleep at the wheel. Didn't bat an eyelid. But when a former Kerry player is using it, it becomes a different ball game entirely, especially as he would never in a million years use the same phrase to describe players from his own county. They didn't amass 37 All Irelands by being choir boys.

It also falls squarely into the category of agenda setting. He (and the rest of the Kerry media mafia) will be banging this drum for the rest of the summer, so that it seeps into the minds of officials and refs. Anyone who thinks he is just an innocent bystander with an equally innocent opinion, is having the wool very, very firmly pulled over their eyes.

In one, PD.

That is exactly the point of it.

Dermie, Philly, Jonny, Jimmy as "scumbags".

so, some ref - and we all know who they are, let's be honest ! - now has the imprimatur of The Mighty Kingdom to throw cards around like confetti.

Watch this space, boys. ....

That's a reasonable arguement but it's nothing that hasn't been leveled at Kerry, Tyrone or Kilkenny in the hurling. His choice of word was a poor one but his point wasn't. He wasn't the first to come out with such sentiments and he won't be the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭corny

So his past invalidates his opinion? Why?

Its a poor insight into his mindset IMO. From what I know of him I took it as a compliment for Dublin.

BTW If we're being honest some Dublin players gave plenty of rope last summer.

Scumbag is pretty specific term in fairness!

I associate it with drug dealers, muggers, burglars, not someone who might give you a slap in the back of the head during a match!

What exact point is he trying to make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Paulzx

He can call us mass murderers if he wants once we win Sam this year!!!!!

It's pretty normal when a team is clear top dog to ship some abuse from rivals. Look at some of the stuff thats been wrote about the Kilkenny hurlers over the last few years by journos in other counties camps.

My own feeling is that he's trying to be complimentary but has expressed himself incorrectly. In fairness to him he's been pretty hard on the Kerry team recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,276 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I am delighted Tomas O'Se referred to the Dubs as scumbags. I take it as a compliment. Dublin were far too soft during the "sam-less" period, in particular the 00's teams. They were easily bullied by the culchies.

Personally I like Tomas O'Se he calls things as he sees it and uses rough terminology in his descriptions. But his analysis is always head and shoulders above many of his contemporaries on intricacies of tactics at the same time.

As his uncle Paidi said one time after he had to explain why he called Kerry supporters "animals" real GAA supporters will know what he meant.

I think it will give us something to talk about in intercounty football until August anyway!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I am delighted Tomas O'Se referred to the Dubs as scumbags. I take it as a compliment. Dublin were far too soft during the "sam-less" period, in particular the 00's teams. They were easily bullied by the culchies.

Personally I like Tomas O'Se he calls things as he sees it and uses rough terminology in his descriptions. But his analysis is always head and shoulders above many of his contemporaries on intricacies of tactics at the same time.

As his uncle Paidi said one time after he had to explain why he called Kerry supporters "animals" real GAA supporters will know what he meant.

I think it will give us something to talk about in intercounty football until August anyway!

you are so off the psych ops team!

(inner voice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I hate all this type casting nonsense. We were "losers" ten years ago. Mayo are "losers" now. Tyrone were "anti football", Down were - believe it or not and check it out - "Soccer players"!

Why? Because they had the audacity to beat them.

If we don't beat them again, I hope it's fkn Mayo, because would be another fkn pin in their balloon.

Hard to make out what ur saying there. But from all your posts I get. General jist of where your coming from . You should take praise when it's given . When I said Dublin are the best team . I said that not just because of the 3 all Ireland's but the quality of football .and in that respect I wouldn't judge Mayo a losers either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 kiddap

I love Tomás too but the agenda he and all the rest of the yerra mafia have going is so obvious it's almost a double bluff. And they woulda got away with it too..............

In one, PD.

That is exactly the point of it.

Dermie, Philly, Jonny, Jimmy as "scumbags".

so, some ref - and we all know who they are, let's be honest ! - now has the imprimatur of The Mighty Kingdom to throw cards around like confetti.

Watch this space, boys. ....

'Dermie'??

"No great shakes"?

Jog on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Ignoring the glaring hypocrisy given the amount of smoke he blew up Kerry's holes the week before... I enjoyed reading this again.

Joe Brolly: http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-croke-park-was-full-of-toothless-simpletons-with-whiskers-on-their-faces-wearing-dresses-34674372.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Barlett

Forget all the O'Se stuff lads and psyche yourselves up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBGp-QUdVg8

kiddap wrote: »
    'Dermie'??

Big fella, plays with Vinnies I think :)

(apologies by the way if you are his mam, and you think I was being too familiar!)

Ignoring the glaring hypocrisy given the amount of smoke he blew up Kerry's holes the week before... I enjoyed reading this again.

Joe Brolly: http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-croke-park-was-full-of-toothless-simpletons-with-whiskers-on-their-faces-wearing-dresses-34674372.html

Come on Joe, say what you really mean!

Seriously though, the most significant part of what he says is about Tyrone. They are missing a reliable Brogan/Gooch/O'Neill but are the most serious threat to Dublin and I reckon that will be the final.

"No great shakes"?

Jog on.

Jog on? Enlighten me, please.

Big fella, plays with Vinnies I think :)

(apologies by the way if you are his mam, and you think I was being too familiar!)

Never 'eard of 'im lad, is 'e a character in The Muppet Show?

Jog on? Enlighten me, please.

I'd say you're well enlightened already. So tell me, do you think the Kerry players you mentioned should be called scumbags?

Pathetic attempt at snide comments aside, no. Can they act like it sometimes? Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Mod

I'm reluctant to interfere in my own County thread - the use of "scumbag" is generally seen as a ban, but seeing as it was introduced from an external source I've let it remain here in the context that it was written. With regards other stuff I'll just remind you to keep the punches above the belt. Ta

/Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I didn't read that before.

I heart Joe Brolly.

Pathetic attempt at snide comments aside, no. Can they act like it sometimes? Yes.

Not sure where the snide comments are. The point here was you posted a "ah lads stop getting worked up, let's face it some of your players are scumbags", followed by "some of the Kerry lads were no great shakes".

Given the whole point of the discussion was about use of the word 'scumbag', you were clearly on a bit of a wind-up there, which is fine, just admit it, and then jog on, because as a smart person, which I take you to be, you certainly knew what I meant, no need for playing the innocent, anyone who posts cute hoor stuff like that is clearly well-enlightened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

There is a quickie sneak peek of the new jersey in the DCB's latest tweet. It's not the pale retro blue people were expecting. It's more of a Vincents blue, according to "Dermie."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

There is a quickie sneak peek of the new jersey in the DCB's latest tweet. It's not the pale retro blue people were expecting. It's more of a Vincents blue, according to "Dermie."

any link?

For those of us who have never travelled to the Lilliputian world of the Tweets, please post a link