Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

A bit late to give my overall reflections on the league final but well done and the better team won well.

As an aside, how come Cluxton has never won Footballer of the Year? He is prob the most influential player of the last 10 years.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/mike-quirke-on-the-key-to-dublins-success-stephen-cluxton-392685.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jjj12

What's the story with reservoir dubs ?is it down at moment or is it just myself that can't access it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭celticbest

jjj12 wrote: »
    What's the story with reservoir dubs ?is it down at moment or is it just myself that can't access it !

it's down :(

[IMG][/img]Res_zpsl582t3kd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

There'll be a new landmark on The Hill next year to take the place of "John 3.17", me and my deckchair .. the things ya do for the young fella whose mad keen to be in the sway.. downsized my PP to a terrace ticket :o .. he's bollixed if he thinks he's gettin a bodhrán tho !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jazus, they're letting all kinds of riff raff into the Hill these days. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Jazus, they're letting all kinds of riff raff into the Hill these days. :p

Indeed - If only it was as easy to get a car loan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DoctaDee wrote: »
    There'll be a new landmark on The Hill next year to take the place of "John 3.17", me and my deckchair .. the things ya do for the young fella whose mad keen to be in the sway.. downsized my PP to a terrace ticket :o .. he's bollixed if he thinks he's gettin a bodhrán tho !

My younger brother better not get notions of attending the Hill at any point. Hopefully he's too used to the rarefied air of the Cusack to want to.

PP came in the post today. This years one is gold. Someone had the bright idea of putting the terms and conditions on the back. It now states:

- Spring Series 2017 - Parnell Pass MUST be exchanged for a match ticket to Croke Park. Ticket office open Tue-Fri 10am to 5pm. (Tuesday: open until 7pm for Championship fixtures.)

- We regret that the Parnell Pass cannot be exchanged for match tickets on match days in Croke Park.

- This Pass CANNOT be scanned at the turnstiles in Croke Park.

- God, they're some shower of gougers up on the Hill, aren't there?

Ok, one of those may be made up. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    PP came in the post today. This years one is gold. Someone had the bright idea of putting the terms and conditions on the back. It now states:

Stop moaning, the rest of Ireland have to buy their own printing press and collect their tickets on croagh patrick on Monday mornings between 3 and 4 am.

Welcome to Ireland PD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

- Spring Series 2017 - Parnell Pass MUST be exchanged for a match ticket to Croke Park. Ticket office open Tue-Fri 10am to 5pm. (Tuesday open until 7pm for Championship fixtures.)

- We regret that the Parnell Pass cannot be exchanged for match tickets on match days in Croke Park.

- This Pass CANNOT be scanned at the turnstiles in Croke Park.

- God, they're some shower of gougers up on the Hill, aren't there?

Ok one of those may be made up. :D

So, not just me whinging then!

No. You just whinged so loudly, they could hear you in Donnycarney. :p

Still n'all, t'wud be nice if the DCB ploughed some of that AIG dosh into a computerized system (similar to the season ticket one) whereby PP holders could print off their own tickets at home.

Ok, that's me done giving out until, until...ah b0ll0x, today is bin day and no one put them out.... :mad:
    Stoner wrote: »
    Stop moaning, the rest of Ireland have to buy their own printing press and collect their tickets on croagh patrick on Monday mornings between 3 and 4 am.

Welcome to Ireland PD.

:D:D:D

DoctaDee wrote: »
    The boss shelled out €60 a couple of christmas' ago for the AIG polo shirt for me .. it kills her to see me head off to Croker in my Arnotts one each Summer .. I'm guessing it's 10 years old at this stage ..

You could wash it all the same, although you would probably not have the same amount of space about you :)

My daughter got me a navy AIG top for birthday. Of course I have to wear it, but the 1995 with the 6 on the back is returning for the Summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 kiddap

I have a 95-er jersey with no advertisement on it, just the O'Neill's emblem. It's my prized possession. That along with my lucky flag, which has only been taken to winning All-I finals since it's debut - at the 95 final.

Read that Examiner article above. The usual recent Kerry "no actually, Dublin are brilliant, we didn't recognise it before. Cluxton is a super hero and nobody will ever crack him since we used to crack him and nearly cracked him in the All-I final last year coz we know how to play him. But really lads, Dublin are just savage, SAVAGE BOY!!
    Because they are so athletic. And Cluxton's syshtem, his SYSHTEM BOY!! It's not real football at all but ye have to hand it to him."

"The Dublin GAA World just keeps on spinning"> I see, so 'The Dublin GAA World equates to what players are available to our senior footballers, and basically whether Cluxton can play. The Dublin GAA World will fall apart once our senior footballers aren't so good. Right so......

I have a 95-er jersey with no advertisement on it, just the O'Neill's emblem. It's my prized possession. That along with my lucky flag, which has only been taken to winning All-I finals since it's debut - at the 95 final.

Read that Examiner article above. The usual recent Kerry "no actually, Dublin are brilliant, we didn't recognise it before. Cluxton is a super hero and nobody will ever crack him since we used to crack him and nearly cracked him in the All-I final last year coz we know how to play him. But really lads, Dublin are just savage, SAVAGE BOY!!
    Because they are so athletic. And Cluxton's syshtem, his SYSHTEM it's bamBOOZLING BOY!! It's not real football at all but ye have to hand it to him."

"The Dublin GAA World just keeps on spinning"> I see, so 'The Dublin GAA World' equates to what players are available to our senior football team, and basically whether Cluxton can play. The Dublin GAA World will fall apart once our senior footballers aren't so good. Right so......

Bonniedog wrote: »
    So, not just me whinging then!

Great news though, this will cheer you up - Kavanagh's have put on a summer service from Grangemockler to Mullinahone

No. You just whinged so loudly, they could hear you in Donnycarney.

Still n'all, t'wud be nice if the DCB ploughed some of that AIG dosh into a computerized system (similar to the season ticket one) whereby PP holders could print off their own tickets at home.

Ok, that's me done giving out until, until...ah b0ll0x, today is bin day and no one put them out....

Great news though, this will cheer you up - Kavanagh's have put on a summer service from Grangemockler to Mullinahone

kiddap wrote: »

Because they are so athletic. And Cluxton's syshtem, his SYSHTEM BOY!! It's not real football at all but ye have to hand it to him."

"Gym monkeys"... "runners"... "boxers".].. "not natural footballers."

Right :)

Bonniedog wrote:
    "Gym monkeys"... "runners"... "boxers".].. "not natural footballers."

Ah sure what would you know , your not a real GAA person, you're what Pat Spillane likes to call part of the Olay Olay Brigade. You don't really know about football, only along for the ride.

He hasn't said or written that since 2009

Ah sure what would you know , your not a real GAA person, you're what Pat Spillane likes to call part of the Olay Olay Brigade. You don't really know about football, only along for the ride.

He hasn't said or written that since 2009

Who are we playing in the Champions League?

Do we need to take up a collection of unwanted anoraks, coddle, jumbo packs of Pampers & bottled water, to cope with the influx of Refugee Ressers?

Jayzus....and the Syrians think they have it bad ! :eek:

You have me there pal!

"The Dublin GAA World just keeps on spinning"> I see, so 'The Dublin GAA World equates to what players are available to our senior footballers, and basically whether Cluxton can play. The Dublin GAA World will fall apart once our senior footballers aren't so good. Right so......

So dont praise Dublin or acknowledge that they have a very strong team and are tactically solid at the moment?

Jeez some people are never happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Arse Biscuits

Do we need to take up a collection of unwanted anoraks, coddle, jumbo packs of Pampers & bottled water, to cope with the influx of Refugee Ressers?

Jayzus....and the Syrians think they have it bad ! :eek:
    Sure we have to deal with you over there most days since you became a Dubs fan in 2010...

August 2011 act-shully.

Same as here.

#LuckyCharmMe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Been looking for Kilkenny hotels for June 4th there today...feel I've missed the boat :(

Hotels in KK were already fully booked out (for the Cats Laughs Comedy Festival,) when the match venue was announced. But we're not allowed give out about it. Suck it up mate, welcome to how the other half lives, blah, blah, blah....:rolleyes:

As an aside, how come Cluxton has never won Footballer of the Year? He is prob the most influential player of the last 10 years.

I don't think he ever will but the stats in that are surprising all the same.
    The younger lads in midfield give him even more options

I don't think he ever will but the stats in that are surprising all the same.
    The younger lads in midfield give him even more options

I find the way that POTY is picked to be extremely frustrating- if a lad has a mediocre year and a good final then he is in with a very, very strong chance.

Too much weight is put on the one match and the majority of the season is disregarded

He's been nominated for it a couple of times, hasn't ge?. Back in 2011, I think Cluxton, Alan Brogan and Darren O'Sullivan were the nominees. Can't remember the other year he was nominated, or who the competition was. The players are the ones who vote for it, not the media. I'd say the odds of a goalkeeper ever winning it are slim, no matter how good he is. The vast majority of voters are outfield players & they'll usually vote for their own.

I find the way that POTY is picked to be extremely frustrating- if a lad has a mediocre year and a good final then he is in with a very, very strong chance.
    Paul flynn had two great final games for Dublin last year but I think it was decided that Walsh was the all star and his season relatively poor when the semis were not even decided yet.

I do see where you are coming from though, but also last year I think if Mayo had beaten Dublin AOS would have been POTY regardless.
    I thought it was a funny year for POTY last year with respect to the media ruling lads in and out mid season, all far too early IMO