Crumlin Shopping Centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 samuelasaolu

Does anyone know who exactly owns Crumlin Shopping centre.
    We might be able to negotiate a deal that will both rescue shopping Centre from ruin, preserve it's the history and legacy as well as revitalise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Does anyone know who exactly owns Crumlin Shopping centre.
    We might be able to negotiate a deal that will both rescue shopping Centre from ruin, preserve it's the history and legacy as well as revitalise it.

not worth it

let dunnes do to it what they must

will be better than what it is now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 TangoVictor 31

Centre is owned by Crumlin Investment Properties, which is a company owned by Dunnes. Just an update on state of centre: Tesco has recently had a small make over of its interior, freshly painted, new shelving in places new lighting and signage and good cleaning. Looks ok on inside but it's badly let down outside in the mall and carpark although i belive this is Up to landlord to sort. Carpark resembles the surface of the moon in places, craters everywhere !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Tom1991 wrote: »
    remember when i was a kid goin up there
    there was the three dunnes and tesco there
    the pound shop ,tuthills,hector greys,the newsagents,
    the two banks,the three hairdressers ,three coffee shops
    two butchers,Rtv, a womans clothes shop,satellite sports,molloys
    the pharmacy,wigodrs,esb shop,abrakebabra n prob more im forgettin
    sad to see the state its in
    i though tesco had bought the site but dunnes wont relinquish there lease.dunnes dont even bother opening on sunday anymore
    I'm misting up reading this..
    I used to go there with my folks and also my granddad used to bring us there every Saturday when he did his shopping (we'd get taken for a meal and something nice out of Hector greys or tuthhills).Went to Santa there a few times a a nipper too.
    I remember getting comics from that newsagents .The part of Dunnes opposite Bank of Ireland used to sell off toys cheap after Christmas so I remember getting stuff out of there.I got my first record in Golden disks there as a kid , and later as a teenager got a lot of metal records there too.When I started going drinking in my early twenties my mates and me would use the gym and pool on the odd Saturday morning before going for a hangover cure in town.A whole lot of memories.
    .I called in a year or two ago and its desolate ..nothing left but the dunnes and tesco's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Campaign was to keep Windmill Road pool open. .

Jaysus, is that pool closed now? I lived right beside it as a kid.

They'll close Pearse Park next. :(

The shopping centre would surely be a goer if they redeveloped along the lines of the Ashleaf one.
    Ciaran_B wrote: »
    I’d help my Ma with the shopping then get a comic in the news agents opposite the Quinnsworth

Think the newsagents was Page One? And the little one beside the door onto Crumlin Road was Page Two. Or vice Versa? I used to always get me Slush Puppy drink in the smaller one. The bigger one (across from Quinsworth) sold toys and the like as well.

Think there was a little greasy spoon opposite the Quinsworth called Coffee Dock or Coffee Stop?

I used to love going shopping with me ma and I would be taken for a bite to eat and felt like a little man. :) Every Christmas the whole place always seemed so jammed with people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,870 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Centre is owned by Crumlin Investment Properties, which is a company owned by Dunnes. Just an update on state of centre: Tesco has recently had a small make over of its interior, freshly painted, new shelving in places new lighting and signage and good cleaning. Looks ok on inside but it's badly let down outside in the mall and carpark although i belive this is Up to landlord to sort. Carpark resembles the surface of the moon in places, craters everywhere !

Interesting, I wonder have Tesco crunched the numbers and found out its worth keeping a store open just to block Dunnes from developing the site. Not unknown for them to buy good retail plots around towns to block other supermarkets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Just to give an update

Tesco closed on 23rd April so it's just Hickey's chemist and Dunnes left there now

Dunnes got the planning permission for a smaller centre renewed in 2014 though the house bit was dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭tampopo

Yeah, the clothing dept is gone and will go to the ex-Tesco location. (so I'm told)

The former clothing / foodstuffs area has been rejigged and now looks like nearly every other Dunnes Stores.

I went in for a look at 5.30 on Saturday as they pulled the shutters down for the last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

They really need to just bulldoze the place and put in some housing with a smaller Dunnes/Hickeys, no need for a whole shopping centre anymore.

Dunnes apparently want to operate out of the site while it is redeveloped so that is not an option

Here is a link to the planning permission from last year http://www.dublincity.ie/swiftlg/apas/run/WPHAPPDETAIL.DisplayUrl?theApnID=3078/09/x1&backURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearchKey=2866339%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E%20%3E%20%3Ca%20href=%27wphappsearchres.displayResultsURL?ResultID=3438751%26StartIndex=1%26SortOrder=APNID:DESC%26DispResultsAs=WPHAPPSEARCHRES%26BackURL=%3Ca%20href=wphappcriteria.display?paSearchKey=2866339%3ESearch%20Criteria%3C/a%3E%27%3ESearch%20Results%3C/a%3E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,477 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Retain the pub? Has it even been open in the past decade? Does it even have a licence if it hasn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,989 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

L1011 wrote: »
    Retain the pub? Has it even been open in the past decade? Does it even have a licence if it hasn't?

Where was the pub in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Tom1991

Above molloys off licence bit like Chasers in ballyfermot being the top floor of a shopping centre.
    Think it was called cahoots way before my time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Where was the pub in there?

Upstairs, above Molloy's. Was called Baron John's as far as I remember.

There was another thread in 2011, pub was both Baron John's and Cahoots.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71963488

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,477 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No, that's just this thread 5 years ago!

L1011 wrote: »
    No, that's just this thread 5 years ago!

Inception!

Ha! That actually came up when I Googled Baron John's and I could have sworn it was a different thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,509 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Crumlin Shopping Centre has one of the best pages on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/Crumlinshopingcentre/?fref=ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Was there today for the 1st time in years. Didn't realise tesco had gone and was popping in for a few things. Dunnes has a bit if a supermarket across 2 different units on either side which is odd. A few token clothes things in one if them too. Chemist and the dunnes offie still open. Very eerie feel to the place now. Huge amount of land and carparking around the centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The car park is gigantic and usually empty. Remember my kids being born in the Coombe and the tiny car park being a bastard to get into and then a mile up the road, you've such a large, underused car park like that.

It's really sad to see it so deserted and have great memories of it as a kid. It'd be nice if they turned into a functional centre again but kept it the same size and shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭tampopo

Was there today for the 1st time in years. Didn't realise tesco had gone and was popping in for a few things. Dunnes has a bit if a supermarket across 2 different units on either side which is odd. A few token clothes things in one if them too. Chemist and the dunnes offie still open. Very eerie feel to the place now. Huge amount of land and carparking around the centre.

And yet the Bus Lane/Cycle Track has illegal parking in it during its hours of operation. Including queuing taxis. (who should know better).

And the cycle track in front of the Moracrete Cottages too.

Oh, and a Garda Station right there doing feck all about it...yasus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Crumlin Shopping Centre has one of the best pages on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/Crumlinshopingcentre/?fref=ts

One of the funniest on FB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Time to bulldoze these vacant monstrosities that nobody seems to want anymore. Every town as a derelict shopping centre now it seems. There are tons of derelict shopping centres sitting empty and rotting all over the USA for the last 20 plus years. Stop pontificating. Just reclaim for green-space.

Return the land to nature and the community. Crumlin could CERTAINLY do with some tree planting.

What a treeless, gray part of Dublin it is. If said shopping centre were flattened and returned to the community (with proper supervision) it could breathe some badly needed fresh air into the place in a healthy and bright communal green space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

While it is a waste to have what may as well be a derelict shopping centre there you can hardly claim the area is treeless. There is a small green right opposite the shopping centre and two significant parks (Brickfields Park and Eamonn Ceannt Park) within a kilometre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

Er no, if you are going to redvelop a site like that it should be by adding some high density quality apartments. There's enough bloody trees in the city, we have a critical shortage of housing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I was in the Dunnes a few times lately and it's actually handy because they have homewares and grocery mixed together, but I don't understand why the frozen ailes and meat are in a separate shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

MrMorooka wrote: »
    Er no, if you are going to redvelop a site like that it should be by adding some high density quality apartments. There's enough bloody trees in the city, we have a critical shortage of housing though.

Agree re the high density apartments. Disagree totally that we have enough trees. Simply untrue. Our county councils and citizens have slacked way off on this front. Our city is rather baron.

I mainly refer in Crumlin to the hundreds and thousands of ex-social housing who have breeze-blocked and paved their front gardens. Not as much as a daffodil left. It's grim, gray and downright dismal.

Lux23 wrote: »
    I was in the Dunnes a few times lately and it's actually handy because they have homewares and grocery mixed together, but I don't understand why the frozen ailes and meat are in a separate shop.

Because apparently there was an agreement that Dunnes wasn't to operate out of a shop of more than a certain square footage but there was a loophole that said nothing about operating a number of shops .

The fruit and veg was in another unit until about 5 years ago and for a few years they opened another unit at Christmas to sell selection boxes and other Christmas items

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Ah that is really sneaky of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,647 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

When it was built in 1974 the Crumlin shopping centre was a great asset to the area but in the last 20 years other, newer shopping centres such as Ashleaf have drained all the business away from Crumlin SC. The newer centres effectively cannibalise the older ones.

It would be preferable if the shopping centre was demolished and apartments built in its place.