Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

And its the ufc fault that Conor is from Ireland?
    No matter how saturated the rose tinted glasses are this is conors fault he could set up camp anywhere. He can't expect an american company to move to Ireland for him.
    We all love him and I'm proud of his achievements but if it was Nate doing this you'd be lighting him up with all type of claims and abuse.

I never said it was the UFC's fault????

He asked for leeway, didn't get any. He's just not being pushed around by them while he's in training. As already stated none of us know what was in the contracts, so second guessing is pointless as well as saying he should set up camp elsewhere. He can set up camp wherever he wants. If he stands his ground on this one which looks very likely that he will, then fair fcuks to him. He was never gonna be Dana's lapdog.

Edit: As for the arguments that he knows he would of had promotional work to do etc, maybe so, but if anything we have learned from Conor in all this time, it's that he does what he wants, and in this case he's prepared to miss UFC200 and doesn't seem that concerned by it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

shocksy wrote: »
    My god these Trolls have little to be doing other than visiting a forum about a guy they don't even like :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Who is trolling and if they are why didnt you just report them?? You are just going off topic yourself posting this kind of stuff.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=99471226&postcount=2847

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,385 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Conor announcement is trending towards 1 million likes in 24 hours. Currently 675k in 15 hours. 250k shares.
    lol did somebody say they wanted something promoted? LeBron who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Nail on the head from the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

shocksy wrote: »
    I never said it was the UFC's fault????

He asked for leeway, didn't get any. He's just not being pushed around by them while he's in training. As already stated none of us know what was in the contracts, so second guessing is pointless as well as saying he should set up camp elsewhere. He can set up camp wherever he wants. If he stands his ground on this one which looks very likely that he will, then fair fcuks to him. He was never gonna be Dana's lapdog.

Edit: As for the arguments that he knows he would of had promotional work to do etc, maybe so, but if anything we have learned from Conor in all this time, it's that he does what he wants, and in this case he's prepared to miss UFC200 and doesn't seem that concerned by it.

If he's not concerned about missing 200 why is he still making statements saying he wants to fight and Instagram posts saying your move, when he's already been pulled and he's out of 200??

In my opinion I think he believes that if he keeps up these silly games that Dana will look at the amount of retweets/shares etc and say OK, you promoted it in your own way, you're back in. Not gonna happen.

This looks like a poorly planned, poorly executed power play. Kavanagh is coming out of it looking like an idiot too, mobilising the "customers" against the UFC.

If he's not concerned about missing 200 why is he still making statements saying he wants to fight and Instagram posts saying your move, when he's already been pulled and he's out of 200??
    I can think on 10 million reasons straight away.

In my opinion I think he believes that if he keeps up these silly games that Dana will look at the amount of retweets/shares etc and say OK, you promoted it in your own way, you're back in. Not gonna happen.
    Wait and see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mellor wrote: »
    I can think on 10 million reasons straight away.

Wait and see
    So you believe he is concerned about fighting at 200, I was replying to a poster who said he believed he wasn't bothered about missing it.

I believe that he would rather fight on UFC 200 than not fight on UFC 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Kavanagh is coming out of it looking like an idiot too.

I think most would agree on this point. That man shouldn't be allowed on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

JustShon wrote: »
    I think most would agree on this point. That man shouldn't be allowed on the internet.

I wouldn't agree with that. I think a lot of people can sometimes take things way too seriously, myself included. He doesnt seem to be that type. People seem to love picking at things, breaking them down and overanalysing. His tweets in general are pretty much taking the piss.

I don't take all of his tweets seriously, it's pretty clear some were intended as jokes but I didn't find any of them particularly funny so to me he came off as an eejit. But humour is subjective so if you find him funny then work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

JustShon wrote: »

I dont see the issue

He's not Conors Manager, Just his Coach.

Kavanagh is along for the ride like the rest of us really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

I think a lot of people seem to be taking every word in Conor's statement literally to pick holes with it. He's not saying he's refusing to promote ever again, the operative word is 'leeway', the rest of it is just posturing really.

Interesting to see where this one goes though, the UFC are probably taking the stance that the long-term cause is better than the short term gain i.e. losing out on UFC 200 revenue but preventing Conor from taking further control of their relationship and giving that motivation to other fighters to do similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    I dont see the issue

He's not Conors Manager, Just his Coach.

Kavanagh is along for the ride like the rest of us really.

Exactly he is just his Coach,you would expect a bit more maturity and sense from your Coach and considering he has plenty of other fighters under him at SBG he wasn't thinking about them too much when he decided to butt heads with the UFC on Conors behalf.

He seems to want to hog some of the spotlight for himself whereas a good coach shouldn't be heard as much,when do you hear Greg Jackson tweeting about fighters issues with the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Where does it say that Nate Diaz would not come to Dublin? I would find this hard to believe, and if it were the case, then McGregor would be right in staying away from Stockton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

So the UFC 200 press conference is tonight. Should be interesting.

It will be sorta pathetic if they have to sub in GSP to rescue the event, which will probably involve more of a compromise (and certainly more money) than if they accommodated Conor in the first place.

And even if they accommodated Conor's request, which other fighters have the clout to pressure the UFC to do the same in future? I don't think it would open the flood gates.

There's probably a bigger point in all this about fighter burn out. Look what happened Ronda. The UFC gives the sense that they're prepared to milk their cash cows for all their worth with little consideration for their well being.

Keep the talent happy, that's what I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭xtal191

2016-04-22-17-16-18-jpg.92561

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

newbbieb wrote: »
    Exactly he is just his Coach,you would expect a bit more maturity and sense from your Coach and considering he has plenty of other fighters under him at SBG he wasn't thinking about them too much when he decided to butt heads with the UFC on Conors behalf.

He seems to want to hog some of the spotlight for himself whereas a good coach shouldn't be heard as much,when do you hear Greg Jackson tweeting about fighters issues with the UFC.
    Agreed on Kavanagh hogging the limelight. Always thought that, he tries to be a parody of Conor at times with arrogant predictions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,341 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

That's is some cringy/pointless **** right there.

Ah sure, good luck to them I suppose, something to occupy the time.

The petition I don't have too much of a problem with, I doubt it'll do anything but if fans want to try to get the point across that they want Conor on the card then a petition is a good way to send a unified message.

"Justice for Conor" however... ahahahaha, oh man. You'd swear he was being locked up in a middle eastern prison with a name like that on the page. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

The longer this goes on the longer the more I think that UFC are missing a trick.

This so called commercial that's being shot would be excellent if they based it around the current events. Nate could cite Conor's "excuses" for his loss of doing too much promo stuff and UFC could exploit the whole situation and milk it for everything that it is worth. People loved when Conor trash talked other fighters, well now he is trash talking the UFC (to a degree) and they should take full advantage of that.

Fights have always been about building up the tension and anticipation. That's what sells tickets / PPV. They couldn't have bought this level of interest. They'd be mad not to capitalize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Cathy.C wrote: »
    The longer this goes on the longer the more I think that UFC are missing a trick.

This so called commercial that's being shot would be excellent if they based it around the current events. Nate could cite Conor's "excuses" for his loss of doing too much promo stuff and UFC could exploit the whole situation and milk it for everything that it is worth. People loved when Conor trash talked other fighters, well now he is trash talking the UFC (to a degree) and they should take full advantage of that.

Fights have always been about building up the tension and anticipation. That's what sells tickets / PPV. They couldn't have bought this level of interest. They'd be mad not to capitalize.

That's my thinking also. If they just let it fizzle out and then try to reference it in NY I don't think it'll be the same level of hype and attention it has now.

Strike while the iron is hot and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I think UFC will take the hit on this, look the bad guys and just get Conor in to fight in November next against winner of Aldo/(hopefully)Frankie. That way they still have their star and huge New York numbers without a possible taint of a second loss to Nate. Also they show who's in charge and punish Conor by making him wait for November for a fight.

I really hope Conor still gets added to UFC 200 but i'm leaning 80/20 it doesn't.

Cathy.C wrote: »

I think this has turned into excellent promo if they do make the fight at 200 but long term i think everyone benefits more from them not making it.

The UFC get to take back some control from Conor and show everyone who is the boss,Conor while losing out on UFC 200 and losing some face,overall his stock has risen by him trying to stand up to the UFC and also he gets to avoid what is imo an almost unwinnable fight.

They can then make the Frankie/Aldo/ fights at 45 which will still do massive numbers before setting up the Diaz rematch which will just have become even bigger on the backdrop of the fight being cancelled here,and possibly they will make it at the more logical weight of 155 next time where its infinitely more winnable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

newbbieb wrote: »
    I think this has turned into excellent promo if they do make the fight at 200 but long term i think everyone benefits more from them not making it.

The UFC get to take back some control from Conor and show everyone who is the boss,Conor while losing out on UFC 200 and losing some face,overall his stock has risen by him trying to stand up to the UFC and also he gets to avoid what is imo an almost unwinnable fight.

They can then make the Frankie/Aldo/ fights at 45 which will still do massive numbers before setting up the Diaz rematch which will just have become even bigger on the backdrop of the fight being cancelled here,and possibly they will make it at the more logical weight of 155 next time where its infinitely more winnable.

I can't see Conor falling into line so easily. Do you think he'll just shrug his shoulders and say "good game" if he remains pulled off 200? And what about when it comes to the promotion for MSG in November? Will he be OK with meeting all the promotional commitments then all of a sudden for what's sure to be another massive event for the UFC?

Maybe the money involved will smooth everything over and they'll all be best buds again, but there's a lot of pride/d1ck measuring going at the moment. I don't see it being such smooth sailing after this episode.

I can't see Conor falling into line so easily. Do you think he'll just shrug his shoulders and say "good game" if he remains pulled off 200? And what about when it comes to the promotion for MSG in November? Will he be OK with meeting all the promotional commitments then all of a sudden for what's sure to be another massive event for the UFC?

Maybe the money involved will smooth everything over and they'll all be best buds again, but there's a lot of pride/d1ck measuring going at the moment. I don't see it being such smooth sailing after this episode.

I think he will fall into line he has no choice,they will strip him of his title if he doesn't fight and if he doesn't promote the fight his pay is gonna be down,after missing this payday its a no brainer he will do whats necessary to maximize his next payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I think UFC will take the hit on this, look the bad guys and just get Conor in to fight in November next against winner of Aldo/(hopefully)Frankie. That way they still have their star and huge New York numbers without a possible taint of a second loss to Nate. Also they show who's in charge and punish Conor by making him wait for November for a fight.

I really hope Conor still gets added to UFC 200 but i'm leaning 80/20 it doesn't.

Agree with this. They can't back down on this or Conor could well pull this stunt again down the line or any of the other 500+ ufc fighters.