Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

The spot where he was murdered is a known heroin dealing spot,surprised there was no police on hand tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Gamebred wrote: »
    The spot where he was murdered is a known heroin dealing spot,surprised there was no police on hand tbh.

Don't be silly water meters to protect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

One of the biggest problems on the streets of Dublin at the moment are drugs that can be bought legally but are sold illegally. Cigarettes are no different. Legalise drugs is just another sound bite that people choose to voice without actually thinking it through. Also, I can imagine many criminals are involved in both drugs and prostitution. Something else I don't get is the call to not punish those who carry drugs for personal use. It's a bit like not punishing drivers who drive too fast but punishing garages and manufacturers that sell and make them.

I'm not sure if the poster you quoted means legalise or decriminalise, but I suggest you just read this article: http://mic.com/articles/110344/14-years-after-portugal-decriminalized-all-drugs-here-s-what-s-happening#.ADy843qjU
    There is also a tide turning to punish those who buy sex rather than sell it to tackle prostitution as has just happened in France. Why should drugs be any different?

Prostitution should be legal. There's absolutely nothing wrong with selling sex. What the French did was a step backwards and to be held up as a beacon of progressive laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

511 wrote: »
    I'm not sure if the poster you quoted means legalise or decriminalise, but I suggest you just read this article: http://mic.com/articles/110344/14-years-after-portugal-decriminalized-all-drugs-here-s-what-s-happening#.ADy843qjU

Prostitution should be legal. There's absolutely nothing wrong with selling sex. What the French did was a step backwards and to be held up as a beacon of progressive laws.

I am pretty sure it was legalising: 'Governments should look for a way to make all drugs legal...'

I haven't read the article you suggest. I am vaguely familiar with what has been initiated in Portugal and looking forward to the read. When it comes to the argument of legalising or decriminalising I don't think people think it through before suggesting it. There are so many factors and changes across the board that would be required.

With regards to prostitution I wasn't offering an opinion on wether it should be legalised or not. Plenty who have been involved, neither buying nor selling but sold, who will disagree with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,125 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

One of the biggest problems on the streets of Dublin at the moment are drugs that can be bought legally but are sold illegally.

Looking for Zimmos? :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

Just catching up on this thread. A lot of posts are saying that the intended target was the Drag gunman from the Regency. I don't know where that information has come from - but it is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭gangstergossip

bajer101 wrote: »
    Just catching up on this thread. A lot of posts are saying that the intended target was the Drag gunman from the Regency. I don't know where that information has come from - but it is wrong.

yea your right i dont know why people are thinking that a quick google search of del boy hutches co accused in the cash in transit job should point you in the right direction

He's from sheriff street too!
    http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/gary-hutch-s-brother-and-pals-at-risk-of-cartel-attacks

the media are saying the intended target got a ten year sentence for a cash van robbery maybe this will clear it up

www .herald .ie/news/courts/im-still -alive-shouts-pal-of-robber -shot-dead-by-gardai-as-hes-sent-to-jail -27957441 .html

i cant post links because im a new user but copy and paste and take the spaces out and it should work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

One of the biggest problems on the streets of Dublin at the moment are drugs that can be bought legally but are sold illegally.

This is something that I've been thinking about over the last few weeks-the trade in benzos is centred around the north inner-city, emanating specifically from the flat complexes around Buckingham St. from where it's spreading down to more central parts of town. It's an open secret who rules the roost down that area, even if they're supposedly retired or were never involved in drugs.

The illicit trade in these pills is no longer a matter of people getting prescriptions then selling them on or small packages coming in the post off the internet-users are taking these pills in doses unheard of to medical professionals anywhere in the world-I read before that some users are taking up to 80 a day-and so they are obviously being brought into the country by someone in industrial quantities. Ask anyone working professionally with drug users in Dublin and they will tell you that benzodiazepines are now the substance of choice for addicts, having overtaken heroin a few years ago.

The trafficking itself is low risk-the drugs are produced and exported professionally and legally abroad and a crime only happens when someone is caught with a large amount of them in Ireland. Once a large shipment has been broken up and distributed amongst lower level dealers the gardaí can't do much in terms of seizure or charges and even if they get someone in court the penalties are light. I'm taking a total stab in the dark here, but I'm guessing that the pills are being brought in via the same channels as cigarettes and other non-narcotic contraband, not your traditional cocaine and heroin routes.

So, could all this be the source of or a large factor in the recent trouble? Is someone making so much money that others have decided they want a piece of the action? Has the traditionally lucrative heroin market dried up as addicts no longer need as much or any at all, and now some people want it back open? Have certain parties been given a free ride in the media over the years as to the nature and extent of their criminality? What is the involvement of former and current republican subversives?

He's from sheriff street too

and the killer cycled off and dumped the bike and made off on foot seems very likely he was from in and around the same area himself the southsiders money could be buying them northside hitmen

Ahh Mr Hutch!!

Tell us who the bullets were for????

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ahh Mr Hutch!!

Tell us who the bullets were for????

for a man who shares the same surname as a very good jockey

Not Your Ornery Onager

I remember when judges wore wigs.

Not your ornery onager

anyone hear anything about who the victim was he was a homeless guy from what im hearing

Not Your Ornery Onager

sabat wrote: »
    So, could all this be the source of or a large factor in the recent trouble? Is someone making so much money that others have decided they want a piece of the action? Has the traditionally lucrative heroin market dried up as addicts no longer need as much or any at all, and now some people want it back open? Have certain parties been given a free ride in the media over the years as to the nature and extent of their criminality? What is the involvement of former and current republican subversives?

So many question (marks)?

Answear: Zimmoframe.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭bajer101

the media are saying the intended target got a ten year sentence for a cash van robbery maybe this will clear it up

www .herald .ie/news/courts/im-still -alive-shouts-pal-of-robber -shot-dead-by-gardai-as-hes-sent-to-jail -27957441 .html

i cant post links because im a new user but copy and paste and take the spaces out and it should work

Funnily enough the main man on the Hutch side with the big vendetta managed to get a suspended sentence for his involvement in a "cash in transit" raid. And then there's the two brothers, one of whom was actually caught with in a raid with a Hutch.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I see headlights in the future.

Not your ornery onager

Funnily enough the main man on the Hutch side with the big vendetta managed to get a suspended sentence for his involvement in a "cash in transit" raid.

you wouldnt be talking about the man in drag here would you?

herald just did a write up on it this was part of it

Elsewhere, tensions were at breaking point between locals and gardai in the direct aftermath of the murder.
    A group of men and women attempted to attack a member of gardai and threatened several others within yards of the wheelie-bin where the weapon used in the murder was found.
    The incident took place less than half an hour after the shooting, when a young man fled from a detective up Sheriff Street Lr and on to Seville Place.
    The man then came out of the house, took off his jacket and aggressively moved towards the detective in an attempt to begin a confrontation. Several others also left their houses and shouted abuse at four gardai present.
    The area was at the centre of a separate feud some 15 years ago, involving the Christy Griffin gang, which took the lives of five people.

Not Your Ornery Onager

The main drag. The Tenderloin. 52nd Street.

Down in Hollywood (Ry Cooder).

The Blue Highway.

Not your ornery onager

Not Your Ornery Onager

What did we do before the interweb?

We went to The Big Tree that's what we did.

We took our lumps and we went home.

Straight down the Norrier.

Not your ornery onager

keith murtagh was the intended target the gunman ran towards him but in the confusion shot dead drug addict martin orourke who was just in the area to buy drugs. the chief suspect in the hit was arrested before for the murder of mad mickey devoy hes supposedly one of a number of young thugs who work as guns for hire for the kinahan crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Gamebred wrote: »

When the Gardaí come round they scurry away then come back out again when they get the green light. None of them would ever have enough on them to get done for a big haul I'd imagine.

The back of our building is on Sherriff St, there is a constant track of people heading up there to buy drugs. Lads checking there little plastic bags on the way back.
    None of them ever seem to have any cigarettes, if I was to give a "smoke bud" to everyone that asked I'd have to buy an extra carton a week.

There was always an unmarked police car on that island near where the lad was shot but I've not seen one in a good few months. of course they all knew what it was but at least it would have acted as a deterrent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

IMO there should be an outcry over this chaps murder. When Shane Geoghan was murdered(another case of mistaken identity) in Limerick there was a huge turnout for his funeral and a huge public condemnation of it.As a result the Powers that be realised that the ordinary people of Limerick were not going to tolerate any more of these scum and their activities. Every elected TD, and I mean all 158, should attend that mans funeral. These drug suppliers and peddlers of misery should be hounded and not glamorised with silly nicknames in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A group of men and women attempted to attack a member of gardai and threatened several others within yards of the wheelie-bin where the weapon used in the murder was found.

The man then came out of the house, took off his jacket and aggressively moved towards the detective in an attempt to begin a confrontation. Several others also left their houses and shouted abuse at four gardai present.
    Salt of the earth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Salt of the earth

how dare you even need to say it.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

IMO there should be an outcry over this chaps murder. When Shane Geoghan was murdered(another case of mistaken identity) in Limerick there was a huge turnout for his funeral and a huge public condemnation of it.As a result the Powers that be realised that the ordinary people of Limerick were not going to tolerate any more of these scum and their activities. Every elected TD, and I mean all 158, should attend that mans funeral. These drug suppliers and peddlers of misery should be hounded and not glamorised with silly nicknames in the media.

When Katy french died there was an outcry and the only person ever convicted of supplying drugs that killed someone in the state happened.

Why is this?

As I said there is no will to catch the criminal gangs. They can operate and earn millions, drive flash cars etc without been caught and locked up.

There is something behind all this that's very strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

What are you smoking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

JustTheOne wrote: »
    When Katy french died there was an outcry and the only person ever convicted of supplying drugs that killed someone in the state happened.

Why is this?

As I said there is no will to catch the criminal gangs. They can operate and earn millions, drive flash cars etc without been caught and locked up.

There is something behind all this that's very strange.

Corruption at the highest levels might be the answer