Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking at home alone...or drinking in pubs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Most people that like a drink - and that actually have kids - will probably admit that they still have the occasional late night out or suffer a Sunday hangover. It's only when it's a regular thing or the the norm that it's an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Tombi! wrote: »
    You can't be serious.
    So if I'm having wine at home with whatever girl I'm going out with, that's a problem if we stay in and drink?
    Or if I have a few cans watching a match?
    Or if we had a BBQ and a few people have a few cans on a nice summer day?

Did you not see the words "alone" and "all night"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Drinking at home alone doesn't mean hammering 10 cans into you and crawling to bed.

My partner and I only go out to the pub when there's an occasion (birthdays, gigs, friends visiting, big match, work night out, etc) or when the mood takes us. And the mood does not take us that often anymore.

Last night we cooked a nice dinner, shared 2 bottles of nice wine, and watched a movie. I woke up early with no hangover and didn't feel any fear that I'd missed out on a good night out. If my partner is away, I'll still have a few drinks at the weekend by myself.

As the OP said, it is a case of diminishing returns. Years ago, the nights out were wild and the stories would be retold for weeks or months afterwards. Nowadays, the hangover is usually not worth the night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I had a great few years in my late teens and early 20s, but in hindsight my relationship with alcohol was always as a social facilitator. Now that I'm in a relationship with kids, unless I was organising a meetup with my friends, it'd never occur to me to drink. Herself is the same, we'd only have a drink in the house at xmas together maybe.

My parents would happily sit in at the weekends with wine and they are sensible enough but it still seems unnecessary to me? Maybe I'm just dull now :D

Although I did go drinking on Friday and wake up on Saturday with no hair so dull might be a relative term :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,013 ✭✭✭jackboy

A couple drinks at home alone, watching a match or a film is heaven to me.

I also like the pub but do not get the 5 in the morning thing. I have never seen anyone enjoying themselves in a pub at this hour. Most people at this hour are long past the happy drunk stage. Tired, emotional, depressed or crying into the pint are the scene. Or, worst of all, the sing song starts. Old Irish laments.

What a miserable puritanical attitude.

I think it's miserable to drink at home alone

I also like the pub but do not get the 5 in the morning thing. I have never seen anyone enjoying themselves in a pub at this hour. Most people at this hour are long past the happy drunk stage. Tired, emotional, depressed or crying into the pint are the scene. Or, worst of all, the sing song starts. Old Irish laments.

jackboy wrote: »
    I also like the pub but do not get the 5 in the morning thing. I have never seen anyone enjoying themselves in a pub at this hour.

The best house parties reached their peak during the 3/4am slot...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Last night I left the pub at ten to 3 (and they were still serving I just wanted to go get food) then after that I ended up going to my partners best friends house with him and his girlfriend and a few other lads, (my oh was at home)
    Had a few drinks there, they're great craic. No tears, no depressing stories, no singing. Secrets, funny stories and lots of gossip. My oh collected me this morning and brought me home. Best night out in ages and I didn't even make it to the nightclub

Last night I left the pub at ten to 3 (and they were still serving I just wanted to go get food) then after that I ended up going to my partners best friends house with him and his girlfriend and a few other lads, (my oh was at home)
    Had a few drinks there, they're great craic. No tears, no depressing stories, no singing. Secrets, funny stories and lots of gossip. My oh collected me this morning and brought me home. Best night out in ages and I didn't even make it to the nightclub

Yes, but that was in a house. The post pub party is different to late night pub drinking. I'm not sure why but the atmosphere is often very different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

No queue for the toilets, no taxi fare, no barman pulling a disgraceful pint and no awful music blaring. When I drink at home alone it's bliss tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Do you drink on the set of The Field?

Not far from it in winter when the tourists are not around. I suppose in the cities and bigger towns, late night pub drinking may have more possibilities.

I fully agree, staying up drinking "all night" would point to a problem.

Did you never drink at home at all...maybe it was another shamrock who spoke of only giving up as they had 2 kids...

It could have been me alright, dont get me wrong i have done the drinking at home on my own thing,not that often mind you,but i found it just too easy to get pissed if you can understand that,you dont have to worry about anything like how you behave or how you act or even how your gonna get home,you could start off with a few cans and end up polishing off a couple of bottles of wine and no ones the wiser,i packed that all in cos i realised it wasnt good or healthy for me to be doing that,i still drink mind you but just save it for the pub now (once a month if im lucky) not indoors.

i have a good friend who started having a few cans at home years ago,now i have a job to get him to come out to the pub now,he prefers to drink himself into a stuper at home on his own most nights,he is a raging alcho nowgod love him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I know someone who smoked a bit of weed at a party.

Now he spends his days loitering on the boardwalk with needles hanging out of his arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

copper face toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Fred Talbot

What are people's thoughts on going to a pub by themselves? I do it quite a bit but I'm lucky that there is a trad bar near me that has a good mix of locals and tourists so I often end up talking to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Since moving to the back arse of nowhere I very rarely go out bar the odd night in Dublin. The nearest pub to me is 4 miles away and I can't be arsed going there for a few drinks and booking a cab an hour in advance when I can crack open a bottle of wine at the weekend and watch my stories.

When I lived in Dublin I was out every Fri, Sat and Sun. I never thought I would be the type of guy who would be sitting in at weekends but I don't miss the whole going out for the sake of it.

Now when I go out in Dublin it is for a specific reason (birthdays, etc) and I enjoy it a lot more.

shamrock55 wrote: »
    i have a good friend who started having a few cans at home years ago,now i have a job to get him to come out to the pub now,he prefers to drink himself into a stuper at home on his own most nights,he is a raging alcho nowgod love him

I was the opposite. Pub, late bar, party, limitless drink, when sick of pints could change to vodka and coke, then someone would get the tequila idea (urgh), fat frogs etc.

At home I can regulate what I drink, if I buy 6 cans that's the limit, there is no binging, no stupid stuff like shots, no pressure to knock them back while someone else is lining up the next round etc. You'll get raging alcos in pubs and at home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

its alright until you start to fall asleep on the sofa a couple times a week, and your snoring wakes the house at 5am... and you are doing stealth visits to the recyclers to avoid the large build up of tins and bottles in the garage!

ha, that reminds me of a lodger I had once, she was hiding the bottles of wine in cupboards / hotpress and doing a run to the recycling when I wasnt home.

Said a lot more about her opinion of her drinking than mine seeing as I didnt give a ****e.

esforum wrote: »
    ha, that reminds me of a lodger I had once, she was hiding the bottles of wine in cupboards / hotpress and doing a run to the recycling when I wasnt home.

Said a lot more about her opinion of her drinking than mine seeing as I didnt give a ****e.

If she was ugly, that's a disgusting habit.

If she was attractive, it's kinda endearing, God love her...

We used to have big crates out the back, one for bottles one for cans.
    2 of my housemates were DJs, 1 was a bouncer and they would have the craziest parties at the weekend. I got up one Sunday morning and someone had put bubble bath in the jacuzzi, which obviously was a bad idea when the jets were on, because there was bubbles coming out the bathroom door and down the hall. One of the lads was standing there butt naked off his face on mdma.

Another night they had the hot tub outside going, few of the lads had a few girls from tinder there. All going well til one couple decided to take it a bit further. He tore his penis, there was blood everywhere, she was two bottles of wine down, in a hot tub, with a guy that's after tearing himself asunder on top of her. So she got sick. Nice combo, blood and vomit in the hot tub.

But yeah -- those crates would be emptied once a month or so, and I bet some bars would have less recyclables than that house.

We used to have big crates out the back, one for bottles one for cans.
    2 of my housemates were DJs, 1 was a bouncer and they would have the craziest parties at the weekend. I got up one Sunday morning and someone had put bubble bath in the jacuzzi, which obviously was a bad idea when the jets were on, because there was bubbles coming out the bathroom door and down the hall. One of the lads was standing there butt naked off his face on mdma.

Another night they had the hot tub outside going, few of the lads had a few girls from tinder there. All going well til one couple decided to take it a bit further. He tore his penis, there was blood everywhere, she was two bottles of wine down, in a hot tub, with a guy that's after tearing himself asunder on top of her. So she got sick. Nice combo, blood and vomit in the hot tub.

But yeah -- those crates would be emptied once a month or so, and I bet some bars would have less recyclables than that house.

Christ. That's a party. When I said house parties peaked in the 3-4am slot, was more thinking of fellows on recreational drugs and Underworld pounding out Born Slippy...it seems a bit lame now...

It was only exciting for one or two nights but when it was every weekend it was lame as hell. Many the night I got up like a raging physco and on occasion physically ejected crying women like banshees from the house.
    My favourite housemate at the time would come knock on my bedroom door to give me Valium if I didn't kick anyone out that night.

Another night we were out, he'd brought some girl from the nightclub he was djing in. They're in bed by the time myself and my friend got in drunk. We went down to his room and jumped in on top of him, she was livid, we got him up to drink with us, she stayed in bed, and about 6 am, she gets up too, storms down to where we were calling him the height of names and demanding he bring her home. I was supposed to be in work at 10am, and at about 6am me my friend and him were outside hiding under a bush so she couldn't find us.

Some messy nights were had in that house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,179 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Get a ****ing cab?

One fellow I used to meet the odd time in the pub and at parties has just put up on his FB "have you ever been so hungover that you could see noise".

Part of me thinks I must have missed a great night, but the other part thinks thank God I missed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

If she was ugly, that's a disgusting habit.

If she was attractive, it's kinda endearing, God love her...

as she shared the room with her boyfriend I shall leave you to decide

(he was the snitch by the way :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Torricelli wrote: »
    Never drank in the house and never will. I find it a little sad and tight fisted to be honest. It's nice to go out to the pub and catch up with friends and neighbors.

What do you do when the pubs are closed?
    You can "catch up with friends and neighbours" in houses too