Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking at home alone...or drinking in pubs...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Like to drink a beer or two at home. I found that as a result of drinking at home I paced myself when I was out. I'd be sitting there and through 3 beers and a bit tipsy and thought "wow I drink about 5 or 6 in this time it took to drink these 3 no wonder I'm getting smashed when I'm out".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

...so for 20 years I did the whole pub and party thing, last man drinking, crashing in the door at 5 and 6am, and loved it. Sneered at fellows drinking at home, thought it almost pointed to a problem.

In the past year, at the age of 41, I've kinda got the flea in the ear from the wife and went cold turkey. After years of burning the candle at both ends, just switched it off. Now haven't been out after midnight in over a year.

When I was doing the whole partying thing, thought drinking at home alone sounded depressing. Now wife and kid in bed, on 5th can, watching tv...and wondering why I spent so many years thinking this was so bad.

Have I just forgotten how good it was and become institutionalised?

I think you have a problem. Why are you sitting up into the late hours drinking alone? By all means have a beer and relax but you are painting a pretty bad picture of yourself considering you were crashing in the door at 5am while your wife and child were already asleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,239 ✭✭✭Elessar

Honestly I prefer drinking alone. In the last few weeks I've turned down two invites to head out with friends/workmates for drinks to have a drink at home alone. I wonder is it a problem but I just prefer it. I'm lazy like that and bullsh*t small talk is I find very tiring and takes a lot out of me. I can get drunk at home in my own peace and quiet. I can't understand others who head out all the time on the lash, it costs a fortune and you end up with the same end result. Plus if I'm at home I can head to bed early. I'm not against going out with friends or anything, I still do it, but I'd much rather stay in the comfort of my own home and watch a good movie/browse the internet. Sometimes I wish I was more social, but I'm just kind of lazy like that.

esforum wrote: »
    I think you have a problem. Why are you sitting up into the late hours drinking alone? By all means have a beer and relax but you are painting a pretty bad picture of yourself considering you were crashing in the door at 5am while your wife and child were already asleep.

I wouldn't categorise 6 cans one night a week a problem.

But I appreciate it's all relative. And subjective.

Crashing in the door at 5am was uncontrolled drinking, I think a few cans before midnight at home is controlled particularly relative to the 15 or 20 years that went before...but again it's subjective and everyone will have different perspectives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

I'm more likely to have a few at home rather than in the pub these days but I think that in general it's definitely an age thing. A lot of friends would be the same now too. But good God we had some good times in the pubs. We could not wait to get in the door of the pub at the weekend and the place would be full of friends and none of us could be happier.
    I'd hear some looking back and giving out about it now - going out was crap, a waste of money and it took them so long to learn. But they certainly weren't giving out about it back then! It's an age thing. We're all getting on a bit. We don't have the energy we used to, can't drink like we used to and can't recover like we used to. It all becomes less appealing over time but they were good times.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Drinking at home alone by a mile. If I am drinking at home it would usually take about 5-6 hours to get through 5-6 cans. I would rarely make the 6th can and would go to bed slightly drunk.

If I was in the pub, I would drink 5-6 pints in about 3-4 hours and would go home pissed. Plus I would be about €20 extra out of pocket.

I much prefer staying at home, in my sweatpants, a couple of cheap beers, some salted snacks and sport on tv. The Pub is a pain in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

I like to mix it up. Can decide I want to really let the hair down and go mad on the drink one weekend with friends out and about or can go weeks on end without touching a drop. The odd night like last night I had 2 glasses of wine to unwind watching tv after a tough week of work and that will be me for the weekend. No harm in it at all. Everyone is different and my requirements change every weekend between lots, some or no alcohol at all.

I don't mind drinking at home and would have a few cans etc from time to time alone or sometimes call to friends for heavy nights of beer and spirits (I always keep a big stock of spirits in the house).

But still into my 30's I prefer drinking in pubs and most of my drinking is in pubs. I'd hit the pub at last once most weeks for a good scelp of beer. The thought of not seeing the inside of a pub for weeks at a time and only drinking at home is fairly depressing to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Same here. I used to be partying all the time all over Dublin city going to every pub/nightclub until I started to get the bouncer-bounce. It got to a stage that no matter where I went even copper face toilet I was refused entry and this was when I was dressed very well and only had 2 pints in me.

Got so frustrated with the refusals and then the ass-holes in these places always starting fights that I went with the drinking at home thing... best thing I ever done, with no **** annoying me and I can enjoy myself much better. A get together once a week or so is great without the bouncers and ass-holes. Burp, my apologies.

Yes indeed, just starting my weekend right now with a few lovely chilled beers in the fridge from last night and also making love to this joint.

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭res ipsa

Heckler wrote: »
    almost.

Its "all in all is all we are"

Sneaky edit there Heckler!

I wouldn't categorise 6 cans one night a week a problem.

But I appreciate it's all relative. And subjective.

Crashing in the door at 5am was uncontrolled drinking, I think a few cans before midnight at home is controlled particularly relative to the 15 or 20 years that went before...but again it's subjective and everyone will have different perspectives.

No, I wouldnt be too concerned myself but the doctor would, its classed as binge drinking isnt it? ;)

It was more the image of your wife and child in bed and you arriving home pissed as a fart at 5am on a regular basis that concerned me,

• Registered Users Posts: 28,770 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I do neither..

15/20 years ago I would have been out most weekends or during the week (shift work), but these days my friends are all married/settled and living all over the country so getting people together is tough.

Foe me drinking was about the socialising - I still have 6 bottles of Bulmers in the fridge that I bought for last year's Champions League final :p

esforum wrote: »
    No, I wouldnt be too concerned myself but the doctor would, its classed as binge drinking isnt it? ;)

It was more the image of your wife and child in bed and you arriving home pissed as a fart at 5am on a regular basis that concerned me,

I don't think so. I would associate binge drinking with drinking to get drunk, uncontrolled drinking whether at home or in a pub.

Again, it's all very subjective, but I wouldn't put a 6 pack of beer in that category.

The 5am stuff stopped pretty soon after baby arrived. After years of giving me all the space I wanted, that's when my wife drew the line.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I prefer drinking at home but my other half prefers to go out.
    I do compromise, though, and we do go out now and again.
    I always enjoy myself, especially if there's some music on; I have my few pints and get a bit tipsy, but never drunk, but I always get a massive hangover the next morning.

If I stay at home, I'd go through a bottle of wine over a few hours....once in a blue moon, if I've finished the wine I might have one or two cans, and some crisps or nuts, watch a bit of telly or watch something on my tablet...
    I never get a hangover if I've been drinking at home.

I just like being at home, but now and again it is nice to be out and socialising :)

I don't think so. I would associate binge drinking with drinking to get drunk, uncontrolled drinking whether at home or in a pub.

Again, it's all very subjective, but I wouldn't put a 6 pack of beer in that category.

The 5am stuff stopped pretty soon after baby arrived. After years of giving me all the space I wanted, that's when my wife drew the line.

yeah, not having a go at you conor, the health professional class it as binging. I dont have an issue with it.

you have grown up since the 5am days, good for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Apples and oranges.

I prefer the whole social aspect of being out in a pub with friends - I only bother my hole if its good friends. I tend to drink less/not at all lately when I go ou though.

But I also enjoy a cider at home if it's a nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Nothing wrong with having a few beers or whatever at home. I drink at home and drink at the pub. Having good quality beers at home, beers you can't get at a typical pub is done regularly by me. I really don't care if people think it's weird, same as going to the pub by yourself to have a few to watch a game or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I am the op at 31

Drinking at home is STUPAH

• Registered Users Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭worded

Almost finished painting the house and having a well deserved Guinness in bed at the moment, the reward pint ....

Bliss

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Unfortunately most of my friends are still in the age of "LETS GET LOCKED LADS!" and I'm too old for that :o
    I'd rather drink at home.
    I'd also rather drink in the pub for a match or just a few pints over 3-4 hours. I can't be bothered with the staying till 5AM and struggling to find your keys anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Not a big fan of going out so rarely do go out. Much prefer staying in with a movie/tv show etc and having a glass of wine or some beers or something.

Much more relaxing, no trying to find a taxi to get home, cheaper, can head to bed at anytime etc.

Not a big drinker either so can take or leave that.

Haven't been on a night out since November of last year. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I'm happy to drink at home. Far safer and no worries about trying to get taxis when pissed. Home drinking is very relaxing as long as you are not a looney.

I actually dislike drinking out in bars now because of the unknown element as in encountering some drunken fella who thinks you had sex with his wife whenever you never saw him or his wife before.

timthumbni wrote: »
    I actually dislike drinking out in bars now because of the unknown element as in encountering some drunken fella who thinks you had sex with his wife whenever you never saw him or his wife before.

Go on, we won't tell anyone...you had sex with his wife, didn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm happy to drink at home. Far safer and no worries about trying to get taxis when pissed. Home drinking is very relaxing as long as you are not a looney.

Jaysus, do you leave the house at all!? Sure you could get hit by a car crossing the road but I doubt that stops you from crossing the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Are you lookin at my missus??
    Tim: no
    Why, is she ugly

Are you lookin at my missus??
    Tim: no
    Why, is she ugly

The comma is important.

Because otherwise it could have another line...

Tim: I dunno, maybe one or both parents were ugly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Let's eat grandma
    Let's eat, grandma