Anthony Joshua v Charles Martin

FTA69 wrote: »
    Utter nonsense. I met him at a WSB event and the man is a f*cking unit.

Just because you think he is a unit how is what I said utter nonsense? What exactly is utter nonsense?

If a professional back row forward is 6'4 you would expect him to be around 115kg, thats 1.5 stone heavier than Joshua. Steven Ferris was 116kg at 6'4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,494 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Haye is cringey as ****, almost as obvious as he is.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

This is Joshua compared to Carl Froch, bearing in mind this was when Froch was still Boxing so Joshua bigger than that now. He's a f*cking freakish monster.

BpJ84uNCYAAffIT.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,106 ✭✭✭Big Ears

vetinari wrote: »
    Charles Martin has been boxing professionally for 7 years with a record of 22 wins and 1 draw.
    He was also the IBF title holder.
    To describe him as not top 20 in the division is just being ridiculous.

Tbh, we won't know how good Anthony Joshua is until he faces someone that can handle his power.
    For all we know, Fury could be knocked out just as easily.

Is it ?, Previous to tonight he had only fought one top 100 Heavyweight, and he won that fight because the other man suffered knee ligament damage. So what makes you think he was a definite top 20 fighter ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

Hes really not that muscular, there are rugby players way way bigger than he is and just as shredded. Hes only 106 kg and thats at 6'4 according to wiki. Which in rugby and definitely american football is extremely small for that height.

People call him a bodybuilder, he would look like a stick compared to a bodybuilder.

Rugby players hahaha?!?!
    I dont watch rugby much but if you're talking about the guys at the front of the scrum then i'm not sure what you're on about haha dont think they are shredded and that tall...

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    This is Joshua compared to Carl Froch, bearing in mind this was when Froch was still Boxing so Joshua bigger than that now. He's a f*cking freakish monster.

BpJ84uNCYAAffIT.jpg

Carl Froch is weedy 11 stone at 6 foot, obviously Joshua makes him look like a child.

AJ, for a heavyweight boxer, is in unbelievable shape. More muscle then he needs possibly and will be interesting to see how that works out over the course of his career. He is one hell of a unit and comparing him to rugby players or american footballers is no good. Apples and oranges.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Rugby players hahaha?!?!
    I dont watch rugby much but if you're talking about the guys at the front of the scrum then i'm not sure what you're on about haha dont think they are shredded and that tall...

No Im talking about the lads at the back of the scrum. And even in the backs his size would be small in the centres, he isnt on steroids at all

8+Pierre-Spies+10.7.jpg

This guy is the same height as Joshua and is over a stone heavier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Just because you think he is a unit how is what I said utter nonsense? What exactly is utter nonsense?

If a professional back row forward is 6'4 you would expect him to be around 115kg, thats 1.5 stone heavier than Joshua. Steven Ferris was 116kg at 6'4

The notion that he's "not really that muscular" is nonsense. the man has an unbelievable physique by any and all standards, and on top of that he has one as a very large man. Compared to the other heavyweights he's nearly in a league of his own.

As for rugby? Total irrelevance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Sonny Bill Williams is noted for having one of the best physiques in rugby...roughly the same size and weight as Joshua. This is Sonny Bill in the ring:

1416654021739.jpg

This is Joshua:

josh_2017968a.jpg

Joshua is a monster, no more to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

No Im talking about the lads at the back of the scrum. And even in the backs his size would be small in the centres, he isnt on steroids at all

8+Pierre-Spies+10.7.jpg

This guy is the same height as Joshua and is over a stone heavier.

Is he? Fair play to him. Sure leave him jump into a boxing ring at elite level and see how he gets on so.

You're either full of sh*t or trolling, either way you're boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Back Rows wouldn't have the movement or speed of Joshua

The notion that he's "not really that muscular" is nonsense. the man has an unbelievable physique by any and all standards, and on top of that he has one as a very large man. Compared to the other heavyweights he's nearly in a league of his own.

No I didnt mean it like that I just wanted to defend the notion he is taking steroids. I just gave rugby players as an example.
    I like Joshua, hes fresh in the division, brings a bit of excitement back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 940 ✭✭✭thierry14

search?q=joshua+vs+klitschko&client=safari&hl=en-ie&biw=320&bih=460&tbm=isch&prmd=vni&source=lnms&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjwhKi62ILMAhWL0xoKHSkvDosQ_AUICCgD&dpr=2#imgrc=ydJ8VI6lSMly6M%3A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Chat shît, get banged lads

Is he? Fair play to him. Sure leave him jump into a boxing ring at elite level and see how he gets on so.

You're either full of sh*t or trolling, either way you're boring.

Im not trolling you dope, im defending him from the user saying he is on steroids. Which he clearly isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Haye is cringey as ****, almost as obvious as he is.

Why don't you just turn the sound down when he's talking. Fury will likely out box Joshua early on, but he won't be able to avoid getting tagged cleanly at some point, and when he does the fight is over.
    Wilder has the power to knock out Joshua out, but his chin will let him down. Haye would provide a sterner test than the static punchbag southpaw we saw tonight. Haye, while his reflexes might not be as good as they were, would still cause Joshua problems with his movement, and he has the power to knock him out. However i think Joshua would still win.

Parker is a hype job. Povetkin, if he prevails against Wilder, against Joshua would be an interesting bout.

How good a cruiser weight was Haye?
    Would he have a chance against Fury or Joshua at HW?

Hes not that old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭9de5q7tsr8u2im

Look at this lads HAHAHA (middle)

Not really, the klitschko brothers both have equally impressive physique's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Why don't you just turn the sound down when he's talking. Fury will likely out box Joshua early on, but he won't be able to avoid getting tagged cleanly at some point, and when he does the fight is over.
    Wilder has the power to knock out Joshua out, but his chin will let him down. Haye would provide a sterner test than the static punchbag southpaw we saw tonight. Haye, while his reflexes might not be as good as they were, would still cause Joshua problems with his movement, and he has the power to knock him out. However i think Joshua would still win.

Parker is a hype job. Povetkin, if he prevails against Wilder, against Joshua would be an interesting bout.

Haye wouldn't be a tougher test it would be the same as when he fought Klitschko he would be terrified of AJ power and would never get in close enough to let go.

They were also the exception rather then the rule, the nearly in his sentence would allow for them also and though Wlad has been in tremendous shape for a long time, neither man looked as impressive a specimen tbh. Vitali isn't even a boxer so not sure his relevance and certainly never had as impressive a physique.

Well I dont agree tbh, black skin will always make the person looks more muscular hence bodybuilders tanning themselves to within an inch of their lives on stage.

At 6'4 and 106kg if he was taking steroids, they arent very good ones. His physique is attainable naturally for sure and I dont believe he is on them as another person suggested.

I'm ok with you not agreeing, such is life. There is no way either Wlad or Vitali was as impressive a specimen in terms of physique as AJ is. Wlad would be closer then Vitali.

Not sure why your bringing steroids in to it with me, I didn't mention steroids, nor do I think he is on them, he looks pretty natural to me.

Edit:

He was 17st 6lbs at the weigh in which I am sure you know is bigger then 106kg (just in case, its over 111kg)

Now I think of it, pretty sure he is listed as being 6'6 not 6'4, maybe wiki has his height right and elsewhere has it wrong, but wiki is certainly wrong on his weight, and he was a little lighter tonight then he was for his last fight even though he came to the weigh in at 111.7kgs

Wiki is the only place a quick google threw him up as 6'4, everywhere else, boxrec, ajboxing, celebheight etc have him as 6'6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Haye wouldn't be a tougher test it would be the same as when he fought Klitschko he would be terrified of AJ power and would never get in close enough to let go.

Haye is a natural counter puncher and has been since he was an amateur.
    He also has a tendency to fight off the back foot and be even more tentative when he's facing higher quality opposition, especially if they possess a lot of power.
    With that said it was Wlad's feet which negated Haye's opportunities to counter, and helped make the fight tremendously boring.

Joshua's footwork is okay and he has got pretty quick feet, but nowhere near the level Wlad was at back then. Haye would get opportunities to counter, and he'd likely have enough power to get the job done if he could land. The main issue is if Joshua gets him out of there before he even gets a chance to throw anything back. Haye's not as agile as he once was, and his chin has never been the best.....

I'm ok with you not agreeing, such is life. There is no way either Wlad or Vitali was as impressive a specimen in terms of physique as AJ is. Wlad would be closer then Vitali.

Not sure why your bringing steroids in to it with me, I didn't mention steroids, nor do I think he is on them, he looks pretty natural to me.

Edit:

He was 17st 6lbs at the weigh in which I am sure you know is bigger then 106kg (just in case, its over 111kg)

Now I think of it, pretty sure he is listed as being 6'6 not 6'4, maybe wiki has his height right and elsewhere has it wrong, but wiki is certainly wrong on his weight, and he was a little lighter tonight then he was for his last fight even though he came to the weigh in at 111.7kgs

Wiki is the only place a quick google threw him up as 6'4, everywhere else, boxrec, ajboxing, celebheight etc have him as 6'6

Sorry the steroid reference wasn't aimed at you, someone else said it. If he is 6'6 then his weight isnt huge and no where near the range that he should be accused of using something by anyone.

It actually says alot about the heavyweight division that there is no one close to him physically. Obviously he is in incredible shape but the fact there is no one close to him bar the brothers shows you american football has really hit boxing hard.

If you are good athlete looking for a career as a HW American football is the path you choose before boxing. Hence the division being so so poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭tastyt

The man is a beast, comparing him to other sportsmen in different sports is ridiculous. Also the fact that he is on record as saying that mostly he only does bodyweight training for his upper body just shows you he's genetically blessed.

Anyway, it was clinical from AJ tonight.

Best thing for me is his refreshing humble attitude for a boxer. Seems intelligent and has his head screwed on which is why I reckon he's destined for the very top. A pleasure to listen to him talk after the fight, especially after having to endure Shannon Briggs mouthing off like a moron yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

I expected a better fight tonight but that nobody was an absolute disgrace wasn't he....??? Thought he was trying to push the 10 count to look good but really wanted out of there.

The heavyweight division is no doubt becoming that more bit of a watch though now.

It's been a long time coming.

Sorry the steroid reference wasn't aimed at you, someone else said it. If he is 6'6 then his weight isnt huge and no where near the range that he should be accused of using something by anyone.

It actually says alot about the heavyweight division that there is no one close to him physically. Obviously he is in incredible shape but the fact there is no one close to him bar the brothers shows you american football has really hit boxing hard.

If you are good athlete looking for a career as a HW American football is the path you choose before boxing. Hence the division being so so poor.

I know I'm not a mod here, but it probably would be best to start a new thread if people want to further the discussion on PED's in boxing. With that said I'm gonna make a quick comment on the bit in bold. A person's height and weight is a poor indicator of whether they take or have taken anabolic steroids or synthetic testosterone. Many professional cyclists have tested positive for steroids or synthetic forms of testosterone and as you may be aware those chaps can be pretty fecking skinny.
    In boxing Lamont Peterson fights at 140 lbs, and probably walks around at about 160 lbs (he stays in shape between fights) when not in camp. He tested positive for synthetic testosterone when fighting Amir Khan, with a T/E level of 3.7/1. The average males T/E level is 1/1. Peterson is 5'8.
    He's always looked in shape, but he's also always looked pretty skinny despite his artificial testosterone supplementation.

Kid Galahad also didn't looked like the Anabolic steroids type, but he failed a drugs test for Stanozolol use.....so there ya go. Of course I'm not accusing any fighter who hasn't tested positive of PED of being on anything, but your criteria is flawed to say the least.

Now, the other thing I take issue with is the American Football excuse we hear so much of. There was plenty of money in American football when Mike Tyson, Evander Holyfield and Riddick Bowe were around.....yet they still came to prominence !
    Also that's 1 sport, played in 1 nation, which leaves a lot of other countries to account for if judging the division to be poor.