Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anthony Joshua v Charles Martin

• 09-02-2016 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Supposedly about to be announced in the next 48 hours.

World title fight for AJ. Not sure its a great career move for him tbh. From the one fight I've seen of Martin I think AJ beats him but if he wins that theres no going back. No more building when your world champ. It's still a bit soon for him imo.

Potential to be a good fight though I think albeit a risky one for Hearn and co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Apart from Glazkov has Martin fought anyone in the top 50?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Joshua by very early KO. I really do not rate Martin at all. His fight with Glazkov should have been a NC. He's very slow and very predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

AJ's next opponent announced at 6 bells. Few whispers on twitter that it could be Hughie Fury.

DylanAFC wrote: »
    AJ's next opponent announced at 6 bells. Few whispers on twitter that it could be Hughie Fury.

World title shot against Charles Martin

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I'd fancy Joshua to ko him inside 5 rounds

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Yeah it's been confirmed. Absolute gift for Joshua. I'd much rather see him as champ rather than Martin but this is an absolute joke of a title fight. Povetkin must be absolutely raging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Martin is awful easy win for AJ, embarrassing this is a world title fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Have the people saying this is an easy win for Joshua seen much of Martin? Curious to know what their opinions are based on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Larsso30

pac_man wrote: »
    Financially it makes sense for him to be fighting for a world title now. The more Joshua fights, the more high profile he'll get and receiving 25% for a mandatory position doesn't make business sense.

Politics aside,I'm not convinced this is the right for Joshua in terms of his overall career development.Sure, he'll more than likely win but he will be just like Wilder in the sense that he'd be a world champion that is still very much learning on the job. It kinda illustrates how poor the division has become.

in one for me too.

Cant blame him and his team for taking it at the same time, but too soon for me. No going backwards when you are HW world champ, more so in Britain than Wilder in US, much greater expectation on him

Fair play to Martin for taking the fight, puts wilder to shame.

He probably realises he won't be champion for long and has decided to cash in. Hopefully he's getting a nice little pay packet for himself.

Maybe he could surprise everyone, hw boxing can end on one punch, but for me it would be a bigger shock thanwhat Fury done to steelhammer

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,321 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Johner wrote: »
    Have the people saying this is an easy win for Joshua seen much of Martin? Curious to know what their opinions are based on.

I think if AJ takes it lightly he could be in for a shock, but if he is prepared properly he should come through and take his first world title with relative ease. Martin is an easy to hit target, though he is capable of throwing back also and I have a little doubt in my mind given the way Joshua was rocked by Whyte that if something similar happens Martin would more then likely be able to finish the fight.

Its a risk at this stage for AJ, but probably too good an opportunity to turn down to get a world title.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Word is Haymon is losing his nuts and trying to cut costs, hence why he allowing martin travel.

A year ago Haymon wouldnt of allowed this imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Larsso30 wrote: »
    Word is Haymon is losing his nuts and trying to cut costs, hence why he allowing martin travel.

A year ago Haymon wouldnt of allowed this imo

There's a lot of speculation over the state of PBC, but none of it is particularly conclusive. The hedge fund that's financing it all is losing value at an alarming rate, but the implications for PBC are unclear.

I'm surprised this fight is happening. I fully expected Wilder to duck Povetkin, with the blessing of the WBC, and take the belt from Martin. I'd love to know why that didn't happen because that would be the usual way of doing things for both the WBC and Haymon.

Also, I didn't think Hearn would want the shot for AJ this soon. I imagined that he would have wanted more build-up, to the point where Sky would be selling AJ's title fight as one of the most important nights in British sporting history.

But maybe he thought it was too good of a chance to miss. Because there is very little chance of Martin holding onto that belt for very long. And it's clear that Haymon's plans for the UK have Hearn at the centre of them so maybe this was a gesture of good faith from Haymon to get Hearn to play along with other plans.

As for the fight itself, Martin doesn't look up to much. A basic enough fighter with decent power, but no speed in either his feet or hands. Unless AJ gets caught with one game changing shot I think he wins relatively easily.

i dont think Haymon has UK plans, he hardly has a hand on his US plans at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Larsso30 wrote: »
    i dont think Haymon has UK plans, he hardly has a hand on his US plans at present

Check this out - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/boxing/floyd-mayweather/12155863/Floyd-Mayweather-and-Eddie-Hearn-join-forces.html

Mayweather has been on appearance tours in the UK over the last month as well. It seems likely that he will acquire a promoter's license with Richard Schaefer running the company.

Whatever happens with PBC, Haymon isn't going anywhere. He's been taking 15% of those generous purses he's been paying out to fighters from that huge hedge fund. They will simply sign the fighters to Mayweather Promotions and carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭Morrison J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Can we expect a strong undercard for this because no way does this fight have enough selling power on its own to be PPV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Can we expect a strong undercard for this because no way does this fight have enough selling power on its own to be PPV?

Heavyweight title fight with Anthony Joshua, I'd imagine this will have no problem selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Do you think Eddie Hearn gives a sh1t about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭Morrison J

It's decent enough. Groves, Selby, Macklin all on it.

Joshua will sell well in the UK anyway. Does better figures than anyone over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I think if AJ takes it lightly he could be in for a shock, but if he is prepared properly he should come through and take his first world title with relative ease. Martin is an easy to hit target, though he is capable of throwing back also and I have a little doubt in my mind given the way Joshua was rocked by Whyte that if something similar happens Martin would more then likely be able to finish the fight.

Its a risk at this stage for AJ, but probably too good an opportunity to turn down to get a world title.

He's probably looked at the other heavyweights out there and decided he could have a bash off any of them so now is as good a time as any to grab a strap and throw his hat in the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,321 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I don't think AJ beats Wilder, at least not yet. **** knows with Fury, Martin is certainly the easiest target right now anyway and a great opportunity for him to go through the stratosphere in terms of hype and media attention.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Yeah tickets sold out in 90 seconds I'd expect this to do huge numbers.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Morrison J wrote: »

It's awful stuff, they should replace Johnny Nelson with Tyson Fury to spice things up!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭holy guacamole

If Joshua wins this will he become second in the list of heavyweight champions with the fewest fights?

I know Spinks beat Ali in his eighth fight but just wondered has anyone else captured a belt in less than 16 contests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Kaiser84

The way Joshua leaves his right side open a lot gives Martin a chance in the fight, in my opinion.

I know **** all about Martin, but I'm not sold on Joshua either.

When you are susceptible to left hooks and are fighting a southpaw who can bang, the southpaw has a chance.

Joshua should win, Martin can win.

Much as I like Joshua I'd love to see him KO'd just to see the utter deflation of the arselicking that the British media are currently engaging in as well as Hearn's face afterward.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Much as I like Joshua I'd love to see him KO'd just to see the utter deflation of the arselicking that the British media are currently engaging in as well as Hearn's face afterward.

Fury would like to see him smashed too. Makes it easier for Fury not having to meet him. They meet, Fury gets knocked clean out!

Loved their banter on twitter lately!

What are you on about? Fury would box the ears off Joshua all day long and still have time for a victory parade around the O2 via sulky trap.

Box the ears off him? Not a chance, and what happens when Joshua lands clean? Fury has three big problemes. Hasn't the defence to avoid getting tagged, the chin to take it or the power to discourage it! He is fcuked against heavy hitting men who come to destroy!

And, Joshua can box every bit as good as Fury!

All I'm saying is that I often said on this forum that Fury would be the champion of the world (the real one) and was laughed at and dismissed. The man made Wlad look impotent and weak, he's fast and he can move and box and has fought more credible opposition than Joshua to boot.

Tyson's the man.

All I'm saying is that I often said on this forum that Fury would be the champion of the world (the real one) and was laughed at and dismissed. The man made Wlad look impotent and weak, he's fast and he can move and box and has fought more credible opposition than Joshua to boot.

Tyson's the man.

I like Fury. I just think he's a KO waiting to happen. No way in hell Joushua or Wilder will freeze like sissies when in the ring against him. Wlad was a disgrace. We've been over this. Something very odd about the performance, considering Fury wasn't much better.

Like I said, Fury hasn't the chin or defense to make it 12 rds and win on points. He can be hit, and cleanly. If I had more cinfidence in Fury's chin I think he'd be a good bet to win on points. Not a guarantee, but a decent chance.

Straight up I believe Haye now would KO Fury quickly. Too fast and too heavy handed. I think at the time they were mant to fight, Haye was a clear enough favourite. I'd still make him a favourite.

walshb wrote: »
    Loved their banter on twitter lately!

It's been hilarious.

Fury has been talking about Joshua for a while now but Joshua wasn't biting.

I'm surprised he choose 4 days before his title fight to fire back at Fury. Maybe he's rattled.

Fury is the master of the mind games, he completely mind fcuked Klitschko to the extent that by the time they both got to the ring Klitschko was beat psychologically.

Joshua's best bet is to completely ignore him.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Fury is the master of the mind games, he completely mind fcuked Klitschko to the extent that by the time they both got to the ring Klitschko was beat psychologically.

Joshua's best bet is to completely ignore him.

I never really bought into this that one man breaks the other man before the fight. Wlad's performance cannot be explained away by mind games. His performance was just too abysmal to say that Fury broke him psychologically.

Joshua has a real mean streak about him. It;s been said before that if he was not a boxer he may well have ended up in gang trouble. Even listening to him talking about enjoying hurting his opponents, you can see a natural nasty side to him. He's similar to Mike Tyson and Kovalev

At the end of the day Fury, Joshua and Haye are laughing all the way to the bank and all this hype is a godsend to them. Fury has a rematch with Wlad, more coin in the bank. Even if he gets smashed to bits he has a domestic mega fight with AJ that'll sell out and even if he gets a hiding in that him and Haye can have a fake grudge match. In other words Fury can't lose, he stands to make countless millions no matter what he does. I'd say he's on cloud nine.

Haye is still making coin beating up journeymen in front of huge audiences and AJ is boxing' rising star. Fair play to them, they created the perfect situation.

Predictions for the fight lads? Personally think Martin is pretty ordinary, don't think it goes past 6 AJ by KO.

Whoever wins will most likely win inside 4 rounds.

You'd have to fancy Joshua as Martin is too much of an unknown.

I'm taking a little punt on The Prince Charles ko given that he's a southpaw who can bang, we saw Joshua rocked against Whyte, if Charles Martin does the same he'll seal the deal.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Whoever wins will most likely win inside 4 rounds.

You'd have to fancy Joshua as Martin is too much of an unknown.

I'm taking a little punt on The Prince Charles ko given that he's a southpaw who can bang, we saw Joshua rocked against Whyte, if Charles Martin does the same he'll seal the deal.

Reminds me of the time Mike Tyson was briefly rocked by a heavy left hook by Bruno in 1989. Joshua was caught flush. Was momentarily stunned, and then fine. It actually reinforces a belief that his chin may well be sound, not fragile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

Reminds me of the time Mike Tyson was briefly rocked by a heavy left hook by Bruno in 1989. Joshua was caught flush. Was momentarily stunned, and then fine. It actually reinforces a belief that his chin may well be sound, not fragile.

Thank you.

Discuss the most exaggerated 'effects' a punch has ever had on people's opinions and you'll have a clear winner with this one.

Yeah you could say that, or you could say his footwork is awful, his defence is poor and the first time he got tagged in a pro fight he turned into a robot for two rounds.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Martin by points just for the laugh.

Yeah you could say that, or you could say his footwork is awful, his defence is poor and the first time he got tagged in a pro fight he turned into a robot for two rounds.

Show me any fighter in history that has not gotten hit flush in their career? Your post is a little odd. Like I said, for me it was one solid punch that he got hit with. His reaction and almost immediate recovery is what should stand out. Nothing else.

Remember PBF being tagged hard twice in rd 2 vs. Mosley? You rather look at the negatives there and criticise, or focus on the resilience and recovery and strength to finish the rd the stronger?

His reaction and almost immediate recovery is what should stand out. Nothing else.

Except it wasn't an immediate recovery though, he stumbled around for two rounds, his legs were gone in the second round, whyte said he would have gotten him out if his shoulder hadn't went and I'd be inclined to believe him.

In the end Joshua recovered well and was a great knock out so fair play to him.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Except it wasn't an immediate recovery though, he stumbled around for two rounds, his legs were gone in the second round, whyte said he would have gotten him out if his shoulder hadn't went and I'd be inclined to believe him.

In the end Joshua recovered well and was a great knock out so fair play to him.

I'll have to watch it again. Your implying that he was banjoed from one punch for several minutes seems off to me!

Btw, that same left hook would likely have knocked Fury out!

Thing i notice with Martin is he seems quite slow, all good being a tall southpaw with power but i don't think he has the movement to actually land the shots on AJ.

... his defence is poor and the first time he got tagged in a pro fight ...

If his defense is so poor how come it took 16 fights before he got tagged in a pro fight?

You can't have it both ways.

megadodge wrote: »
    If his defense is so poor how come it took 16 fights before he got tagged in a pro fight?

You can't have it both ways.

Because he's fought absolute cans I presume

Except it wasn't an immediate recovery though, he stumbled around for two rounds, his legs were gone in the second round,

Utter nonsense!!

See my earlier post about exaggerated reaction to one moment in a fight.

You're so over the top in your reaction to any heavyweight who might be deemed a threat to Tyson Fury it's really getting to the stage where your comments on heavyweight boxing can't be taken seriously.

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    Because he's fought absolute cans I presume

Nobody goes 16 fights without getting hit!

I defy you (or anybody) to find evidence to the contrary. EVER!!