Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too hipster for school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The electorate definitely think a guy in a dodgy suit with an insincere smile and a clammy handshake is ther man to run the country.
    I'd vote for someone with tattoos and piercings if he was good.

Complains at length about judging people on meaningless yardsticks of clothing and hairstyle.

Immediately judges people on meaningless yardsticks of clothing and hairstyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

well thats the most rediculous thing I'll see all day! to be fair I have a beard and have since 5th year coincidentally but whats the big deal comparing it to racism and going on about his freedoms, might aswel have said he felt 'raped' by the principal being asked to shave, and he really should tell us all how he feels his safe space is impinged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

These kind if T*ts are going to have a real wakeup in the real world. Jobs tell you what to wear how to dress and how to appear. Beards generally are a big no no unless you are lucky in an IT company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

These kind if T*ts are going to have a real wakeup in the real world. Jobs tell you what to wear how to dress and how to appear. Beards generally are a big no no unless you are lucky in an IT company.

i have to say, once you get beyond 35/40 a beard (as long as it's kept well) is not an issue. At least ive never experienced one and mine is at gas monkey lengths.

A kid going into an interview is a different story i'll agree... but i think a persons age can definitely play a part in society accepting a beard (or not).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I'm always amazed by employers who think that they have a right to dictate about people's appearance which is different from standards of hygiene. You're paying for someone's time, not ownership of their personality. And I am never impressed by the smartly turned out git spouting bull**** and doing ****e work. What impresses me is the quality of the work done. As long as you're clean and sensible what's the big deal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Like the typical German her von hippy clippy parliamentarian?

Hairstyles are meaningless tests of character, and we do have Wallace and Ming.

Wallace disproves your point. Firstly we do elect people with long hair and no dress sense (unlike many Europeans) and secondly that tells you nothing either way about corruption or lack of it.

Well, it's a start. Of course you are about 30 years behind the curve on Germany, Joschka Fischer was sworn in in 1985 wearing white Nike runners:
    http://www.n-tv.de/politik/Tabubruch-in-Turnschuhen-article2123521.html
    We've always been a bit more relaxed and easygoing in Germany than here. :P
    Complains at length about judging people on meaningless yardsticks of clothing and hairstyle.

Immediately judges people on meaningless yardsticks of clothing and hairstyle.

No, the point I was making is that most people are taken in by the "sincere" smile, the expensive suit and the firm handshake. I said I would vote for someone with tattoos and piercings if he was good, rather than for someone wearing a suit, simply because he wears a suit.
    That does not preclude me voting for the guy in the suit, if he was any good. Whilst a lot of people would immediately discount beardy tattoo guy, because of his appearance. My parents generation always told my generation, never trust a suit or a uniform, we had good reason for that way of thinking in Germany. We once tried to bate uniforms and conformity into all young people. It was called the Hitler youth. A lot of people here would have liked it. Kameraderie, severe discipline, conformity, uniforms and the eradication of any kind of dissent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,489 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Well, it's a start. Of course you are about 30 years behind the curve on Germany, Joschka Fischer was sworn in in 1985 wearing white Nike runners:

Sure aren't the Ayrians ahead of everyone!

Brutal culture in germany, more fun playing with spoons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

No, the point I was making is that most people are taken in by the "sincere" smile, the expensive suit and the firm handshake. I said I would vote for someone with tattoos and piercings if he was good, rather than for someone wearing a suit, simply because he wears a suit.
    That does not preclude me voting for the guy in the suit, if he was any good. Whilst a lot of people would immediately discount beardy tattoo guy, because of his appearance. My parents generation always told my generation, never trust a suit or a uniform, we had good reason for that way of thinking in Germany. We once tried to bate uniforms and conformity into all young people. It was called the Hitler youth.

That's the most radical parliamentarian in Germany - the guy who wore sneakers? And presumably that's the most radical example of the 40 years.
    A lot of people here would have liked it. Kameraderie, severe discipline, conformity, uniforms and the eradication of any kind of dissent.

If we liked it so much we would have had it.

I've lived in Germany. You are pretty conformist even in your "non comformism"

Story bud, you say? I'll oblige. My friend was living in Berlin, and works in a job requiring in a suit. This is a while back and there are anarchist communes around and he lived near one. The anarchists, as he passed them, give him occasional grief (ironically saying Nazi, bit like yourself). They generally stand around in groups being radical but not moving much.

One day he catches up with them as they wait to cross at a pedestrian crossing. Little red man

He jay walked since there is f*ck all traffic on that road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Sure aren't the Ayrians ahead of everyone!

Brutal culture in germany, more fun playing with spoons.

They usually start ahead, get greedy, then mess up and get beaten back.

Beware of Germans bearing loans. And beware of Trojans, they're complete Smegheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

I'm all for kids pushing the bounds, as a society we still put too much weight on appearance.

School is a reflection of the work place, and I'm afraid a lot of schools need to modernise. I've never called my boss Mr Jones, nor do I wear a uniform, and there's no problem with facial hair.

That's the reality of it really. Let him knock himself out with his beard at 17, no harm done to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

When I was in school you got a roasting for have facial hair while at the same time the girls can have any hair style or colour and skirts up to the asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I think it's more important the children/students come into the classroom and are willing to listen, participate and learn. What does it matter if they have a beard, a funny hair colour or the wrong uniform if they're ready and willing to learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

KatW4 wrote: »
    I think it's more important the children/students come into the classroom and are willing to listen, participate and learn. What does it matter if they have a beard, a funny hair colour or the wrong uniform if they're ready and willing to learn?

I agree, but unfortunately some schools prefer to have a strict code.

This school is in the top 10 non-fee paying schools in the country so they are doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

KatW4 wrote: »

I agree with that. But I also think uniforms are a good idea. School is enough of a popularity contest as it is without having to worry what to wear. Particularly if your parents don't have a lot of money, the pressure to have fashionable stuff is horrible.

A bit of leeway in how strictly it's implemented helps. (Also not having bespoke uniforms that cost a fortune, madness). But in general, I think they're a good thing and I'm glad we had one when I was in secondary school.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Witchie wrote: »
    Oh yeah, further in the rant, if you can't be arsed going to the link, he states that the school are bullying him.

Here's some more for you....

Having a beard is part of nature , its just hair , there is no rule in the school where you are not aloud to grow a beard . It's a catholic school , Jesus had a beard and he was catholic , this is just bullying . I'm not being racist by saying this but I was born in Ireland and I am catholic , not any other religion and certainly not an "amish" . My year head said in the principles office that I did not have permission to go to class . I had to get a taxi home from school which my auntie paid for as I rang her to collect me from school but she didn't have a babysitter. Anyways , that wasn't the point , the point is that you should be able to go anywhere at anytime and dress how you want and to look the way you want . It's your own choice , yes in school there is a uniform and I'll follow that rule and anyone would , but to be told how you should look is not a rule in my school , you always be told to be yourself but sure how can you when a school will tell you to be someone your not . I've been bullied before and I'm certainly not going to let a school do it to me . A school principle is just another person , he doesn't have power over you , he/she is not your mother/father , I have a rule for people , if they don't like how I look or for what I believe in then turn around and walk away . How are you suppose to prevent bullying from happening when the people trying to stop it bully you too!? Everyone is entitled to wear what they want and look the way they want . I'm asking the school tomorrow that if they don't accept how I look then I'm walking out of the school . I'm entitled to my manhood as well , every teenage boy is entitled to it ."

Self entitled twat teenager will grow up to be a self entitled twat adult and register for boards. if not already.

Follow the rules and stay in school or dont and bugger off. But dont go on the internet to wine like a child about it .
    In ten years time he mighthave finally realized which was the right choice .

Also " his beard" looks stupid kid

Don't listen, lad! May your beard be long and fruitful!

rsh118 wrote: »
    Don't listen, lad! May your beard be long and fruitful!

While you live unemployed in you're council flat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

it's conditioning. Wear a uniform, have your hair the way you are told to have it, behave as you're told, don't question authority, just learn what's on the blackboard, keep the head down, don't answer back and from there on it's straight on to the jobs market, wear a suit (uniform), shut up, do your job, don't answer back, don't question anything, etc...
    It pains me as a German to say this, but you Irish have had your balls cut off.

Or it sets a certain professional standard in school and doesn't allow students to be in competition with each regarding who is the most stylish.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    While you live unemployed in you're council flat.

He's 17 and at a top school! I don't think council flats await him.

Besides, any employer who'd not hire you because you had a beard is probably an employer you don't want to work for. Usually the same crowd who ask you as a favour to do some unpaid work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

It seems like a power game more than anything. Had he come in clean shaven the next day the crusty old dean would have won and his friends and peers would probably have jeered him for folding to the man. A week from when all schools and students were celebrating our rebellious spirit and such and such.
    So I guess, in a way it is kind of bullying. Or maybe he's a pain in the hole troublemaker and he was suspended for other things on top of that.

He's 17 and at a top school! I don't think council flats await him.

How long he lasts in the school is another question. Pictures of him on Facebook drinking doesn't show him in a great light, and certainly not for employers.
    Besides, any employer who'd not hire you because you had a beard is probably an employer you don't want to work for. Usually the same crowd who ask you as a favour to do some unpaid work.

It's not the beard I'm getting at, its the fact that he refused to abide by the rules, went on a Facebook rant looking to defame his principal and gain attention and also that he seems to not understand the term racism and basically calls anything he doesn't like racist.

I'd venture to say quite a few of us were dopey gits who said stupid stuff when we were 16-17. He's no different from most of his peers or the generation before.

Rules are there to be questioned. We're awfully good at just doing what we're told in this country.

Or it sets a certain professional standard in school and doesn't allow students to be in competition with each regarding who is the most stylish.

Oh great, that's good news, so uniforms in schools mean there is absolutely no competition between kids who has the most expensive and trendy stuff, wow, you know that is actually quite good, that is a massive problem solved simply by uniforms. Fantastic.
    And it even stops them comparing each other over height, weight, looks, hair, makeup, shoes, watch, phone, schoolbag, tablet, jewelry, parents, where they live, what car the family has, where they're from, if they have spots, are awkward, shy, different, or just about a gazillion other things kids judge each other on. The uniform solves none of those. Kids will judge each other and form cliques, it's just normal.
    I wore cheap stuff at school. There was some good natured ribbing, nothing serious. The real bullying was over just being different. Clothes had nothing to do with it. It was your personality that got you in trouble, not your clothes.
    And try as we might in this country, thankfully we still haven't succeeded in transplanting robotic one size fits all personalities into kids. My respect for anyone who tries to break out of the mold.
    I'd venture to say quite a few of us were dopey gits who said stupid stuff when we were 16-17. He's no different from most of his peers or the generation before.

Rules are there to be questioned. We're awfully good at just doing what we're told in this country.

Rebellion takes place in small ways here, parking on double yellows, in disabled spaces, jumping queues, generally breaking every little rule that people can get away with. And protesting and striking along the lines of "where's mu money!" It's a hangover from the Brits. You wouldn't openly defy them, but suddenly there would be all sorts of technical issues, communication breakdowns, things mislaid, people suddenly getting deaf or very dim, basically defying them whilst giving the impression of trying one's best to pander to their demands.
    That's why any demonstration against war, poverty and injustice is attended by about a dozen people. Watercharges are a different matter, but it's along the lines of "mu money".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Witchie wrote:
    I agree, but unfortunately some schools prefer to have a strict code.

maudgonner wrote:
    I agree with that. But I also think uniforms are a good idea. School is enough of a popularity contest as it is without having to worry what to wear. Particularly if your parents don't have a lot of money, the pressure to have fashionable stuff is horrible.

Oh I definitely think there should be a uniform/dress code, it makes sense. If a child came into my class with a different jumper or shoes, I wouldn't pass any remarks though, no one ever knows what's going on at home that means for that day they had to wear something different. I couldn't be the person to pull them up on.

I teach Senior Infants though which is a bit different to the 16 year old and his beard! I don't see a problem with his beard. I can grow my hair as long as I please, he shouldn't have to shave off his beard.

Oh great, that's good news, so uniforms in schools mean there is absolutely no competition between kids who has the most expensive and trendy stuff, wow, you know that is actually quite good, that is a massive problem solved simply by uniforms. Fantastic.

It's not solved simply by uniforms but schools are a place of learning not a place to be comparing style, so it's good that any thought of fashion are removed from school.Whenever my sister had a free dress day she got into a real state about how good she would look the next day at school (I assume she wasn't the only person in the world like that).

That's why uniforms in school are a good idea as they get rid of any of this nonsense and everyone rich or poor is on the same level in this regard when they go into school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If schools had half as much interest in the character, knowledge, skills and potential kids they were educating possessed or could posses, instead of more superficial concerns, Ireland might actually have the perceptive, critical-thinking, self-aware generation the island of "saints and scholars" the proberb suggests it does.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I dread to think of the number of hours of school missed for not wearing regulation uniform.

Well done to those schools who see that uniform is secondary to the quality and quantity of education a child receives. You do the world a service.

If schools had half as much interest in the character and of the kids they were educating and the knowledge, skills and potential they possess or could posses, instead of more superficial concerns, Ireland might actually have the perceptive, critical-thinking, self-aware generation the island of "saints and scholars" the proberb suggests it does.

All of which is irrelevant to this issue.

There are rules in all walks of life that we have to follow whether yer man in Monaghan wants to or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Hey, Teachers! Leave those kids alone!