Who is ''Patty'' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Won't somebody think of the children. .... No I'm seriously feckin ejits will grow up calling it Patty and Paddy will be gone and then I'll have no excuse to go drinking on this day of the year. Unless it's a Saturday. God damn Americans trying to change the English language to make it seem like they created this day why...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Saint Patrick was an Irish-hating, Romano-British Civil Servant who brought the bull**** of Monotheistic Christianity to this island and destroyed our real and authentic Heathen spirituality. We celebrate his feast day because it was a Roman Bacchanalia. Nothing Irish about it or him.

I can't imagine an individual whose legacy on this island has been more damaging. We might as well celebrate Cromwell's Day.

I call him Patty because I hate him and all he represents.

:rolleyes: Edgy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's to do with most American accents and their soft "d"s - this resulted in "Paddy" being slightly mangled to "Patty". Much the same sort of thing that resulted in Sakichi Toyoda's surname being rendered as "Toyota". This kind of thing happens from time-to-time, they're not trying to annoy you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Saint Patrick was an Irish-hating, Romano-British Civil Servant who brought the bull**** of Monotheistic Christianity to this island and destroyed our real and authentic Heathen spirituality. We celebrate his feast day because it was a Roman Bacchanalia. Nothing Irish about it or him.

I can't imagine an individual whose legacy on this island has been more damaging. We might as well celebrate Cromwell's Day.

Ahh but you'll be getting pissed all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Patty done like winklepickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

September 3rd - Cromwell's day.
    Can't wait on doing all those fun puritanical japes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Thought you'd love him if he was Irish hating? You moan about this country regularly.

And you actually called him a civil servant. :pac:

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Thought you'd love him if he was Irish hating? You moan about this country regularly.

And you actually called him a civil servant. :pac:

Patricius' father was something like a city councillor right enough, but the lad himself was only sixteen when he was captured by raiders and first brought to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

We await St Pathy's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Jhcx wrote: »
    Won't somebody think of the children. .... No I'm seriously feckin ejits will grow up calling it Patty and Paddy will be gone and then I'll have no excuse to go drinking on this day of the year. Unless it's a Saturday. God damn Americans trying to change the English language to make it seem like they created this day why...
    Americans always drop the t's like budder for butter, plenty gobsh1tes do it here now as well, so why the fcuk do they drop the d's?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Americans always drop the t's like budder for butter, plenty gobsh1tes do it here now as well, so why the fcuk do they drop the d's?

With most regional American accents you have to listen fairly carefully to distinguish the "hard-D" sound they use in e.g. "Paddy" and the lighter, "tapped-D" sound used in e.g. "Patty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Last year on St Stevo's day (26th Dec) I was discussing this very topic.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ah, Boxing Day! ;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

You telling me that I've been getting pissed as a fart, wearing a green white and gold afro and fake beard in honour of a whinging pomm?

You sir have shattered all my dreams.

Don't worry.

We can start this all over again.

Devalera, eh? God bless him.

Oh wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Patty from The Simpsons was a lesbian. Peppermint Patty is sometimes likened to a lesbian.

With the 17th on March approaching, we have to ask ourselves: Was St Patrick a lesbian?

Well (s)he did banish snakes, there could be phallic symbolism there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Steo? Or is that the day for yer man from boyzone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

You name the day, some American will have a go at making a cake to commemorate it, and "St Patty's Day" is no exception. Cake Wrecks has some fine examples of how it's done, here. The mutant shamrocks holding knives look particularly tasty. :eek:

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

mansize wrote: »
    Steo? Or is that the day for yer man from boyzone?
    No, that's yer man Steve-O from Jackass!

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What did he say when you emailed him your concerns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Not really. Lots of people called Patrick/Padraig would be nicknamed Paddy. I've never met a male Patty.

Were you looking for me :D
    bnt wrote: »
    You name the day, some American will have a go at making a cake to commemorate it, and "St Patty's Day" is no exception. Cake Wrecks has some fine examples of how it's done, here. The mutant shamrocks holding knives look particularly tasty. :eek:

Room for one more, i'm no Saint, but have a good "Patty's Day" :D:P
    although some would disagree :rolleyes: