Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is ''Patty'' ?

• 15-03-2016 4:17am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

Thought it was a myth, Today, Westmorland St, Jazzed up to the 9's Green hats and all. ''Happy Pattys day'' they shouted at me (and other's). I said ''Happy Patty's Day'' back, walked on and smiled....Who the Fcuk is Patty ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

And why does he have a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Patty is Semla's sister. I think Patty is the lesbian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

"Paddy" is just as stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Saint Patrick was an Irish-hating, Romano-British Civil Servant who brought the bull**** of Monotheistic Christianity to this island and destroyed our real and authentic Heathen spirituality. We celebrate his feast day because it was a Roman Bacchanalia. Nothing Irish about it or him.

I can't imagine an individual whose legacy on this island has been more damaging. We might as well celebrate Cromwell's Day.

I call him Patty because I hate him and all he represents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Was it Spongebob and Mr. Krabs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Happy Patsy day, celebrating Patsies everywhere

biko wrote: »
    Happy Patsy day, celebrating Patsies everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Saint Patrick was an Irish-hating, Romano-British Civil Servant who brought the bull**** of Monotheistic Christianity to this island and destroyed our real and authentic Heathen spirituality. We celebrate his feast day because it was a Roman Bacchanalia. Nothing Irish about it or him.

I can't imagine an individual whose legacy on this island has been more damaging. We might as well celebrate Cromwell's Day.

You telling me that I've been getting pissed as a fart, wearing a green white and gold afro and fake beard in honour of a whinging pomm?

You sir have shattered all my dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Celebrating the Big Mac?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

Peppermint Patty would be in UFC if she were around now. One tough girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

"Paddy" is just as stupid.

Not really. Lots of people called Patrick/Padraig would be nicknamed Paddy. I've never met a male Patty.

Is she dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

mansize wrote: »
    Patty is Semla's sister. I think Patty is the lesbian

Patty from The Simpsons was a lesbian. Peppermint Patty is sometimes likened to a lesbian.

With the 17th on March approaching, we have to ask ourselves: Was St Patrick a lesbian?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

Is she dead?
    Please hold...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

Is she dead?

She is probably passed her fighting peak, she'd be 70 plus by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Yeh. Early Christianity in Ireland (which wasn't really Roman Catholic) was fine. Also the medieval church did keep literacy alive and founded universities. So not all bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Not really. Lots of people called Patrick/Padraig would be nicknamed Paddy. I've never met a male Patty.

It's closer to Patrick than paddy though. Has a "t".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It's the American celebration of the feast of the hamburger patty, pure 100% processed beef (contains 5% actual beef). The green symbolise the leaf of lettuce, so people can meet their minimum daily vegetable requirements as specified by their ancient kings who are buried beneath the nutritional pyramid. The patty is traditionally washed down by green beer in honour of the great lettuce leaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It's an American malapropism of St Patrick's Day.

As 67,576,098 users of Facebook seem hellbent on informing me - vis-a-vis the medium of hilarious infographics - every March.

Don't mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

The only single place I've ever heard mention of this is once a year on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

St Patty is what dumb ass Americans call St Patrick.

St Paddy is what dumb ass irish call St Patrick.

Patty is a manifestation of Irish people overreacting over the inconsequential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You telling me that I've been getting pissed as a fart, wearing a green white and gold afro and fake beard in honour of a whinging pomm?

He was Welsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We need a new saint.

Were there any holy Micks in days of yore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

The Queen of Ireland...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

We need a new saint.
    we have 3 patron saints, Patrick, Brigid, and Columba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Do all your opinions derive from the 'handbook of simplistic teenage rebellion' or just this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

It's closer to Patrick than paddy though. Has a "t".

Padraig doesn't have a T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

We need a new saint.

St Michael. The patron saint of Marks and Spencer.

St Bernard might be more popular though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

We need a new saint.

I agree, St. Marty Morrissey has nice ring to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Won't somebody think of the children. .... No I'm seriously feckin ejits will grow up calling it Patty and Paddy will be gone and then I'll have no excuse to go drinking on this day of the year. Unless it's a Saturday. God damn Americans trying to change the English language to make it seem like they created this day why...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

:rolleyes: Edgy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's to do with most American accents and their soft "d"s - this resulted in "Paddy" being slightly mangled to "Patty". Much the same sort of thing that resulted in Sakichi Toyoda's surname being rendered as "Toyota". This kind of thing happens from time-to-time, they're not trying to annoy you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Ahh but you'll be getting pissed all the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Patty done like winklepickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

September 3rd - Cromwell's day.
    Can't wait on doing all those fun puritanical japes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Thought you'd love him if he was Irish hating? You moan about this country regularly.

And you actually called him a civil servant. :pac:

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Thought you'd love him if he was Irish hating? You moan about this country regularly.

And you actually called him a civil servant. :pac:

Patricius' father was something like a city councillor right enough, but the lad himself was only sixteen when he was captured by raiders and first brought to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

We await St Pathy's day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Jhcx wrote: »
    Won't somebody think of the children. .... No I'm seriously feckin ejits will grow up calling it Patty and Paddy will be gone and then I'll have no excuse to go drinking on this day of the year. Unless it's a Saturday. God damn Americans trying to change the English language to make it seem like they created this day why...
    Americans always drop the t's like budder for butter, plenty gobsh1tes do it here now as well, so why the fcuk do they drop the d's?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Americans always drop the t's like budder for butter, plenty gobsh1tes do it here now as well, so why the fcuk do they drop the d's?

With most regional American accents you have to listen fairly carefully to distinguish the "hard-D" sound they use in e.g. "Paddy" and the lighter, "tapped-D" sound used in e.g. "Patty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Last year on St Stevo's day (26th Dec) I was discussing this very topic.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Ah, Boxing Day! ;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Don't worry.

We can start this all over again.

Devalera, eh? God bless him.

Oh wait...

Patty from The Simpsons was a lesbian. Peppermint Patty is sometimes likened to a lesbian.

With the 17th on March approaching, we have to ask ourselves: Was St Patrick a lesbian?

Well (s)he did banish snakes, there could be phallic symbolism there....

Steo? Or is that the day for yer man from boyzone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

You name the day, some American will have a go at making a cake to commemorate it, and "St Patty's Day" is no exception. Cake Wrecks has some fine examples of how it's done, here. The mutant shamrocks holding knives look particularly tasty. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Steo? Or is that the day for yer man from boyzone?
    No, that's yer man Steve-O from Jackass!

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What did he say when you emailed him your concerns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Were you looking for me :D
    bnt wrote: »
    You name the day, some American will have a go at making a cake to commemorate it, and "St Patty's Day" is no exception. Cake Wrecks has some fine examples of how it's done, here. The mutant shamrocks holding knives look particularly tasty. :eek:

Room for one more, i'm no Saint, but have a good "Patty's Day" :D:P
    although some would disagree :rolleyes: