Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

kowtow wrote: »
    Has anyone come across the Shrule sale - seems to be an annual event - will be on 19th.?

Worth a look when getting the numbers up?

Haven't heard of it myself, when we restocked a good portion of herd came from.lads who were selling by word of mouth and didn't need to advertise, ie had stock for sale most years with repeat customers. Local vets pointed us in direction of some at the time I think

kevthegaff wrote: »
    What mix would ye suggest for cows grazing by day on light covers? Many of ye with ration through the feeders?

Thru diet feeders? Have you just silage with it.? Could put a 3 way mix of barley maize beet pulp thru silage along with whatever you are feeding in parlour. Would probably want an 18p nut if still on silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Feeding a nut with maize, hulls, barley, distillers and soya.....15%. Found it good at grass last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Anyone have a high scc or two spinner that's no good for the parler anymore but would feed a calf? Laois, North tipp, north kk area, give me a pm. Tanx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Milked out wrote: »
    Thru diet feeders? Have you just silage with it.? Could put a 3 way mix of barley maize beet pulp thru silage along with whatever you are feeding in parlour. Would probably want an 18p nut if still on silage
    Nah through parlour feeders!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Nah through parlour feeders!

Well if getting silage at night still you would want a)an 18% nut to keep diet in or around 16% was at meeting and going off grass and silage results I think they broke it down as 6kg grass 6kg silage and 4 kg nut roughly. Intake be rising every week.

Edit might have been 5 kg silage 5kg nut but u get my drift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

having a bit of a mastitis storm at the moment has been tested as strep uberis using cobacton injection for 3 days o vet advice but there not clearing up. I would usually just call it quits on a quarter and make the cow a 3 titer but due to being housed at times don't want them leaking onto cubicles and spreading it. stripping every second day at the moment and mastitis cows under treatment are milked last and kept completely separate to all other cows.

trixi2011 wrote: »
    having a bit of a mastitis storm at the moment has been tested as strep uberis using cobacton injection for 3 days o vet advice but there not clearing up. I would usually just call it quits on a quarter and make the cow a 3 titer but due to being housed at times don't want them leaking onto cubicles and spreading it. stripping every second day at the moment and mastitis cows under treatment are milked last and kept completely separate to all other cows.

Perhaps talk to vet again I find going all out with marbocyl inj as well or whatever he'd recommend helps as sometimes tubes just aren't enough. Stuff to rub on to the udder helps as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Great article by Katherine o Leary in country living part of the journal on an oubreak of rotavirus on their farm. Interesting that only the heifer calves got it , they were on milk replacer, bulls on whole milk escaped it

Milked out wrote: »
    Perhaps talk to vet again I find going all out with marbocyl inj as well or whatever he'd recommend helps as sometimes tubes just aren't enough. Stuff to rub on to the udder helps as well.
    going with cobacton 2.5% injection as well. hard to justify treating some of thee older cows when cows are being sold for so little over here. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

going with cobacton 2.5% injection as well. hard to justify treating some of thee older cows when cows are being sold for so little over here. :(

What price cows/heifers Trixi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Had a really bad breakout of that 4 years ago, terrexine tubes work really well, very few tubes on the market are effective against steph uberis but terrexine seems to do the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Are you disenfecting cubicles?. I find weekly dissenting and every 3rd evening lime with hydrated lime instead of regular helps a lot.

As long as you can get the swelling out of the bag the mastitis might go away a week after last treatment. I pre strip every cow before milking as I find the only cure is catch it early and even then it some times doesn't cure and they're culled at end of season.

Dawggone wrote: »
    What price cows/heifers Trixi?
    last few big sale by hh in the north of England and Scotland young in milk cows seem to be going around the 500 sterling these would be your run of the mill HI input cows. A few big units have pulled the plug due to not having milk contract and getting spot price for a prolonged period of time, some of these lads have been top operators with cop well below the average producer just no market for there milk.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Are you disenfecting cubicles?. I find weekly dissenting and every 3rd evening lime with hydrated lime instead of regular helps a lot.

As long as you can get the swelling out of the bag the mastitis might go away a week after last treatment. I pre strip every cow before milking as I find the only cure is catch it early and even then it some times doesn't cure and they're culled at end of season.
    cubicals are bedded with bedding in the morning and lime in the evening, only one herd in at night now and most of the mastitis is showing up in the cows that are out fulltime.

The French are looking like they're getting it's wishes for a voluntary quota scheme figure's of 10c/l being talked about to be paid out for suppliers who reduce 2016 supply relative to 2015 supply....
    Phil hogan really is a media whore was only just gushing about glanbias milk flex scheme earlier in the week that is designed at getting farmers to actively increase supply , and is now over - seeing this being brought into play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

jaymla627 wrote: »
    The French are looking like they're getting it's wishes for a voluntary quota scheme figure's of 10c/l being talked about to be paid out for suppliers who reduce 2016 supply relative to 2015 supply....
    Phil hogan really is a media whore was only just gushing about glanbias milk flex scheme earlier in the week that is designed at getting farmers to actively increase supply , and is now over - seeing this being brought into play

Had heard that the French were pushing this but are there reports that they're making headway with it? Very big deal if true for a lot of reasons. Who's paying, big bucks if it's 10c. If anything cuts production that would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Had heard that the French were pushing this but are there reports that they're making headway with it? Very big deal if true for a lot of reasons. Who's paying, big bucks if it's 10c. If anything cuts production that would

Coveny has to use his veto if this is being pushed. Biggest mistake ever made by an Irish ag minister was Austin Deasey not using his in '83. We have far too much invested in this to let a bunch of whingers in France dictate the pace again. If you want to see new entrants go tits up in a big way this will do it.

Article on agri land all but confirmed I think, how it's going to be implement is anyone's guess could be very easy to abuse it by moving cows between herds, among other ways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Article on agri land all but confirmed I think, how it's going to be implement is anyone's guess could be very easy to abuse it by moving cows between herds, among other ways

I thought the big meeting of ag ministers was taking place on Monday.
    Surely nothing decided yet.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

cubicals are bedded with bedding in the morning and lime in the evening, only one herd in at night now and most of the mastitis is showing up in the cows that are out fulltime.

straight away change your teat dip or spray as what you are using now is not working , also dip clusters between cows to help break the cycle.

There's a lot of negative media coming out of France and Germany about the extra production coming from IRL, DK, UK, BE and NL. Rumblings about enforcing nitrate regs on those countries...
    There is a lot of talk also that the Irish Ag dept did not show up at a meeting about the scheme proposed by FR and DE.

The confidence of the French that their proposals will be considered comes from the fact that the Germans have rowed in behind them.

What happens to Belview if this becomes law? Irexit along with Brexit?
    :):)

Edit. "We will build a wall around Ireland, and the Irish will pay for it!"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

There's a lot of negative media coming out of France and Germany about the extra production coming from IRL, DK, UK, BE and NL. Rumblings about enforcing nitrate regs on those countries...
    There is a lot of talk also that the Irish Ag dept did not show up at a meeting about the scheme proposed by FR and DE.

The confidence of the French that their proposals will be considered comes from the fact that the Germans have rowed in behind them.

We really are just a German satrap at this stage:mad:

The nitrates route is the best tool they have and it will cost them zilch, simply scrap derogation, strictly enforce 170kg/ha limit and prohibit the exportation of slurry/dung off farm and you'd go a he'll of away to stopping the likes of Ireland expanding its dairy herd
    Go a step further and pay the drystock/beef lads a top-up in their bps if their nitrates are under 100kg/ha that was high enough to discourage them from renting ground to dairy farmers and you have the thing sewn-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

The nitrates route is the best tool they have and it will cost them zilch, simply scrap derogation, strictly enforce 170kg/ha limit and prohibit the exportation of slurry/dung off farm and you'd go a he'll of away to stopping the likes of Ireland expanding its dairy herd
    Go a step further and pay the drystock/beef lads a top-up in their bps if their nitrates are under 100kg/ha that was high enough to discourage them from renting ground to dairy farmers and you have the thing sewn-up
    Shut up will ya and don't be putting ideas in there head !!

We really are just a German satrap at this stage:mad:

Yep.

But we're the best of the rest...:)

Nothing is certain at all yet Sheriff, it's only idle speculation. The scheme will be optional if implemented...

+1.

I'd be keeping this in the back of my head before making any major financial investments into dairy. There is a lot of talk about the above...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

+1.

I'd be keeping this in the back of my head before making any major financial investments into dairy. There is a lot of talk about the above...

I was thinking the opposite dawg. Certain individuals who Simon or any other minister for ag would always take a phonecall from are being inconvenienced to say the least by the stricter enforcement of the regs in this area. A place that would often see a million gals/day being moved on a day like today has slurry flowing out the gates and not a tanker in sight apart from a neighbour of mine who took a grand total of 9k gals from two of their units this week. No one has any spare capacity to import and there's no blind eye anymore.

Are many on here in derogation territory? In it here and Can't spread a bag of p here under nitrates so tightening up in this by putting all n allowance back to 170kg would knock me back anyway and I'd imagine many more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Stop using bedding use lime 2/day