Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Tralee is the Balbriggan of Kerry. 'Nuff said. :o

I remember that league game last year. There was skin & hair flying. Took me by surprise, as back in 2013 Kerry didn't look remotely bothered by our beating them by 10 pts and, only scoring 4 of their own.

(Prompting my favorite heckle of the year from Hill 17 - "Jazus Kerry, yiz are bleedin' brew-tal. I've more points than that, on me drivers license." :D )

Be interesting to see how both Donegal and Kerry get on at the weekend. I'd say they'll both be on their best behavior, which may bode well for the Rossies. Normally, you'd think that Donegal would eat the likes of them for breakfast. But I've heard that they were well able to handle themselves, down the stretch, to close out their own win in Killarney. So maybe they are more streetwise than most new arrivals to Div 1.

Suppose we'll find out for ourselves soon enough. Just hope we get to play them on their home soil. Going to some meh, neutral venue in Leinster, would be very disappointing. Longford is nearly as bad as Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ah yeah we gotta go to the graveyard ... I think the Hyde was under water last weekend so you mightn't need yer passport

Yep. I do love that great car park that Pearse Park has, right beside the ground though. As a veteran of many an 'abandon the car in a ditch on the side of the road/on a roundabout a mile from town/hope I don't get clamped if I park here...trips to Portlaoise, Tullamore, Thurles etc etc, it's great to be able to jump straight back into the car, a minute after the game.

No idea what Roscommon is like. Was at a wedding there last year, but that's about it.

So who's heading up tomorrow? Bit of a dead rubber really, but sure you never know. Down won the last encounter up in Newry back in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ProudDUB wrote: »
    So who's heading up tomorrow? Bit of a dead rubber really, but sure you never know. Down won the last encounter up in Newry back in 2012.

I've a stag do. And the wedding is on the day of the Rossies game. So the 2 away games I wanted to hit are no gos.

I think we mightbget done by the odd point for no reason than, why not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Did anybody see the analysis done on setanta. The Dublin footballers full back line can't deal with simple high balls launched into the area. It look's like worrying times when we will be at the business end of the championship.
    I will only be keeping half an eye on the Down match. I don't expect much to happen there. Fair play to any who are traveling up to down.
    But I will be fair more interested to see how Dublin fair against Donegal and see if they can stop Murphy from causing damage if he get's tall ball.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

884b0b5a66c1535821de3269ea67ae89.png

Team named.

If we only win by 2-3 pts again, with that line up, I'll be seriously worried. :(

CdS_Ib5WIAEhKl1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Team named.

If we only win by 2-3 pts again, with that line up, I'll be seriously worried. :(

CdS_Ib5WIAEhKl1.jpg

In fairness thats a team that could start in the summer.

salmocab wrote: »
    In fairness thats a team that could start in the summer.

As was last weeks, bar Cluxton. Hence my worry, if we don't come away with a comprehensive victory again.

If any of ye are heading up, don't park in the Buttercrane Shopping Centre. It closes at 7pm, so you won't be able to access your car after the game. The Quays car park is ok. It stays open late.

I've a stag do. And the wedding is on the day of the Rossies game. So the 2 away games I wanted to hit are no gos.

I think we mightbget done by the odd point for no reason than, why not. :)

Where's the wedding? If it's in Carrick, Longford, Laois, or Tullamore, you may be in luck ! :rolleyes:

Anyone who plans anything, on the day the Dubs are playing, deserves a goods, strong kick in the nads.

I have two sets of family visiting over the summer from 'Murica. It's my job to squire them around the country. I know FOR A FACT, that I will be missing both the Leinster final & the AI quarter finals. I feel like calling Joe Duffy ! :mad: :mad: :mad:
    Did anybody see the analysis done on setanta. The Dublin footballers full back line can't deal with simple high balls launched into the area. It look's like worrying times when we will be at the business end of the championship.
    I will only be keeping half an eye on the Down match. I don't expect much to happen there. Fair play to any who are traveling up to down.
    But I will be fair more interested to see how Dublin fair against Donegal and see if they can stop Murphy from causing damage if he get's tall ball.

Seo Spoirt were focusing on the very same thing. I think that every single inter county manager we face this year, will do the same thing, until we can prove that we have plugged the hole that Rory left. Anyway, it's only mid March & we sit at the top of the league table unbeaten. I'm not overly worried by any media scaremongering at this stage of our year. Get back to me in August !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

As was last weeks, bar Cluxton. Hence my worry, if we don'tcome away with a comprehensive victory again.

If any of ye are heading up, don't park in the Buttercrane Shopping Centre. It closes at 7pm, so you won't be able to access your car after the game. The Quays car park is ok. It stays open late.

Last time I was in Newry was for under 21 hurling semi final against Derry in 2007 I think.

We went for a few pints after the game, but when the bar woman rang a taxi for us the driver took one look at the Dubs jerseys and drove off!

Your woman was mortified and persuaded one of the customers who was a cab driver to take us to the train station, which he did, and refused to take a fare. Mixed reviews for the Newry tourist guide :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyone who plans anything, on the day the Dubs are playing, deserves a goods, strong kick in the nads. I have two sets of family visiting over the summer from 'Murica & it's my job to squire them around the country. I know for a fact, I'll be missing the Leinster final & the AI quarter finals. I feel like calling Joe Duffy !
    Just an idea suggest to the American's that they should go to Croke Park.
    You could even ham up the 1916 angle and tell them about bloody sunday during the war of independence .
    Sit them down and make them watch the Michael Collins film, and tell them that Stephen Cluxton modeled his 2011 kick on the Michael Collins film where yer man booted it over the tank (let on the tanks really entered the ground).
    Then show them the 2011 All-Ireland football final a couple of times just to be sure they get the gist.

Then after all of that they should be begging you to go to Croke Park.. :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I've two tickets to the All Ireland Club finals on St Patrick's Day. Would love to see Ballyboden do it, especially after the dramatic semi final but I'll not be around.

God that was a long day but an easy enough night without anything special being needed. Dominated the middle and that makes things a lot more comfortable. I just wonder whether they're too complacent at times.. That's a poor Down team that were well out of their depth ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Cluxton's howler didn't cost us much, Down were poor and yes we were complacent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

I've two tickets to the All Ireland Club finals on St Patrick's Day. Would love to see Ballyboden do it, especially after the dramatic semi final but I'll not be around.
    If they are still going I'd love them for me and my Dad? This'll be our 9th year in a row so either way we'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Great win today. Pressure off for the trip to Nowlan Park next week and a quarter to look forward to. Never saw this coming after the first game in Tipperary.

Great stuff. Still a year or two off being contenders for the big one, but they should give the league a real lash. Would be great foundation for what is a young team in transition.

And hands up, I've been critical of the GC approach on certain things, so all credit to himself and the lads. He clearly has a vision of how he thinks the game should be played and is sticking to it, despite some teething problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

That sums me up too, would like to see how he handles any players who want to return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

The criticism of Cunningham was always around how he was handling lads. I think he's demonstrated he has a tactical nouse.

The lads on the Waterford thread are effusive in their praise of how we matched them at their own game. Not an easy thing to do. We're well drilled, thats for sure.

Stoner wrote: »
    That sums me up too, would like to see how he handles any players who want to return

Suthcliffe and Mikey would be huge additions to the squad if that remains an option. Schutte to come back from injury as well too.

Have to say, and Daly himself sort of admits it, that GC is a lot more adventurous in terms of team selection and tactics. He clearly has faith in the lads there that they can match anyone, and that is showing in their increased confidence levels.

Don't want to sound all Freudian but the Cork view of the hurling world is a lot different from the Clare one. Daly identified with Dublin as an underdog and instilled that passion into them as much as he could. He was just what Dublin needed to become a contender rather than a sad whipping boy as Clare had been before Loughnane.

Perhaps GC has a more detached and methodical approach that can move things on to a higher level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Bonniedog wrote:
    Perhaps GC has a more detached and methodical approach that can move things on to a higher level?

Hopefully

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Suthcliffe and Mikey would be huge additions to the squad if that remains an option. Schutte to come back from injury as well too.
    Both Schutte's now, Kelly, O'Dwyer and the list goes on. I think I counted 6 or 7 people out injured at one point during the Walsh Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Where's the wedding? If it's in Carrick, Longford, Laois, or Tullamore, you may be in luck ! :rolleyes:

Anyone who plans anything, on the day the Dubs are playing, deserves a goods, strong kick in the nads.

I have two sets of family visiting over the summer from 'Murica. It's my job to squire them around the country. I know FOR A FACT, that I will be missing both the Leinster final & the AI quarter finals. I feel like calling Joe Duffy ! :mad: :mad: :mad:

Wedding is in Harvey's Point in Donegal.

Yer man is a Mayoman and herself is a Donegaler so the Dubs weren't gonna figure in theur choice of venue.

My wedding on the other hand. :)

I've some Canadians visiting in June so I have a lot of stuff to work around with them with the Euros, Leinster and Ulster Championships happening.
    Bonniedog wrote: »

Have to say, and Daly himself sort of admits it, that GC is a lot more adventurous in terms of team selection and tactics. He clearly has faith in the lads there that they can match anyone, and that is showing in their increased confidence levels.

Don't want to sound all Freudian but the Cork view of the hurling world is a lot different from the Clare one. Daly identified with Dublin as an underdog and instilled that passion into them as much as he could. He was just what Dublin needed to become a contender rather than a sad whipping boy as Clare had been before Loughnane.

I think you might have hit the nail on the head with that post. Spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

TBH I'm one of those people who's just happy to see Dublin hurlers sitting at the top table and the game slowly increasing its uptake of younglings. I don't think we're ever going to push on further given that a lot our best talent tends to choose the big ball if they can

Bambi wrote: »
    TBH I'm one of those people who's just happy to see Dublin hurlers sitting at the top table and the game slowly increasing its uptake of younglings. I don't think we're ever going to push on further given that a lot our best talent tends to choose the big ball if they can
    We could help ourselves by eliminating the dual player at inter-county minor and U21 so by the time guys have gone through those ranks they don't all choose football and the hurlers then have nobody coming through. I can't see that happening though, Dublin is too football dominated.

All the very best to Ballyboden today. Let's bring another trophy home to our fair city.....well technically, they're all a bunch of hillbillies from the Dublin mountains, but we won't hold that against them. :D

All the very best to Ballyboden today. Let's bring another trophy home to our fair city.....well technically, they're all a bunch of hillbillies from the Dublin mountains, but we won't hold that against them.

Roysh. Totes Boden ;)

'Tis a line I robbed from a Ballymun friend. In fairness, I'd never begrudge someone from da 'Mun getting a cheap dig in. :P