Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nelson's Pillar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

LordSutch wrote: »
    You've got a nerve going on about what the Saudi's did when you own Provo mates were well known for all kinds of lovely deeds aainst anybody whom they didn't like. Do you know how many of the IRAs Disappeared have still to be found in the ground? Do you know how many middle aged men are still hobbling round without knee caps? How many people are in wheel chairs without their legs or arms courtesy of your beloved Provisional IRA? but don't worry, these are rhetorical questions, so you won't have to provide numbers or stats, but suffice to say that you (the defender of the PIRA and all its dirty deeds) should not be on a soap box preaching about the ills of others.

Slow down your gallop there Sutchie, you've clearly got me mistaken for somebody else, point out one post where I've advocated the murder of anyone, anywhere.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Whats your point there Fred.....other than "evasive action, question off the starboard bow"....
    You've got a nerve going on about what the Saudi's did (.........)about the ills of others.

I was quoting another person there Sutch, as somebody was acting the maggot.

You going to answer the question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Nodin wrote: »
    Whats your point there Fred.....other than "evasive action, question off the starboard bow"....

I was quoting another person there Sutch, as somebody was acting the maggot.

You going to answer the question?

You need to amend your quoting, it has gone awry.

If you're going to throw stones, best to make sure you're not living in a glass house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

buried wrote: »
    Slow down your gallop there Sutchie, you've clearly got me mistaken for somebody else, point out one post where I've advocated the murder of anyone, anywhere.

Apologies buried, I thought I had replied to another poster who is a well known PIRA sympathiser.

If you're going to throw stones, best to make sure you're not living in a glass house.

The accusation was that Ireland makes two million a day off arms sales to the Saudis. We would do that amount in a year. Shifting goal posts and the usual evasions don't make a jot of a difference.

You going to answer the question Fred? And don't go "what question?", you already played that card.
    lord sutch wrote:
    Apologies buried, I thought I had replied to another poster who is a well known
    PIRA sympathiser.

O these things happen. Now, if you'd care to finish your tea and morning browse of the radio times, you might get around to answering the question....? Or are we all dodging it?

The accusation was that Ireland makes two million a day off arms sales to the Saudis. We would do that amount in a year. Shifting goal posts and the usual evasions don't make a jot of a difference.

You going to answer the question Fred? And don't go "what question?", you already played that card.?

The irrelevant question you didn't ask me in the first place? You do love your little games.

Empires shouldn't be glorified, but there's no reason why tidays generation should be ashamed of them either.

Empires were a fact of life and part of the development of us as a species. I can't think of any race or nation that hasn't attempted expanding its geographic spread by conquest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The irrelevant question you didn't ask me in the first place? You do love your little games.

Empires shouldn't be glorified, but there's no reason why tidays generation should be ashamed of them either.

Empires were a fact of life and part of the development of us as a species. I can't think of any race or nation that hasn't attempted expanding its geographic spread by conquest.

I agree Fred. The problem is when people say it was right or has any place in this day and age.

No they should not Fred, well done. Now - Why shouldn't they be?

"todays generation" shouldn't be ashamed of them in the sense they aren't to blame, but they should be ashamed that these things are still flaunted as something to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Empires were ... part of the development of us as a species.

The 'development' of some and the abject misery of others.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I agree Fred. The problem is when people say it was right or has any place in this day and age.

And who is claiming that?

No they should not Fred, well done. Now - Why shouldn't they be?

"todays generation" shouldn't be ashamed of them in the sense they aren't to blame, but they should be ashamed that these things are still flaunted as something to be proud of.

Nah, you just want to score points. You'd like every English person to constantly go around grovelling and begging forgiveness and get hurt when they won't.

You'd like every English person to constantly go around grovelling and begging forgiveness and get hurt when they won't.

I can't blame you for something you didn't do fred. Now, why shouldn't the Empire be glorified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

You know what would be great? If everyone argued with the poster that people actually are, rather than the one they imagine them to be.

Fred isn't sitting somewhere scoffing beef while crushing the colonies under his heel, Nodin isn't picking the perfect balaclava for his next terrorist jaunt...

I can't blame you for something you didn't do fred. Now, why shouldn't the Empire be glorified?

You tell me, you're the expert.

But we've read me type it a million times fred. Why can't you? Whats the problem?

You know what would be great? If everyone argued with the poster that people actually are, rather than the one they imagine them to be.

Fred isn't sitting somewhere scoffing beef while crushing the colonies under his heel, Nodin isn't picking the perfect balaclava for his next terrorist jaunt...

...god no. I heard bold and playful colours are in for Spring this year though.

And who is claiming that?

Fred we have someone here who describes O Connoll St as being better run under British rule. Dublin had a death rate of Calcutta under British rule.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭FA Hayek

We should certainly not take history lessons from the IRA of yesteryear. People forget that there was many a Nazi sympathiser among them, chief among those was Seán Russell who actively plotted with the Nazi's to harm both Ireland and Britain. I imagine there are even some today that wished Britain lost the 2nd World War, failing to recognise they were the only thing standing between us and full blown totalitarianism that would have made British rule look like a picnic. Think about it for a minute, these guys hate Britain so much that they would have welcomed with open arm the Wehrmacht marching down O'Connnel street just to give it to the Brits. Talk about self defeating but then again the IRA post 1921 has known nothing but defeat.

As we can see from this thread, the childish blinkered hatred towards Britain is still alive and 'Da Empire' is used as stick to beat it with, forever cause well one needs to feel aggrieved all the time at some third party. Ugly nationalism ala the BNP. Two sides of the same coin if you ask me. You disagree? Just look more closely at Erigi and their dissident republican brothers. Extremist nationalist thugs, ah but left wing (cuddly bears) but still thugs who use violence as a political weapon.

Nelsons pilar was a symbol of empire, OK maybe, but that does not give one a right to go away on their own and blow it. Its all very ISIS and Taliban if you ask me, a sort of cultural cleanse that even the Nazi's would be proud of. Is Trinity a symbol of empire, lets blow that up too, along with UCC (formerly known as Queens University). Perhaps we can also then blow up the railways, the canals and most of Dublin's sewage system. That will teach em!! Ireland must be pure of this anything tainted with empire, no tolerance for non-believers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

What did the Romans British ever do for us?

...apart from turf, spuds and the ability to tug our forelocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭storker

FA Hayek wrote: »
    Nelsons pilar was a symbol of empire, OK maybe, but that does not give one a right to go away on their own and blow it. Its all very ISIS and Taliban if you ask me, a sort of cultural cleanse that even the Nazi's would be proud of. Is Trinity a symbol of empire, lets blow that up too, along with UCC (formerly known as Queens University). Perhaps we can also then blow up the railways, the canals and most of Dublin's sewage system. That will teach em!! Ireland must be pure of this anything tainted with empire, no tolerance for non-believers.

Don't forget the GPO itself and all the Edwardian and Georgian architecture, pillar boxes, Custom House, Dun Laoghaire and Cobh harbours...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

That guy Sutcliffe that blew up the pillar was interviewed on Joe Duffy for the last half an hour. Its worth a listen.

Anything interesting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That spot is a neat summary of post colonial Ireland really - a classical structure which suited its noble surroundings (the GPO, Cleary's etc) replaced decades later by a ****ty prick of metal surrounded by plastic clad fast food dives, convenience stores and arcades

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 794 ✭✭✭TheHillOfDoom

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Anything interesting?

It was hilarious.

Liam (bomber)
    Retired guard who was on tea break and then had to trundle down to much celebration
    Other guy who was raging Liam got in there ahead of him
    Guy who was driving a taxi under it and his sister
    Nurse who nursed English bomb victims

Oh - and Liam (bomber) knows Joe Duffy's father-in-law and had a pint with Joe one time.

Absolute gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Not sure if this was covered.

Nelsons head appeared on Killiney beach in Dublin,shortly after the bomb went off.

A walker one morning witnessed a few lads removing the covered head,from the back of a car.

He did a runner,thinking the worst,and later saw an article in the Herald,explaning what was going on.

http://comeheretome.com/2013/01/04/horatio-nelsons-trip-to-killiney-beach/

Some good newspaper headlines and photos taken of the pillar,and O'Connell St,the day after.

http://comeheretome.com/tag/nelsons-pillar/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

gladrags wrote: »
    Not sure if this was covered.

Nelsons head appeared on Killiney beach in Dublin,shortly after the bomb went off.

A walker one morning witnessed a few lads removing the covered head,from the back of a car.

He did a runner,thinking the worst,and later saw an article in the Herald,explaning what was going on.

http://comeheretome.com/2013/01/04/horatio-nelsons-trip-to-killiney-beach/

I was hoping you'd say he dropped to his knees and started screaming

"You maniacs, you blew it up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

FA Hayek wrote: »
    We should certainly not take history lessons from the IRA of yesteryear. People forget that there was many a Nazi sympathiser among them, chief among those was Seán Russell who actively plotted with the Nazi's to harm both Ireland and Britain. I imagine there are even some today that wished Britain lost the 2nd World War, failing to recognise they were the only thing standing between us and full blown totalitarianism that would have made British rule look like a picnic. Think about it for a minute, these guys hate Britain so much that they would have welcomed with open arm the Wehrmacht marching down O'Connnel street just to give it to the Brits. Talk about self defeating but then again the IRA post 1921 has known nothing but defeat.

As we can see from this thread, the childish blinkered hatred towards Britain is still alive and 'Da Empire' is used as stick to beat it with, forever cause well one needs to feel aggrieved all the time at some third party. Ugly nationalism ala the BNP. Two sides of the same coin if you ask me. You disagree? Just look more closely at Erigi and their dissident republican brothers. Extremist nationalist thugs, ah but left wing (cuddly bears) but still thugs who use violence as a political weapon.

The Fine Gael party was founded by an active Nazi supporter.

Recent western history is strewn by acts of genocidal butchery.

Iraq,Syria,Libya and Gaza comes to mind.

At least try to balance your arguement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

gladrags wrote: »
    The Fine Gael party was founded by an active Nazi supporter.

Recent western history is strewn by acts of genocidal butchery.

Iraq,Syria,Libya and Gaza comes to mind.

At least try to balance your arguement.

Maybe we should mention other pro-Nazi supporters,Maybe an ex king ?Edward VIII was very pro Nazi,He was made Governor of the Bahamas to keep him out of the way,a place he described as a third class British colony.He was not too fond of black people either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

It was hilarious.

Liam (bomber)
    Retired guard who was on tea break and then had to trundle down to much celebration
    Other guy who was raging Liam got in there ahead of him
    Guy who was driving a taxi under it and his sister
    Nurse who nursed English bomb victims

Oh - and Liam (bomber) knows Joe Duffy's father-in-law and had a pint with Joe one time.

Absolute gold.

It was one of those rare moments on RTE alright.. :)

Liam said that it took 2 attempts to blow up the statue. He climbed up the staircase in the centre of the pillar to plant the device, which he had put together himself. He used an alarm clock which he bought in Rathmines as a timer for the bomb.

When it failed to detonate he had to climb back up the stairway and disarm the bomb by cutting the wires with a nail-clippers which he bought in Clearys.
    The reason he gave for bombing the pillar was because the British had blown apart O’Connell street during the Rising and had never apologised for it, and seeing as it was the 50th anniversary of the Rising, he saw it fitting that Nelson’s Statue had to go.

Apparently De Valera was very pleased when he heard the news that the statue had been blown up.

There was also a retired Irish soldier interviewed. He was in the engineering division in the Curragh, and they had planned to officially tear it down also with explosives, but were not allowed to place explosives in the middle of the pillar (up the stair-well). *at least that's what I think he said, as the car radio was going in and out of reception for that bit*