Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nelson's Pillar

• 05-03-2016 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,408 ✭✭✭✭

50 years a go next week, March 8th, Nelson's Pillar was blown up on O'Connell Street by a bunch of nuts.

Was this ok in hindsight? They could have kept the pillar and replaced Nelson with a better person like Charles Haughey for example where we have yet to have a fitting memorial or Bertie Ahern when he dies.

We would have had the views over the city that the spire does not offer. Or even just kept Nelson who by some accounts was a good looking fella.

What say you?

http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.2561871.1457182980!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

The spire is dire.

Edit: Just knock it down and leave it empty, see how it goes. Do we need to have some tall structure there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I'm sure Gerry Adams would say they were good Republicans, the type that don't pay tax in the republic, and ignore the laws of the republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

50 years a go next week, March 8th, Nelson's Pillar was blown up on O'Connell Street by a bunch of nuts.

Was this ok in hindsight? They could have kept the pillar and replaced Nelson with a better person like Charles Haughey for example where we have yet to have a fitting memorial or Bertie Ahern when he dies.

We would have had the views over the city that the spire does not offer. Or even just kept Nelson who by some accounts was a good looking fella.

What say you?

http://www.irishtimes.com/polopoly_fs/1.2561871.1457182980!/image/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/box_620_330/image.jpg

I like the idea of statues of Ahrarne and Haughey to blow up on the anniversary, but I don't think there's enough time....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

That escalated quickly........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Not ok, tempered by the fact it was done well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Innuendo post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

So 50 years ago all the talk about the 50 year anniversay of "the rising" led to the pillar being blown up by a few good Republicans.
    Yesterday in Belfast an off duty prison officer was seriously injured by a car bomb, no doubt planted by a few good Republicans in the run up to the 100th anniversary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What say you?

It should ideally have been moved somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Nodin wrote: »
    It should ideally have been moved somewhere.

If the majority of Dubliners voted to move it you mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    If the majority of Dubliners voted to move it you mean.

No, its a legacy of occupation. Many statues were removed after independence and his should have been amongst them. There's a nice one a short trip away if anyone wants to see it.

Considering you thought catholics in NI should move if they didn't like it there, you seem awfully hung up over a piece of stone.

No, its a legacy of occupation. Many statues were removed after independence and his should have been amongst them. There's a nice one a short trip away if anyone wants to see it.

If Dubliners chose to remove it. They decide what a legacy of occupation is. Not you

Dun Laoghaire pier was also built during the "occupation". Why not blow that up? I see it every day. It reminds me of the Victorians (and Queen Victoria). Why not cleanse the whole country of any reminder of our oppressors?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Why was it there in the first place? Did nelson have any association with Ireland?

diomed wrote: »
    Dun Laoghaire pier was also built during the "occupation". Why not blow that up? I see it every day. It reminds me of the Victorians (and Queen Victoria). Why not cleanse the whole country of any reminder of our oppressors?

I'm sure Nodin is also in favor of blowing up the GPO and customs house

I've just remembered.
    ..... in before Jackeens :pac:

Why was it there in the first place? Did nelson have any association with Ireland?

It used to be a look-out station for the black 'n tans. God rid of them feckers didn't we.

double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Dun Laoghaire pier serves a purpose, as does the GPO and Customs House

What purpose does a monument to a foreign colonist serve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

I kinda knew what to expect when I opened this thread and so far it hasn't let me down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Tidy work.

Yes. After the Act of Union the Napoleonic wars were fought. Nelson and the Duke of Wellington helped defeat him. The IRA could also blow up the Martello towers as they were part of our defenses.

And Nelson Mandela was granted the freedom of the City of Dublin. How was that allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I think the colonists took enough out of the country so I don't see the harm in keeping the useful stuff. A statue of one of the colonists? No thanks can't see what possible use that would be.

What purpose does a monument to a foreign colonist serve?
    He was a great lad. Jackeens worship him.
    Why should terrorists from a foreign country (Northern Ireland) have a right to blow up our monuments?

Signing off now to watch Tottenham Hotspur on Match of the Day (on a UK TV channel).

Watching Friends on TV in England (an American programme). Might watch some English/completely foreign football teams too :)

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I think the colonists took enough out of the country so I don't see the harm in keeping the useful stuff. A statue of one of the colonists? No thanks can't see what possible use that would be.

Nelson was a colonist? I thought he lived in England? Whose land did he colonize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I really like the spire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Having these statues of revered and respected historical people out on the streets of various cities is funny when you notice all of them are completely covered in bird$hit

Make America Get Out of Here

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Why should terrorists from a foreign country (Northern Ireland) have a right to blow up our monuments?
    What are you talking about? It was Dubliners who blew it up and according to wiki, Dubliners voted to remove it already a few times beforehand

I think we should replace the spire with a massive big male dildo in honour of the recent gay marriage referendum results.

Edit: I know that's really sexist. Really sorry to the LGBTi community.

Double Edit: And to chicks who don't dig dick pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

During its 150 or so years of existence the average "Jackeen" had no idea who the guy on the top of the monument was. They simply referred to it as "the pillar".

It was only when the IRA destroyed the monument that Dubliners had any reference to the significance of the guy at the top.

The tallest obelisk in Europe stands in the Phoenix Park in memory of the Duke of Wellington. Good luck trying to find anyone who even knows it exists.

Dun Laoghaire pier serves a purpose, as does the GPO and Customs House
    Tis funny how all the nicest built things in our capital - such as the GPO, College Green, Trinity, Customs house etc were built by the British (or when Ireland was united with Britain).

maryishere wrote: »
    Tis funny how all the nicest built things in our capital - such as the GPO, College Green, Trinity, Customs house etc were built by the British (or when Ireland was united with Britain).
    That's what tends to happen in colonies :rolleyes:

colossus-x wrote: »
    I think we should replace the spire with a massive big male dildo in honour of the recent gay marriage referendum results.

naw, the needle (spire) reminds / symbolises Dublins drug culture / ghow awful O'Connell St has become in the past 50 years, with its tacky fast food places etc. It was a fine st until they blew up the pillar.;)

That's what tends to happen in colonies :rolleyes:

Sounds sweet to be a colony so!

P.S. Ireland was a home country. No more a colony than Brittany, Galacia or Cornwall.

Nelson was a colonist? I thought he lived in England? Whose land did he colonize?

He represented a colonial power. Do you think Jersey should have kept the Nazi decorations following their occupation during WW2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

I think we should replace the spire with a statue of a woman pushing a buggy attacking a man down in a hole installing a water meter in honour of the protesters that spent 5 working days a week out on the streets induring working hours. Fair play to them troupers.

Sounds sweet to be a colony so!

P.S. Ireland was a home country. No more a colony than Brittany, Galacia or Cornwall.
    You must have missed the part when they sent over all the colonists

He represented a colonial power. Do you think Jersey should have kept the Nazi decorations following their occupation during WW2?

Not quite the same thing there buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Shur anyway, old Horatio's head had a great run of life after it was blown off

Spent time in a shop front in London after a load of students robbed it and leased it to a guy there. It even appeared in a commercial or two, and on stage with the Dubliners.

Beats getting shit on by pigeons, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

What say you?

Bwahahahahahaha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Shur anyway, old Horatio's head had a great run of life after it was blown off

Spent time in a shop front in London after a load of students robbed it and leased it to a guy there. It even appeared in a commercial or two, and on stage with the Dubliners.

Beats getting shit on by pigeons, no?

Sadly, he's still caked in bird$hit over in London

Make America Get Out of Here

Not quite the same thing there buddy.

Just in your eyes dude :). Cognitive dissonance.

You must have missed the part when they sent over all the colonists

For a king to replace unloyal with loyal land owners is feudalism, not colonialism.

Just in your eyes dude :). Cognitive dissonance.

How long did the Germans hold Jersey? Five years? Not quite the same thing as the 800 year British presence in Ireland.

A more accurate comparison would be German possesions in Eastern Europe for almost a thousand years where the local Slavs took on the German language, culture and traditions.

One of the things Nelson was / is most remembered for is the battle of Trafalgar. Many of Dublin's population had a direct personal involvement with the battle, : up to one-third of the sailors in Nelson's fleet were from Ireland, including around 400 from Dublin itself. As a famous writer one noted: "It would be rash to assume, that even the most politically aware Catholics, particularly those from among the rising middle and professional classes ... would have regarded Nelson as other than a hero".[

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

We should put a giant harp there or ancient monument from Gaelic legends and myths.

For a king to replace unloyal with loyal land owners is feudalism, not colonialism.

Actually it's plantation, then the replacement of the planters which all in all is a type of colonialism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

You get your own people and 'plant' them in other people's land. Hope they grow and breed and remain loyal. It's a plantation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

What say you?

I say blow it te fvck.

And they did. Good call.

Should have took a shyte on its head and sent it by post to Lizzy Saxe-Coburg.

Marked for attention of Mountbatten.