Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Tilikum wrote: »
    I really like Conor, think he's a funny and very witty fella. I can't stand some of his fans though. In my opinion they think he's waaaay better than he actually is.

In all his previous fight he's had a height/reach & weight advantage. He faced a guy last night that has lost 3 of his last 5 fights....lost 10 out of 19 fights in the ufc. He had 11 days notice and he still bet Conor. I think dos Anjos would beat Conor too. In my opinion, if they had some sort of limit on how much you were aloud to cut, McGregor would be just another fighter like Diaz.

I wish his fans would stop blaming the weight difference. You can't have it one way & not the other. Does anyone actually know what they both weighed when they stepped into the ring?

Dos Anjos would have stylistically been a nicer fight for Conor in my opinion. Conor would have narrow reach advantage but he would have made that count for sure.

I do agree about the weight difference, the boiling down to 145 is crazy. Its a talent in itself and takes hard work but he is HUGE for featherweight so takes significant physical advantages into his fights down there.

We will see how good he really is at 155lbs. Lets not forget aswell that Diaz isn't a natural welterweight either, he has been there before but he is more effective at 155lb.

I had McGregor to win last night in an interesting match up, I didn't give Nate a chance but only because of the short notice. I'd have backed it to be a 50/50 fight however with a full camp behind Diaz to be honest. So to lose to him having accepted the fight on short notice is disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Really enjoyed that fight

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Couldn't carry the weight; looked like he gassed very quickly and was much slower. Intriguing to see the next step for him; gutted how it went but part of me glad it was a Diaz who beat him! Surely Nate gets the LW shot now at 200 and Conor vs Frankie or an Aldo rematch.
    I was thinking the same,the reach advantage Diaz had also played a part as Conor was not able to get close enough without getting hit. At times it felt like he was swinging and missing where he is usually accurate,he did make some connections but wasted a lot of energy I felt.

In another note I thought Conor was in control till he started a bit of show boating looking for the KO instead of doing the basics which left him vunerable and ultimately cost him the fight.

Hopefully he'll bounce back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

mystic diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Does anybody believe Diaz when he says if he had a full camp with his usual level of sparring that he reckons he might not have even got hit?

I like him, he has said some cracking things but he also said he is ready to fight anyone at anytime.

The post fight press conference was a good watch too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I'm fairness he could bow out now and still be set for life.

Back to basics. I said it before the fight, all this silly jumping weight etc is pie in the sky.

Let's see him fight at 155 and see what he is really made of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

You've seen him on steaks, now watch him back on the salads killing 5'4 lads. Lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Watched it again,first rd was closer than I thought tbh Conor couldnt find his range at all 2 or 3 nice left hands but didnt budge Nate,

The stupid Capoeira kicks complete waste of time your not going to highlight reel somebody with one them at this level sorry,

Conor was swinging wildly missing horribly,start of the 2nd round he didnt look to have much energy Diaz stiff jab caused serious trouble,fighting on instinct then when he got rocked,

I think the main problem here was the reach and height difference,he had no answer to it,it was a good stand up fight but it was like Diaz let him gas himself known all he had to do was avoid a big shot and finish strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I'm delighted, he might stop running his mouth and fanboys might pay his opponents respect. He was trying to knock his head off throwing bombs and while he marked up Diaz and had him bleeding, he didn't cause him any distress. Diaz is so battle hardened he was just waiting for the chance. Holly Holm has more balls than Connor, she didn't tap

Also I've no truck with the humble in victory and defeat line. Jumping on top of the cage, flipping people off and making it rain is not humble IMO

How come he didn't fight at 155?

Jumping up two weights from his last fight was always a big ask surely ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Would rather see McGregor drop out of 145 altogether, the cut is ridiculous and he as much admitted it himself these past few weeks......reinvent himself at 155 with a couple fights like he did at 145 then go for the belt ......would he get a title shot straight up after that?

Tilikum wrote: »
    You've seen him on steaks, now watch him back on the salads killing 5'4 lads. Lol

Another brave soul who could do better than conor!

Step up brave warrior:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    How come he didn't fight at 155?

Jumping up two weights from his last fight was always a big ask surely ?

Both men are natural lightweights, they simply fought without an enforced weight limit due to Nate having just over a weeks notice to get ready for the fight.

Nate is not a natural WW either, he had a soft belly and clearly wasn't as fit as he was for his last fight for example. Conor was very happy, confident and comfortable at the weight so can't complain about it.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Gonna be a lot of silly beards shaved off in Ireland today....

JustTheOne wrote: »
    I'm fairness he could bow out now and still be set for life.

Back to basics. I said it before the fight, all this silly jumping weight etc is pie in the sky.

Let's see him fight at 155 and see what he is really made of.

Any critical analysis on him always reverts back to the argument that he has made an absolute fortune and is set for life etc... Fair play to him on that, but it should be left at the door when analysing him as a fighter.

Seems to be alot of fanboys in here, with just as many begrudgers/haters in equal measure. Not alot of proper analysis of where he needs to improve

price690 wrote: »
    Any critical analysis on him always reverts back to the argument that he has made an absolute fortune and is set for life etc... Fair play to him on that, but it should be left at the door when analysing him as a fighter.

Seems to be alot of fanboys in here, with just as many begrudgers/haters in equal measure. Not alot of proper analysis of where he needs to improve

But it's true no?

He has made his money from winning fights?

What is there to analyse?

The analysis so far ive seen is he needs to leave Kavanagh and SBG and his ground game is terrible,

Complete and Utter garbage talk thats the level of analysis on here.

But it's true no?

He has made his money from winning fights?

What is there to analyse?

What the f*ck has his bank balance got to do with anything? its a symptom of the following he seems to have attracted in such a short space of time.

They like the lifestyle and the trappings of the wealth in fame. When analysing Conor as a fighter, strengths weaknesses etc.. praising him and criticising him in equal measure going forward, what does his bank balance have to do with it?

GSP made a hell of alot of money but you didn't hear anything about it.

Seems to be symptomatic, you ask his fans whats his biggest asset they will probably say his rolls royce. Just a poor enough level of analysis of him really on the whole. Not having a pop at you. Someone who talks the talk like Conor as being the greatest should have aspirations higher than setting himself up for life thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Anyone think conor gassed?

He took loss well in fairness, got lot more respect for him after that. I was expecting excuses from him but no just explanations nate was more efficient

What the f*ck has his bank balance got to do with anything? its a symptom of the following he seems to have attracted in such a short space of time.

They like the lifestyle and the trappings of the wealth in fame. When analysing Conor as a fighter, strengths weaknesses etc.. praising him and criticising him in equal measure going forward, what does his bank balance have to do with it?

GSP made a hell of alot of money but you didn't hear anything about it.

Seems to be symptomatic, you ask his fans whats his biggest asset they will probably say his rolls royce. Just a poor enough level of analysis of him really on the whole. Not having a pop at you. Someone who talks the talk like Conor as being the greatest should have aspirations higher than setting himself up for life thats all.

My point is how has he made that money?

People seem to forget he beat 7 fighters for that.

There is nothing to analyse.

Gamebred wrote: »
    The analysis so far ive seen is he needs to leave Kavanagh and SBG and his ground game is terrible,

Complete and Utter garbage talk thats the level of analysis on here.

Kavanagh needs to get Conor back to basics, he also needs to advise/manage his match making a little more carefully.

The top guys don't oversell themselves into such a fight like Conor did. Sure he made a fortune, but being more careful doesn't exactly equate to losing money. Choose your battles smarter. Someone with his level of exposure should have the neck at this stage to say no to being railroaded into a 170lb fight at 1 weeks notice.

The elite level fighters wouldn't accept it, they'd no doubt be called cowards but to take such a deviation at short notice is showing you have been advised badly.

People will say he made his money, but to be a top fighter he claims to be there will be plenty of paydays. But the actions of taking that fight last night could see his next paycheck take a hit.

His fight all comers attitude is refreshing on one hand, but very naive on the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RoryMac

dave1982 wrote: »
    Anyone think conor gassed?

Yes, showed signs at the end of the 1st and a minute into the 2nd his tank looked empty.

He said it himself after, threw too many power shots that didn't connect. Game plan seemed to be highlight reel KO which was a big mistake

No more spinning around Supermacs in Eyre Square at 2am two weeks before a fight!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Internet Ham

Another brave soul who could do better than conor!

Step up brave warrior:)

What type of ridiculous response is that?

Kavanagh needs to get Conor back to basics, he also needs to advise/manage his match making a little more carefully.

The top guys don't oversell themselves into such a fight like Conor did. Sure he made a fortune, but being more careful doesn't exactly equate to losing money. Choose your battles smarter. Someone with his level of exposure should have the neck at this stage to say no to being railroaded into a 170lb fight at 1 weeks notice.

The elite level fighters wouldn't accept it, they'd no doubt be called cowards but to take such a deviation at short notice is showing you have been advised badly.

People will say he made his money, but to be a top fighter he claims to be there will be plenty of paydays. But the actions of taking that fight last night could see his next paycheck take a hit.

His fight all comers attitude is refreshing on one hand, but very naive on the other.

I can see where your coming from,it was a calculated risk taking the fight the money outweighted the risk obviously,when your on a winning run like he was defeat is out of the question,

Diaz on a weeks notice without a cut sounds grand in theory,fights arent on paper though,Dana said its doing crazy ppv number so if he clears 20m for this loss was it really a loss at the end of the day? his comeback will be massive no doubt and he can redeem himself inside the cage,

Financially its another step to being secure for life.

What type of ridiculous response is that?

"You've seen him on steaks, now watch him back on the salads killing 5'4 lads. Lol"

Its in response to this ridiculous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,401 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I wouldn't have been Conor biggest fan but he really went up in my estimate last night by being humble in defeat and thanking Diaz for the fight. And the same for Diaz.

I think a few in here are right that he made a mistake in pushing to hard early on after cutting Diaz and trying to finish the fight early. He should have just picked punches for the next two rounds until he caused more damage to the eye.

Then i think he underested the strength difference of his opponent at the higher weight and those Diaz shots really rocked him.

We all know there is a massive difference in a purple to black belt and that showed last night when Diaz just flowed through the transitions and McGregor didn't even try to defend the pass.

Oh and by the way Diaz has some head on him to take a punch :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

diaz beats precision, diaz beats timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Anyone explain why Bryan Caraway is so hated?

Because he sleeps with Miesha every night,and hes dodging fights with the likes of Aljamain Sterling.