Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

****ing love it, all the fair-weather ****ers can **** off now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Necrominus wrote: »
    It's a loss - no big deal in the grand scheme of things.

But i think it is a big deal for Conor. His mind games is gone out the Window and will be useless from now on.

He did everything he said he wouldnt do.

Cant beat everyone, Pretty much KOed on his feet, Panic wrestled and tapped out.

It will be interesting what he says and does next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭blade1

bur wrote: »
    ****ing love it, all the fair-weather ****ers can **** off now.

It was the fair-weather ****ers made it the big event it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

I am not too bothered by this loss for mcgregor. I think it was needed for him. His ego was going to places that wasn't pretty. This is a reality check for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Letree wrote: »
    I am not too bothered by this loss for mcgregor. I think it was needed for him. His ego was going to places that wasn't pretty. This is a reality check for him.

He will sure as heck lose some more in the ufc,and win some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebelomar

jimmii wrote: »
    He didn't really put on weight he just didn't lose weight like he normally does. He didn't have to take the fight and it was apparently him who said he wanted it at 170 he just like the fight which has got him this far but also led to what happened.

Understand he took a calculated risk but his coaching team/advisors should have called a halt to it..

As I said sometimes these guys need to be saved from themselves.

He's obviously got a warrior's mentality and I certainly wouldn't claim to understand that (he'd probably give up another 20 lbs) and fair play to him.

Should be have come in lighter for speed....while I now understand he didn't bulk up 30lbs it's still additional weight he wouldn't be used to carrying over a 25 min fight?

Hindsight and all that...

Wow, rarely been happier as an mma fan. McGregor got his **** wretched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Massive lol at the poll!! Diaz by sub only had thirty something votes before the fight started!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,650 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Easy fight to analyse.

Basically, there's a reason you have weight classes.

End of.

blade1 wrote: »
    It was the fair-weather ****ers made it the big event it was

rofl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

SlickRic wrote: »
    Easy fight to analyse.

Basically, there's a reason you have weight classes.

End of.

Lol. It's ok when McGregor has the massive height/reach & weight advantage though. Give us a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

What would be his optimum fighting weight? (in terms of his own body, not prospects) 155?

bur wrote: »
    rofl.

If you are rolling on the floor, i hope your defence is better than Conor McGregors, or else one of the kids might choke you out!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

What would be his optimum fighting weight? (in terms of his own body, not prospects) 155?

I would think

155 as a level playing field

145 to have an advantage

John_D80 wrote: »
    Massive lol at the poll!! Diaz by sub only had thirty something votes before the fight started!!

There from the start homie.

John_D80 wrote: »

What gets me is, what dopes are clicking on a Diaz by knockout?
    There was only 27 right after the fight!!:pac::pac:

Nate called it perfectly in one of the interviews in fairness to him he said ''you better hope you get that knockout or its going be a ****ed up night for him'',

Sage Ronda and Conor all finished who'd of thought it,they build them and eventually they fall,Dana in seethmode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Maybe I'm ignorant but I don't think he looked that bad today, even nate seemed more concerned with protecting himself than he was. Nate usually only starts showboating when he's rocked someone but conor was in that mentality from the get go. It got him in the end. (size a big factor obviously too)

From that fight I wouldn't say he cant ever fight at that weight again but he needs a lot more manners on him (inside the ring). Again ignorance but I cant see how people say his grappling was bad when he was barely able to move and even went for a takedown, showing how panicked he was.

Am I way off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Gamebred wrote: »
    Nate called it perfectly in one of the interviews in fairness to him he said ''you better hope you get that knockout or its going be a ****ed up night for him'',

Sage Ronda and Conor all finished who'd of thought it,they build them and eventually they fall,Dana in seethmode.

with sage l;oads of people would of thought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Well I was getting it in the neck for criticising Mcgregor and sayin Diaz would would. He needs to learn to be humble, anyway I don't mind the abuse from armchair experts on this, I won €300 betting against McGaylord. Happy days!

well done byt 300e all you won? why didnt you bet the house on it if you were so sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

Stockton mother****er!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

At least he can go back to fighting lads that are smaller than him and get over hyped again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RoryMac

McGregor can still have an impact at 155 & possibly 170 but needs to fight smarter. Diaz has always had trouble with defending kicks and McGregor could have attacked the lead leg to slow him down before unloading the shots.

But he burnt himself out throwing the right uppercuts & left hands at air. If he had a game plan similar to the one against Mendes he would have had more joy.

McGregor has always been easy to hit but that becomes an issue at the bigger weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Sure you did mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

against McGaylord.

What was the point in that comment? Seriously, do you think you are the bigger man or something?

So McGregor lost, big deal, everyone knew he was going to lose at some stage. You making derogatory comments just shows you up to be a small, simple minded jealous idiot.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

I really like Conor, think he's a funny and very witty fella. I can't stand some of his fans though. In my opinion they think he's waaaay better than he actually is.

In all his previous fight he's had a height/reach & weight advantage. He faced a guy last night that has lost 3 of his last 5 fights....lost 8 out of 21 fights in the ufc. He had 11 days notice and he still bet Conor. I think dos Anjos would beat Conor too. In my opinion, if they had some sort of limit on how much you were aloud to cut, McGregor would be just another fighter like Diaz.

I wish his fans would stop blaming the weight difference. You can't have it one way & not the other. Does anyone actually know what they both weighed when they stepped into the ring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Tilikum wrote: »
    I really like Conor, think he's a funny and very witty fella. I can't stand some of his fans though. In my opinion they think he's waaaay better than he actually is.

In all his previous fight he's had a height/reach & weight advantage. He faced a guy last night that has lost 3 of his last 5 fights....lost 10 out of 19 fights in the ufc. He had 11 days notice and he still bet Conor. I think dos Anjos would beat Conor too. In my opinion, if they had some sort of limit on how much you were aloud to cut, McGregor would be just another fighter like Diaz.

I wish his fans would stop blaming the weight difference. You can't have it one way & not the other. Does anyone actually know what they both weighed when they stepped into the ring?

So your point is he has an advantage when he's the bigger guy but the weight difference doesn't matter when he's smaller?

Tilikum wrote: »

In all his previous fight he's had a height/reach & weight advantage. He faced a guy last night that has lost 3 of his last 5 fights....lost 10 out of 19 fights in the ufc. He had 11 days notice and he still bet Conor. I think dos Anjos would beat Conor too. In my opinion, if they had some sort of limit on how much you were aloud to cut, McGregor would be just another fighter like Diaz.

Nate (and Nick) are a lot better than their records would leave you believe,they are really elite fighters who are an awkward fight for anybody,Nate proved tonight the most dynamic fights wont last going toe2toe with him,the pace he goes when on form is crazy ya cant break him there is no shame losing to him,

Im the biggest McGregor fanboy on the whole forum Id guess,and im stating categorically there is NO EXCUSE for the result of the fight tonight,beaten by a better martial artist plain and simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

170lb fighter? Forget about the catchweight weigh in, Nate Diaz is a 155lb fighter...So if mcgregor moves up to 155lb those are exactly the dimensions he will face. Mcgregor better stay down at 145lb , that is until he gets kidney failure or other severe health complications due to cutting the ridiculous amounts that he does. Long overdue for ufc to put in a 10% bodyweight rehydration restriction

McGregor deserves credit for taking a huge risk with the jump in weight in order to satisy fans for entertainment purposes. But it will be back to serious business now in protecting what name he has left. Personally, I think he will put himself through the ringer again to make 145.

Your reach is your wealth, the really top fighters can negate an opponents reach and unfortunately Conor couldn't do that. Conor usually enjoys a significant advantage in this sense, but when it evened up in terms of reach he will be in alot of 50-50 fights. I think he will still have a really exciting career and will be a marquee name but his mystique is most definately gone, at featherweight he is such a big guy (a "74 inch reach is mammoth where most guys would be prob between 68" and 70"). Its a huge advantage.

Fighting guys his own size may be a little more problematic where he needs to fight on the inside, over reaching knocked him off balance. In boxing terms, Wlad Klitschko found out to his detriment aswell when he fought Tyson Fury, the first time in a long time Wlad was outsized and had smaller reach.

But credit where credits due, he takes enormous credit for going up in weight (Even though Diaz is really a 155lb fighter himself) but they will revert to more careful match making in future.

Again to use a boxing reference, this was really akin to Floyd Mayweather having an opponent pull out and accept a fight at short notice with someone like a prime Paul Williams at 160lbs. Both guys fighting outside of their weight class, one of them alot more comfortable at the weight and the name fighter giving away alot of his physical advantages, all in the name of pleasing the fans.

Mayweather would not have taken the risk thats for sure.