Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Well deserved ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Sunday 7.2.16

Trim 10 mile-66min 41sec@6.40min/mile

I had been looking forward to this for over a month since the Tom Brennan 5k on New Years Day. This would give me a good indication where I was training wise and a little more insight into what I possibly should target come Rotterdam. Training had gone well and Luke had me in good shape heading into this, I wanted to try for a PB as I felt I was in that kind of shape.

Got to Trim at 11.10am and found parking handy enough, luxury of this being virtually a home race for me. The wind was blowing but as I said before that was something I couldn't control, I could control myself running 6.45m/m splits and that's all I cared about. Gave the cheerleading squad all a quick kiss and headed for my warm up, few hundred metres in I came across FBOT01, gave a thumbs up and said hello, he said he'd catch me later which by races end was glad he had said that. Finished my warm up seen mbarr and gave him a thumbs up then bumped into Firedance who had her game face on, another brief jog where we passed Racoonqueen, gave her a thumbs up and hello and we headed for the start. YoungAnne came and said hello with her Boards AC t-shirt on proud display, quick chat and we lined up. Left the ladies to find there respective starting spots and joined FBOT01, asked what he was targeting and he said 10 miles at MP, which he told me was 6.45m/m. Perfect I said to myself, I can TRY to hang onto M and see how I go.

The announcer had us started quick enough, chatted away to FBOT for the first mile which was nice and sheltered from the wind passing few runners as we made our way out of Trim towards Dunderry, mile 1 beeped at 6.43. Happy with that and eased into my running then, brief chat with FBOT as I'm not the best man for talking when I'm racing(sorry about that M). Mile 2 was most forgetful of the lot and came in at 6.47 still bang on pace and feeling good as I should. Passed by a few of the Na Fianna lads I had been training with last summer who were following the 70 min pacer, we thought he was a bit hot pace wise but I seen why as the course unfolded later. Moving along nicely still and the wind was mostly helping us here, mile 3 bleeped at 6.39.

We approached Dunderry here and looking ahead I recognized a runner ahead, as we pulled alongside I was proved right as we caught neilc. Into Dunderry village we turned left and the wind came into play more, I was checking over my shoulder to make sure Neil had come with us but he fell off the pace(sorry you didn't have a good race Neil, bad day nothing more I hope for you). Mile 4 came in at 6.39 bit of time in the bag now but I wasn't thinking that way. The next two miles, 5 and 6 were a gradual climb but I felt solid her still despite the climb and the ever increasing effects of the wind. Mile 5 was 6.43 and 6 bleeped at 6.37. Happy with those two miles as they involved mostly climbing.

Into mile 7 we turned left again for Trim and I was hoping a bit of respite from the wind and the drags, first 0.20 of the mile was fine but then the wind and drags came into play again. FBOT was playing a blinder dragging me along as he cruised along at MP. I was on the rivet from here though, M was slipping away with every stride. I was suffering big style now, why did I push so hard on the previous two miles!! M gave a glance over his shoulder every so often and I almost felt it was my business to be stuck to his shoulder when he looked. He was feck all use as shelter from the wind but was one heck of a pacer. I dug in and got through it, mile 7 beeped at 6.43.

I pulled along M and said that mile nearly finished me, settled back into it again and got a second wind. Was conscious not to push to hard again in case I wobbled again. Stuck to M like a limpet for mile 8 which clocked at 6.43, into the last two and time to see what was left. M upped the pace and I followed suit, I had seen a runner up the road who I wanted to catch as I had never beaten him in a race before. I was feeling good and the pace felt good, mile 9 came in at 6.33. Felt it took nothing out of me so M ramped it up another notch, stuck to him as best as I could. Caught my target with 0.70 left, slapped him on the back said keep going and pushed on, back onto the main road again and seen Oaktree Business Park to my right, the finishing location. I turned into the finishing straight and the legs went to jelly. I was running in treacle now, M shouted to dig in, I may have told him where to go I honestly can't remember I was pushing hard as I could. The only runner that passed me since the beginning passed me here. I mustered the best kick I could and flopped over the line mile 10 completed the pain in 6.25. Job done,:p:p

HUGE thank you to FBOT01, as I said without you it would have been a different story today. You looked strong today and well ready for those Boston Hills, thanks for dragging me around. Crawled across the line to see the 8th Wonder of World cool as a breeze standing at the finish, TbL after handing me my backside!! Had a chat with FBOT, TbL and neilc at the finish and had our photo taken!! Seen mbarr, YoungAnne and Firedance run to strong PB's. Good day at the office for the Boards Rotterdam crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

thats a super day at the office - well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

super stuff there B, you hung on & dug deep when it mattered, hope the celebration beers are going down nicely, they are very well deserved :)

p.s. game face? that was a smile, no?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Fantastic report, sounds like you cranked it up to the max. Well done, delighted for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Great report. Sounds like you gave it everything. Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great stuff Tang, a really solid performance - your hard work is starting to net some results, with lots more to come down the road if you can stick at it - well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Brilliant race and report Barry, well done and well deserved!!
    Seen ya glancing around a couple of times alright and really appreciated it, only sorry I couldn't hang in with ye!

on the hunt for club mate photos this morning, you're in one of them, looking good guys :D

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_sXe9wOiQSTbXVvS1JWbkRWa2s/view?usp=sharing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Delighted for you Tang! What a strong performance. Congratulations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Delighted for you. Well done for hanging on to M. You found it tough and kept going which is super. A super time and race. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭aero2k

Well done, excellent performance. Delighted for you.

I had hoped to go out to support but my day didn't go to plan - I missed a whole raft of PBs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Great report tang and a well deserved pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Great run B. Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Well done Barry, you've truly chased and caught up with and passed your old self. I've a feeling I know what the Rotterdam target will be. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Great report Tang and congrats on the PB.

awwwwwww

man love :D

Why can I never get your links to work?

aquinn wrote: »
    Why can I never get your links to work?

dunno? opens for me, or you can see it here either https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtp1/t31.0-8/12657966_10154433749582565_2250690722149145662_o.jpg

That worked. Who am I looking at then? I know two. Is Sunday non-shave day?

aquinn wrote: »
    That worked. Who am I looking at then? I know two. Is Sunday non-shave day?

:D:D:D I had to get up & leave the office

well there's a cranky fruit in there, you can guess no? and Neilc on the end :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The Lemon is your man with the Burt Lancaster thing going on.

Murph_D wrote: »
    The Lemon is your man with the Burt Lancaster thing going on.

That's been wrecking my head since I met him, cheers D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Firedance wrote: »
    awwwwwww

man love :D

Fair play to Leon fbot Osman for coming over for the race :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Great result on Sunday tang - looking forward to seeing what you can do in Rotterdam.

First off thank you all very much for the kind comments since Trim, very much appreciated. Some catching up to be done.

Monday 8.2.16

Rest, body sore from exerts of day before, good sign that I gave my all. Would not have been up to much anyway seeing as I was up till 4am watching the Super Bowl.

Tuesday 9.2.16

6 miles Easy@9.04min/miles in 54min 21secs

Body bit stiff for first mile or so of this but loosened out after, no untoward pains or niggles anywhere from Sunday.

Wednesday 10.2.16

7.25 miles Steady@8.04min/miles in 58min 25secs

Again bit stiff starting off but loosened out quicker than the day before. Once I got into this I felt great, bounced along doing it and enjoyed it no end. Could have kept going but was sensible after Sunday.

Thursday 11.2.16

8 miles Easy@9.02min/mile in 72min 17secs

Tired doing this if I'm honest, one of my more least enjoyable runs this past while. It wasn't tiredness from lack of sleep just overall body tiredness. Sleeping best I have in 10 years I'd say this past while.

Friday 12.2.16

30 mins Recovery, just shade over 3 miles covered doing this. Body not as tired today and happy to keep the pace right down and take it handy.

Marshalling at the Donadea 50 tomorrow helping UM1 out, should bump into a few Boardsies there. 15 miles with 5 miles@ MP thrown in tomorrow, looking forward to it!!!

Saturday 13.2.16

6miles Easy@9.03min/miles in 54min 21secs

Spend the morning/early afternoon helping out at the Donadea 50k, some fantastic performances by the likes of Killerz, martyboy48, theboyblunder, BeepBeep67 to name a few. RacoonQueen was out getting her long run in making me feel ashamed as she glided by me for 6 laps in prep for Rotterdam. Met Firedance, FBOT01, MrsMc and FerrisB as I finished up. I thought my greeting was very apt AM as I normally see you in running gear and not day to day garb!!

Anyway I had hoped to get my long run done when I got home, the Mrs being called into work put the kibosh on that idea so got 6 easy done before she had to leave. Felt good as always, nothing to report.

Sunday 14.2.16

15miles@8.21min/miles in 2hr 5mins 19secs

This was broken up as follows:

3E, 3MP, 1E, 2MP, 1E, 1MP, 1E, 3E.

Target for MP is 7.30-7.45, the 6MP miles came in at an average of 7.31 and felt oh so comfortable. Took 3 gels on this one 10 mins before starting, 3 miles in and last at 9 miles with 300mls of water. Cold out had gloves and a hat on, had to shelve the gloves at 9 miles though as they were soaked with sweat at this stage and were freezing cold as a result from the weather. Tired a bit on last two miles but not overly concerned with it, the body is tired this week, it had zero got to do with fitness. Shade over 45 miles for the week.

Getting a rubdown on the legs tomorrow evening just to freshen them up, no niggles to report thank god. Off for four days Warm Altitude training next week with the family, Donegal here we come!! Will get my long run in mid-week, one thing I know for definite, it ain't going to be flat.

Super, you enjoyed it? Well done on the mp paces.

Eh I was in running gear yesterday too!!!!

Firedance wrote: »
    Super, you enjoyed it? Well done on the mp paces.

Eh I was in running gear yesterday too!!!!

You had track-ends and a jacket, I'm used to seeing you in something far more revealing!!!

You walked yourself into that!!

tang1 wrote: »
    You had track-ends and a jacket, I'm used to seeing you in something far more revealing!!!

You walked yourself into that!!

I dont have the energy to walk myself back out, just home from 20 miles :)