Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Monday 15.2.16

30 mins Recovery and just over 3 miles covered, legs showing no effects of previous days long run, a good sign I hope. An hour in the torture chamber that evening with the physio, he said the legs were in good nick which I was delighted to hear.

Tuesday 16.2.16

7.20miles Easy@9.03min/miles in 65min 07secs

Drove to Donegal in the afternoon in the lashing rain, praying as I drove that it would stop by time I reached Ballyshannon. No such fecking luck, unloaded the car and changed into my gear straight away before I had a chance to second guess the run.

Drove back into town and parked the car at the cinema, two and a half laps of Ballyshannon in the rain and wind, it never let up once while I was out. I could have twisted the water out of my runners if I was able, but my cheap Decathlon jacket kept me dry underneath, money well spent that.

Wednesday 17.2.16

16miles Easy@9.00min/mile in 2hr 24mins

There is no flat routes in Donegal!! Started out from in laws for this after a decent breakfast of 3 Weetabix, 2 slices of homemade brown bread, cup of tea & a banana. Chance to experiment with some gels again to and try the recently acquired gel belt. Took gel before I started and brought two more with me. Cool, crisp dry morning with a cold wind blowing, this would be into my face for the first half of this.

Off I went into Ballyshannon and down past Dorrian's hotel and the Rory Gallagher statue, those who know this area know that's a significant drop in a short distance and one I had to retrace on my way back. Over the Erne and out towards Bundoran on the old Derry Rd, I had just cleared town and was making my way up a drag towards Finner Army Barracks when I lady shot past me, she was motoring big time and left me for dust, I was running 9min miles at the time she was doing 6min miles I'd say easy. She was dressed like a beach volleyball player I $hit you not, knickers and a boobtube is best I can describe it!! Here I was in a baselayer, tshirt, gloves, woolly hat and shorts, she must have been freezing, might have been the reason she was running so fast!!

The route was up and down the whole way save for a mile the Sligo side of Bundoran towards Tullaghan where I turned around and retraced my steps, took a gel at 6 & 12 miles and think they helped, I can't be 100% sure really. Coming back into Ballyshannon I was feeling good, breeze at my back, sun shining. Turned left again in the centre of town and up past Rory Gallagher, I was expecting to die here and suffer but I glided up and back out the Rossnowlagh Rd for home. Put in a little sprint as I finished and felt good.

Happy with this as I was expecting the legs to tire and suffer the longer I went on with the undulating route but they stood up to the test and showed no signs of tiring at all. The gel belt went well to hardly knew I was wearing it. Another thing ironed out for Rotterdam.

Thursday 18.2.16

Rest, the wee Princesses birthday, what kind of Dad would I have been to go running today. Where did that year go?

Friday 19.2.16

7miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 63min 15secs

Back in the Royal County this evening, again car emptied gear on and out the door before I got lazy. Lovely run as the sun came down, legs felt good and so did I. Two ten milers left for the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

a person could go to town with the edit button on that post, but I'll be the mature one and leave it alone :D:D

welcome home

Firedance wrote: »
    a person could go to town with the edit button on that post, but I'll be the mature one and leave it alone :D:D

welcome home

Do your worst, doesn't bother me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭aero2k

welcome home

Ah will you leave the poor man alone, he probably didn't have a fancy conventional education like you. Besides, you can't expect good English this soon after a return from the NW - it's all Gaeilge up there.

Oh, and please use a capital letter to start your posts:P!

You were criticizing his English weren't you, I mean, what else could you have been referring to??

aero2k wrote: »
    Ah will you leave the poor man alone, he probably didn't have a fancy conventional education like you. Besides, you can't expect good English this soon after a return from the NW - it's all Gaeilge up there.

Oh, and please use a capital letter to start your posts:P!

Can't a girl defend herself? Did you see what he did to the post on my log? Dreadful carry on altogether :eek:. Oughtn't that be N.W.?

Defend the indefensible you mean?

Regarding his post, I plead the 5th.

And no, it oughtn't:D. (Though I do allow for the possibility that starting a sentence with "And" is considered seriously deviant in some circles)

You were criticizing his English weren't you, I mean, what else could you have been referring to??

No, no I was not, keep up Aero, keep up :D

Apologies for the log hijack Tang :pac:

It's quiet alright, I'm learning something!!

It's hard to keep up with fast women!

In my defence, I have been reading this log from the beginning, and long before I got to page 30 where I took a break, my mind was blown. I have dipped in many times but it's not the same as reading it in one long sitting. I had forgotten all about the Bisto!

There really is some amazing progress there, all related in typically entertaining form. Long may it continue.

It's hard to keep up with fast women!

In my defence, I have been reading this log from the beginning, and long before I got to page 30 where I took a break, my mind was blown. I have dipped in many times but it's not the same as reading it in one long sitting. I had forgotten all about the Bisto!

There really is some amazing progress there, all related in typically entertaining form. Long may it continue.

Cheers aero, really nice to hear that, hopefully the progress continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ah jaysus, a2k, don't remind us about the bisto!

Murph_D wrote: »

Sorry, I had only just managed to un-remember it when I stumbled onto it (not literally:)) last night.

Murph_D wrote: »

FFS, there goes my evening, am gonna have go back to the start, again, the bisto was obviously before my time :D

If it was anyone else, I'd say don't go there but since it's yourself..... ah sure you'd take no notice of my advice anyway:D.:D

So the less said about the bisto the better, someone really could have warned me.... oh wait :p

I'd started to read your log from the beginning a few times & gotten sidetracked, finally succeeded tonight. You really are brilliant B with all the ups and downs, the injury's, everything you've been through, but the whole way through there is this positivity and work ethic and a real desire to get back to where you were, and look where you are now!! It’s laugh out loud funny in parts, sad in places but always always, inspirational. There's a fair amount of messing goes on (that's half the fun) but for once I'll be completely serious. You're a good friend, an even better runner (not to mention top notch pacer!) and I can't wait to see you smash your target in Rotterdam. 50 days to go..

So the less said about the bisto the better, someone really could have warned me.... oh wait :p

I'd started to read your log from the beginning a few times & gotten sidetracked, finally succeeded tonight. You really are brilliant B with all the ups and downs, the injury's, everything you've been through, but the whole way through there is this positivity and work ethic and a real desire to get back to where you were, and look where you are now!! It’s laugh out loud funny in parts, sad in places but always always, inspirational. There's a fair amount of messing goes on (that's half the fun) but for once I'll be completely serious. You're a good friend, an even better runner (not to mention top notch pacer!) and I can't wait to see you smash your target in Rotterdam. 50 days to go..

Ah thanks AM, even in my darkest days this time last year I always tried see the positive and I use the same thought process with my running. I'll tell a story, I was challenged by my counsellor last Summer to broaden my horizons regards my meeting new people. I said where f am I going to meet new people and get away from the monotony of interacting with the same type of person everyday?

Eh Boards Barry you plep, so I started sending PM's to people who I felt I knew well to see if they fancied a running date. The Lemon was easy cause I knew he was a slapper, but it snowballed from there and I'm oh so glad I made that effort to meet new people cause without that the dark days would not have lifted I feel. Boards is a great place with GREAT people, I may spend a bit to much time on it sometimes but it takes me away from that bad place, a place I never hope to visit again.

Anyway some of us have work at 7am, apologies for the rambling. Thanks again for the kind words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I really agree with what FD says above about tangs log.

This log is a real good log, but Tangs strength is what he brings to others logs, the various comments and remarks that show a real interest in what that person is doing.
    I've been lucky to meet the man a few times and also his wife and one of his kids - a real gent and a very interested runner.

The best line I ever got from him was a remark that he seen me running one day in the PP while he was buried in a ditch doing recon work & I nearly ran over them :):)

Saturday 20.2.16

10miles Steady@8.02min/miles in 80min 20secs

This was tougher than it should have been, it's was blowing a gale out but don't think that was the reason, body felt a bit fatigued and I hadn't hydrated to well during the day in the lead up. Got it done which is the main thing. Year less till I reach Masters XC standard.

Sunday 21.2.16

Rest, was suppose to be 10miles with 6@MP but was working at 7 bells and got home by half 3 the missus was under the weather and running a temperature. Went and got her the Bisto out of the press, got it in the back of the head as I walked away!! 43 miles for the week, good long run in Donegal being the most important thing.

well would ya look at that, so it wasn't you in the sauna earlier :rolleyes: #housebound

43 miles is a solid week, hope the Mrs is feeling better soon

well would ya look at that, so it wasn't you in the sauna earlier :rolleyes: #housebound

43 miles is a solid week, hope the Mrs is feeling better soon

Cheers AM, should have been 53 but I won't dwell on one missed run at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I really agree with what FD says above about tangs log.

This log is a real good log, but Tangs strength is what he brings to others logs, the various comments and remarks that show a real interest in what that person is doing.
    I've been lucky to meet the man a few times and also his wife and one of his kids - a real gent and a very interested runner.

The best line I ever got from him was a remark that he seen me running one day in the PP while he was buried in a ditch doing recon work & I nearly ran over them :):)

recon work in a ditch in the PP, yeah right ;)

"show a real interest".... Is that a euphemism for nosey bollix :)

TbL

recon work in a ditch in the PP, yeah right ;)

"show a real interest".... Is that a euphemism for nosey bollix :)

TbL

Says the man who said he innocently got his car locked in the Papal Cross car park, me ar$e!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Is this a tinder log?

Speaking on behalf of the rest of the boards community, I have no idea what's going on here!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Is this a tinder log?

Speaking on behalf of the rest of the boards community, I have no idea what's going on here!

If you want to join in V, post up a photo :)

TbL

Is this a tinder log?

Tinder, what's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Just catching up here B... gliding up that hill in Ballyshannon after a long run, very impressive!

I don't want to know about the bisto.... I'm imagining the worst. :eek:

annapr wrote: »
    Just catching up here B... gliding up that hill in Ballyshannon after a long run, very impressive!

I don't want to know about the bisto.... I'm imagining the worst. :eek:

Ask D, he'll fill you in. Or he'll get sick on the spot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

If you want to join in V, post up a photo :)

TbL

I'm not joining in, but this was me post 5 mile race last week.

Not my best moment

I'm not joining in, but this was me post 5 mile race last week.

Not my best moment

Jazus, get a haircut and a wax man!

TbL

Monday 22.2.16

7miles Easy

Deleted this from the watch before I logged it here, muppet!! Anyway I do remember it wasn't a good run, for life of me I couldn't relax doing it and as a result the run was made much more uncomfortable than it should have been. Usual trash going through the head doing it "If I can't manage this pace how the feck will you manage MP come Rotterdam etc". Thoughts were soon dispelled and it was put down as one of those days.

Tuesday 23.2.16

10 miles

Again deleted this before logging it, muppet!! It was broken down as follows:

2E, 1MP, 1ST, 1MP, 1ST, 1MP, 1ST, 2E

As the song says "what a difference a day makes". I enjoyed every bit of this and bounced along doing it, the MP splits I do remember and they were as follows, 7.24, 7.22, 7.22, all a little bit quick going on current MP but they just felt so natural and with a few extra gears in the tank I felt if I needed it.

Wednesday 24.2.16

7miles Easy@9.02min/mile in 63min 14secs

Standard easy paced run, nothing really to note from it, everything working as it should and no tightness or niggles to report of.

Thursday 25.2.16

6miles Easy@9.02min/miles in 54min 10secs

Cold out this morning, as like yesterday nothing really to report, bit of tightness in the sole of my right foot but doesn't feel like PF, it disappeared after a few miles and never came back. Another boring enjoyable run.

Rest day tomorrow, away with the missus tomorrow night for an overnight in Tulfarris for Valentines(her)/Birthday(me) treat. Have the kids farmed out to Drizella & Anastasia for the night, it's ok there my sisters for those that understand.