Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yeah half of that is bullsh*t mate. You don't know what you're talking about.

Enlighten us so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Yeah half of that is bullsh*t mate. You don't know what you're talking about.

Can you point out what is bullsh*t about what I have written?

Brendan Behan once said ‘The first item on the agenda of any new Irish organisation was the split’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

tinpib wrote: »
    Does anyone have any more information on this supposed 'summit'?

What pub in Dublin 8 was it held in?
    No shortage of ropey boozers in D8....the pimlico maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Official IRA known as the Stickies remained active until 1972 when it declared a ceasefire. They rejected the hard line Catholic Nationalism of the Provisionals or "Provos" and adopted a Revolutionary Marxist ideology with its political wing calling itself Official Sinn Féin. ...........

This must be in the universe where Kirk is evil.
    The INLA broke away from the Official IRA in 1974 and fought for a supposed Marxist Revolution but were more interested in shooting each other and fighting the IRA than attacking the British. It eventually simply became a criminal organization involved in robbery and drug dealing before being wound up.

Either a very nice way of putting things or news from the evil universe again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just a bit of history to explain what we are dealing with here:
    Useful TL;DR posted on reddit yesterday:

http://i.imgur.com/NTIdgaO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

kfallon wrote: »
    What's it got to do with him? :confused:

Calm down, Mary Lou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Can you point out what is bullsh*t about what I have written?

Brendan Behan once said ‘The first item on the agenda of any new Irish organisation was the split’.

Righto.

The INLA never spent time "fighting the IRA". The two organisations weren't best buddies but they never engaged in a feud akin to the type that sometimes flared between the Officials and the Provisional IRA. Indeed, they sometimes collaborated (the INLA invented the mercury tilt switch which the Provos were mad to get) and also took part in a joint Hunger Strike where 10 men died. There were sometimes tensions involving prisoners etc but no fighting.

The Provos initially had some sketchy perspectives on some issues (which were never universally held or all that official in policy) but in general were progressive and certainly not Catholic or right wing jingoistic. The Catholic Church despised the IRA in the main, later on the Provos became a left-leaning national liberation movement which identified with the left across the world.

Ursula Shannon has nothing to do with the Contos, I know her personally and you lumping her in with the CIRA is ridiculous in the extreme.

The Real IRA as we knew them up until recently don't exist anymore.

Just a few inaccuracies there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

If the Gardai dont know the two guys in the photo why havent they released the photos ? And if they dont why havent thy released the photos in order to know their where abouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Gamebred wrote: »
    Pathetic from the leader of our country smearing Adams,its the default response to Sinn Fein by the government just wheel out the ira and sabotage any policy discussion SF are trying to debate,

He has to deflect attention away from some other embarrassing questions. Like where were the Gardai and was their absence anything to do with underfunding. The Justce minister and Commisioner have already circled the wagons. One saying it had nothing to do with resources and the other claiming they had no intelligence. All that was left was for Enda to create a controversy and muddy the waters. It's standard political tactics for them, if a little pathetic as you say. I doubt it will make any difference to voters either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭tinpib

No shortage of ropey boozers in D8....the pimlico maybe?

Ya, I know. Could be anywhere really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

If the Gardai dont know the two guys in the photo why havent they released the photos ? And if they dont why havent thy released the photos in order to know their where abouts

They probably don't want to risk prejudicing a jury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,945 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Augme wrote: »

No jury in the special criminal court which is where this lot will end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,655 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Call me Al wrote: »
    I thought so, but the very idea that a person would do this is just so outlandish that I was convinced I'd read it wrong or that the journalist had made a huge mistake.

Maybe he fears the consequences if he decides to leave them?

Gerry Hutch will be going to ground now. Its not now he will have to watch his back, it's in six months or a years time when all the fuss has died down, that revenge will likely be taken.

Anyway there is another book in this for Paul. It's an ill wind...

But they are not caught yet . Surely the present risk to the public trumps that at this stage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Maybe he fears the consequences if he decides to leave them?

Gerry Hutch will be going to ground now. Its not now he will have to watch his back, it's in six months or a years time when all the fuss has died down, that revenge will likely be taken.

Anyway there is another book in this for Paul. It's an ill wind...

He wasnt with them while the murders happened as far as I know,he was boxing out of freddie roachs gym previously which makes it all the more mind boggling,

Its funny that Hutch is getting the blame here and the van was burned out in Marino,didnt he allegedly rob a brinks van in marino.

No jury in the special criminal court which is where this lot will end up.

Good point. I wonder if prejudice can exist there.
    But is they are caught yet . Surely the present risk to the public trumps that at this stage

I'm not sure what present risk to the public there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I reckon it's got something to do with the half dozen people on the loose with automatic weapons who have fairly recently demonstrated their willingness to shoot people in crowded public places.

I'm not sure the risk of these lads doing the exact same thing again in the next few days is that likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,932 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Listened to liveline today, and it was often mentioned that the gardai haven't the resources to stop this happening.

As much as I'll lose little sleep over those who take part or die in these type of actions, apparently the gardai now have over 100 people working on the case.

So many who were working on other investigations for us lesser folk are now dragged off to investigate scumbags killing each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,644 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Righto.

The INLA never spent time "fighting the IRA". The two organisations weren't best buddies but they never engaged in a feud akin to the type that sometimes flared between the Officials and the Provisional IRA. Indeed, they sometimes collaborated (the INLA invented the mercury tilt switch which the Provos were mad to get) and also took part in a joint Hunger Strike where 10 men died. There were sometimes tensions involving prisoners etc but no fighting.

The Provos initially had some sketchy perspectives on some issues (which were never universally held or all that official in policy) but in general were progressive and certainly not Catholic or right wing jingoistic. The Catholic Church despised the IRA in the main, later on the Provos became a left-leaning national liberation movement which identified with the left across the world.

Ursula Shannon has nothing to do with the Contos, I know her personally and you lumping her in with the CIRA is ridiculous in the extreme.

The Real IRA as we knew them up until recently don't exist anymore.

Just a few inaccuracies there.
    I'm sorry but your wrong in saying the INLA never spent time fighting the IRA, they did feud with the Official IRA after they split from them sure the leader of the INLA was shot by the Official IRA.

Judges in the special criminal court are assumed to be above prejudice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

RE Why this might bother Adams.
    had to edit out url being a new user - indo piece

An affirmation to the world that us Irish are indeed stupid. Yes Enda, I'd say there's a high degree of probability those AK47's are similar to the 100 million (ish) other AK47's produced.

Jesus wept.

saltsun wrote: »
    had to edit out url being a new user - indo piece

An affirmation to the world that us Irish are indeed stupid. Yes Enda, I'd say there's a high degree of probability those AK47's are similar to the 100 million (ish) other AK47's produced.

Jesus wept.

Although i did mock the taoiseach earlier for the stupidity of the question the particular model of rifle used in the attack was imported in the hundreds by the IRA in the 1980's.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pistol_Mitralier%C4%83_model_1963/1965#Nonstate_users

Still doesnt stop it from being a stupid question by enda.

Maybe you didnt see the news but there was 5/6 men shooting in a hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭saltsun

Although i did mock the taoiseach earlier for the stupidity of the question the particular model of rifle used in the attack was imported in the hundreds by the IRA in the 1980's.

Still doesnt stop it from being a stupid question by enda.

Yeah am familiar with different variations, it was the absurdity of the question. I presume Enda will want to know whether the bullets used are indeed similar to bullets that can be fired from an AK47.

(Never have, and can't see myself ever voting SF for the record).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Judging by Ednas comments if you commit a crime with the said weapon you're suspected of being ira,mind boggling how hes running a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I'm sorry but your wrong in saying the INLA never spent time fighting the IRA, they did feud with the Official IRA after they split from them sure the leader of the INLA was shot by the Official IRA.

I'm aware of that and you're not wrong in what you say but by "IRA" I was referring to the Provos who are generally what we mean when using that term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

It's grand lads Brendan Dassey has already confessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,655 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Gamebred wrote: »
    He wasnt with them while the murders happened as far as I know,he was boxing out of freddie roachs gym previously which makes it all the more mind boggling,

Its funny that Hutch is getting the blame here and the van was burned out in Marino,didnt he allegedly rob a brinks van in marino.

Well he left the Wild Card gym supposedly because Roach was not giving him enough of his time.
    He had just signed with them(MGM) when his father was murdered, he cut links with them at the time, then went back to them again. So maybe he actually believes they are not responsible for his father's murder. Hutch was targeted in a bar in Spain a few months ago. It is most likely him or some of his murdered nephews former associates who ordered this. Given the year that's in it, the CIRA could be claiming it to try and be relevant somehow.