Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Yeah Im going along with the Hutch retaliation line,I dont believe the Ira claims at all whens the last time the cira done anything like this? the murdered victim has been driving around in his flash cars on his own for years and could've been hit any time,this hit was a crack at the kinahans who allegedly have casino resorts in their portfolios these are mega rich the price on contracts on peoples heads wont bother them can see it getting very messy and hutchs crew paying a price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭satguy

Enda says that the AK47's used were supplied by the IRA because they are similar to other AK47's that are made by the factory that makes AK47's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭josephryan1989

Gamebred wrote: »
    Yeah Im going along with the Hutch retaliation line,I dont believe the Ira claims at all whens the last time the cira done anything like this? the murdered victim has been driving around in his flash cars on his own for years and could've been hit any time,this hit was a crack at the kinahans who allegedly have casino resorts in their portfolios these are mega rich the price on contracts on peoples heads wont bother them can see it getting very messy and hutchs crew paying a price.

We can't have private armies going around shooting each other.

The Irish government have to come down hard on these scumbags and lock them all up.

There needs to be internment. They have intelligence on these guys and they can grab them all and throw them in a pen.

The human rights crowd can go and sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The Irish government have to come down hard on these scumbags and lock them all up.

There needs to be internment. They have intelligence on these guys and they can grab them all and throw them in a pen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

satguy wrote: »
    Enda says that the AK47's used were supplied by the IRA because they are similar to other AK47's that are made by the factory that makes AK47's...

That's why he earns the big money. Brains to burn. Hence the smell of wood on fire betimes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Nodin wrote: »
    That's why he earns the big money. Brains to burn. Hence the smell of wood on fire betimes.....

Mad stuff Ted, the CIRA split from SF in '86, and he wants Gerry to explain why this murder happened?. Anyone with a few brain cells can see that it was a revenge murder for the hutch mob. The CIRA thing is totally made up INMO, even the guards are baffled. The perpetrators were allowed leave. I reckon this claim is a government stunt over the special criminal court to further discredit SF. All the while the murderers are looking on and laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Obviously not enough intelligence to stop people in fancy dress armed to the teeth shooting up a hotel on a Friday afternoon while the press were snapping away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Funny that a few weeks ago everyone was up in arms because the gardai were accessing phone records, now when something happens people are up in arms as the gardai didn't have any intelligence that this was going to take place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,286 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Funny that a few weeks ago everyone was up in arms because the gardai were accessing phone records, now when something happens people are up in arms as the gardai didn't have any intelligence that this was going to take place

I guess it goes to show that having access to such things doesn't help to prevent incidents very much.

I think people are wondering why gardai took longer to arrive than ambulances and fire brigades more than anything else. Considering that even the media had predicted violence surrounding the event, you'd think gardai would have at least had a patrol in the vicinity.

Also it has emerged that a BBC journalist had to call gardai after spending over an hour hidden in an office, to see if it was safe to come out. Meaning that gardai didn't even sweep the building when they showed up.

Doesn't say a whole lot for them at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Jesus this John glynn fella manager of the hotel is loving the limelight, all over the radio now on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭satguy

Not CIRA,, No Way.. It was gang stuff, we know it, Gerry and SF know it, The Guards know it,,

But if the CIRA can make SF look bad just as we have a GE, why not make a call to the beep,, cheeky,
    And not one person is buying it ,, well maybe Enda,, but he's a bit thick, as we all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

tinpib wrote: »
    I'm getting to the stage where I don't believe anything I read/see from major news organisations, never mind tabloid stuff like this:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/kinahan-gang-plans-retaliation-after-regency-hotel-murder-at-war-summit-in-innercity-pub-34433277.html

But I'm addicted to this story.

Does anyone have any more information on this supposed 'summit'?

What pub in Dublin 8 was it held in?

The dean swift. Not the classiest of establishments.

satguy wrote: »
    Not CIRA,, No Way.. It was gang stuff, we know it, Gerry and SF know it, The Guards know it,,

But if the CIRA can make SF look bad just as we have a GE, why not make a call to the beep,, cheeky,
    And not one person is buying it ,, well maybe Enda,, but he's a bit thick, as we all know.

That's some Tin foil hat stuff.

You think they care about sf and a general election to try a stunt like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,483 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

CIRA claim makes no sense and would be very surprised if true. For one thing the Kinahans didn't kill Ryan, so it just doesn't add up they would seek revenge 4 years later on a gang that didn't even have anything to do with the in initial murder. Also Ryan wasn't even in the CIRA

Stranger things have happened I suppose though.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    That's some Tin foil hat stuff.

You think they care about sf and a general election to try a stunt like that?

Why don't we ask the elected Labour senator with links to the CIRA about it?

Edit: not elected, selected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

It just doesn't seem likely to be the CIRA, to me. We're supposed to believe that they let grudge fester for 4 years before retaliating for the murder of someone who wasn't even a member of their organisation? It sounds like a claim being made by someone who doesn't even understand the difference between the dissident groups in Ireland. A poor attempt to divert police attention away from the real culprits perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

has there been any sort of official confirmation that the assault rifles were used in the attack? so far, all I can recall are reports that handguns were discharged

Some serious shit going down right now in Fairview according to twitter

Wonder if it's related to this

Shots reported fired and the place is packed with ambulances and armed gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Apparently it was Eddie Hutch, the Monk's brother who was killed

https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=fairview&src=typd

Irish Examiner ‏@irishexaminer 3m3 minutes ago
    Breaking: fatal shooting in Ballybough this evening.. likely to be gangland related.. one fatality

The Bloodshed has started.

Why don't we ask the elected Labour senator with links to the CIRA about it?

Edit: not elected, selected

What links to the cira is this?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

From RTE News
    A man in his 50s has been shot in Dublin's north inner city this evening.

It is not yet known what his condition is.

Gardaí were alerted to the shooting, which happened at Poplar Row in Ballybough at 7.45pm.

They believe four men were involved, and they are thought to have fled the scene in a Volkswagen Golf.

Gardaí believe the shooting could be a reprisal for the attack at the Regency Hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

the lad from winning streak

masti123 wrote: »
    Apparently it was Eddie Hutch, the Monk's brother who was killed

Jaysus.. that won't end well for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Ed Hutch dead, **** has just got real

Weather or not he was involved in the hit on friday I dont know but if he wasnt I presume the mob is hitting back and familys are the target,wouldnt like to be a hutch right now the monks empire is about to fall apart.

He will just attack their families, It's all out war

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Benteke wrote: »
    Ed Hutch dead, **** has just got real

Where did you hear this?

I know people in the area

JustTheOne wrote: »
    What links to the cira is this?