Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Oh no, is she ok? She never mentioned it yesterday.

How are you doing today? You did well yesterday with your dose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Jan 31st

6 miles , 1 mile w/u 5 mile Race race chip time 37 mins

Raheny 5 Race, was looking forward to this race, but last couple weeks before with, week off running, hard drinking session
    last week end and Chesty Cough, cold during week, probably in hindsight not best prep. Was half thinking off pulling out during
    week, but missed last year and though if wake up Sunday feeling any way normal would go ahead and run.

So missed last year with injury, and didn't feel as bad as earlier in week decided to go for it, but even easy warm up and having
    bit of chat felt harder than should have been before race, but set watch for 7.10 pace and said see how I would go.

got over line at about 1 min on clock very congested start and never really got going, tried to get on pace on mile 1
    but was really struggling to hold effort, don't remember any real ups or downs, found myself struggling whole race, never got
    really comfortable, caught up with MRSG at end mile 2, looked to be struggling went off to fast, but found out she had bad fall
    prior to Race and was in good bit of pain and still managed PB, with little complaining afterwards, looking at splits after race
    not worst in world, and on reflection felt every mile from start to finish and managed to gind out so hopefully will help in
    future when going gets tough.

As usual support was great, and Race was really well run, apart from that start line which due to race popularity is always going
    to be problem, well done to all Raheny crew who pulled off great day as usual. Great to meet up with all Boardies after, great job
    on flapjacks Denis. well done on all who got Pb's or close enough.

splits
    7.22 (managed 50m sprint to finish)

aquinn wrote: »

She still really sore today, and I feel bad for complaining about Man Flu, but
    you know we do suffer more.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Kennyg71 wrote: »

of course you do :rolleyes: :D well done yesterday given you were on deaths door under the weather. Hope MrsKG recovers well, good on her for carrying on AND getting a PB, women are amazing :p

Again, man flu isn't a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Thought you looked unusually strained well after the race G. Look after yourself. As for Mrs KG..... pass on our congrats. The healing will be in the pb. Would never have guessed anything was amiss when talking to ye afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Well done to you and your good wife on both managing fine runs yesterday, fair mitigating circumstances in fairness but still job done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Didn't realise G had a fall hope she is okay. Well done on yesterday.

Firedance wrote: »
    of course you do :rolleyes: :D well done yesterday given you were on deaths door under the weather. Hope MrsKG recovers well, good on her for carrying on AND getting a PB, women are amazing :p

Thanks FD,and yes you all are☺

denis b wrote: »
    Thought you looked unusually strained well after the race G. Look after yourself. As for Mrs KG..... pass on our congrats. The healing will be in the pb. Would never have guessed anything was amiss when talking to ye afterwards.

Cheers Denis, will pass on to her,she only told me on way to car about fall,fairly
    Tender today.

diego_b wrote: »
    Well done to you and your good wife on both managing fine runs yesterday, fair mitigating circumstances in fairness but still job done!

Thanks D, and we'll done to your self and wife,hope drive back went OK, nice to meet u both again.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Didn't realise G had a fall hope she is okay. Well done on yesterday.

Feeling tender today, arm ,and back sore,she said had ringING in ears last night,
    So she set alarm so I could see if she was still alive in middle of the night and she
    Was, though might be bit concused, told her she was nuts not just heading home,
    What can u do :)

Feeling tender today, arm ,and back sore,she said had ringING in ears last night,
    So she set alarm so I could see if she was still alive in middle of the night and she

Ya gotta love Mrs KennyG ! Setting the alarm ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I hope you actually woke up to check on her?? Or did she have to do it herself? :p

Poor Gill, she did a great time and in pain too! Fair play to her, maybe adrenaline from the fall helped.

annapr wrote: »
    I hope you actually woke up to check on her?? Or did she have to do it herself? :p

Poor Gill, she did a great time and in pain too! Fair play to her, maybe adrenaline from the fall helped.

I did off couse, and even just put mirror under nose so not to disturb:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Classic!!!

Oh I'm laughing here :) she is going to kill you !!!!

Feb 2nd

5.84 miles 55 mins recovery 9.28 avg

early start about 6.20, weather lot better today, little cold , small bit of breeze, first 3 miles
    coughing and spluttering so was on way home and indented cutting short, started to feel better
    so took detour and had good end to Run. Doctor booked for morning as have been taking lot of
    Ventolin over last week or so, and have not really had to take for months, Lungs really feeling
    Runs at moment. Had intended doing recovery run yesterday but didn't feel like battling wind
    so took rest day instead.

Going to see new Physio Liam Hennesy , who was recommended by club to see can get hamstring
    to fully settle down. Will keep rest of week easy, before starting Meno Plan 17 weeks for Cork.

Oh yeah, found another perfect race that fits the schedule and lovely and local as St Anne's yet again.

Plan has a 10km race on May 22nd which fits - Summer 'St Annes Park' 10km Run.

Oh yeah, found another perfect race that fits the schedule and lovely and local as St Anne's yet again.

aquinn wrote: »

grand job, will have a look.

Feb 3rd

6 miles 56 mins 9.17 avg

nice out this morning, had good run after first mile or so, concentrating on keeping pace easy. was able to start little latter as had Apt. with Doctor this morning so no rush to work. extra half hour in bed appreciated this morning
    after youngest had nightmares and came visiting at 1.30 this morning.

have upper respiratory tract infection, doctor says has had lot of bodies in lately with same complaint, takes two weeks or
    there about to go, on 5 days of steroids and should be as good as new by next week, so ok to Run as long as easy, that is plan for week so all good. Have peak flow of normal couch warrior and not honed athlete that I am:p, so at least this running lark is having positive effect on Lungs.:)

feeling better about getting going next week now, I know training will be hard
    but didn't want it to turn into slog fest, and not Enjoyable, otherwise what is point. In better head space this morning and think that has more of positive
    effect than you realise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

In better head space this morning and think that has more of positive effect than you realise.

have just posted something similar on TGFR's log, it really is important isn't it? not always easy to control though. Mind yourself this week, hope you're back on par very soon.

Firedance wrote: »
    have just posted something similar on TGFR's log, it really is important isn't it? not always easy to control though. Mind yourself this week, hope you're back on par very soon.

Just reading something on it last night, which reminded me, 50% Mental,50% Physical, if your not in good head space, Brain can work against you, amazing when you send it right signals how it can work with you.:)

5th Feb

8.89 miles 89 mins. 9.0 avg

Nice early start, lovely morning, nice and calm for most part, still
    Plenty of coughing & spluttering, but effort felt easy. Longest run in
    Couple of weeks and felt pretty good considering still not on full par.

Was meant to run yesterday, alarm set as usual don't know why but
    Didn't wake me up, got extra hour instead and felt all better, obviously
    Needed rest more than the run.

Went to physio, full mot and surprised to find weaker on right, due to
    Weakness on right side of back, left much stronger, as evidenced by
    Some resistance excerises he preformed. Have been cursing my weak
    Left side and turns out it is shouldering more of work, due to lazy right
    Side. Knot like a speed bump in left hammy well worked, so hopefully will
    Improve, exactly where I had been feeling it. Worked on left IT band
    Which had not noticed how tight had become, but generally in good
    Knick, he was surprised how much stretch in calf, so HM stretches doing
    Good and he highly recommend keeping up, need small improvement
    In technique, was not relaxing enough between sets.

So some things to work on, physio reckons if work on back, all else including
    Achilies should start to see benefit over time.

5th Feb

8.89 miles 89 mins. 9.0 avg

Nice early start, lovely morning, nice and calm for most part, still
    Plenty of coughing & spluttering, but effort felt easy. Longest run in
    Couple of weeks and felt pretty good considering still not on full par.

Was meant to run yesterday, alarm set as usual don't know why but
    Didn't wake me up, got extra hour instead and felt all better, obviously
    Needed rest more than the run.

Went to physio, full mot and surprised to find weaker on right, due to
    Weakness on right side of back, left much stronger, as evidenced by
    Some resistance excerises he preformed. Have been cursing my weak
    Left side and turns out it is shouldering more of work, due to lazy right
    Side. Knot like a speed bump in left hammy well worked, so hopefully will
    Improve, exactly where I had been feeling it. Worked on left IT band
    Which had not noticed how tight had become, but generally in good
    Knick, he was surprised how much stretch in calf, so HM stretches doing
    Good and he highly recommend keeping up, need small improvement
    In technique, was not relaxing enough between sets.

So some things to work on, physio reckons if work on back, all else including
    Achilies should start to see benefit over time.

Nice long run before the stag weekend G hope you're packing the running gear and we will get some tourist running reports. Enjoy :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Nice long run before the stag weekend G hope you're packing the running gear and we will get some tourist running reports. Enjoy :)

I'd only get lost,plan to run from Airport home tomorrow, brought shorts and new runners, should round off week nicely, but that could all change, depending
    How tonight goes:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

I'd only get lost,plan to run from Airport home tomorrow, brought shorts and new runners, should round off week nicely, but that could all change, depending
    How tonight goes:eek:

Get the last person into the taxi at the airport to at least point you in the right direction towards home before you run off into the sunset :D