Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Nice 10K pace there, G. Show that you KennyG Jr and he might feel the need to get his finger out as he could be in for a roasting over the summer ;)

Not to sure that's my 10k pace, but lungs not holding me back this week, had began to dread fast sessions, good to start to be feeling more normal again:)

Feb 18 Feb

6 miles 10.02 avg. 1 hr

Nice run this evening, in company of MRSMc, little cold to start but warmed up nicely as run progressed, the weather that is for clarification, six miles flew in with chat all the way. Youngest up all night running temp, so when alarm went off this morning only having got about 3 hrs sleep said would kick out till this evening, much nicer doing these in company so worked out well, MRSMc made sure full hr & six miles done, I'm sure my runs are full off not quite round miles
    But MRSMc insisted had to run around block at end of run to be exact:)

MrsG was left with our our loopy daughter, I'm sure she would have rather went for a run, but managed to convince I really can't be missing runs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Feb 18 Feb

6 miles 10.02 avg. 1 hr

Nice run this evening, in company of MRSMc, little cold to start but warmed up nicely as run progressed, the weather that is for clarification, six miles flew in with chat all the way. Youngest up all night running temp, so when alarm went off this morning only having got about 3 hrs sleep said would kick out till this evening, much nicer doing these in company so worked out well, MRSMc made sure full hr & six miles done, I'm sure my runs are full off not quite round miles
    But MRSMc insisted had to run around block at end of run to be exact:)

MrsG was left with our our loopy daughter, I'm sure she would have rather went for a run, but managed to convince I really can't be missing runs :D

Round numbers G I've been known to run past the gate just to get the round number none of this 5.97 miles rubbish !!! Thanks for the company hope Jnr on the mend soon.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Round numbers G I've been known to run past the gate just to get the round number none of this 5.97 miles rubbish !!! Thanks for the company hope Jnr on the mend soon.

Had quick look back and lot of odd number miles. No OCD here:D

Weirdo :)

20 Feb

5 miles

2 k warm up with few dynamics, 5k park run, 1 k c:d

Have been struggling on speedier running over last few weeks, but this week was first week felt half normal, and encouraged by hitting 6.31 mile on Wednesday
    Progression run, decided to go off plan and try a parkrun to assess where I am fitness wise, more just get brain used to running fast.

So set up watch for 7 min miles not to put to much pressure on, settle into run and was just behind some 20 min 5 k runners from club, so ease back a bit and
    All feeling good, watch beeped in for 6.35 first mile so way to fast, caught by FBOT just as top of avenue surprised to find me there running so comfortable, I told him had quick first mile and was feeling comfortable, got to long stretch leading to tennis court and hit wind, FBOT pulled ahead, tought for all of 2 seconds about following, but took foot off gas and watch beeped on pace so 7 min pace so not to worried. There was female runner ahead running at comfortable pace so settle in second mile 6.48 , was running comfortably from tennis courts up to Gaelic pitches on 7 min pace, but decided to push a little harder, other runner pushed on too, got to 4 k marker and thought if I push on may be still
    able to go under 21 mins, watch beeps for 6.46 mile and find extra kick in last
    200m or so to finish 20.57, a second behind PB, but more comfortable run, not
    Feeling I had left it all out there, so progress. And feeling better about taking on
    Few faster sessions to come on program.

After run coffee and scone, with FBOT and Toulouse, Ferris, MRSG and all crew that make park run work, had to run to GAA match with kids, pure torture cold wet and hammered. But there is always next week :)

Great run G all the training is standing to you another pb soon but as they say round here keep the main thing the main thing :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Great run G all the training is standing to you another pb soon but as they say round here keep the main thing the main thing :)

Defiantly will, just a mental thing really, first 5k since smackdown, so out of the way now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Well done GK! Wasn't a fluke the last time so ;).

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Well done GK! Wasn't a fluke the last time so ;).

Doesn't look like it now, much more comfortable run than last time and no
    Pressure imagined or otherwise, another 2 months and try again ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

well done G!! that's fantastic! it'll be sub 20 in the not to distant future :)

I'll refrain from commenting on the fact that you went 'off plan' but trust me, I'm scowling :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Great run today, G. Having run with you on both your sub 21 parkruns I can certainly vouch for the fact that you looked and sounded much more comfortable today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Nice one today G. Those Cork folk will be well impressed with you come June.

Firedance wrote: »
    well done G!! that's fantastic! it'll be sub 20 in the not to distant future :)

I'll refrain from commenting on the fact that you went 'off plan' but trust me, I'm scowling :D:D:D

Thanks AM, think I'm ok this early on, after Marathon all going well, will see
    Can I crack on.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Great run today, G. Having run with you on both your sub 21 parkruns I can certainly vouch for the fact that you looked and sounded much more comfortable today :)

Cheers M, defiantly felt easier,so good way to finish.

Ferris B wrote: »
    Nice one today G. Those Cork folk will be well impressed with you come June.

Raheny had winner last year, so really won't be to impressed with an also ran :P

Feb 21

14 miles 8.50 avg 2.03.36 hrs

Went out with MrsG for first 4.5 miles of this one, meant to do 7 or so with her, was happy to keep early part of run slow enough, but after club session yesterday she was feeling in legs, we ran from clarehall up into Raheny looped around back of Raheny club house and back towards killbarack fire station, we parted company just at bottom of hill in Raheny. Headed back towards fire station turned up to smurfits, up Springdale road, to bottom harmonstown, up trough clontarf into fairview and looped around back up Malahide rd to Clarehall, plenty of long drags and wind this morning, but felt strongest I have in Month or so. Little on fast side this morning, but felt comfortable and controlled, could have ran longer, even spent last half mile running around green in estate to make sure I had a round number, now that was pure mental torture.:)

Got shout out from DenisB running down Malahide Rd also out for Sunday morning run looking nice and relaxed.

I'm sure plenty off tough runs ahead, but I'll take good ones when they come.

Splits

Mileage 39.25 for week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Em you forgot the friendly 4 beeps you got from me! Saw you again as I turned on to my road on way home.

Fair play to you clocking up miles in that weather this morning.

Killerz wrote: »
    Em you forgot the friendly 4 beeps you got from me! Saw you again as I turned on to my road on way home.

Fair play to you clocking up miles in that weather this morning.

Said to Gill reckoned was your car, wasn't fully sure, glimmers aren't great for distance.

Great splits G good session

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Fair play G. For such a poor day you moved at a nice pace there. Bit of a slog back up outta town I would imagine.

denis b wrote: »
    Fair play G. For such a poor day you moved at a nice pace there. Bit of a slog back up outta town I would imagine.

Long drag, good work out, but at least had left wind behind for uphill. Surprised
    Today, never felt like stopping, was waiting for it, but felt comfortable right through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done on parkrun yesterday G, great progress. And no bother to you today either, that's a long drag up from Fairview to Clare Hall!

annapr wrote: »
    Well done on parkrun yesterday G, great progress. And no bother to you today either, that's a long drag up from Fairview to Clare Hall!

Thanks Anna, how are you, all fully recovered.

Yeah grand G, just lazy and not logging!

Good to hear in good shape, it's hard to get motivated in this weather, are you still thinking off doing Half in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Very good weekend for you, G. The speed work is really paying off.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Very good weekend for you, G. The speed work is really paying off.

Haven't done any real speed work in 3-4 weeks, apart from couple of progression runs on the memo plan, but think defiantly has helped with
    The running at pace above 5K pace and feeling in control. All going well
    In Cork, will hopefully get back to it and do few races 5k - half Marathon
    Over summer.

Good to hear in good shape, it's hard to get motivated in this weather, are you still thinking off doing Half in Cork.

Yes very tempted to do it!

Good stuff, plenty of time:)