Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    I'd only get lost,plan to run from Airport home tomorrow, brought shorts and new runners, should round off week nicely, but that could all change, depending
    How tonight goes:eek:

Now that's dedication !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

7th Feb

5 miles 8.38 avg

On stag weekend in Liverpool Friday and Saturday, heavy long day on Friday,only in about 2.30am, awake like clock work 7.30 Saturday, park run internal alarm
    Not that I could have run, went to match and later start on Saturday and avoided
    All shorts. So had runnin gear and did 5 miles from Airport, regretting slightly as headed into wind and rain out of airport and up swords road, was heading to in m in law in santry, and ran up by DCU and up to badlymun road, to get 5 in.

Considering week end after first mile or so was glad got done, and good test of
    Commitment for start to next week.

7th Feb

5 miles 8.38 avg

On stag weekend in Liverpool Friday and Saturday, heavy long day on Friday,only in about 2.30am, awake like clock work 7.30 Saturday, park run internal alarm
    Not that I could have run, went to match and later start on Saturday and avoided
    All shorts. So had runnin gear and did 5 miles from Airport, regretting slightly as headed into wind and rain out of airport and up swords road, was heading to in m in law in santry, and ran up by DCU and up to ballymun road, to get 5 in.

Considering week end after first mile or so was glad got done, and good test of
    Commitment for start to next week.

Now that's commitment G was not a nice thing to be facing into after a stag weekend conditions were not nice out there yesterday. Fair play :)

Feb 9th

6.92 miles Avg 9.04 1.02 hrs

First day off 17 week plan for Cork, plan has one key session on Wednesday
    And long run with some veriation on paces over 17 weeks, rest of week can
    Make up mileage as and when you can fit in all easy miles.

Really cold this morning, but well wrapped up, really cold breeze on few sections
    Did not have route in mind this morning so switched brain off and set off nice and
    easy, hadn't really intended running quite so far, but guess that's what happens
    When you don't give it much thought, still tired this morning, but looking at splits
    Came in pretty even, not huge variation only 5-10 sec between them, and was fairly up and down route, from clarehall up donaghamede and into raheny village to Sybil hill, back across through harmonstown, up Springdale rd to smurfits then
    Up to killbarack fire station and back through donaghamede and home.

Lungs still not fully back on par, so have 6-8 x 800 m at 3.30 pace with 3min
    Jog recovery between for tomorrow, normally I would think not to bad, but think
    May struggle a bit, so plan to keep fairly close to home.

Feb 9th

6.92 miles Avg 9.04 1.02 hrs

First day off 17 week plan for Cork, plan has one key session on Wednesday
    And long run with some veriation on paces over 17 weeks, rest of week can
    Make up mileage as and when you can fit in all easy miles.

Really cold this morning, but well wrapped up, really cold breeze on few sections
    Did not have route in mind this morning so switched brain off and set off nice and
    easy, hadn't really intended running quite so far, but guess that's what happens
    When you don't give it much thought, still tired this morning, but looking at splits
    Came in pretty even, not huge variation only 5-10 sec between them, and was fairly up and down route, from clarehall up donaghamede and into raheny village to Sybil hill, back across through harmonstown, up Springdale rd to smurfits then
    Up to killbarack fire station and back through donaghamede and home.

Lungs still not fully back on par, so have 6-8 x 800 m at 3.30 pace with 3min
    Jog recovery between for tomorrow, normally I would think not to bad, but think
    May struggle a bit, so plan to keep fairly close to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

What session are you looking at for Wed? If it's the 800's it's been replaced as too harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

aquinn wrote: »
    What session are you looking at for Wed? If it's the 800's it's been replaced as too harsh.

+ 1 to this, you can scrap that session G, I just did next weeks progression run two weeks in a row as a replacement.

Grand will just do progression so, TBH if was 100% would have looked forward to it.:), but next weeks looks more doable
    at moment.

Grand will just do progression so, TBH if was 100% would have looked forward to it.:), but next weeks looks more doable
    at moment.

Feb 10

7.68 miles. 1.06 hrs. 8.42 avg

This morning run was 2 mile w/u 8 mins steady, 8 mins mp, 8 mins HMP
    8 mins 10k pace and c/d

Another cold morning but wind not as chilly as yesterday, not great judge of
    Pace, so set watch to 8 min pace to give me a mid point. Early to bed last
    Night do well rested, but still tired waking up. On HMP section was finding
    Pace hard enough as cold air hit lungs, slippy under foot in places paths icy
    This morning, was telling myself would pack in after HMP section, but hit nice
    Flat section and bit of down hill for 10k section so pushed on with help of
    Gravity for last 8 mins, run done, hopefully next week will be bit easier.
    Nice easy 5 mile recovery on cards for tomorrow.

Splits
    7.07 0.68 milesp

Feb 10

7.68 miles. 1.06 hrs. 8.42 avg

This morning run was 2 mile w/u 8 mins steady, 8 mins mp, 8 mins HMP
    8 mins 10k pace and c/d

Another cold morning but wind not as chilly as yesterday, not great judge of
    Pace, so set watch to 8 min pace to give me a mid point. Early to bed last
    Night do well rested, but still tired waking up. On HMP section was finding
    Pace hard enough as cold air hit lungs, slippy under foot in places paths icy
    This morning, was telling myself would pack in after HMP section, but hit nice
    Flat section and bit of down hill for 10k section so pushed on with help of
    Gravity for last 8 mins, run done, hopefully next week will be bit easier.
    Nice easy 5 mile recovery on cards for tomorrow.

Splits
    7.07 0.68 milesp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice start, G, best of luck with the plan, it's a good one.

Hadn't realised you'd made up your mind about Cork. That's a good one too - I'm half thinking of going down and doing the HM, or maybe even a leg or two of the relay.

Murph_D wrote: »

Hadn't realised you'd made up your mind about Cork. That's a good one too - I'm half thinking of going down and doing the HM, or maybe even a leg or two of the relay.

Thanks D, not registered yet, but room booked, will register shortly. Hopefully I will have same success as you with plan or near enough:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Thanks D, not registered yet, but room booked, will register shortly. Hopefully I will have same success as you with plan or near enough:)

I have to say, its a super super plan, I'm really enjoying it, hopefully that equals success!! best of luck with it G :)

Firedance wrote: »
    I have to say, its a super super plan, I'm really enjoying it, hopefully that equals success!! best of luck with it G :)

Good to hear and judging by your last race, looks like it's working, Along with
    All your hard work of course.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Murph_D wrote: »

Maybe we should put a "Boston" team in for the relay, D :pac:

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Maybe we should put a "Boston" team in for the relay, D :pac:

Don't think you would enjoy relay, stop before its done!

11 Feb

4.9 miles recovery run. 9.59 avg 48.50 mins

Frosty again this morning but really still, not bit of breeze. Nice easy recovery
    Run. Can't wait for some warmer weather again. May help get rid of cough, really
    Irritating.

11 Feb

4.9 miles recovery run. 9.59 avg 48.50 mins

Frosty again this morning but really still, not bit of breeze. Nice easy recovery
    Run. Can't wait for some warmer weather again. May help get rid of cough, really
    Irritating.

Feb 13

4.3 miles 36.18 mins 8.25 avg

Out with dog for few miles, even with his little legs he only needs to fast walk to keep up. Still lots of coughing, more tiring than anything else, eldest had it for
    About 3 weeks, so hopefully nearing end.

13 miles for tomorrow, plan to keep on lower end of easy pace.

Splits

0.31. 2.38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Good stuff Kenny, gonna follow your example and go do something. Good luck tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Fair play G. Look after yourself ticking over those miles.

14 Feb

13.36 miles avg 8.52. 1.58 hrs

Ran from house up st Anne's to get few miles in on grass, been doing all runs on paths lately so thought I'd take bit easier on joints. Woke just before 8am and hail was belting off Windows, so really was not looking forward to run already.
    MrsG decided she would keep me company for 7 miles or so, so she drove to park
    Where she had arranged to meet up with two others, I started into park but others reckoned was to wet, so we parted company, while company Is nice, think
    Could have ended way to slow, so was kind of glad, as really need to be getting
    These runs in right range, apart from few couple of hardy GAA teams and few dog
    Walkers not lot going on in park this morning. Fairly muddy along some of pitches
    But nice going through trees, may be easier on joints, but legs feel extra effort in
    Grass. 5 miles on path and 8 miles on grass. Home finished and warm before MrsG so glad to have got off on my own. Longest run since last year training for DCM, out with just glass water, so all in all not to bad.

Splits

0.35 3.29

Week total 37.16 miles

Well done G nice splits was right decision to go it alone no way our Sunday crew would have kept those paces.

16 Feb

6.24 miles avg 9.16. 57.48 mins

Nice morning this morning not as cold as it has been, kept pace nice and handy,
    Reminded yesterday reading post to keep easy days easy. Still not 100%, but
    Better than last week. Forgot how tiring all this extra mileage is, big step up
    Last week in Mileage so guess bound to feel tireder till come accustomed to new
    Cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Don't forget plenty of sleep G. Hugely beneficial, particularly as the mileage starts to build.

Ferris B wrote: »
    Don't forget plenty of sleep G. Hugely beneficial, particularly as the mileage starts to build.

Hard to get to bed early, when u live with night owl, but will definitely have to
    Start getting few early nights.

17 Feb

8.04 miles 8.41 avg 1.09.44 mins
    Session 2 mile w/u 8mins steady, MP, HMP, last 8 mins hard about 10k pace

Up just before 6, ready quick glass of water and tea spoon of Manuka honey
    To help with cough, was recommended by some one to take this, got on Sunday
    And tea spoon in morning and evening and seem to be feeling benifit, coughing
    Still here but not as bad, was definitely feeling better about this run, than last week
    So good sign, messed up steady part, as beeped in for MP pace twice and backed
    Off to much. But got surprise when mile marker beeped in for hard effort, definitely not 10k pace, but felt comfortably hard, but brain kicked in and backed off last minute off 8, but rekon could have held, but there was decline for last quarter mile same finish as last week but felt much handier this week, considering
    Hit road crossing in middle and had to slow to let cars pass, feeling bit more positive after this run.:)

Splits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

17 Feb

8.04 miles 8.41 avg 1.09.44 mins
    Session 2 mile w/u 8mins steady, MP, HMP, last 8 mins hard about 10k pace

Up just before 6, ready quick glass of water and tea spoon of Manuka honey
    To help with cough, was recommended by some one to take this, got on Sunday
    And tea spoon in morning and evening and seem to be feeling benifit, coughing
    Still here but not as bad, was definitely feeling better about this run, than last week
    So good sign, messed up steady part, as beeped in for MP pace twice and backed
    Off to much. But got surprise when mile marker beeped in for hard effort, definitely not 10k pace, but felt comfortably hard, but brain kicked in and backed off last minute off 8, but rekon could have held, but there was decline for last quarter mile same finish as last week but felt much handier this week, considering
    Hit road crossing in middle and had to slow to let cars pass, feeling bit more positive after this run.:)

Splits

Nice 10K pace there, G. Show that you KennyG Jr and he might feel the need to get his finger out as he could be in for a roasting over the summer ;)