Gardai are hunting for two gangs behind separate brutal sex assaults on young girls

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Nodin wrote: »
    Given the numbers now living in tallaght, a series of assaults by two unrelated groups like this might be unusual or rare, but I doubt if its the first time its happened. It would seem that the Gardaí have, however, found one group at least.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-quiz-boys-as-young-as-14-over-horrific-daylight-rape-of-teenage-girl-34409086.html

The courts determine that. Not Boards. Not the Indo. Not Nodin.

Whatever way this appalling case develops or these appalling cases, it's intolerable for any decent society to have the perpetrators free in its midst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

for fcuks sake can't this this thread just be about what it's about? What is with the pre emptive shutting down attempts and insinuations? There is no indication that the scumbags who did this weren't Irish as far as I can see. I feel sorry for the victims, I don't think I could say the same for a lot of posters on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    for fcuks sake can't this this thread just be about what it's about? What is with the pre emptive shutting down attempts and insinuations? There is no indication that the scumbags who did this weren't Irish as far as I can see. I feel sorry for the victims, I don't think I could say the same for a lot of posters on here
    This is my first post in the thread and I am not trying to shut down discussions or whatever. I do feel sorry for the victims, as I did when I saw the first report in the local paper the other day (I live close to Tallaght) and I do think whoever is responsible are scum and deserve whatever legal punishments can be handed out to them.

The problem is that these incidents are being used, primarily on Facebook from what I have seen, as material for immigrant/refugee/Muslim bashing, along with the reporting being presented as 'evidence' of conspiracies about cover-ups so as not to 'offend' said people. The comments already made about the OP would suggest that their motives behind starting this thread are not simply to inform people that these events took place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

In some cultures, women walking without male chaperones are essentially asking to be assaulted. This is what we're now seeing in the developed world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

He doesn't have to, because he started two other threads in the same vein.

You might think it is, but it isn't your duty to police crime thought.

Also since the op never mentioned the race of the alleged rapists, the assumption he is being racist is an assumption about the race of th perpetrators made in your sub- conscious mind.

You protesth too much me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

This is my first post in the thread and I am not trying to shut down discussions or whatever. I do feel sorry for the victims, as I did when I saw the first report in the local paper the other day (I live close to Tallaght) and I do think whoever is responsible are scum and deserve whatever legal punishments can be handed out to them.

The problem is that these incidents are being used, primarily on Facebook from what I have seen, as material for immigrant/refugee/Muslim bashing, along with the reporting being presented as 'evidence' of conspiracies about cover-ups so as not to 'offend' said people. The comments already made about the OP would suggest that their motives behind starting this thread are not simply to inform people that these events took place.

But who said anything about the race of the alleged gangs? Nobody that's who. The most rational thing to believe is that they are Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

But who said anything about the race of the alleged gangs? Nobody that's who. The most rational thing to believe is that they are Irish.
    The people I've seen posting stuff who are saying they're not Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

In some cultures, women walking without male chaperones are essentially asking to be assaulted. This is what we're now seeing in the developed world.

Here is one example.

How many cultures are you familiar with???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Mother of god, the comments in that link. I don't know why I read them, it must be an illness.

Very depressing to hear about those poor girls. I hope they recover from the ordeal.

Mother of god, the comments in that link. I don't know why I read them, it must be an illness.

Very depressing to hear about those poor girls. I hope they recover from the ordeal.
    Yeah such a horrible experience it makes my blood boil thinking of people trying to hijack someone else's suffering. But since we don't know a lot about these cases, in an earlier post I linked to a report from CARI where they recorded 41 cases of sexual assault involving multiple people in 2012, and 351 cases overall! I never would have imagined numbers like that tbh, and considering that is just what was reported it goes to show that there are still a lot of vulnerable people in society and despite all the pontificating done on the Church and older generations for what they let happen, in the future we will probably be judged just as harshly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You might think it is, but it isn't your duty to police crime thought.

Also since the op never mentioned the race of the alleged rapists, the assumption he is being racist is an assumption about the race of th perpetrators made in your sub- conscious mind.

You protesth too much me thinks.

Sorry, I'd no idea I had no right to comment m'lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Getting back on topic.

I don't know what's more depressing, events like this happening or the joke sentences that the perpetrators, if ever caught, are going to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Victor wrote: »

Ah yes, a 13 year old girl can magically consent to sex with a 19yr old without it being rape.:rolleyes: Ignoring the fact that we call that rape in every other circumstance.

If I were a parent, I'd be reporting that as rape as well. We shouldn't downplay rape to pacify neo-nazis. We're politicizing rape.
    It's not about being PC, but rather the OP has posted almost exclusively on immigrant threads and issues, and most people recognise by now that there is nothing 'presumed' about the implication in the OP

Well I'm not personally familiar with the OP, I generally don't read peoples usernames. I find it best to go into each thread with a clean slate --instead ye've all derailed this thread by bringing immigrant issues into this -- your doing the work for the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Lol at someone commenting "rape was unheard of in the 60s in Ireland". Yeah, "unheard of" being the key phrase there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

They were "eastern European" apparently. This is from todays Sunday world:
    http://m.imgur.com/2b3dacC
    From /u/razz_al_ghul on reddit
    Will disappoint a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Cienciano wrote: »
    Will disappoint a lot

You will have people on here exploding with rage at this news, I'm sure. But it's not like they flew in from Krakow for the day. They live in the area. Their race or nationality doesn't matter. It doesn't make the crime any better or worse.

What will happen when the Guards find them though? What is the likely process for this sort of thing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭BigJackC

Will disappoint a lot

What does "East European of origin" mean? The Sunday World is an atrocious paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

So that one was at 6PM. Makes more sense why nobody saw it or saw enough to intervene/give statements. It's pitch black from 5-5:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

BigJackC wrote: »
    What does "East European of origin" mean?
    Answer 1: Nothing - just your typo.
    Answer 2: White, speaking a language that does not sound like English, French, Spanish, or Italian; distinguished from Asians, Arabs, or Africans by skin tone.
    The Sunday World is an atrocious paper.
    Yes, but not for that particular piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Why would the media refuse to describe them if they had a description?

Yeah, I mean - WHY ???

So it seems that some locals have got together and have started patrolling the area.
    The Padraig Pearse Society Clondalkin/Tallaght have commenced, since Tuesday evening, community patrols in the Springfield area of Tallaght, in response to an alarming increase in sexual assaults locally.

Recent weeks have seen a worrying increase in sexual assaults on females and with An Gardaí lacking a distinctive presence in the area a community response is needed. With that in mind we have initiated nightly community patrols, meeting at the local Centra from 7.30pm.

We will be there again this evening at 7.30pm and all support is welcome. We need to demonstrate a visible presence to deter the person, or persons, involved in these sick attacks.

http://1916societies.com/2016/02/04/community-patrols-tallaght/

There's been another spate of sexual assaults reported. This time in Shankill.
    GARDAÍ HAVE APPEALED for information following reports of several sexual assaults in a Co Dublin suburb since December 2015.

The alleged attacks all happened between 4.30pm and 10pm in the Shankill area.

In each case, gardaí say, a woman was targeted by a lone man.

The appeal comes after a woman was assaulted near the Shankill Dart station at around 8.30pm on Tuesday night.

It is understood the victim was followed as she walked home.

Gardaí in Shankill have undertaken house-to-house enquiries and set up an incident room to investigate the claims.

Dozens of locals protested at Shankill Garda Station last night to demand action over the incidents.

A garda representative is due to attend a public meeting at a local community centre tonight to discuss steps being taken to protect women in the area.

“If the officer does not show up, we will hold a short meeting and march to the station once more for answers,” community group Communities United said.

http://www.thejournal.ie/sezual-assault-shankhill-2597948-Feb2016/

After a diversion into race and immigration issues, this thread seems to have settled into a "list of sexual assaults in Dublin".

Which is, I guess, as valid a topic as the next.

After a diversion into race and immigration issues, this thread seems to have settled into a "list of sexual assaults in Dublin".

Which is, I guess, as valid a topic as the next.

What's your problem? Might help jog somebodies memory and give others a heads up. This thread has been trolled to bits.
    At least three women of varying ages have reported being assaulted near Shankill Dart Station.

Inspector James Murphy told those at the meeting that officers are following “over 70 lines of inquiry”.

The first incident, on December 2, took place close to Shankill Dart Station.

The second occurred on January 3, near the entrance of the Holly Park housing estate.

Two further assaults were reported on February 9 and 10, on Quinn’s Road and Military Road near Killiney.

Meanwhile, two suspicious approaches in the area were also reported on January 20 and February 7.

Inspector Murphy said Shankill Garda Station now has a full-time incident room to deal with the attacks, and that garda patrols have been put in place close to the Dart station.
    Local man Beppie O’Halloran (18) was yesterday among the protesters and claimed he had witnessed a worrying attack on a young woman about two weeks ago.

“We [he and his friends] were running for the Dart and this man was standing beside this girl and he said something to her like ‘look at the kids running’ and then we saw him grab her and try to pull her into the woods,” he told the Herald.

“She got away and ran off.”

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/hunt-for-serial-sex-predator-following-four-attacks-in-south-dublin-34446503.html

Pretty fecking worrying and this chap needs to be apprehended before he attacks again.