Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai are hunting for two gangs behind separate brutal sex assaults on young girls

• 30-01-2016 10:33am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭

The two incidents happened within an hour of each other in the Springfield area of Tallaght on Monday.

The Herald earlier this week reported that a 14-year-old girl, who has learning difficulties, was subjected to a savage rape by a gang of young men between 4pm to 5pm.

It has now emerged that two sisters, who are aged in their late teens, were also sexually assaulted in the same locality of Springfield around an hour after the first attack.

Last night, sources said that gardai were confident that the two incidents were carried out by different groups of perpetrators.

The rape of the 14-year-old schoolgirl happened shortly after 4pm on Monday in a green space close to the Ashgrove apartments, opposite St Mark's GAA Club, on the Cookstown Road.

The traumatised victim has given a detailed statement to a specialist child interviewer, and officers are following a definite line of inquiry in the case.

It is understood that CCTV has played a major part in the investigation, but no arrests have been made.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-hunt-gangs-for-two-brutal-assaults-on-young-girls-just-minutes-apart-34406554.html

A gang rape of a girl with learning difficulties and two sisters being sexually assaulted in broad daylight by two separate groups. What the hell is going on in Tallaght? Absolutely horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭.45auto

Mods hope you don't mind when I say. SICK FCUKING ANIMALS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Are they not able to describe the culprits or are the garda/media refusing to describe them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Are they not able to describe the culprits or are the garda/media refusing to describe them?

Why would the media refuse to describe them if they had a description?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

Where. Are. The. Descriptions?!

What the fuk is going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Cienciano wrote: »

To discourage vigilante behaviour or prejudice against other folk sharing similarities with the attackers.
    There's probably an element of consideration for the beasts who did this having feelings too and have a right to privacy. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I live in tallaght and this is news to me.
    It's getting worse . 2 shootings within a month of each other in same area and now this?? Makes me wonder about my own kids and t get the Fcuk out of tallaght.
    Absolute scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

They are questioning a group of teenagers about it. Can't do a link but it's on Independent.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

To discourage vigilante behaviour or prejudice against other folk sharing similarities with the attackers.
    There's probably an element of consideration for the beasts who did this having feelings too and have a right to privacy. :rolleyes:

You think the indo or other tabloids give a shít about that?

A person with special needs is likely to be extremely traumatized after something like this. She may not be in a position to give a description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

eviltwin wrote: »
    A person with special needs is likely to be extremely traumatized after something like this. She may not be in a position to give a description.

The articles all state that CCTV is playing a massive part in catching the victims. The media won't publish a description of the attackers for one reason: Race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Surely the daily mail or the likes would be only too pleased to report the descriptions of these rapists if they were of a certain ethnic persuasion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

discus wrote: »
    The articles all state that CCTV is playing a massive part in catching the victims. The media won't publish a description of the attackers for one reason: Race.

"black" isn't a description, tbh. Might have worked in 1950 or so, fair enough, but not now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Surely the daily mail or the likes would be only too pleased to report the descriptions of these rapists if they were of a certain ethnic persuasion?

I bet the OP is frantically pulling the mickey off of himself, waiting for the descriptions.

Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Been several of the suspects are themselves children aged 13 -17, I doubt they will release any descriptions if they have cctv footage and match the victims discriptions,

For some reason people are hoping for a repeat of the scenes in Germany and else where with migrants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I bet the OP is frantically pulling the mickey off of himself, waiting for the descriptions.

Disgusting.

Careful, you'll be called a rape apologist or some other nonsense in a minute. Me, as I said before, I'm just glad the OP is taking the time to report all the cases of sexual assault that happen daily around the world, without any bias, motive, or agenda. He should be applauded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Cienciano wrote: »

I think it's because they were probably wearing tracksuits, which doesn't help when it's Tallaght.

Disgusting.

Has nobody ever told him if you flush all the white out of yourself you go black? And once you go black, you'll never come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Nodin wrote: »
    "black" isn't a description, tbh. Might have worked in 1950 or so, fair enough, but not now.

Why isn't it? We are looking for a group of white men, we are looking for a group of black men. What's wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Are these lads nationals or "non nationals"?? I really need to know whether I'm looking out for Irish people or anyone who isn't Irish with nothing to narrow it down at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I hope they get them and string them up to be perfectly honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If they release images of them they would probably disappear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭BigJackC

Disgusting.

I never mentioned anything about their descriptions, their nationalities or their ethnicities. That your mind went there, says more about you than me.

Gang rape in broad daylight is an extremely rare occurrence in Dublin. It is a shocking and sickening story. Hence why I started a thread on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

BigJackC wrote: »
    I never mentioned anything about their descriptions, their nationalities or their ethnicities. That your mind went there, says more about you than me.

Gang rape in broad daylight is an extremely rare occurrence in Dublin. It is a shocking and sickening story. Hence why I started a thread on it.
    Bollocks.

Bollocks.

Go scrawl through my posts again and stop wasting my time with this nonsense.

Why isn't it? We are looking for a group of white men, we are looking for a group of black men. What's wrong with that?

The sad thing is, that's not humour......

How many 'groups of white men' in their teens are in Tallaght? How would you tell one 'group' from the guilty 'group'?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

This article is from a few years ago
    Growing numbers of teenagers are being sexually assaulted or gang raped by other teens, a children’s charity has warned.

Cari said it was alarmed by the dramatic rise in reports of attacks by multiple perpetrators in 2012, which more than doubled to 41 from 20 in 2011.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/dramatic-rise-in-number-of-irish-teenagers-reporting-gang-rape-by-peers-608144.html

aha.

ahahahahahahaha. ahhh yeah. If you stretch that out into a sketch you could probably get a short slot in the laughter lounge. get yer career started.

You're more concerned about my postings than gang rape. Fecking bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

It seems weird that there were two separate incidences of sexual assault so close together but unrelated? The poor girls, they must be going through hell right now. I'm from tallaght myself and would always feel safe walking around, despite its reputation. I've never heard of anything like this happening before.

You're more concerned about my postings than gang rape. Fecking bizarre.

You couldn't give a rats ass about the attacks and I'd be amazed if anyone believes that you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Disgruntled Badger

If they've cc TV and dna they are done. They don't need descriptions because they have them. I suspect the Guards are keeping it quiet as they are all minors. Doubt the Guards would deliberately subdue the story because they might not be white. Why would they need to, afterall we don't have race issues here on a par with other parts of Europe where there might be a backlash.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Gatling wrote: »
    Been several of the suspects are themselves children aged 13 -17, I doubt they will release any descriptions if they have cctv footage and match the victims discriptions,
    That was my first thought, that the suspects are underaged themselves so that precludes descriptions, especially if they've other strong leads. And given the high chance of vigilante reactions considering the nature and vileness of the crime they're attempting to keep a lid on that too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

You couldn't give a rats ass about the attacks and I'd be amazed if anyone believes that you do.

My young female relatives that live in the area might disagree with you there.

So many people more concerned with the ethnicity of the attackers than the attack itself. Sickening.

Another rape is being reported as occurring in the area an hour previous. What the hell was going on in Tallaght on Monday?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/gardai-quiz-boys-as-young-as-14-over-horrific-daylight-rape-of-teenage-girl-34409086.html

That was mentioned in your own OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wibbs wrote: »
    That was my first thought, that the suspects are underaged themselves so that precludes descriptions, especially if they've other strong leads. And given the high chance of vigilante reactions considering the nature and vileness of the crime they're attempting to keep a lid on that too.

Around the same area around 20 years ago there was a similar story a girl was gang raped by a gang of lads all with long hair aka rockers within a few days lads with long hair were been given hidings and run of local greens and parks,

eventually the truth came out the young girl who had claimed she had been gang raped wasn't in fact there was no rape ,the girl in question had been caught having sex in field with a local traveller who happened to be her boyfriend so rather than face her family finding out she cried gang rape .

In this ccase wonder was there 2 attacks or 1 attack and one totally different situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It's a resurgence of the Tallaght Band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Mondo123

This is very very sad. My heart goes out to the young ladies in question. As a woman stories like this naturally make me nervous.

I don't care who did it so long as they are not let away with it no time for PC crap here! If they are Irish they do the time to suit the crime which should be stiff no matter what age they are! If they are non nationals then I believe they should be deported I don't care if that puts them in danger going back to their own country, they obv didn't care about that while hurting these innocent girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Disgusting.
    Careful, you'll be called a rape apologist or some other nonsense in a minute. Me, as I said before, I'm just glad the OP is taking the time to report all the cases of sexual assault that happen daily around the world, without any bias, motive, or agenda. He should be applauded.
    aha.

ahahahahahahaha. ahhh yeah. If you stretch that out into a sketch you could probably get a short slot in the laughter lounge. get yer career started.

So what are your thoughts on two separate incidents of gang rape in Dublin ?

I can't seem to find any ****s given through all that ranting and accusation throwing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Find this very interesting.

If a poster posts something without any proof and attributes blame or behaviour traits to non Irish we have the Outrage Crew have a mickey fit and screaming racist.

Now we have BigJackC (who may or may not be Irish) post an observation about a serious crime that took place. Feck all mention of race or anything else and the same crew having the same mickey fit.

Is this perfect hypocrisy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Gatling wrote: »
    Around the same area around 20 years ago there was a similar story a girl was gang raped by a gang of lads all with long hair aka rockers within a few days lads with long hair were been given hidings and run of local greens and parks,

eventually the truth came out the young girl who had claimed she had been gang raped wasn't in fact there was no rape ,the girl in question had been caught having sex in field with a local traveller who happened to be her boyfriend so rather than face her family finding out she cried gang rape .

In this ccase wonder was there 2 attacks or 1 attack and one totally different situation

Well the girl in question had to be treated for her injuries in hospital. I live a stones throw from where it happened and I have a young daughter. I hope these animals are correctly identified and made an example of.

Can you imagine the headlines if it was a disabled child in Foxrock or Donnybrook that was gangraped in broad daylight rather than Tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

eviltwin wrote: »
    So many people more concerned with the ethnicity of the attackers than the attack itself. Sickening.

Well. We have to know if they are a part of our lax migration policy or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

pablo128 wrote: »
    Well the girl in question had to be treated for her injuries in hospital. I live a stones throw from where it happened and I have a young daughter. I hope these animals are correctly identified and made an example of.

Can you imagine the headlines if it was a disabled child in Foxrock or Donnybrook that was gangraped in broad daylight rather than Tallaght?

the girl has autism is that correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I'm about 90% sure that the perps were Irish. Certainly not asylum seekers (we haven't taken that many unlike Europe). Probably white. The stats for tallaght teenagers would suggest white.

It's interesting that the PC attitude to this was immediately to sneer at the presumed implication in the OP's post that the alleged rapists weren't white. He never spelt that out. He said nothing much. One guy did mention race later because the information wasn't published , but it wouldn't be for teenagers I think.

So two groups assuming non-whiteness. The overly racist and the overly PC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Ally Dick wrote: »
    There is nothing in the OP or the report quoted that indicates anything about the ethnicity of any of the suspects. So why have people tried to make it a race or immigration issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 RadiationKing

Ally Dick wrote: »

Yeah, who cares about the victim! What we really need is more ammunition against those damn PC liberal do-gooders!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Whilst one gang rape is disturbing enough (regardless of age/intellectual disability/whatever) TWO in the same day, in the same area is fcukin downright scary. Even more so that they are apparently unconnected... Fcukin hell, what the fcuk is going on.
    I hope the little cnuts are correctly identified and found in shallow graves tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Whyohwhy? wrote: »
    Fcukin hell, what the fcuk is going on.

I know I beat this drum all the time and get called repetitive for it, but I will happily put money on the eventual culprits being "well known to the Gardai" and having previous convictions for which they served no time.

Our justice system is f*cked. Too many budding violent criminals get off with a slap on the wrist and leave court feeling emboldened to continue their destructive rampaging.