Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Building callouses and chasing goals

well done! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭EmcD123

bluewolf wrote: »
    well done! :D

Thanks,will probably be like the walking dead all day tomorrow though:D

Well heres the videos of the Pr lifts. I always think I look really funny in videos, really cringey to watch. Anyway the lifts arent my cleanest lifts ever but its a start.

The snatch has a pretty big jump forward but Im working on it
    And it doesnt look like I locked out one of my arms on the power jerk
    My technique manages to look horrible on video though lol it seemed much cooler in my head ,have a lot to work on
    Bodyweight tonight was 65kg ,the lightest Ive been in a while

Got into the gym this afternoon,tried to move and then realised I was unbelivably tight all over, couldnt even put weight on the foam roller it was that bad.
    Tried to loosen out for an entire hour but to no avail .Started lifting then ,didnt come close to the heights of yesterday but considering my condition today and the three hard days ive done this week it was a pretty decent session

Snatch
    Worked up to 1x60
    Missed 62.5kg twice behind me ,I basically forgot to hold on
    Also missed 65kg behind me

Jerk Drive/Jerk
    1x70
    1x75
    1x80
    85x
    85x
    Just wasnt happening today,im lousy from the rack anyway just cant get that same position as when i stand up from a clean. I had a really bad rerack at 75kg though and really hurt my back

Front squat
    2x3 100kg
    Had to leave the third set because my back was really sore but the weight itself felt really manageable even with all that pain

Probably wont go gym again until monday,time to work on recovery for a few days

Had a really good session today, its not the one that was on the program though because I forgot to check it this morning but it still went well

Snatch
    3x1 70
    Was a big pr last week and now I did it for three easy singles,definitely had 75 in the tank today but was told not to :rolleyes:

jerk drive+Jerk
    I still suck from the rack but im getting better
    (1,1) 70kg,75kg,80xkg,80kg,85x,85x
    I never get a good position from the rack

Back squats
    Worked up to a new 3 rep max!!
    3x100
    3x110
    3x115
    3x120 pr
    3x125 pr
    Had the tiniest bit of help at the top of the last rep at 125 but not enough to not count the rep .My previous 1 rep max was 120 so that definitely progress with my squat strength

Now Im definitely focusing all my energy on the 220kg total for european juniors this september.
    So thats my goal that im going to chase after for this year. Ive been told I could manage it if I got my weight sorted and upped the training a it.so thats what im going to try and do

Right now im on a general strength program that will have a mini peak for nation club champs but with the aim to reach a peak for national juniors

Was a bit dead for todays session, legs were heavy and werent able to generate much power at all but I pushed through and got an okay session in the end

Sotts press
    5x5 30
    Snatch
    50x3
    52.5x3
    57.5x2
    62.5x1
    Was supposed to do doubles at 62.5 but just couldnt do it,was too fatigued

Clean+prClean+Jerk
    (1,1) up to a max
    max:80
    Couldnt power clean at all and when I did stand up the cleans legs were so dead I couldnt jerk

Snatch Pulls
    4x5 77.5
    1x5 80
    Forgot to take the extra weight off for the last set after someone else worked in but the 80 was actually pretty easy

had a lot of late nights this week due to new years and all that so todays session again wasnt the best,but the snatches were good so thats a plus

Drop snatch
    5x5 40
    these were grand,im not very good at them though but im getting in on it quickly

Snatch
    40x3
    50x3
    55x3
    60 x2x2
    65 x2x2
    Missed 70 twice ,fairly solid reps ,technique was a little off today ,the bar kept going forward on me

Power Clean/Power Jerk
    These went horrible,my elbow got really pained and uncomfortable during these and I just couldnt stabilise anything overhead
    40x3
    50x3
    60x3
    70x
    60x2
    65x2
    70x1
    70x1
    75x

Front squat
    These were also pretty bad, had to bail after 3 sets,was too wrecked,thought I was gonna get sick
    2x5 100
    1x5 90

Forgot to log last nights session

Snacth + Overhead squat
    (1,1)x2 50,52.5,57.5
    (1,1)x1 60
    (1,1)x3 62.5
    Pretty solid, only missed 2 reps but retook both of them. technique is improving ,theres still several things Im still not doing right but they dont all happen in the one rep anymore lol

Jerk dip +Jerk
    (1,1)x2 67,73,77,
    (1,1)x1 83
    (1,1)x3 87.5
    Only got 2 sets of 87.5 because I missed the second and third one but retook the second and just didnt have the energy to retake the 3rd set.
    Overall there looking good, had to work on getting a longer split though. Had my rack height adjusted to be lower and that seemed to solve the issue I was having with rack jerks up till now

Back squats
    2x5 115
    1x4 115
    2x5 100
    115 was a pr 5 rep max and I got nearly 3 sets of it so im happy with that. I really like back squats :rolleyes: love training them

Push press
    5x40
    5x50
    5x50
    4x50
    2x50
    was exhausted at this stage and my pressing strength is weak so wasnt surprised I couldnt get all the reps in. Didnt try for another set at 50

Yesterdays session:

Was a decent session,felt really heavy and hard though
    Sotts press
    5x5 20kg

Snacth
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    62.5x1
    65x1x2
    didnt get the third single at 65

Power clean +Clean+Jerk
    Up to a max
    max:80
    just missed jerk at 85
    got a double clean at 90

Clean and Jerk
    3x1 80
    These took about 6 misses to get the 3 singles

Snatch pulls
    5x5 80

have to log yesterdays session and today, two very solid sessions very happy with them. Im tired now though thats for definite.

Yesterday

Drop snatch
    2x5 40
    2x5 45
    1x3 50

Snatch
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    62.5x1
    65x1
    67.5x1
    Very very easy

Push press +Jerk step through
    (3,3)x4 50

Front squats
    5x5 95

Today

Power snatch +Overhead squat
    40x3
    45x3
    50x2
    55x1
    60x1
    62.5x1
    Missed 65

Snatch balance
    Work up to 3 rep max
    max: 65 ,5kg pr on previous 3rm
    Then 3x2 60

Jerk from head
    3x3 40
    Found it really hard to hold bar over my head

Clean pulls
    3x5 100
    2x5 105(These were a bit too heavy)

Was finished then and decided to cheekily max out the deadlift since I was curious
    Deadlift: 135 (25kg pr)
    Couldnt get 140 off the floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

That's a huge jump in your DL, congratulations. And all your Weight-lifting PRs, all your hard work paying off :)

ninamc wrote: »
    That's a huge jump in your DL, congratulations. And all your Weight-lifting PRs, all your hard work paying off :)
    Thank you so much :)
    I did have straps this time though. Ya it is all starting to pay off in the last while now ,theres been a huge amount of pr's lately with our entire group so I think its just been that the training is all being programmed really well.

Good session again tonight. Snatch technique was a little off but I still hit 90% successfully. Also more front squat pr's!! and I have it on video

Snatch+Overhead Squat
    (1,1)x2 50kg,55,60
    (1,1)x1 65
    Missed 67.5 twice

Jerk dip+Jerk
    (1,1)x2 67, 73, 77, 83
    (1,1)x1 87
    Missed 90 twice

Front squat
    4x4 100
    1x4 105 pr (matches my previous 3 rep max, but this time I did much more squat volume before attempting the pr compared to last time I squatted 105, also it was way way easier)

Push press
    3x5 40
    1x5 45
    1x4 47.5

Here's the front squat video,I think I got good depth and the technique looks fairly sound to me but if anyone here notices anything they could critique let me know

Forgot to post wednesdays session till now.
    So ya again it was another decent session. Im getting more consistent at the 95% range lifts every session.

Drop snatch
    2x4 40
    2x4 45
    1x4 50
    Getting a little better at these

Snatch
    50x3
    55x3
    60x2
    65x1
    67.5x1
    70xx
    Should have got 70,I pulled it really high and went too low so it crashed on my shoulders so I wasnt able to keep the lockout from the shock,but it was a really good rep

Clean and jerk
    60x3
    70x3
    80x2
    85x1
    90x1
    95xx
    Felt good, havent done cleans in ages so they felt really heavy,but my jerk technique is definitely improving

Snatch pulls
    4x5 80
    These felt really really good,technique was on point for them

Friday

These was a really good session, hit every snatch with only one miss and made a big squat pr again

Snatch Pull+Snatch (1,1)
    50x2
    55x2
    60x2
    62.5x1
    65x1
    67.5x1

Push press+Jerk step through (3,3 per set)
    40x1
    45x1
    50x1
    55x1

Jerk from rack
    Was way too tired for these after pushing the previous overhead complex
    67x3
    73x2
    77x1
    83xx

Back squats
    4x5 115
    1x3 115
    Massive volume PR, was just 2 reps short of getting 5x5 after coming up just short of 3 sets last week

Saturday
    Legs were in unbelivable agony this morning after yesterdays squats.Tokk almost an hour of warming up to manage a full squat

Power Snatches
    40x3
    45x3
    50x3
    55x2x2
    60x2x1(2 singles)
    COuldnt get the rest of the reps, these were a huge mess

Power clean+Push press+Jerk from head
    Go to max of (1,1,3):
    x40,45,50,52.5
    After that I couldnt hold the bar in place for jerks from head

Power clean+Push press
    Go to max of (1,3):
    x40,45,50,52.5,55,56,58pr
    Completely failed on 59, the squats completely wiped my leg drive for today so Im surprised I got the push press pr

Power clean
    To 3 rep max:
    x50,55,60,65,70,75
    Never done triples with this before, was really hard,thumbs are in bits at the moment so I could barely grip the bar

Couldnt seem to find a time where boards.ie was working right for me in the last few days so here my last 2 sessions

Monday

Snatch+Overhead Squat
    To max: managed to match my snatch pr 70 here
    Came unbeliveably close to 72.5 but lost it behind

Jerk dip +Jerk from rack
    to max: Only got to 85 here but still happy enough with it

Front squat
    5x4 105 Big pr here, got it as a 4 rep max last week and here I did it for 5 sets

Floor in the gym was really slippy and that why I missed the snatch,footing was really bad for jerks aswell because of it.

Wednesday
    Worst session Ive ever done I think, everything just went terrible

Drop Snatches
    2x3 40
    1x3 45
    2x3 50

Snatch
    to max: only got a really horrible 60, Missed more attempts that I got and missed a pile of snatches at 40 and 50.

Clean and jerk
    to max:Only went as far as 75 because the jerks were really hurting my shoulders and elbows

Snatch pulls
    5x3 80

Had a decent session today, much better than wednesday.
    Snatch Pull+Snatch
    To max:
    50x3
    55x2
    60x2
    65x1
    70x
    70x1
    72.5xx, Came really really close on the second attempt just didnt lock out hard enough

jerks from the rack
    60x2
    70x1
    75x1
    80x1
    85x1 These was a really solid rep
    90xx The first attempt I got a good split but the bar wasnt high enough so i didnt get locked out had to drop it then

Push press+Jerk step through
    (3,3) to max:
    40x1
    45x1
    50x1
    55xx Couldnt do all the push presses

Back squats
    was meant to be 5x5 ,But I lost my balance on one of the rack jerks and hurt my back a tiny bit and the squats were aggravating it. I dont mind too much though since my squatting has been pretty consistent
    So i ditched this after working up to 120x1

Had a really good session today. Powers and overhead work was on the program today and I made quite a lot of pr's

Power snatch
    to max: 67.5kg(5.5kg PR)
    Jumps: 40x2,45x2,50x2,55x1,60x2,65x1,67.5x1,70x
    Came really close to 70,I just lost it in front,

Snatch Balance
    to max: 85kg(15kg PR)
    Managed to lock out 90 over my head but couldnt hold the lockout for long enough

Power Clean+Push press+Jerk from head
    (1,1,3) to max: 52
    Cant actually hold anymore over my head safely for the jerks from head

Power Clean+Push Press
    To max: 65kg(5kg PR)

Power Clean
    To max: 85kg
    Didnt get 90 this time either,

Taper week all this week in the leadup to clubs on saturday, so today was a short easy enough session

Front squats
    Work up to a heavy single: 115kg(10kg PR)
    Its technically a pr but thats only because I havent maxed in ages, Was very easy, I probably have 120 possibly 125 in me at the moment

Power Snatch +Snatch
    Up to 90%: 65kg ,again smooth enough

Power Clean +Power Jerks
    Up to 90% again: 75kg
    Very tidy reps here, my power clean has improved a lot in the last 3 weeks

i was posting to go "jerk from head??" then i saw snatch balance +15kg PR

jaysus :D

bluewolf wrote: »
    i was posting to go "jerk from head??" then i saw snatch balance +15kg PR

jaysus :D

Jerk from head is a nasty assistance thing,you hold the bar just over your head,go up on your toes and then drive it up and split, Its supposed to quicken your split

Haha yes wasnt expecting that pr at all,I very nearly made it a +20kg PR:D

Last real session before the cop on saturday.
    Worked up to my opener on both lifts and then a single on front squats

Snatch:65x2

Clean and jerk:90x,85, Will lower my opener from 90 to 87

Front squat:105 with a short pause, the pause makes it a lot harder

Theres just a technique session now on friday to keep fresh

Load of mobility work first

Snatch: up to 60x1
    Very smooth and easy,was catching them better than I usually do

Clean and jerk: up to 80
    Again very easy

Very simple quick session before tomorrows comp,Im pretty excited for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

Hope today went well for you :)

Was an okay comp,little dissappointed but it really didnt go all that badly

Bodyweight: 66.3 heaviest i've weighed in yet

Snatch: 65 ,67 ,70x
    Lost 70 forward ,was a really dumb miss

Clean and jerk: 85, 87, 90x
    Threw the jerk forward on 90,held onto it because I thought I could save it but I ran out of platform

Have a lot more than that in me though but national juniors are in a month and thats when the performance matters I guess

Got an absolute monster of a programme this week. But Im done the first session and I have to admit I really enjoyed it

No hookgrip,No foot movement,No contact Snatches
    These were hard to do but once I got in on them they were good,and the snatches afterward were much better after doing these
    4x3 45

Snatches
    6x2 60
    These felt very good and solid

Jerk dip +Jerk
    (2,2) per set
    80x2
    75x2
    77.5x2
    These were really hard but I need to work on my jerk still

Deficit Clean Pulls
    5x5 105 with a pause at the top
    Im confident I could clean 100 now after doing these relatively easily

One arm row
    3x10 30
    Really hard,grip strength was very much tested here, ugh hate bodybuilding stuff

Felt drained tonight, there was just no power in my legs but I got through it
    Serious DOMS from mondays session were the cause

Snatch Balance+ Overhead Squat
    (1,2)x5 65
    This was pretty hard,elbow were already fatigued from monday so lockout wasnt the best

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    6x2 75
    These were pretty solid ,would have been to drained to go any higher anyway

Front squat
    Tried 110 for 5 but ended with
    110x3 for a new 3 rep max but i kinda regret trying it, just wasnt the day for it
    Then 100x3,100x5
    90 2x5
    Because of the 110 I wasted so much energy I couldnt even finish it at 100

Russian Twists
    3x20 12kg
    Was unsure what I could do here so kept the weight light

Got home and found out that my program also had press in split on it but I forgot to do it but my shoulders and elbows were too dead anyway

Friday night
    Snatch FAK
    Didn't get these at all
    60 2x2
    55x2
    50 2x2
    Clean and jerk
    77.5 4x2
    75 2x2
    These were good, jerks were kinda messy though
    Deficit Snatch pulls
    5x5 77.5
    Bench Press
    5x5 40
    My first time doing these, found it really hard

Saturday Morning

No hookgrip,No foot movement,no hookgrip snatches
    4x3 47.5
    Love these as a warmup for snatches
    Snatch
    6x2 62.5 really solid here,didn't miss a single rep
    Push Press
    55x4
    50 2x5
    50 2x3
    Back squats
    5x5 110
    Couldn't do any heavier today
    Glute ham raises
    3x10
    Romanian deadlifts
    2x10 60
    2x8 70
    Glute activation
    Crab walks with green resistance band

Awesome session tonight, im making some serious gains on this trianing cycle i'm on,I feel so strong

No hookgrip,No footmovement,No contact Snatches
    4x3 45
    There was a questionable amount of contact on some of them,but these are making my snatch smoother

Snatch
    Wasnt the best day for snatching,but I made all my reps,They were going forward on me quite a lot though
    3x2 60
    3x2 62.5
    Im getting better at doubles though

Jerk Dip+Jerk
    6x2 80 Big volume Pr
    Missed a load of light ones, lower weights felt really heavy,I got fed up,I got Angry, then I smashed every rep at 80!!:cool::cool: I'm still buzzing from it

Deficit Clean Pulls
    5x5 105 These were easy,had much more control at the top of the pull this week

One Arm Row
    3x10 25
    Made some sick gains here,much more control than last week

Absolutely destroyed this evenings session!!!!!

Snatch Blance+OverHead Squat
    (1,2)x5 70
    Elbows werent the best on the overhead squats but I got through it

Power Clean+Power Jerk
    The caffeine kicked in here lol
    7x2 80
    80 was a 2 rep max, and I did 7 set of it :cool::cool::cool: I feel like such a beast, was meant to be 6 doubles but I just missed a rep earlier on so I did an extra set

Front squat
    105x5
    105x3
    100x3x2
    90x5
    Legs were fine,they werent tired at all, but my lats and shoulders were so wasted from the power jerks that I couldnt hold my front rack position for the squats

Press in split
    5x5 30, Can't press for my life, these were more like split push presses

Russian twist
    3x20 15kg

Absolutely loving this training cycle!