Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Wed: was in London Wednesday evening and got 4 miles done on the hotel treadmill to bring the day's total to 20 miles.

Thursday: travelling back from London, got home around midnight, was gonna do an easy 5 miles, canned that idea and decided to try and get a bit of a cuddle from Mrs TbL, bad idea on both fronts :)

Friday: after Thursday's rest day I had planned on getting a 5 & 6 mile easy double done. Got the 5 miles easy done in the morning but I'd to go to a Connemara removal in the evening and then got tired/lazy and didn't get out for the planned second run.

Saturday: planned 12 easy. Long day in town with the kids, could go

Did you post end prematurely??
    bit like your cuddle the other night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Did you post end prematurely??
    bit like your cuddle the other night :D

Haha J, it sure did but unlike the attempted cuddle I got another go at the post :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Saturday: planned 12 easy. Long day in town with the kids, could go out now but I'm on the couch feeling sorry for myself. This week is going pear shaped. Four weeks to go and I badly needed a decent week.

Only 4 weeks to Seville

TbL

just go, you won't regret it, you will regret it if you don't though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    just go, you won't regret it, you will regret it if you don't though...

He obviously on a promise FD seeing he was premature earlier in the week!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    He obviously on a promise FD seeing he was premature earlier in the week!!!

he's on the couch feeling sorry for himself, doesn't sound like much of a promise to me, best just go and run so :p

Firedance wrote: »
    he's on the couch feeling sorry for himself, doesn't sound like much of a promise to me, best just go and run so :p

She's on the couch too!! Ironically she wants us to watch a film called "Run all Night"! Not good on both fronts!!!

TbL

She's on the couch too!! Ironically she wants us to watch a film called "Run all Night"! Not good on both fronts!!!

TbL

Make sure she's not looking at "Failure to Launch" so.

Today the plan called for a 17 mile progression run but after our 16 miler in the park earlier in the week coach wanted me to do 11 miles with 3k/1k alterations. I'm a bit all over the place this week and today wasn't much better. Was working till 3pm today and curve balls seem to be coming at me from all sides. I need to to keep mentally tough for the next few weeks and this is something that I've been poor at in the past.

Anyway, I got out just after 3 on my usual out and back long run route and started my warm up. Watch beeped after a mile, feck sake I'd forgotten to change the settings to km. Bollix, I was too tired to try and work it out in my head so I just went with a makey uppy session! I decided to run 16 miles with between 8-10 at or around marathon pace. Did a mile warm up and 11.5 miles at around MP and 3.5 miles of cool down jog. Wind and the inclines made it hard to keep a steady pace.

Not really sure what sort of shape I'm in, this week was a poor week mileage wise with only 52 miles done. Away most of next week so will struggle with mileage again.

Splits for mp stuff:

Half mile @ 6.46

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

52 miles is NOT a poor week. And that includes a couple of very good sessions. I think you need to cut yourself some slack! Part of being mentally tough is acknowledging that you've done a good job and using that positive energy as motivation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

52 miles is NOT a poor week. And that includes a couple of very good sessions. I think you need to cut yourself some slack! Part of being mentally tough is acknowledging that you've done a good job and using that positive energy as motivation ;)

Big plus one to this. If 52 miles is a poor week, every week I've ever run has been a poor week bar one!! :D

Monday: worked through the night to get a project ready. No run

Tuesday: the opportunity to do 4 days skiing in Ischgl, Austria, in the same hotel as a few weeks ago game up at short notice. I nearly didn't go as I felt I needed to commit to Seville but I might never get the chance again so I spent Tuesday travelling. No run.

Wednesday: plan today called for some easy miles. I got caught to work all morning so I was stuck at a desk in the hotel room while the lad I'm with went skiing!! Eventually got out around lunch time and got 3 fantastic hours skiing done. Much more adventurous this time and I went on a hape of different slopes. Fell on my arse a fair bit but I don't have the look of an elephant cleaning windows on the top of a ladder anymore!

Got back to the hotel and the lad I'm with wanted to go to the spa. I told him they were all starkers down there and he couldn't get down there quick enough. I told I'd meet him there later as I wanted to get some miles done on the treadmill. Got down there and they now have signs on all the doors (see photo) telling you that it's a tog free zone, the bould Bogger must have caused a stir last time in my 5 inch Nikes :)

We sat in a steam room like a lecherous auld version of Beavis and Butthead. We were waiting for what seemed like an hour for anyone under 60 to come in and I was almost passing out with the heat and looked like a microwaved prune.

Bit puerile and secondary school like to be tittering like a juvenile at 50 but it was great crack altogether.

65 minutes easy on the treadmill, 3 hours skiing, and a heart rate tempo session in the sauna :)

TbL

Can't attach photo keep getting an error message

You have a twin or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Got down there and they now have signs on all the doors (see photo) telling you that it's a tog free zone, the bould Bogger must have caused a stir last time in my 5 inch Nikes :)

The legend of the Bashful Bogger...you seem to have got over the shyness anyway :rolleyes:

One of the anti Bogger sign

IMG_0594.JPG

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

I've been spending bit more time on boards recently and have to say am thoroughly enjoying the reading the tales and travails of the wandering lemon.

Sauna stories are a picture to behold...or maybe not!

Keep up the good work, and of course a bit of running on the side.

Might catch up for a few miles sometime.

Statler.

Ferris B wrote: »
    I've been spending bit more time on boards recently and have to say am thoroughly enjoying the reading the tales and travails of the wandering lemon.

Sauna stories are a picture to behold...or maybe not!

Keep up the good work, and of course a bit of running on the side.

Might catch up for a few miles sometime.

Statler.

Good to see you back running and logging Statler.

We'll definitely hook up for a run, I would've had to take care to give Tang first right of refusal in the past, but his eye has been turned and he's hangin with a different crew!

See you soon

TbL

Today the plan called for 18 mins x 3 @ 6.50, 6.40 and another 6.40.

Was up at the crack of dawn to clear overnight work e mails so I'd be able to hit the slopes very early. Got 4 hours skiing done and to be honest I was wrecked after it, after a quick lunch at a mountain side restaurant my legs had virtually seized up, I kept at it for another while but I fell a lot including one wipe out where my skis flew off and I dug a small tunnel with my chin as I careered to a stop! I think I'd only fallen once in the morning so my tired legs and Jimmy Hill like chin decided to quit while I was able.

Took a quick auld man nap and hit the treadmill, decided I was in no state to do the session and pushed it out to tomorrow. Decided to do more easy miles. Got up to 75 minutes but at this stage a couple of young wans were giving me the evil eye to get off. Got them back later as I gave them the evil eye in the sauna ;)

80 mins easy.

I got talking to an Israeli in the spa and he had done a trail run yesterday in ordinary runners so I might try and check that out on Saturday.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Ha ha ha ha - hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Today the plan called for 18 mins x 3 @ 6.50, 6.40 and another 6.40.

Was up at the crack of dawn to clear overnight work e mails so I'd be able to hit the slopes very early. Got 4 hours skiing done and to be honest I was wrecked after it, after a quick lunch at a mountain side restaurant my legs had virtually seized up, I kept at it for another while but I fell a lot including one wipe out where my skis flew off and I dug a small tunnel with my chin as I careered to a stop! I think I'd only fallen once in the morning so my tired legs and Jimmy Hill like chin decided to quit while I was able.

Took a quick auld man nap and hit the treadmill, decided I was in no state to do the session and pushed it out to tomorrow. Decided to do more easy miles. Got up to 75 minutes but at this stage a couple of young wans were giving me the evil eye to get off. Got them back lateras I gave them the evil eye in the sauna ;)

80 mins easy.

I got talking to an Israeli in the spa and he had done a trail run yesterday in ordinary runners so I might try and check that out on Saturday.

TbL

I am sorry to tell you, C but that was definitely just a dream during you auld man nap :p

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I am sorry to tell you, C but that was definitely just a dream during you auld man nap :p

The place is mad, I'm thinking of not going skiing and just spending the day in the spa tomorrow for therapeutic purposes. Three of them came into the sauna, two half draped in towels, the other one placed her towel down and lay down butt naked on it. My tongue was hanging out from the heat but I must have looked like King Leer! I went looking for my phone to call Joe Duffy (or take a sneaky photo) :)

I gave them a very disapproving, reproachful evil stare, that probably went on a bit longer than was necessary :)

TbL

This is what your looking at and all I get is a photo of the feckin sauna door!!!

Nearly got barred/arrested just taking that B!!

TbL

Yesterday: I was to do the session that I'd put off the day before.

Got 4 hours skiing done in beautiful sunshine, went on a load of different ski lifts but stayed on the blue slopes. Didn't fall all morning and was doing great in the afternoon until I was taken out of it from behind by a young wan on a snow board. Hurt my lower back and left hip so I called it a day and headed back to the hotel. Hit the treadmill but the hip was very sore even after a few minutes warm up so I gave it up. Managed to get a massage at the last minute from some big hairy Austrian lad but at least he relieved the ache a bit.

Today: last day skiing so was up bright and early. Spent 5 hours skiing with only a bit of pain from the hip/back, managed my first full red slope and didn't fall all day so was delighted with that. My skiing is now like my running style, ugly but functional!

Got back to the hotel and decided to give the session a go. 3 x 18 mins at 6.50, 6.40, 6.40 off 2 minutes recovery.

Got a decent warm up and got going, hip a bit achey but didn't impede me at all, set the speed to 14kph and managed to finish the first rep. Walked the 2 mins recovery then set the pace to 14.5 kph and started on the second rep, first half was ok but I started to go downhill very quickly and stopped after 15 mins. Was a bit pissed off but was tired so took 3 mins recovery and started again, again at 14.5 kph pace. Legs and head let me badly down and I was on a hiding to nothing after only a couple of minutes. Slogged through to 7 mins but could do no more.

If I've a bad run in Seville it will be because of a lack of consistency and commitment but one has to live a life as well, so I won't be bitchin (much)!

TbL

so I won't be bitchin (much)!

Course you won't, you'll be like a child with a slapped arse for a few weeks!!!

you went skiing for 5 hours and then did a session on the treadmill? jeees man, one week you won't get off the couch to run the next you're overdoing it! Maybe at your level things are different but if I did that I'd (rightly) get a load of grief!! Get your head in order and you won't have a bad run in Seville (and if you could return the favour and remind me of the same come April that'd be great :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

All that treadmill work was done at a reasonably high altitude I presume, so it should stand to you.

I recall running at a ski resort in Switzerland . It's damn hard that close to the clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

If I've a bad run in Seville it will be because of a lack of consistency and commitment but one has to live a life as well, so I won't be bitchin (much)!

TbL

Stop f***in talking yourself into a bad run in Seville.

Yesterday: spent the day travelling home and reading about Boardsies exploits at Raheny, some great running! Hit the leaba at 8.30 for some badly needed catch up kip. No run.

Today: decided that I needed to get yesterday's planned long run done so I parked up at Dangan after work and headed off.

I can honestly say that this was the worst run I've ever done. Heinous! Hateful! Horrible!

An abject tale of woe from the get go.

I'd forgotten my body glide lube and running socks. Started off with a few loops of Dangan and headed down the back of the swamp towards the prom. I got alternately lashed by stinging freezing rain and swirling sand. The wind was incredibly strong, it blew my beenie hat off into the distance never to be seen again. I headed over the docks and wandered aimlessly around a number of housing estates near Renmore army barracks. At this stage my work socks started bunching up in different areas as if someone was randomly crocheting stitches into it! 'Twas driving me nuts and I wasn't sure if the fluid on my cheeks was sweat, rain or tears. I got soaked by a wanker that drove into a massive puddle just as I was passing by it and I tripped on a fallen branch as I ran down past Merlin hospital.

The wind seemed to be getting stronger and stronger and I was hunched over like Quasimodo trying to breach through it.

By the time I got to the quincentennial bridge my left groin and thigh felt like some sadist was vigorously attacking it with a cheese grater!

A cyclist was blown across the cycle lane and nearly took me out, might have put me out of my misery and at this stage I was the epitome of misery and just wanted it over. Glanced at the watch and was shocked by how slow I was going.

19.22 miles of hell.

I'm taking up stamp collecting.

Hope ya all had a nice day.

TbL

Character building stuff C. You got it done, it's wicked wind wise here can only imagine what Galway is like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Character building stuff C. You got it done, it's wicked wind wise here can only imagine what Galway is like.

You took the words right out of my mouth Tang, bloody hell, character building is right. I didn't even chance Dangan this evening for fear of a tree falling on me, didn't think twice about hitting the treadmill in the gym. Hats (or beanie) off to you TBL. It will all count on the big day :)