Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TUS Programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Adnan44

Anyone have contact email address or number for Tus please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

i finished my tus last friday week and i'm still waiting for my dole payment...gob****es in the SW office only got round to it today..so much for the seemless going back on the dole..

its a pity it wasn't for 3 yrs, i enjoyed what i was doing, it was with the soccer club i'm involved with so it wasn't a chore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭denlaw

and i have to say the lads from tus who were over me (despite being about 20yrs younger than me) were proper gentlemen, not one bit of *i'm the boss* off them at all...which is always a bonus..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭jos22

Adnan44 wrote: »
    Anyone have contact email address or number for Tus please

Tus contact details is different for each town/ city

Google your location and tus you prob find who is running the scheme in your location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Craic Addict

denlaw wrote: »
    i finished my tus last friday week and i'm still waiting for my dole payment...gob****es in the SW office only got round to it today..so much for the seemless going back on the dole..

its a pity it wasn't for 3 yrs, i enjoyed what i was doing, it was with the soccer club i'm involved with so it wasn't a chore...

Ah feck sake, I'm finished December 7th so if there dragging their heels about this still I will be broke for Christmas.

Is this still common?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭jos22

Ah feck sake, I'm finished December 7th so if there dragging their heels about this still I will be broke for Christmas.

Is this still common?

It can take 2-3 weeks, but this can be delayed depending on when you call in to them to re-open you claim.
    this can also depend on your local office
    some office will not let you get the ball rolling until your placement has finished, but others will allow you to do it the week you due to finish up.

if your dole is payed from wed -Tuesday normally and you call in on the Monday. by the time your claim has gone through the stages it would be at least a week before your payment would be available in the post office.

so I would Recommend checking to see if you can get the process start the week you due to finish to avoid delays. at least call in to get the paper work.
    some Tus offices provides these to you but others will not.

When I finished up, It took 2 weeks, but I was lucky enough to have gotten a job in that time frame.

Thanks, coincidentally I woke up to a letter this morning with an appointment for the day I finish.
    The social welfare must be watching the forum

Just wondering if anyone who finished their year recently can remember how much they got paid the last week?
    I heard its only 70 but I hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Just wondering if anyone who finished their year recently can remember how much they got paid the last week?

That all depends on how many days are in your last week. If you work a full week you get full pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,302 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

The payroll is process one week in advance. That said, it would be normal to receive a full week on week 52 of your placement.

Just be aware, and this applies to all people who complete their placement, when you commenced on the program, you received 4 days payment from SW and a full week in your nominated bank account during week 1.

In week 52 you will receive, a full week from Tus, and then in the first week back on SW, you only be entitled to 2 days payment (as the week does indeed run from Wed-Tue), so it'll be the 2nd week before you're back to normality in terms of benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭butterfly28

Does anyone know if you're entitled to move from the Tus Scheme to an Internship if you get taken on for an internship??

I believe it is possible. Ask in your local welfare office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jmcgill16

Bumping a slightly old thread but hope its OK as this seems to be the most definite one on the topic. There seem to be quite a few posters here with either lots of experience of dealing with the department or who might actually be TUS Supevisors - either way they know their stuff.

I received a letter "inviting" me to join a TUS progamme today. From reading this thread this invite does not seem to be optional. I'm however already enrolled on a 30hour a week FAS course that starts this coming Monday.

If I reply to the letter declining the invitation, giving my attendance of the FAS course as my reason, will that be accepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Zippe

jmcgill16 wrote: »
    Bumping a slightly old thread but hope its OK as this seems to be the most definite one on the topic. There seem to be quite a few posters here with either lots of experience of dealing with the department or who might actually be TUS Supevisors - either way they know their stuff.

I received a letter "inviting" me to join a TUS progamme today. From reading this thread this invite does not seem to be optional. I'm however already enrolled on a 30hour a week FAS course that starts this coming Monday.

If I reply to the letter declining the invitation, giving my attendance of the FAS course as my reason, will that be accepted?

Send in a copy of the letter of your start date and a not with it, that will do, give them a call also, once you tell them your starting on gas they can get it confirmed also,

Zip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 laurenceltic

Is it possible for a tus work placement be extended? or is it 12 months and that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

12 months and that's it.

Unless the employer takes you on themselves.

Is it possible for a tus work placement be extended? or is it 12 months and that's it
    In many cases, people transfer to CE after their Tus placement has finished and some have remained within the same organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 karen29070

Hi i want to leave my tus placement. Has anyone else left? i just don't know how to go about it. My supervisor is a bit of a tit but i guess i need to tell him first. I hate it & do have a couple of reasons for wanting to leave, mental health would be one. I would be grateful for any advice please

karen29070 wrote: »
    Hi i want to leave my tus placement. Has anyone else left? i just don't know how to go about it. My supervisor is a bit of a tit but i guess i need to tell him first. I hate it & do have a couple of reasons for wanting to leave, mental health would be one. I would be grateful for any advice please
    Speak to your Supervisor. Not every placement will be a match made in heaver and from time to time, there will be issues, in some cases best addressed by removing the participant from the placement and potentially relocating them with another host, or referring them back to DSP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Dunny wrote: »
    12 months and that's it.

Unless the employer takes you on themselves.

employer?? i thought all tus jobs were community based

fryup wrote: »
    employer?? i thought all tus jobs were community based
    yes, technically they are. But the community based bit typically refers to where you are actually placed for your 12mths. The local partnerships are the actual employer. They issue the contract and they are responsible for ensuring payroll is processed, holidays are taken, disciplinary issues are dealt with etc;

Some participants have been employed by the overseeing partnership either after their placement or before the 12mths are up, if the candidate is suitable and a position becomes available. The same situation occurs within host organisations, albeit both cases not being that common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 karen29070

dodzy wrote: »
    Speak to your Supervisor. Not every placement will be a match made in heaver and from time to time, there will be issues, in some cases best addressed by removing the participant from the placement and potentially relocating them with another host, or referring them back to DSP.

Ok thanks. Maybe i could just ask her if anything else is available, i don't think i can face going back to DSP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Raymond97

how much extra would i get if i do tus? im 19 and get 100 euro a week. any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Tiat Young

Raymond97 wrote: »
    how much extra would i get if i do tus? im 19 and get 100 euro a week. any ideas?

Copied and pasted from Citizens Information

The minimum weekly payment for participants (based on 19.5 hours worked) is €210.50 from January 2016.

If the actual Jobseeker’s Allowance (including dependants) you were getting was €188 a week or less, then you will get the minimum Tús weekly rate of €210.50 (that is €188 plus €22.50). If your actual weekly Jobseeker’s Allowance (including dependants) was €188.01 or more, then you will get the equivalent rate plus €22.50.

Raymond97 wrote: »
    Tiat's reply is spot on, assuming of course you are eligible (in receipt of JA for a minimum continuous period of 12mths)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

Anyone know what the situation is regarding working in the rain?

I'm currently working on a CE Scheme and no matter what the weather is I am expected to go out and work. Given the nature of the work I have to do, it means I have no canteen facilities for my breaks. I'm expected to stand up or sit down on the side of the road and boil the kettle with the bottled gas I was given and make my cup of tea and eat my lunch. No shelter at all. No toilet facilities either.

Surely that can't be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭terryduff12

Not being smart or anything but send email of to joe duffy include as much information as ya can ask your supervisor are you not suppose to have a facility for break and mention what response you get good time to bring it up with election happening some pictures would highlight what your dealing with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭jmcgill16

Once you've taken photos I'd say you should also consider sending them to broadsheet.ie and the more traditional media (Indo, Herald etc) too - in election season it might get quite a bit of coverage. It is fairly outrageous sounding.

If the media picks up on it I'd say your situation will be fixed fairly quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

I don't want to go down the media route or any of that malarkey. I just want to know what the situation is regarding me or indeed any other person in similar circumstances actually having to work in them conditions full stop.

I've said it to my supervisor that I thought it wasn't on but he just hopped into the work van and drove off.

My job involves walking in front of a tractor that has a hedge cutter on the back cutting the ditches/hedges on the side of the road. This is always in a fairly rural isolated area.

I have to put out signs, check the ditches/hedges for rocks, wire or any other debris that might cause damage to either the hedge cutter, something or somebody. i.e hedge cutter hits something and that something flies etc...

Break is usually just stopping at where ever it is we are at 10am or 1pm. Guy driving the tractor sits in the cab (only space for one) I end up sitting on the side of the road somewhere or if it's lashing down rain like it is quite a lot these last few months, just leaning up against the wheel of the tractor.

Supervisor gave us a cheapish enough camper thing that can boil a kettle with small cans of gas that can be bought in a petrol station etc. So that has to be boiled on the side of the road and then I eat my lunch, like I said either standing up or sitting down in the elements.

No toilet facilities, no shelter, damn all really.

The supervisor has a really bad attitude as well. One of these ''fck em didn't I give him water proofs and a kettle and a tin of gas, what more does he want'' type of lads.

I've been doing this for over half a year now but I've just about had enough of it now, especially given the weather we've been having these last few months. I want to work and have no problem working, I'll be there on time and will finish on time even stay on late if I'm required and indeed in I did during the floods etc but there is only so much one can take too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭terryduff12

You report it you will probably get hassled saying your refusing to work. Ring citizens information they should be able to help