Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    And where you fly out of? Don't say you flew out of Dublin and never gave me a shout!!

Would I do that. Flew outta Shannon. Couldn't even get Bulmers for a coffee!!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

And where you fly out of? Don't say you flew out of Dublin and never gave me a shout!!

TbL

now I know why I think you you two every time I hear this :D:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SeRU_ZPDkE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    now I know why I think you you two every time I hear this :D:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SeRU_ZPDkE

Why cause I'm young like that G Eazy fella, ah thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

TbL

I must change my aftershave so :mad:
    Proably couldnt keep up anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

There are no words, shocked I am........

Don't worry B I am sure TbL pictured you with your roller skates on:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Got a smile outta this song and the video had me visualising Boardsies as the different "shoppers". Getting strange looks from strangers as I periodically burst out laughing! Played it on repeat for the entire run :)

http://youtu.be/4jBDnYE1WjI

That is JUST like our local Super Valu. Uncanny.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    That is JUST like our local Super Valu. Uncanny.

am not surprised really, given your neighbours :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Plan today called for some Nursing Home special recovery miles.

I was a little stiff and sore last night after yesterday's long run and last weeks mileage in general so I adopted a Lidl lobster approach to recovery. I cranked the immersion up for a few hours till it was bubbling like a witches cauldron, filled up the bath with what looked like boiling water and plunged in, twitching and crying out in a high pitched voice! Waited till I was cooked through and pink from top to bottom, drained the bath, filled it with cold water and plunged in!!! Mother of Christ on a bike, this was worse, important anatomical bits of me shrank and shrivelled up and I was whimpering like a baby as I started to freeze! Any little movement seemed to make it worse and I only lasted maybe two minutes before I got out. My legs and lower torso resembled a candy cane and it took the guts of an hour before I got my body temperature to something resembling normal!!!

Legs felt good today mind :)

As I was heading to London today for the week I wanted to get the recovery miles done this morning in case I got held up at work later this evening, so I headed out around a local loop for 5 recovery miles @ 9.07

Got to the hotel about 7.30 this evening, staying in Nutfield near Gatwick and before the brain could take over and tell me to put my feet up, I got the gear on and hit the hotel gym. Feckin gym invaded by New Years resolutioners!!

Got 10k done nice and easy on a bit of an incline.

Got a smile outta this song and the video had me visualising Boardsies as the different "shoppers". Getting strange looks from strangers as I periodically burst out laughing! Played it on repeat for the entire run :)

http://youtu.be/4jBDnYE1WjI

11 miles for the day.

TbL

Christ, Lemon. You're after pasteurising yourself!

Today the plan called for 3 x 15 min reps @ 6.50, 6.40 & 6.40, off 4 mins recovery.

I was absolutely dreading this. If I was at home and doing it around my usual route in Dangan then it wouldn't have cost me much thought but since I saw this weeks plan and knowing it'd have to be done on the treadmill I wasn't looking forward to it at all.

Was in meetings all day and it was on my mind to the extent that I think I was mentally self sabotaging the session. Spotted AULDBOTS comment about Tang on rollerblades at lunch break and I'd a good chuckle at that :)

Didn't finish till 8, had a few minutes of an auld man cat nap on the bed before reluctantly hauling my ass down to the gym. It wasn't as busy as last night and thankfully the machine beside me wasn't in use coz I've a wide sweat spray arc!

Got a bit of a begrudging warm up done and started on the first 15 mins. Found it very hard, I heated up very quickly and the breathing was all over the place. Tried every trick in the book to distract myself but I couldn't take my eye off the clock. Just like when I'm caught up in one of Mrs TbL's regular "when are you going to do all those DIY jobs" tirades, the seconds seemed to take an eternity to count down! Finished the first 15 minutes and there was sweat everywhere, I had to walk the 4 mins recovery while trying to wipe the slick off the machine.

Funnily enough the second rep was the easiest but by the end of this rep my clothes were drenched through my face was puce and the circular plastic cup holder in the treadmill resembled a tadpoles pond. I was glad there were only a few people left in the gym as I was becoming a bit subconscious between the treadmill clattering along, my heavy breathing, the sweat and a face that only Tang could love :)

The third rep started off ok, the middle section had me considering stopping and from nowhere I got a second wind and managed the last bit ok.

Finished up with a "cool down" jog.

The 15 mins reps were done in kilometres and the paces were as follows: 4.15, 4.10 & 4.08

All in 10 miles for the day.

Currently sitting on the hotel bed with a cold wet towel on my head still trying to regain my Bogger fair complexion! Delighted with that session, not coz it was quick but coz I got one over mentally on that feckin treadmill :)

TbL

ger664 wrote: »
    I must change my aftershave so :mad:
    Proably couldnt keep up anyway

Don't mind your aftershave Ger, your jocks would be a good start :)

TbL

Change of hotel tonight and I'm staying in an ancient country manor type of place in Sussex that dates back to the 1500's.

Apparently Henry Vlll used the house as a hunting lodge and its steeped in history.

Got a bit of the history blurb as I was checking and got some unsolicited info that...

...Great Fosters is set amongst 50 acres of formal gardens and parkland. Originally designed by W H Romaine Walker and Gilbert Jenkins they are amongst the finest Arts and Crafts gardens in Europe...

"Righty oh" says I, "do ye have a gym".

"No Sir we do not have a gym" says yer man a bit sniffly.

"Is there a path or trail around the grounds that I could run around"?

"Run"? [pause] "sir"

"Yes run, you know" I said making a forward and backwards motion with my index and middle fingers on his antique desk.

"I don't think it would be currently possible, Sir", looking at me like I was a imbecilic philistine!

Got to my room having to duck down through a number of doors as the frames were obviously made for Middle Ages midgets!

I knew that today, Thursday and Friday were going to be the most problematic days running wise so I set myself a mini target of 20 easy miles over those 3 days.

Donned a hat and head torch and headed out onto the road/path outside the hotel. First half mile the surface wasn't great but I eventually found my way into more residential areas and managed to get 6 recovery miles done @ 9.24.

Hope to get more miles done tomorrow.

TbL

Had hoped to get up very early this morning to try and get some miles in but I'd a crap nights sleep and rolled over!

I'd a short window between 6-7pm to get some running done, but this window was slammed shut when I was told I needed to be debriefed by a colleague, my momentary excitement dissipated when I realised that our understanding of debriefing were radically different!

Was a bit pissed off coz I then had to eat out with colleagues and there was no getting out of it. Managed to escape at 10.30 and decided to head out for 4 or 5 easy miles to try and work of the steak and dessert. Big mind set change for me, a few weeks ago I wouldn't have gone out at all, and I had that 3 day 20 mile mini target in my head. Big difference tonight, cold dry and crisp with no surface water on the roads. There was also very little traffic so I was able to run in the middle of the road. Went in the same direction as last night and as I was feeling fairly good I kept plodding along. Was also surprised at the pace as it was the quickest I've run easy miles in ages.

Got 9 miles easy done in @ 7.59 and was very happy with that. Tomorrow is probably gonna prove to be very difficult to get any miles done as I'm travelling back tomorrow evening and I can't run in the morning.

The hotel is full of antiques and other auld junk but the jacks in the bedroom is takin the piss :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

Don't mind your aftershave Ger, your jocks would be a good start :)

TbL

I must give you a few pairs to send to the laundry in one of those swanky hotels you visit. :D

Jaysis you could have flushed the jacks before taking the picture!!!

Big mind set change for me, a few weeks ago I wouldn't have gone out at all, and I had that 3 day 20 mile mini target in my head.

Got 9 miles easy done in @ 7.59 and was very happy with that.

TbL

good for you, more of this and you'll be exceeding your goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Should be drinking more water too, C!

Jaysis you could have flushed the jacks before taking the picture!!!
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Should be drinking more water too, C!

Jazus lads, whadda think I'm like. I don't normally carry my phone into a jacks take a whizz don't bother flushing, take a photo and post it up on Boards!

That's the water colour in the locality!

TbL

A likely story. :pac:

Friday & Saturday: plan called for easy miles.

Didn't think I get any running done yesterday with the late evening flight but I managed to get an earlier flight so I was hoping to sneak in an easy 10 miler.

Got a text from Mrs TbL telling me she was going to the pub with the girls and I was on babysitting duty. Bummer!!! Only managed to get a hurried and not very enjoyable 5 miles done @ 9.08.

Today: big eye opener after watching that half mad Doctor Eva on the Late Late show last night and the hidden sugar content in daily foods, I always thought that I was kinda inured against type 2 diabetes given the amount of exercise I do. Food for thought, the skittles are gonna have to go :)

Got out this morning lovely morning for a run, I asked my two eldest to do a couple of mile relay with me to get them back exercising. The boy jumped at the chance and we had a good old chat on his two mile leg, my eldest girl moaned, groaned and bitched for 10 minutes before and for the entirety of her 2 mile leg. The funny thing is she is a fairly reasonable runner and got stronger as we went on.

Anyway I did another 6.1 miles afterwards to bring the total to 10.1, (4 recovery pace and 6 easy)

I was gonna go out again tonight for another 4/5 miles but I'll spend 30 mins stretching and foam rolling instead as my glutes are tight.

10.1 miles for the day.

TbL

Jazus lads, whadda think I'm like. I don't normally carry my phone into a jacks take a whizz don't bother flushing, take a photo and post it up on Boards!

That's the water colour in the locality!

TbL

Yeah like you don't strip naked in hotel car parks changing for Boards running dates!!!

I only do that under the close watchful eye of the law ;)

TbL

Ps you're mbarr(ed)

I only do that under the close watchful eye of the law ;)

TbL

Ps you're mbarr(ed)

were you an only child lemon? you don't really like to share :p

Today the plan called for a long run. Slept in late again today and I was shipping grief from all sides of the family when I said I was going running for the guts of three hours. The young lad wanted me to watch the soccer with him, my daughter wanted help with a school project and Mrs TbL needed me to do some messages. I've to leave the house at 3am to get a flight from Dublin to London so I did the selfish thing and headed out the door.

Was horrible out, with driving rain, wind, plenty of surface water and dickhead drivers driving with no regard for the conditions or other road users!!

Did the same out and back route as the last couple of long runs. Felt a lot stronger today and I would have liked to have had the time to add another few miles on at the end.

20 miles today

71 miles for the week and I've gotta be happy with that given I spent most of the week in the UK.

Had hoped to get another 90 mile week done this week but some unexpected work travel (again) means I'll be lucky to hit 70.

TbL

Monday: plan called for a nursing home special.

Long long day yesterday. Drove to Dublin in the middle of the night, and flew to London and then yesterday evening I was on the Eurostar for the first time to go to Paris.

Staying in a nice hotel (Renaissance Arc de Triomphe) but as I got in late at night I decided against heading out for a run. Started to feel a bit guilty and eventually put on the gear and hit the hotel gym that is open 24/7. The treadmill was some auld piece of junk called a Nautilus and it clattered, chugged and groaned almost as much as I did.

Managed to get 5 slow recovery miles done, happy enough with this as I almost didn't go at all. Couldn't run in the morning as I'd a breakfast meeting at 7 and today will be another struggle to get anything done!

TbL

Tuesday: plan called for some easy miles. Another long day that drained me of energy and left me feeling crap. I got the last flight from Paris into Dublin and by the time I got to my hotel it was after 11. Work is manic again and only a handful of hours sleep over the last 2 nights so was very tempted to hit the bed but instead the "new me" got the gear on and headed off towards Santry for a few easy miles. Lovely evening for it, cool, dry and crisp. Had the crap scared outta me by a flock of feckin rabbits (what's the collective noun for feckin rabbits) that scurried across me on a bit of grass near the airport! Hardened by this frightening experience I was much better able to deal with the gang of feckin young lads hurling abuse at me up near the park after the Crowne Plaza hotel.

6 tired miles done nice and easy to clear the head.

Wednesday: my planned meeting was cancelled at short notice so I put on some lipstick and started texting around to see if anyone wanted to join me for 16 miles easy. AULDBOT had an appointment to have his yoga spandex pants custom fitted so he couldn't come. Tong was still limping after his dates with MBarred and KneelC so he wasn't up for it. Got lucky and got the sympathy vote from Ecoli. We meet up in the PP papal cross car park. He's still working on his young lad trendy beard, a bit to go yet though as I've kissed hairier women :)

I'd planned 16 miles easy but we decided to see how it was going and try the last 4 miles @ marathon pace. He took me on a guided tour of the park, places I never run through before and it was a beautiful morning for a run. Miles ticked off and we came close to averaging 8 min miles for the first 12 miles before starting on the mp miles. The legs felt very tired and heavy and I struggled with the first mile big time, mile 2 was ok and mile 3 was the most comfortable of the lot even though it was into the wind. Was wrecked tired for the last mile and happy to have it done and dusted, wouldn't have managed it without the company!

Flying back to London later this afternoon and might try and get 4 miles recovery done on the dreadmil.

16 miles (last 4 @ mp)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nice one C.

I must have missed that text this morning....... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Nice one C.

I must have missed that text this morning....... :P

You beat me to it P!

Yeah, good stuff in the Park. Looking good.

Wed: was in London Wednesday evening and got 4 miles done on the hotel treadmill to bring the day's total to 20 miles.

Thursday: travelling back from London, got home around midnight, was gonna do an easy 5 miles, canned that idea and decided to try and get a bit of a cuddle from Mrs TbL, bad idea on both fronts :)

Friday: after Thursday's rest day I had planned on getting a 5 & 6 mile easy double done. Got the 5 miles easy done in the morning but I'd to go to a Connemara removal in the evening and then got tired/lazy and didn't get out for the planned second run.

Saturday: planned 12 easy. Long day in town with the kids, could go out now but I'm on the couch feeling sorry for myself. This week is going pear shaped. Four weeks to go and I badly needed a decent week. Need a decent run/session tomorrow to salvage a poor week.

Abroad in Austria from Wed through Sun next week so another week where military planning will be needed to get anything done!

Only 4 weeks to Seville

TbL

eh, what happened the new you!