Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

Kovu wrote: »
    :D:D
    Didn't notice that until you said it. ''A bull weighing just under two thousand kilograms has been found living in China's Sichuan Province''

They make him sound like he pays taxes and has a mortgage and kids.

Kid.. There's no plural in China... Think it applies to cattle too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,435 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Just read of a farm fatality in kilkenny yesterday evening. A man aged 60 died and his son was injured while cleaning beet. Rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

He don't look 1,887Kg. But I was never any good at judging weights.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

He don't look 1,887Kg. But I was never any good at judging weights.:rolleyes:

Ah ye see, he's surprisingly far away from the camera. :D

Hasn't the 1 kid thing changed recently? Don't think it was ever put heavily into force in rural areas as the kids were needed for farm work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Ah ye see, he's surprisingly far away from the camera. :D

Hasn't the 1 kid thing changed recently? Don't think it was ever put heavily into force in rural areas as the kids were needed for farm work.

Whereas in rural Cavan when I was young(er)............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

thanks to nettleman highlighting the icbf levy on the tags i would never have known it could be stopped.a simple email to eurotags instead of hanging on the phone for ages done the trick.now to enquir about other "voluntary" levys taken without my permission

boggerman1 wrote: »
    thanks to nettleman highlighting the icbf levy on the tags i would never have known it could be stopped.a simple email to eurotags instead of hanging on the phone for ages done the trick.now to enquir about other "voluntary" levys taken without my permission
    did you get a refund ?

whelan2 wrote: »
    did you get a refund ?

Yes I can either get my account credited or phone them up to get a cheque for the amount

grand , i sent them a letter about 2 weeks ago and heard nothing back yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

How far back will the refund go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

whelan2 wrote: »
    grand , i sent them a letter about 2 weeks ago and heard nothing back yet

Who do/did you send letter to? Presume Mullinahone rather than icbf.
    Then when ordering new or replacement tags do I just reduce the amount due?
    Finally, how much is the levy

Who do/did you send letter to? Presume Mullinahone rather than icbf.
    Then when ordering new or replacement tags do I just reduce the amount due?
    Finally, how much is the levy

email mullinahane on eurotags@mull-coop.ie saying u dont want to pay the levy.i was on the phone yesterday evening and getting no answer.so i sent email @ 4.30pm and got a reply within 10 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

email mullinahane on eurotags@mull-coop.ie saying u dont want to pay the levy.i was on the phone yesterday evening and getting no answer.so i sent email @ 4.30pm and got a reply within 10 mins

Have it done now myself aswell thanks for the link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Second half of annual test in morning. Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Had our annual test yesterday also. Reading on Saturday. Nervy couple of days ahead! Hopefully we'll all be happy boyos at the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

All passed thankfully!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

All passed thankfully!!

Good stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 speedtheplough

Ho boys,was wondering what is the average water usage on a mixed tillage sheep farm,think I might have a leak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Another little venture popped into my head a few weeks back and I'm still thinking about it. I'm thinking of going cutting lawns for people with a ride on mower. Im situated a half hour from 2 city's and a large town only 15 mins away. Looking at the cost of mowers and my own time and diesel thinking of charging €25 - €35 per hour. Is it a mad idea ? Would people be interested in the sevice ? And what kind of mower would ye recommen ?d preferably diesel. Any thoughts would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Another little venture popped into my head a few weeks back and I'm still thinking about it. I'm thinking of going cutting lawns for people with a ride on mower. Im situated a half hour from 2 city's and a large town only 15 mins away. Looking at the cost of mowers and my own time and diesel thinking of charging €25 - €35 per hour. Is it a mad idea ? Would people be interested in the sevice ? And what kind of mower would ye recommen ?d preferably diesel. Any thoughts would be appreciated

Taking the clippings away?
    There'd be some gardens that'd be quicker with a small mower(especially if you have to go down lanes into back gardens)

ganmo wrote: »
    Taking the clippings away?
    There'd be some gardens that'd be quicker with a small mower(especially if you have to go down lanes into back gardens)

I was thinking of doing that. We have a small push mower aswell

Mate of mine used to do it on a large scale but said fame life suffered greatly so now he has all the mowers paid for he only does a few odd jobs to keep himself busy. Normal mowers might not hold up to the hardship. He has the grasshopper mowers from America which cost about 10000 each I think. Plus any push mowers are are top of the range ones around 1200. Anything less he reckons won't last the distance.

Don't forget you'll need a strimmers and hedge trimmers too as most customers will want the edges done and maybe the hedges. You'll need a 16ft I for trailer for the clipping plus your mowers and gear.

Lad that cuts our lawn charges 15 euro an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Off to see Neil delermere shortly, was planning to go for dinner aswell but had an unexpected visit to the dentist when half of a tooth decided it didn't like where it was. Only beginning to feel the left hand side of my face now, at least the dribbling has stopped :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Off to see Neil delermere shortly, was planning to go for dinner aswell but had an unexpected visit to the dentist when half of a tooth decided it didn't like where it was. Only beginning to feel the left hand side of my face now, at least the dribbling has stopped :D

I've seen him a rake of times. I always enjoy it. His interaction with the audience is always top notch. I think I'm goin to see him in Feb in Vicar Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Use what you have for the moment. As someone else said ud be as far on with a push lawnmower for town gardens. Too much turning and twisting with a ride on plus trying to empty box and messing with ramps. As Reggie said have a strimmer and a hedgetrimmer also. Mix the lawn clippings with the hedge clippings and dump in a pile at home and it'll rot down nicely. lawn clippings on their own goes to black slop

Muckit wrote: »
    Use what you have for the moment. As someone else said ud be as far on with a push lawnmower for town gardens. Too much turning and twisting with a ride on plus trying to empty box and messing with ramps. As Reggie said have a strimmer and a hedgetrimmer also. Mix the lawn clippings with the hedge clippings and dump in a pile at home and it'll rot down nicely. lawn clippings on their own goes to black slop

With all taken into consideration i think I'll stick to the agri hire side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

had an hour long drive to work this mornin, I tested the road near home(braked a bit hard on a straight bit) and it was dicey to say the least
    turning into work, the car decided it wanted to keep going straight...eek!

Powerwasher wont work, my hands are freezing from trying to get it going. Yard is like a skating rink

Glad stayed home now :)