Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Friday 9th Jan 3.4 miles @ 10:28 (forgot the HR strap)

So the best laid plans etc, turned out that while its not 'far' (3.7 miles) to The 606, the public transport route is not a simple one and the offer of a lift there never turned into actually leaving the house so had to make do with an up and back down Montrose, I could have run there but with an 18 miler to do on Sunday I didn't want to stretch way over my weekly target at this point. As the song says 'let it go'.... it'll be there next time I come back under happier circumstances I hope. The public transport route to the shops was much more direct though so I made it there for an hour this eve, picked up a running backpack for 20 bucks which would normally be around 70/80 euro along with some running tights for the cold weather that's apparently on the way to Ireland, picked up a pair for Tang too :D:D. So that's it now until Sunday, the plan is to land, get home, eat something and get up to the PP for 8am before the body has too much of a chance to realise what's happening. A clubmate is joining me for one of the loops - what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, right?

Edit to say that the patient is much improved thankfully, what a difference a week can make, feels like forever ago the rushed flight booking and quick bag pack. My brother commented today 'you had enough presence of mind to pack your running gear' I replied 'well yes, it wasn't me that was near death'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mbarr

Firedance wrote: »
    Friday 9th Jan 3.4 miles @ 10:28 (forgot the HR strap)

So the best laid plans etc, turned out that while its not 'far' (3.7 miles) to The 606, the public transport route is not a simple one and the offer of a lift there never turned into actually leaving the house so had to make do with an up and back down Montrose, I could have run there but with an 18 miler to do on Sunday I didn't want to stretch way over my weekly target at this point. As the song says 'let it go'.... it'll be there next time I come back under happier circumstances I hope. The public transport route to the shops was much more direct though so I made it there for an hour this eve, picked up a running backpack for 20 bucks which would normally be around 70/80 euro along with some running tights for the cold weather that's apparently on the way to Ireland, picked up a pair for Tang too :D:D. So that's it now until Sunday, the plan is to land, get home, eat something and get up to the PP for 8am before the body has too much of a chance to realise what's happening. A clubmate is joining me for one of the loops - what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, right?

Edit to say that the patient is much improved thankfully, what a difference a week can make, feels like forever ago the rushed flight booking and quick bag pack. My brother commented today 'you had enough presence of mind to pack your running gear' I replied 'well yes, it wasn't me that was near death'...

Great to hear your bro is doing better FD. I'll be doing 2.5 anti clockwise laps of the park tomorrow around that time too, might see you out there.

mbarr wrote: »
    Great to hear your bro is doing better FD. I'll be doing 2.5 anti clockwise laps of the park tomorrow around that time too, might see you out there.

I must have a good luck at your strava pic so :) good luck!!!!

Sunday 10th January 18 miles @ avg HR 133, avg pace 11:14

Success!! The flight was delayed taking off by 1 hour due to a snow storm in Chicago airport but we just got out before the chaos started, phew. Made sure to hydrate during the flight, got up and walked once a hour, did some hip stretches, single leg squats and calf raises in the airplane WC :D Landed at 6.05, home by 7, quick bowl of cereal and a clothes change and straight up to the PP for 8am, started loop one feeling pretty ok, met mbarr on the North Road and we ran together for a couple of miles chatting, lovely to meet you today M, hope the rest of your run went well :), that took my mind off my increasing tiredness so thanks!

Back up to Castleknock gate to meet two club mates who kept me company for the 2nd loop and another mile down the ave, the rest of the 3rd loop was solo. I took a gel at the car at this point & some water and that definitely helped. I was tired but 'ok' until coming down North Road again, started to struggle here, I know the HR was a little higher than it should have been here too but finally made it back to castkeknock gate and the watched beeped 16 miles, two more to go, out and back - ran down ordinance survey road and these last two miles were just damm hard, everything was hurting now, both feet, both hamstrings, both calves, left hip and right glute... nothing so worrying that I needed to stop just 'achey' There was never a chance I wasn't going to complete this and that was never more clear when I saw a wheelchair racer flying down ordanance survey as I was coming back, HTFU indeed. Thought I passed AMK too but he didn't hear me saying hi cause he had earphones in :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Upmost respect for you for getting through that, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Good for you AM! You got a nice morning for it, hope you are getting some rest now. Getting out and doing that will help with the jet lag for sure. Fair play to you!

Forgot the end of week mileage update

WTD: 43.1
    MTD: 59.4
    YTD: 59.4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭aero2k

Well done on committing to the run and then following through. You must be so relieved that your brother is on the road to recovery.

I had half intended to join you for some of this (what a beautiful morning, any pics?) but Ososlo wore me out yesterday and I need to take a couple of days off due to a sore leg (I won't be more specific) and a broken immune system:)

tang1 wrote: »
    Upmost respect for you for getting through that, well done.

ah thanks B :) I was pretty determined to do it, it'll stand to me on the day for sure and if its good enough for TBL....
    annapr wrote: »
    Good for you AM! You got a nice morning for it, hope you are getting some rest now. Getting out and doing that will help with the jet lag for sure. Fair play to you!

thanks A! yes it was a beautiful morning, dark when I was starting though so ran through the sunrise again, stunning. Only slept for an hour earlier so hopefully won't be too banjaxed tomorrow....

just before the sunrise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Cool pic! Fair dues for getting that under the belt. That should give you great confidence on the day. Welcome back :)

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Cool pic! Fair dues for getting that under the belt. That should give you great confidence on the day. Welcome back :)

thanks! waiting for your update ;)
    aero2k wrote: »
    Well done on committing to the run and then following through. You must be so relieved that your brother is on the road to recovery.

I had half intended to join you for some of this (what a beautiful morning, any pics?) but Ososlo wore me out yesterday and I need to take a couple of days off due to a sore leg (I won't be more specific) and a broken immune system:)

awww that'd would have been lovely!! damm ososlo :D hope you're leg isn't too bad & heals quickly, next time eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Thought I passed AMK too but he didn't hear me saying hi cause he had earphones in :p

Yep - I was in a world of my own and after I passed you I thought "was that.....??"
    So I doubled back up the Furze road to try to catch you again, but must have missed you.
    Apologies - wasn't intentional :o

If you had of met Aero2k, he'd of invited you back to his and not "ignored" you like I did :p

Young lads, there's no teaching them:).

Yep - I was in a world of my own and after I passed you I thought "was that.....??"
    So I doubled back up the Furze road to try to catch you again, but must have missed you.
    Apologies - wasn't intentional :o

ha ha no worries, I was on my last mile and struggling big time so could just about manage a Hi A :) beautiful morning for a run, hope you enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

ha ha no worries, I was on my last mile and struggling big time so could just about manage a Hi A :) beautiful morning for a run, hope you enjoyed it.

It was a great morning. I was out on Sat morning at Sunrise and the Park at Sunrise is a wonderful place.
    Liked your photo btw.

Monday 11th Jan 4 miles easy @ 11:13 avg HR 128

The plan said 3 miles and while the body was feeling tired from yesterdays run in the beginning, I was enjoying it so much I tagged on another mile, beautiful evening.

Tuesday 12th Jan 5 miles easy @ 11:05 avg HR 133

again the plan said 3 miles easy with strides but when I was out the door I realised I only had 4 miles with strides programmed into the watch so decided to that instead. Ended up doing the strides in a nearby industrial estate & the jog home afterwards brought the total mileage to 5.

Wednesday 13th January: 9 miles including 2 x 4 miles @ mp HR

I made a mess of setting up the workout for this, the first lap was supposed to be 1 mile warm up, the 2nd 4 miles @ mp HR the 3rd .5 miles @ easy, 4 miles @mp and 1 mile cool down. Having uploaded the run I see that I didn't have a distance in lap 1 :rolleyes: this means lap two's HR & pace are too slow for a period bringing down the average as I thought I was still warming up... Anyway, other than that not too bad, I was tiring towards the end and the legs were feeling it but I had been expecting that given the last few days and TBH it wasn't as bad as it could have been. Happy enough. Again it was a stunningly beautiful morning coming through the park.

Lap Distance Time Pace GAP Elev HR
      1 0.0 mi 1s 26:49 /mi 24:23 /mi -0 ft 89 bpm
      2 4.0 mi 41:57:00 10:29 /mi 10:31 /mi -20 ft 140 bpm
      3 0.5 mi 05:29 10:58 /mi 11:07 /mi -10 ft 139 bpm
      4 4.0 mi 40:54:00 10:13 /mi 10:30 /mi -147 ft 145 bpm
      5 0.5 mi 05:54 11:31 /mi 11:26 /mi 2 ft 142 bpm

sunrise 1

Sunrise 2

FD, you're a great woman for the pics - but I can't actually see these ones.

On Saturday evening Ososlo and myself were just saying we could have done with you there to capture the lovely sunset. (she had noticed it, not me - I was seeing double while she was as fresh as a daisy - or she's the best actress ever:))

aero2k wrote: »
    FD, you're a great woman for the pics - but I can't actually see these ones.

On Saturday evening Ososlo and myself were just saying we could have done with you there to capture the lovely sunset. (she had noticed it, not me - I was seeing double while she was as fresh as a daisy - or she's the best actress ever:))

wow! I'm honored to be the subject of conversation by not one, but two boards legends :) I forgot to make the links shareable but they should be ok now, clearly am more tired than I'm willing to admit :D

I had to google Annie Liebovitz, not sure I'm quite up to her standard...

wow! I'm honored to be the subject of conversation by not one, but two boards legends :) I forgot to make the links shareable but they should be ok now, clearly am more tired than I'm willing to admit :D

I had to google Annie Liebovitz, not sure I'm quite up to her standard...

Sure you know you can always rely on me for a random, obscure reference.

Just giving you something to aim for:).

Lovely pics btw.

Thursday 14th Jan: Recovery 4 miles @ 11:20

Torville & Dean eat your heart out... started off with 1 mile at the track as I haven't run there since it was re-opened and I was pretty sure my clubmates have forgotten who I am :D headed out on the road once their session started but holy god it was icy. On the upside it helped keeping the pace slow!! and OMG it was BALTIC. Definitely not shorts weather :p:p took me hours to thaw out again but I do love running in that cold, much more enjoyable (apart from ice). Headed back up to the track for the last mile as less icy there.

Friday 15th Jan: Strength Session x 3 rounds

Upper Body
    Push ups 30 seconds
    shoulder rotations forwards with weights (1 1/4 lb) 30 secs
    shoulder rotations backwards with weights x 30 sec
    running arms with weights x 30 sec
    shoulder punch forward with weights x 30 sec
    shoulder punch up with weights x 30 sec

Lower body
    Walking lunges x 30 secs
    high hurdle jumps x 30 secs

Core
    side twists with 3kg medicine ball x 1 min
    plank x 1 min
    side plank x 30 sec

have been seriously neglecting S&C despite former promises to keep on top of it but no more! As a result this was harder than it should have been but very glad to get it done. I plan to use the club gym on a Tuesday & Friday eve every week, if I haven't posted it here feel free to give me a virtual kick in the backside :)

I've also done zero foam rolling this week but will get that done tonight now, otherwise I"ll be paying for it on Sunday.

The track is back open ? That was quick. Cinder again or Tartan ?

tarmac :D

phase 1 is complete, it'll end up as a tartan track I think before the summer.

I posted this yesterday in the events forum, hope too see a lot of you there, for anyone who hasn't done this race before its 3 times through the village to fantastic support olympics style :) very well organised and always a super spread afterwards.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=98433108#post98433108

Saturday 16th January 3 miles @ 11:01 avg HR 153 :eek:

Started the morning with some park run volunteering, record numbers in attendance due to operation transformation and a super atmosphere, hopefully all the first timers really enjoyed themselves & will stick with it. Followed as always by coffee & this week some tips on Rotterdam and pacing marathons from the king of pacers :) (as well as a watch lesson so I don't mess up my session again :p) Did some visiting I hadn't gotten around to over xmas then headed for the pool. A quick (slow!) 3 miles first, not sure what was up with the HR, thought initially it was a wardrobe malfunction but actually I wasn't feeling great on the run and when I got into the pool I realised just how damm tired I am, everything was a struggle although I eventually got into my stride. Only stayed 20 mins though followed by a lovely sauna. I could feel yesterdays workout in my shoulders & stomach.

Plan for tomorrows 18 miles is to do the Frank Duffy 5K race loop 6 times, I'm not sure I can face the north road again and this route is perfectly flat, the last 3 or 4 miles are to be at MP so that'll be interesting!!

You've another 18 miles tomorrow :eek: Good lord missus the marathon is going to be easy after all this! BTW The Frank Duffy is 10 miles, no ? Don't do that six times ;)

see, tired, better get off to bed soon :D I meant Tom Brennan.... at least I got the distance right!!!

Sunday 17th January 18.2 miles @ 10:57, avg HR 138...

Up to the phoenix park before 8am to meet tang and borrow some books from him (how to become a proper runner and stop arsing around with slow paces :D ) Nice to catch up with you and mbarr (who's 18 miler looks a whole lot prettier than mine on strava!) Anyway, down to Castleknock gate to meet a club mate who was keeping me company for 10 miles, a godsend and very much appreciated. In the end, because I needed to find a toilet we didn't do all those 5k loops (and note nothing is open in the PP before 10am on a sunday except the tearooms) Those first 10 miles were great, everything felt good, we chatted away but a soon as she left I felt tired, as the miles went on I wondered how the hec I was going to do any @ mp. The avg HR was also high in those last few miles but when I tried to slow down to bring it down my legs would cease up... so in the end I ignored it and just ran as comfortably as I could.

Got stuck in to MP at mile 15 with the intention to hold it for the last 3 miles. Luckily this is where AMK spotted me so I at least looked like I was running :D nice to see you again today A. Also spotted Mick Clohisey, obviously Ordinance Survey & Furze road are where all the cool people hang out :pac:

I couldn't hold the MP for the 3rd mile, well, I probably could have if I'd even tried but at that point my legs were sore, hips, hamstrings, calves and I just quit & went back to easy pace for the last mile. I could stop nagging Tang about his quad and go and get a massage myself!!

https://www.strava.com/activities/472233074

WTD: 43.4
    MTD: 103
    YTD: 103

Goals for next week:
    - bed early every night
    - drink more water
    - foam roll every night
    - don't mess up the session :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

really well done today, AM, don't be too hard on yourself... that's a big week after a tough couple of weeks! I think I was ready to quit at this stage in the plan when I did it, so you're well ahead! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Yeah, good going there AM. Getting the miles in is the most important thing. Don't sweat the MP miles - especially as I don't think they're in the plan anyway. :p

Murph_D wrote: »
    Yeah, good going there AM. Getting the miles in is the most important thing. Don't sweat the MP miles - especially as I don't think they're in the plan anyway. :p

They were added by meno when he made some changes but yeah I'm not overly concerned about tthem, I guess I'm just questioning what I'm doing when I see others easy paces, & wondering if I'll ever be any good at this running craic !,