Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

You will do brilliant with the plans FD.

I'll be trying to catch you over the year ahead :cool:

You won't have to try v hard! Once you're back to normal (soon) you'll be shooting off into the sunset :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Landslide victory, very well deserved & done AM.

tang1 wrote: »
    Landslide victory, very well deserved & done AM.

Aw thanks - will it make me run faster :D

Not sure I deserve it at all but thanks for all the votes guys :) Gwyneth paltrow style Oscar speech on the way soon :p

Thursday 17th Dec: 4 miles @ 11:32 AVG HR 126, cadence 163

Kept the HR very low on this recovery, was feeling tired after Wednesdays run and the legs, quads in particular, were tender, felt the better of the nice gentle pace by the end of it.

Friday 18th Dec: rest, though I'd get to the gym for a strength session but life got in the way, didn't even get to foam roll, I'll pay for that...

Saturday 19th Sept: 5 miles @ 11:06 avg hr 134, cadence 168

Headed to St Annes parkrun to witness the smackdown of the year, had planned to run first & cheer later but tiredness got the better of me, not a great sleep last couple of nights. Cheered on the gang & great to see KennyG getting in under the 21 mins, hard luck to Murph, so damm close, but a pb is a pb and it was HOT and very windy. Great to see aquinn knock another 20 seconds off her 5k time too :) and Mrs Mac with her sub 26. BG you will come back better & faster next time.
    Coffee and catch up afterwards in the café, followed by 5 miles around the park in the company of BG, such a beautiful park but oh gosh what a SHAME they've destroyed it with this awful tarmac path right in the middle of some pretty forest where once there lay a trail run of magnificent beauty which contained no cyclists or walkers ..... (was that OK BG???) HR a 'bit' higher than it should have been, oops, all that chatting as we jogged around – also it was very hot today, 17 degrees in the car when we got back :eek: WTF? and I could notice a bit of a wheeze in my own breathing possibly from the humidity. Thoroughly enjoyable morning.

5 miles on grass/path/trail :)

Sunday 20th December: 14.2 miles @ 11:04 AVG HR 136 avg cadence 167

Did the first 6.5 miles solo, bumped into TGFR, nice to see you again today :) and then met Anna, aquinn & Murph in the visitors centre car park for round 2, promptly abandoned by aquinn & murph but that's fine, whatevz :cool: had the lovely Anna for company along with the amazing Mick Clohisey who we passed 3 times – now there's an athlete and watching him run is a sight to behold....sigh. On a completely separate note ( :p ) my HR was higher for the 2nd part of this run that it should have been, my HR easy pace is just too slow for company :) but thank you Anna for staying with me and for the lovely run and the chat, much appreciated. We had a little Rotterdam finish line practice as we sprinted through the gates of the visitor centre arms aloft :D
    Followed by lunch in the café with aquinn who had finally rejoined us.

Week: 39
    MTD: 98
    YTD: 1,180
    Rotterdam: 16 weeks

despite the wind yesterday the park was looking resplendent in the winter sun, even the usually uninspiring North Road wasn't looking bad at all..

North Road

North Road 2

Monday 21st December 3 miles easy @ 11:33 avg hr 125 avg cadence 167

No problem keeping this very easy this morning, legs were tired, body was tired, hauled my ass out of bed after rubbish sleep, walked the dog and then back out for 3 miles as I had another xmas lunch at work today and knew I wouldn't have the energy or motivation this eve. Started off a nice crisp dry morning then horrible cold sleety type rain.

Tuesday 22nd December 4 miles @ 11:20 avg hr 129 avg cadence 162

first 'bad' run in a while, wasn't feeling the love for this before I left the house this eve and about half way through I didn't feel great, a bit dizzyish, that happens occasionally so knew I just had to get through as stopping doesn't really help. Hips feeling a bit tight all day today, haven't had as much opportunity to rotate office chair with swiss ball in the last week and it's having an impact. The best christmas pressie will be not sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day 5 days a week! I bet I'll notice a big difference..

Wednesday 23rd December: Session Running home for Xmas :) 10.5 miles @ 10:44 avg HR 142

We were given a half day today yipee so decided to do this run home in the nice daylight (and rare sunshine!) very bloody windy though!. Instructions for this were 3 x 2 miles @ HMP – 10 mile pace with .5 mile @ easy pace between each one & a warm up and cooldown added on. HMP-10 mile HR for me is zone 4 (144-154), I set up the workout for a 2 mile warm up and 1.5 mile cooldown which would bring me from work to Hansfield train station – I'm getting closer to running the whole way home! It started out a beautiful day even if a very windy in sections but by the time I got to Clonsilla I was actually getting cold & had to put on a hat I luckily had in my pocket – I would have run a loop to bring this to 11 miles (& knock a club mate off the leader board) except at that point it was bitterly cold and very grey. Otherwise I quite enjoyed this! I do find it hard to get the legs to settle into easy pace after doing a faster section. The paces are not as good as I'd like to have seen them but the effort & HR was spot on, hopefully I'll see these improve soon enough, its only week 3...

Lap Distance Time Pace Elev HR
    1 2.0 mi 22:47 11:03 /mi 72 ft 122 bpm
    2 2.0 mi 19:55 9:39 /mi 78 ft 152 bpm
    3 0.5 mi 06:04 11:40 /mi 25 ft 135 bpm
    4 2.0 mi 20:25 10:11 /mi -2 ft 153 bpm
    5 0.5 mi 05:52 11:19 /mi 21 ft 137 bpm
    6 2.0 mi 20:05 10:06 /mi -17 ft 151 bpm
    7 1.5 mi 18:28 11:35 /mi -6 ft 138 bpm

https://www.strava.com/activities/455002944/overview

will be out volunteering in Cabinteely on Stephen's day if anyone fancies helping out or running off their turkey or both! I have a lovely route along the seafront planned for my LR on Sunday then.

Happy Christmas folks, hope santa brings lots of running related pressies and no one misses too many runs especially Tang, Martyboy & NE, the PB fairy is watching :D

Thursday 24th December: Recovery 4.1 miles @ 10:42 avg hr 111, avg cadence 166

I'm guessing the 10 hours sleep I got last night is the reason for the low avg HR, had a late night out celebrating but a long lie in – thought I'd struggle thought this but was very enjoyable, felt easy & relaxed,, sun was shining although it was cold but a nice crisp cold, not the damp we've been haviing.

Friday 25th Dec: 6.3 miles @ 10:03 avg hr 136 avg cadence 173 include 3.1 miles @ Hartstown Parkrun

Decided to swap my 5 miles easy on Sat for a run today and join in the Harstown Christmas Day parkrun, there were only two in Dublin so couldn't really resist given its my local :) headed up early to get 2 miles done pre race but ended up with 3 miles warm up, spotted a few clubmates and went to the trouble of telling them I'm just jogging this morning, in other words, I'll be slower than I usually am, don't judge me :D managed to keep it reasonably reigned in, started very close to the back and stayed there throughout but was nice to have some company running on a wet & freezing Christmas morning, nice atmosphere, caught up with a couple of old running buddies and can tuck into my christmas dinner & champers guilt free now.

Saturday 26th Dec: rest, Very glad I switched my days around as got zero sleep last night. Headed up to do some parkrun timekeeping in Cabinteely, the rain held off for all bar the last 5 mins so wasn't as bad as it could have been! 57 runners turned up, great atmosphere & fun as always.

Sunday 27th December: 16.12 miles @ 11:01 avh HR 132 avg cadence 165

Originally thought I'd do this on the seafront from Fairview to Sandycove & back & hook up with the Fat Turkey crew then but got my days wrong :rolleyes: Decided to just to the PP so I'd have water in the car & a gel in case needed. Set of around 10am in the most beautiful weather, sun shining, chilly but gorgeous with the sun and the mist in the trees – need Aero2k here for the poetry :) Only other runners out at this point. Thought I'd do 3 loops from Castleknock Gate down Chesterfield Ave & around the north road. Got 2 done and though I couldn't face another one so decided to do a 6 mile out & back through Castleknock. Big mistake, went the wrong way and ended up in a dead end/on the dual carraigway so turned back and still had another 3 miles to do in the park again, struggled a good bit on these last few miles, the tiredness catching up with me but stuck at it and finally the watch beeped 16. It had gotten cloudy & quiet cold by the time I was done and the park was full of families out walking, glad to be leaving at that point. Had stopped at the car after each loop for a slug of water, stomach was growling loudly by the end :) Felt grand almost immediately after stopping, grabbed a quick shower & sambo and out the door to do some more visiting/catching up.

Week: 44.3
    MTD: 170
    YTD: 1252.8
    Rotterdam 15 weeks

longest ever weekly miles whohoo! I feel ok!! legs are a bit tired but I remember coming in from my long runs last year and not being able to function at all for the rest of the day :)

Hope everyone had a super Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I was wondering about your seafront plan for today alright! :) See you tomorrow!

Great mileage for the week!

annapr wrote: »
    I was wondering about your seafront plan for today alright! :) See you tomorrow!

Great mileage for the week!

in fairness, who holds a race on a monday :D:D good luck tomorrow!! give it socks

Monday 28th December 3 miles @ avg hr 123 pace 11:18,

Legs were very tired and heavy on this run but surprisingly the HR was quite low again. Did two loops of the village on a dry balmy morning, then headed over to Sutton for the Fat Turkey Run and into wet & windy conditions! Very glad not to be racing in that!! met FBOT (still haven't remembered to ask him what it stands for....) Anna , aquinn & bungy girl just before the off, wished them luck & took shelter in the church for a while, hooked up with Dubgal then to take up very important supporters position about 300m from the finish. Shamed FBOT into taking a place just before the line, cheered a smiling BG & less smiling (but happy) aquinn and completely embarrassed Anna :D so job done. Very enjoyable afternoon & nice to see that everyone enjoyed their run (crazy loones...)

2 more lbs down :) making it 1 stone now since August, delighted, am the lightest I've been in 25 years :eek: and still could lose another stone, from next Monday I'll be cutting out the last of the rubbish & alcohol from my diet.

Tuesday 29th December 5 miles @ 11:01 avg hr 136

Went up to the PP to do a recce of the route for Fridays race as I don't trust tang when he says its flat :p ok, he might be telling the truth this time :) looks like a nice enough course even if its loops.. Not sure what was going on with the HR but mile 1 had my HR up around the 170''s!!! I decided to ignore it and just run by feel & keep an eye on the pace, the HR settled right down from the 2nd mile onwards, dropping as each mile ticked off, very odd, usually it’s the other way around. Anyway, another stunningly beautiful day in the park, sun was out but the storm is coming. I was running along Furze road and passed a lovely elderly man on walking stick, 'good girl' he says to me, 'keep it up so as you don't end up like me, you won't regret it' I smiled and stopped briefly for a quick chat, he told me he can only walk a few hundred meters but he makes sure to get a walk in every day as one day he won't be able to walk at all. So sad, made me feel extra lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Thanks again for the support yesterday. Love getting the rowdy cheers :D.

Well done on the weight loss - and over Xmas as well! My sober, sugar-free January starts on Friday :eek:

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Thanks again for the support yesterday. Love getting the rowdy cheers :D.

Well done on the weight loss - and over Xmas as well! My sober, sugar-free January starts on Friday :eek:

I know, terrifying right :eek: according to murph it won't make any difference so lets prove him wrong :p

Firedance wrote: »
    I know, terrifying right :eek: according to murph it won't make any difference so lets prove him wrong :p

Hah, me too... Although you don't look at all like you have another stone to lose!

I'm inspired by your man on the bench... At least he's getting out every day for a walk, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

You must have great willpower Firedance to be losing weight this time of year with all the temptation about. well done

The Muppet wrote: »
    You must have great willpower Firedance to be losing weight this time of year with all the temptation about. well done

its more to do with the increased mileage than the willpower TM!! I have been reasonably careful, but I have had plenty of treats too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭aero2k

Set of around 10am in the most beautiful weather, sun shining, chilly but gorgeous with the sun and the mist in the trees – need Aero2k here for the poetry :)

"Earth has not anything to show more fair
    Dull would he be of soul who could pass by a sight so touching in it's majesty"

There ya go - sorry it took me so long to come up with something suitable*.

I may have "borrowed" a few words...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

That's great milage, no wonder you're losing weight. I've a feeling 2016 will be a year of more pb's for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Not sure what Friday is, FD, but good luck with it. Hope the wind stays calm and it's a good start to the running year!

aero2k wrote: »
    "Earth has not anything to show more fair
    Dull would he be of soul who could pass by a sight so touching in it's majesty"

There ya go - sorry it took me so long to come up with something suitable*.

I may have "borrowed" a few words...

aww that's lovely S! thanks :)
    chickey2 wrote: »
    That's great milage, no wonder you're losing weight. I've a feeling 2016 will be a year of more pb's for you!

he he I know! maybe a name change to 'The Meno weight loss plan' :D
    Not sure what Friday is, FD, but good luck with it. Hope the wind stays calm and it's a good start to the running year!

Thanks M! its the Tom Brennan 5K in the PP that I'm doing instead of this weeks session which was interval reps @ 5K pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Just catching up here - sterling work, keep it going. Don't mind me on the "won't make a difference" jibe. Nothing works for me, but your experience may vary!

Wednesday 30th December 4.2 miles easy including 6 x 10 sec hill sprints - @ 10:59, avg HR 128

Windy!! wow and we're not getting the worst of it here, god help anyone in Cork I believe its dreadful down there. Just did an out & back so I could use the railway bridge for the hill sprints..

So that's my last run of 2015!

Dec 155 miles
    1,237 miles for the year, V 632.1 miles for last year :)

Happy new year everyone, see you on the other side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Deadly, well done.

See you Friday.

What you're taking a day off? :) great mileage, you are set up for a great year in 2016, starting on Friday of course! Good luck with it!

annapr wrote: »
    What you're taking a day off? :) great mileage, you are set up for a great year in 2016, starting on Friday of course! Good luck with it!

I can't believe I"m typng this, I won't be racing on Friday, I got a call earlier from my sister in law to say my brother's had an accident, its serious but for now, I hope, not critical, I'm booked on a flight over in the morning. How life can change in an instant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I can't believe I"m typng this, I won't be racing on Friday, I got a call earlier from my sister in law to say my brother's had an accident, its serious but for now, I hope, not critical, I'm booked on a flight over in the morning. How life can change in an instant.

So sorry to read this, Hope everything turns out ok... Thoughts and prayers with ye....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Sorry to read that, I hope your brother makes a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭mbarr

So sorry to hear this, hope everything is okay. Thoughts with you and your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Ah no, very sorry to hear that. Safe travels and I hope your brother has a good recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Really sorry to hear that AM, hope everything works out ok. Take care of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Oh dear, safe journey and hope all better than thought when you get there x