Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

GvidoR wrote: »
    I've heard a lot of truck drivers use magnets to fool the tachographs, so they can drive longer periods than allowed.

Just going through the Garda twitter you'll see more. Caught one in Waterford as well today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I've heard a lot of truck drivers use magnets to fool the tachographs, so they can drive longer periods than allowed.

They've become a big thing in the industry now as the newer digital tacho's are harder to fiddle hence the magnet to make the truck think it's stopped. The gardai are well up on them at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

There was a thing on TV a little while ago about these truck drivers. It was quite interesting. Some tachographs have the driver cards that you insert, and some would borrow a card from someone else and swap them over at some stage.

Also they went undercover and called some private sellers as well as Volvo truck garage if they knew of some workarounds for the tachographs and they all were able to refer to someone who could bypass those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

There was a thing on TV a little while ago about these truck drivers. It was quite interesting. Some tachographs have the driver cards that you insert, and some would borrow a card from someone else and swap them over at some stage.

Also they went undercover and called some private sellers as well as Volvo truck garage if they knew of some workarounds for the tachographs and they all were able to refer to someone who could bypass those things.

Do you have a link?

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Do you have a link?

Even if I did have it, I doubt it would be much use to you in Latvian language. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

I've come to the conclusion that there's 2 types of motors poster. The 'regulars' who post about their cars, enjoy the craic, share pictures etc.

Then there's those that love arguing about the rules and laws of the road and OP blaming. Some of these posters I've never seen share pictures or have the craic in this chat thread. Frustrating watching what could be a decent thread hijacked by posters thinking they're still in AH. :mad:

Or is it just me? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

its-easy-to-be-a-hardman-on-the-internet.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

NickDunne wrote: »
    I've come to the conclusion that there's 2 types of motors poster. The 'regulars' who post about their cars, enjoy the craic, share pictures etc.

Then there's those that love arguing about the rules and laws of the road and OP blaming. Some of these posters I've never seen share pictures or have the craic in this chat thread. Frustrating watching what could be a decent thread hijacked by posters thinking they're still in AH. :mad:

Fookin spot on dude

its-easy-to-be-a-hardman-on-the-internet.jpg

10849731_10204639330895081_7653469614159009367_n.jpg?oh=a62bae1f17dfb5bc0354649c9647d24e&oe=573CD458

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAMDAAAAJDc2ODUyNzUxLTIzZmUtNDllNi05NzU4LTc3MzJjNWJiZjMxYg.jpg
    aztek.jpg
    800px-mitsuoka_viewt_011.jpg

Happy now? :pac:

10/10 for the aztek yoke! :pac::pac:

If that Aztek had chape tax we'd all be blind I think :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

10/10 for the aztek yoke! :pac::pac:

First thought was Walt! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

shietpilot wrote: »
    If that Aztek had chape tax we'd all be blind I think :D

...and high on crystal meth :D

Having a little fight with Escort's courtesy lights. There are pins for both front doors but the light comes on only when the driver door is opened. I took both pins out, swapped them around, pressed them a million times but it's still the same - comes on only when driver door is opened.

1918261_1106489482704133_1281546442253034176_n.jpg?oh=0f7fe32cfd6cc4b1920f910cbd7fa4b4&oe=57066444

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Am I the only one who likes the multipla?
    :(

I think the lights up near the windscreen are cool something abit different but that's the only thing about them that I like.

Yes.

Having a little fight with Escort's courtesy lights. There are pins for both front doors but the light comes on only when the driver door is opened. I took both pins out, swapped them around, pressed them a million times but it's still the same - comes on only when driver door is opened.

I wonder if each switch has its own relay? I doubt it but if they do its probably stuck.

If it was real I'd rock it :D

fiat_multipla___time_attack_by_octagonalpaul-d8550dm.jpg

Nobody is stopping you from building it, Nick. :)

If it was real I'd rock it :D

Jaysus, the driver's side window is about twice as wide as the passenger's side window.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

CIP4 wrote: »
    They've become a big thing in the industry now as the newer digital tacho's are harder to fiddle hence the magnet to make the truck think it's stopped. The gardai are well up on them at this stage.

8916f527a7de9467cc803dff530c7f7625ecc07180412dc94761065e9f14c4fc.jpg
    Absolutely not! Cool car. Its so cool, you don't even have to care about what others think, its like John Candy's hat in Uncle Buck. He loved the fact the hat actually angered people. I love the Multipla not only because I like its mad looks, but also because it annoys people. :p
    I'm considering getting a diesel one and annoy people on 2 fronts at the same time.

Lets do it right :D

8055870069_e633bf594b_z.jpg

8916f527a7de9467cc803dff530c7f7625ecc07180412dc94761065e9f14c4fc.jpg

Bitches love truck drivers or as they call themselves transport engineers / commodities relocation specialist etc :pac: seems there is a fancy name for every occupation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Lets do it right :D

8055870069_e633bf594b_z.jpg

Someone on here has one like that...

I'd love one! Plenty of room to lug music gear around in. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The digital tacho's have been around a while. Think they're mandatory on vehicles made after a certain year. It's been a while since I've used one. Even then it was only on the operator side, not the driver.

I heard rumours years ago that they wanted to do the same on taxis. I think they'd have a war on their hands if that happened. It makes complete sense but try explaining that to a taxi driver...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,209 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

RgmHkLJ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The want for an early nineties Merc high, the prices. STRONG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

CIP4 wrote: »
    Bitches love truck drivers or as they call themselves transport engineers / commodities relocation specialist etc :pac: seems there is a fancy name for every occupation.

Who you calling a bitch?

:P