Garda Siochana FB Page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The UK police generally turn a blind eye to it. Effectively de-criminalising it in some jurisdictions. Giving a kid a record over this is the actions of a lowlife.

They do it around here aswell...,I sees gaurds turning a blind eye to youngsters of 12/13 smoking it on side of the street and turning a selective blind eye to drink drivers.....know lads who drink drive every day and never stopped despite visiting various pubs during the day....,and others who never drink getting stopped 2/3 times a day and getting bagged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

pablo128 wrote: »
    God help you if you get stopped by a woman guard. They must down a bottle of vinegar and a couple of lemons before each shift.

I have & I totally agree. I got stopped in England at night. They asked me politely to have a look at the back of my car - no lights at all. They joked about "now you know why we stopped you". They helped me swap bulbs around to get one light working & then told me to give their number if I got stopped by another police car.

I used to do wildlife rescue & a swan was stuck on the M4. The police turned up & closed the motorway - all 6 lanes & they helped me catch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

God help you if you get stopped by a woman guard. They must down a bottle of vinegar and a couple of lemons before each shift.

'Hello Gard'
    'ARE YOU SAYIN I'M TOO SHORT TO BE A GARD?'
    'sorry gard?
    'DON'T SORRY ME, GET OUT OF THE FECKIN CAR!!!!!!!!!!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Nodin wrote: »
    'Hello Gard'
    'ARE YOU SAYIN I'M TOO SHORT TO BE A GARD?'
    'sorry gard?
    'DON'T SORRY ME, GET OUT OF THE FECKIN CAR!!!!!!!!!!!'

I remember getting arrested in Gorey when I was younger for fighting. Me and my mate both 6'3" and steaming drunk standing in the public office and this little 5' nothing woman Garda standing roaring sh1te at us with her little squeaky voice. She wasn't impressed with us laughing in her face all the same.

Actually got away with that one because we didn't start the fight. Your one looked gutted as we left the station.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I remember getting arrested in Gorey when I was younger for fighting. Me and my mate both 6'3" and steaming drunk standing in the public office and this little 5' nothing woman Garda standing roaring sh1te at us with her little squeaky voice. She wasn't impressed with us laughing in her face all the same.

Actually got away with that one because we didn't start the fight. Your one looked gutted as we left the station.

See this is why we cant have nice things ...... or police

you get the police you deserve folks

mynamejeff wrote: »
    See this is why we cant have nice things ...... or police

you get the police you deserve folks
    We deserve police roaring abuse at us? I don't get your logic. People get arrested every day. Are they all to be verbally abused, even if they are deemed to have done nothing wrong like myself and my buddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Are you suggesting Gardaí should be allowed change the law or that they should only enforce the laws they want to?

Are you suggesting that gardai shouldn't be allowed to exercise any discretion?

That's interesting, coming from a Garda

your the one who was steaming drunk fighting in the street and showing childish disrespect for police . you do know that by rights you should still have been done for fighting and being in your worlds "steaming drunk " ?

yet this mini garda you laughed at and disrespected gave you a chance ?

or you thing a childish drunk involved in fights shouldnt be reprimanded by the police ?

Any one else se what i mean when i say we get the police we deserve ?

your the one who was steaming drunk fighting in the street and showing childish disrespect for police . you do know that by rights you should still have been done for fighting and being in your worlds "steaming drunk " ?

yet this mini garda you laughed at and disrespected gave you a chance ?

or you thing a childish drunk involved in fights shouldnt be reprimanded by the police ?

Any one else se what i mean when i say we get the police we deserve ?
    Sigh... Am I going to have to explain?

This guard was making sure we didn't just leave while they were carting the other guy into the cells. (having attacked my younger brother while on a night out.) She didn't 'give us a chance'. She abused us from the start, making references to 'Dublin scum' among other insults. So we wound her up by laughing in her face. The arresting guard came back out and took our details and said he would be in touch. He rang a fortnight later and said there would be no charges against us.

Now, what do you mean by 'we get the police we deserve'?

Sigh... Am I going to have to explain?

This guard was making sure we didn't just leave while they were carting the other guy into the cells. (having attacked my younger brother while on a night out.) She didn't 'give us a chance'. She abused us from the start, making references to 'Dublin scum' among other insults. So we wound her up by laughing in her face. The arresting guard came back out and took our details and said he would be in touch. He rang a fortnight later and said there would be no charges against us.

Now, what do you mean by 'we get the police we deserve'?

so you were treated fairly then ? and reprimanded from being drunk and involved in a fight , doesn't seem like you ve learned much from the experience though.

Its a short phrase . you really cant under stand what it means ?

Ok ok might be you have an "issue"

It means that the police are formed and shaped bythe people and environments that they work in. That is why the police in say west kerry are not the same as the police in west dublin. Do you understand now ?

In your case do you think that might be our actions on that night were a factor in how you were spoken to.

or are you one of those people who expect a policeman to be a robot and smile and say yes sir when abused threaten and spat at by people ?

so you were treated fairly then ? and reprimanded from being drunk and involved in a fight , doesn't seem like you ve learned much from the experience though.

It means that the police are formed and shaped bythe people and environments that they work in. That is why the police in say west kerry are not the same as the police in west dublin. Do you understand now ?

In your case do you think that might be our actions on that night were a factor in how you were spoken to.

or are you one of those people who expect a policeman to be a robot and smile and say yes sir when abused threaten and spat at by people ?

Now you are talking sh1te, misrepresenting what I have just said, and lying. Good luck to you. I won't be engaging with you again. Feel free to claim this as a victory for yourself. I would expect nothing less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I was caught with about €20 of hash and about 3 joints. Garda didn't even confiscated it. That was in Dublin 1, so they're used to a lot worse there

Maybe the problem is that the Guards are trained or fixated on dealing with drunks & apply the same rules to polite sober people. I had only been here one week & I was driving an English reg camper van. I got stopped at a checkpoint & a female guard starting telling me about how she could seize the vehicle for no tax. I pointed out that I was on holiday & that the UK tax was up to date. I was waved begrudgingly on with no apology.

Are the Guards told that it's wrong to smile & be pleasant? The best that I have ever seen them is at Electric Picnic. We joke that someone must of slipped something in their coffee to help them chill.

And that is one of the problems. We should be treated equally irrespective of where we live & how well we know the local Guard.

The Guards now remind me of how the English Police were years ago when corruption was rife & there was no proper complaints proceedure.

Why was the photo posted under the 'Operation Thor' banner?

Thor is allegedly a -
    five million euro plan to blitz prolific burglary gangs
    ...and target organised criminals

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/major-garda-crackdown-on-burglary-gangs-with-operation-thor-34162945.html

Is confiscating 50 euros worth of weed and overtly claiming it as a victory for the above 'operation' reasonable? Does it go towards justifying the 5 million euro being spent on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

They do it around here aswell...,I sees gaurds turning a blind eye to youngsters of 12/13 smoking it on side of the street and turning a selective blind eye to drink drivers.....know lads who drink drive every day and never stopped despite visiting various pubs during the day....,and others who never drink getting stopped 2/3 times a day and getting bagged

If you are going to make something up at least attempt some realism. Are you honestly saying there is a non drinker being tested for drink driving three times a day as some kind of vendetta? That makes no sense and nor do any of the other fantasies in the post.

I always find that people with no regard for the law tend to be the most disrespectful to the gardai.

dirtyden wrote: »
    If you are going to make something up at least attempt some realism. Are you honestly saying there is a non drinker being tested for drink driving three times a day as some kind of vendetta? That makes no sense and nor do any of the other fantasies in the post.

I always find that people with no regard for the law tend to be the most disrespectful to the gardai.

So why do virtually all of my law abiding friends including elderly neighbours dislike & mistrust them ?

Discodog wrote: »
    So why do virtually all of my law abiding friends including elderly neighbours dislike & mistrust them ?

Trust in the gardai is quite high in this country. Try Google for any number of polls. Attached is one http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/public-trust-in-garda-high-despite-controversies-1.1751102

I can't say why everyone you know mistrusts them. I don't know anything about you or your friends.

Are you saying I'm lying....do you think it's a good use of Garda resources to bag this individual a couple of times a day and harass him over the course of a personal dispute (he was riding the gaurds wife :pac: )

I've posted no fantasies :confused::confused:

Do you think I don't see gaurds passing 12/13 year olds smoking joints and not doing anything about it on a regular basis....or that I've been in pubs and seen gaurds on duty meeting up with other gaurds off duty and drinking while watching racing??
    (Some of whom are distantly related to me?)

Are you saying I'm lying....do you think it's a good use of Garda resources to bag this individual a couple of times a day and harass him over the course of a personal dispute (he was riding the gaurds wife :pac: )

Do you think I don't see gaurds passing 12/13 year olds smoking joints and not doing anything about it on a regular basis....or that I've been in pubs and seen gaurds on duty meeting up with other gaurds off duty and drinking while watching racing??

I think he was suggesting that you are making it up that you are a liar that you have some sort to vendetta political or otherwise against Gardai and that because of that you are inclined to exaggerate and flat out lie because of your already built up hatred toward gardai ?

remember that thread over in politics when you tried to claim the Gerry mcCabe was somehow responsible for his own murder ?

Grudge much ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Don't trust the gardai at all unfortunately. Their treatment of their own whistleblowers and their handling of the water protests are a decent reflection on the level they operate at now.

You said others who did not drink were being 'bagged' three times a day, not one person. And you are correct I do think you are lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Are you suggesting Gardaí should be allowed change the law or that they should only enforce the laws they want to?

The Gardai didn't seem so keen to enforce the laws on penalty points and a few of those drivers caught went on to kill people on our roads after their points were quashed by their Garda mates.

And when a Garda got caught growing 77 cannibis plants up in Dundalk back in 2011 he didn't receive the 10 year mandatory prison sentence for possession of that amount, he got off scot free surprise,surprise while people caught with far less serve their time.

You can't have it both ways, the law should apply equally to all citizens but in Ireland clearly it does not. It's part of the reason why people have lost respect for the Gardai.

Pfft aswell your not being paid to think :pac:

No skin off my nose like.

At a very minimum it was extreme exaggeration as pointed out in my previous post. But I am pretty sure it's more likely just fantasy.

But if this kind of thing makes you happy plough away.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The Gardai didn't seem so keen to enforce the laws on penalty points and a few of those drivers caught went on to kill people on our roads after their points were quashed by their Garda mates.

And when a Garda got caught growing 77 cannibis plants up in Dundalk back in 2011 he didn't receive the 10 year mandatory prison sentence for possession of that amount, he got off scot free surprise,surprise while people caught with far less serve their time.

You can't have it both ways, the law should apply equally to all citizens but in Ireland clearly it does not. It's part of the reason why people have lost respect for the Gardai.

Im sure its fairly common knowledge that only officers of the rank of superintendent and above could ever quash penalty points.
    At that rank appointments are politically made and nothing to do with actual gardai

the garda who was caught with the 77 cannabis plants i assume you mean this crook who had been sacked more than then years previously ?
    you think he hand many friends left ?

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/local-news/former-garda-caught-growing-cannabis-1-2360736

A suspended sentence is just about in line with anyone who comes before the courts in those circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

It's called excercising discretion, using your own judgement in a given scenario as opposed to merely crossing the X's and O's.

EazyD wrote: »
    It's called excercising discretion, using your own judgement in a given scenario as opposed to merely crossing the X's and O's.

Exactly

And tbh I don't think that comparing the above to the penalty points saga is beneficial to either side of the argument. Those wiping points for friends and associates cannot be said to have been using discretion based on their better judgement.

Exactly

And tbh I don't think that comparing the above to the penalty points saga is beneficial to either side of the argument. Those wiping points for friends and associates cannot be said to have been using discretion based on their better judgement.

It's part of the culture that still believes that certain citizens are better & more trustworthy like bankers, doctors, priests etc. It's like the old English class system. The Guards need to grow up but I am hearing that the young ones are just as bad.

The criminal is always the one "known " to the Guards. You never hear the English police using this phrase.

Everyone loved this except some Policemen

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BO8EpfyCG2Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭richy

but at what point does this "kid" get a record ?

After he first get caught or the second time ? or forth ?

the Uk tried the decriminalized thing for a short period a few years ago and reverted on it because of health and political pressure

I do agree with very limited and tightly controlled and properly regulated.

First time with a small amount = probation act. Second time = conviction. This is not always the case. I know first time offenders who have gotten a conviction. Life ruined over a bit of smoke.
    Trust in the gardai is quite high in this country. Try Google for any number of polls. Attached is one http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/public-trust-in-garda-high-despite-controversies-1.1751102

I can't say why everyone you know mistrusts them. I don't know anything about you or your friends.

You can trust the guards ie that they wont rob you. Doesnt mean you respect them or think that they do a good job.

I always have had a lot of respect for Guards. Even when my friends (when i was younger) were all like "**** the pigs etc" I never joined in and actually defended them. Being put on the wrong side of the law for some grass and seeing how much they will **** you for it, pisses me off.

Got caught with a bag of weed driving my car. Just finished work and had just picked it up. They are doing me for possession as well as being in charge of a vehicle and allowing someone to possess drugs (ME).

The second offence I can lose my licence for. I am so angry it is hard to express.