Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

shietpilot wrote: »

Seen that, it's pretty good alright. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Glass tends to cause all sorts of problems for infrared cameras. I had to remove the power supply for the ir leds in cameras I was using behind glass. I'd regard it as a gimmick in a dashcam. If you are getting good pictures at night then you are seeing a sensor/lens that makes the most of low light levels rather than ir "nightvision". In my humble, uninformed and amateur opinion as always :-)

Fair enough tbh I know very little about dash cams so I wouldn't argue it with you as you are probably right I never thought about the glass. My knowledge of ir cameras would be from the cameras we have in our house but then they are a very different to dash cams to be fair but the night vision on them is the sh!t unbelievable but then at 400 quid a camera or something like that you'd kind of expect them to have a decent night vision it wouldn't be ideal if everytime the house was dark you couldn't see anything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I have eaten so much today i feel like my S4's engine bay :(

10170717_1075428565824737_6811040567827959464_n.jpg?oh=8b1370459665b7891cebc666f717b98d&oe=57216696

Might find room for some cake mind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

shietpilot wrote: »
    What happened?

It's fine, old pic of seals being replaced

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

10170717_1075428565824737_6811040567827959464_n.jpg?oh=8b1370459665b7891cebc666f717b98d&oe=57216696

Oh, automotive porn! Pure filth, keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Some rain out there guys. At one stage I didn't know whether I was on the road or in a river. Roads tore up, gravel everywhere. Twice I had to turn back and take another route. Was driving along there, had a quick look at the river beside me, thought to myself, "jeez thats not far off coming out on the road" - turn my eyes back onto the road to a sea of water infront of me. (It had infact come onto the road). Locked on the brakes and somehow I stopped before ploughing into it. Debated whether to go through it or not, but I decided to go through it slowly - with my phone light out the window to monitor it's height. Got as high as the sill, but no higher, so I just about got through. If it got any higher than the sill I would have reversed back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I got the car back from VW yesterday and it turned out that the injectors were actually replaced already back in 2012 by VW... the kicker is that the guy didn't even know about the recall and forked out for the 4 new injectors and had it done in a VW garage!
    Felt quite bad for the previous owner but delighted he saved me a fortune :D

Jeez lads did any of you see the video of the lad on the scrambler that died during Christmas?
    Saw it in the dashcam thread, he must have been absolutely bombing it when he hit the Guards - might be wrong but don't even think the lights were on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I thought he hit another scrambler? that's what the news said.

those scramblers should be confiscated if used in a public place. thats not the first death

Might need to modify that sentence there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

That puckered sphincter moment,

Or driving through floodwaters and feel the car start to move with the force of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Went to the sales today and came back out to my car to find a foreign lad looking into my car and trying to open the passenger door. Stay vigilant lads.

Ciano35 wrote: »
    Went to the sales today and came back out to my car to find a foreign lad looking into my car and trying to open the passenger door. Stay vigilant lads.

Is he still in hospital?

Unless it was a very old car with no security system he wouldn't of been able to do much. Even if he got into it he'd be hard put to get it started unless he had some equipment with him. Most of the car robberies seem to be with the keys these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Ciano35

CIP4 wrote: »
    Unless it was a very old car with no security system he wouldn't of been able to do much. Even if he got into it he'd be hard put to get it started unless he had some equipment with him. Most of the car robberies seem to be with the keys these days.

03 focus, I had it locked anyway but I saw him at other cars too probably just chancing his arm looking for an unlocked one. I'd say it was valuables he was after. Told security anyway and they said they were sending someone to have a look.

Ah ok Ye I suppose if he got a few pairs of expensive sun glasses and sat navs etc that would be a fair few euros worth.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,313 ✭✭✭✭beertons

colm_mcm wrote: »

those scramblers should be confiscated if used in a public place. thats not the first death

Sure they'd just go and get another one.

Giving a 16 year old the keys to a scrambler is madness I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

They are confiscated if caught but the kind that think it okay to ride around public streets on these aren't the kind who willingly stop for the guards when asked. And the guards are not allowed to give chase

It certainly isn't the first death, there was a death last year and one of the riders from the incident you're referring to was taking part in some kind of ceremony to commemorate his friend who died last year on a bike

There is no talking to these people. Let them kill themselves as far as I'm concerned. Its just a shame when they take innocent people with them or leave how they left the two Guards in that car on Christmas day, probably scarred for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Loads of the little pr1cks at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

NickDunne wrote: »
    Loads of the little pr1cks at it

that was why i was delighted it was blowing a gale and lashing rain when i was visiting my mums xmas day as dozens of these little bastard kids have these bikes and fly around with no lights on day or night and i came close to knocking them down before, not that the blind dopes even noticed me once :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

davycc wrote: »
    that was why i was delighted it was blowing a gale and lashing rain when i was visiting my mums xmas day as dozens of these little bastard kids have these bikes and fly around with no lights on day or night and i came close to knocking them down before, not that the blind dopes even noticed me once :mad:

That's one of the tamer vids, have a look through them, some of them are out on the m50 pulling wheelies in the hard shoulder. All it takes is a bad landing or the front wheel to go and they're shooting out under a car! :eek:

One of the least memorable reasonably priced cars. To me the Liana was the definitive RPC

18k for a car that was ragged around a test track every week and with a 1.6 engine. Someone needs their head examined.
    I guess though it's safe to say that the new TG has done away with that segment of the show.
    EDIT: the money went to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

bear1 wrote: »
    18k for a car that was ragged around a test track every week and with a 1.6 engine. Someone needs their head examined.
    I guess though it's safe to say that the new TG has done away with that segment of the show.
    EDIT: the money went to charity.

There are a lot of rich car collectors in the UK. £18k was probably sfa

It makes a good collectors car to be fair.

Thank Jebus, it finally happened.

23990016201_8a038cec06.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

One of the least memorable reasonably priced cars. To me the Liana was the definitive RPC

I can't understand why they went mainstream with the Astra.