Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anyone notice new cars with fogs that come on when you turn? They're not a brand new feature, but I've only started noticing. Like when turning a left corner the left fog comes on, and when they straighten up it turns off. It's mad!

Anyone know what the reason is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Its around a few years now but it looks ridiculous.
    If anything they blind you from the indicator flash.
    Don't think it was a good move myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone notice new cars with fogs that come on when you turn? They're not a brand new feature, but I've only started noticing. Like when turning a left corner the left fog comes on, and when they straighten up it turns off. It's mad!

Ya they're fairly pointless, even if stopped at a junction waiting to turn right/left with just an indicator on (wheels straight) the relevant one comes on. I see that even slight turning of the steering will activate them, like weaving in and out between parked cars, whereby the steering isn't turning that dramatically at all.

They're called directional headlamps.

I have them on the C5 and I actually like them. You can turn them off handy enough in the menu system, but I think they're quite good on the ould backroads and such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Did some checking re a recall from VW for the injectors on certain engine codes to be replaced as they are problematic.
    Seems my engine is also affected but there is no mention of the injectors being done.
    Question is, as the car is foreign and the recall I'm reading shows that it's active in the UK are VW recalling all cars with that engine code or only specific to certain countries?
    I'm just curious as if they haven't been changed then I'd like to have them changed here in Poland but not sure if VW Poland would honour it.
    Need to build up the Polish to have them called but thought i'd ask first to save myself the embarrassment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Quick question lads, I've a mk4 golf 1.4, just wondering if anyone could tell me whether it's a base model or a comfortline as it's registered as a CL 4-speed, but it has a 5 speed box, it has the comfortline seats and the rear arm rest but no front arm rest and also wind-up windows. It also has the bora style alloys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

bear1 wrote: »
    Did some checking re a recall from VW for the injectors on certain engine codes to be replaced as they are problematic.
    Seems my engine is also affected but there is no mention of the injectors being done.
    Question is, as the car is foreign and the recall I'm reading shows that it's active in the UK are VW recalling all cars with that engine code or only specific to certain countries?
    I'm just curious as if they haven't been changed then I'd like to have them changed here in Poland but not sure if VW Poland would honour it.
    Need to build up the Polish to have them called but thought i'd ask first to save myself the embarrassment :D
    Really doubt VW UK would accept a car registered elsewhere.

Is there anyone around you who can help you with conversation with VW Poland?
    Mycroft H wrote: »
    [...] Citroen DS ad [...]

I just wanted to mention that. :D

joujoujou wrote: »
    Really doubt VW UK would accept a car registered elsewhere.

Is there anyone around you who can help you with conversation with VW Poland?

I just wanted to mention that. :D

No sorry, I meant that I'm reading about the recall on VW forums in the UK and they are mentioning the engine code which is effected and it's my engine code as well.
    So I wanted to find out if VW Poland might honour something which seems to be affecting UK cars. Suppose I won't know till I call :D
    Yeah have someone that can ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,270 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

So a few weeks ago I was in a narrow side street in Cork only to be met by one of these dopes in an oversized SUV thing flying towards me.

With nowhere to go I had to mount the rather stupidly large kerb and "skinned" the side of the tyre doing so. Took it to 2 tyre places who said it looked fine and it's been grand since then, but it's NCT time and I'm guessing I'll have to fork out for a replacement first? Pissed off as there's plenty of tread left on it and it's done a few 1000 km since.

What ya reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Damien360

My superb does that. Cannot seem to switch that function off. When you put it in reverse, the 2 fogs come on. Utterly pointless as it lights nothing extra that your headlight did not already light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Hadn't noticed the fog light thing but I noticed that in new cars when you turn on the indicator, the side/parking light goes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

No sorry, I meant that I'm reading about the recall on VW forums in the UK and they are mentioning the engine code which is effected and it's my engine code as well.
    It's possible your Polish is better than my English, so...
    So I wanted to find out if VW Poland might honour something which seems to be affecting UK cars. Suppose I won't know till I call :D
    Yeah have someone that can ask.
    ...maybe try to ask them yourself? :D

What engine code you're talking about, btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Damien360

GvidoR wrote: »
    Hadn't noticed the fog light thing but I noticed that in new cars when you turn on the indicator, the side/parking light goes off.

I have seen that in new mercs. It looks like the entire headlight goes out for the indicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

passed my annual car driving test again for the 4th year in a row since the new strick disabled rules came in ! much delight :D

davycc wrote: »
    passed my annual car driving test again for the 4th year in a row since the new strick disabled rules came in ! much delight :D

Annual car driving test? What? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So a few weeks ago I was in a narrow side street in Cork only to be met by one of these dopes in an oversized SUV thing flying towards me.

With nowhere to go I had to mount the rather stupidly large kerb and "skinned" the side of the tyre doing so. Took it to 2 tyre places who said it looked fine and it's been grand since then, but it's NCT time and I'm guessing I'll have to fork out for a replacement first? Pissed off as there's plenty of tread left on it and it's done a few 1000 km since.

What ya reckon?

A lot of tyre places especially the franchised ones will tell you the tyre is fecked if there's even a hint of damage. If they say it's ok it'll probably pass. If not it would just be a visual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Congrats davy, must be tough facing that every year!

Annual car driving test? What? :eek:

have a small brain/body disability so have to do the test every year with a consultant under eu rules and go to for medicals at the same time too and get everything signed off and above board . makes no bad affect on my insurance thankfully :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

With the right tools it would take less than 30 minutes so I don't see the problem. :)

The rain stopped anyway so I did the oil change.

The wind did not however. A lot of swearing was done when the oil was being blown into my face :pac:

YbFocus wrote: »
    Congrats davy, must be tough facing that every year!

thanks im delighted esp considering i did no specific practice and i usually drive like a nun :D

have a small brain/body disability so have to do the test every year with a consultant under eu rules and go to for medicals at the same time too and get everything signed off and above board . makes no bad affect on my insurance thankfully :)

Oh. Congrats on passing the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Ye well the DRLs go off not the side parking lights and it's only on certain cars and only happens when just DRLs are on no parking or dips on for example mk6 and 7 golfs do it my Megane doesn't but you can easily see the indicator flash even with the DRLs on so its not necessary.

As for the cornering lights on the fogs I have never had them all the newer vag stuff does have them I can't see them being overly useful. A lot of the 2006 Clio onwards had cornering lights built into the headlamps but they are a better set up than cornering lights just using fog lights IMO.

toyota mr2 had them 25yrs ago and long citroen before that..
    kind of pointless but cool when i used them on a mates jdm mr2 gts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I thought the cornering lights were a gimmick when I first heard of them. Not sure how useful a fog light coming on would be. On the golf there is a bulb within the main headlight case that points perpendicular to the dipped beams. It comes on as said when cornering at low speeds and I really find it useful for the entry to our home. Driving the other car it is very obvious it is missing it for me.

Congrats on the good news Davy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

_Tyrrell_ wrote:
    Quick question lads, I've a mk4 golf 1.4, just wondering if anyone could tell me whether it's a base model or a comfortline as it's registered as a CL 4-speed, but it has a 5 speed box, it has the comfortline seats and the rear arm rest but no front arm rest and also wind-up windows. It also has the bora style alloys.

Did you try popping the reg into the likes of cartell, motorcheck or mywheels? They should return the spec to you.

joujoujou wrote: »
    It's possible your Polish is better than my English, so...

...maybe try to ask them yourself? :D

What engine code you're talking about, btw?

Haha it's BMR so it's one of the affected engines. And knowing my luck with the previous car I'll be affected too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

When you arrive home and your missus has done this to your car

CBFmgb3l.jpg

Ive become the person I despise

When you arrive home and your missus has done this to your car

Ive become the person I despise

a bit cheesey but sure ive seen worse lol :D

merry xmas kieran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

reminds me of :p