Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I've seen some apparatus' like that on some questionable websites. But I have to say, I've never seen them worn that way. Interrrrresting
    I should have explained that it is his milking stool, for sitting on for hand milking his cows. It would have made a bit more sense:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,754 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

When/where was that taken? Do many milk cows by hand now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Home house is 3 storeys high with another lump on the back of it. I don't like it tbh. That house is just at side of yard already has a proper roof on it it's just a matter of how you tie a new building into it but definitely where I want to live in future

Sounds like a Georgian set up. Check that its not a protected structure. Home place is and it includes all the farm buildings. Technically meant to get pl permission before do anything with them. In practice never had to but if converting it to a house they would be stricter. Looks like a cart house if its series of open pillars to front. Problem with these for conversion need really good damp proofing. Consider installing that now if going to convert later to dwelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

whelan2 wrote: »

Ah in fairness that looks a modern setup compared to them kerry boys.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Those hand milking lads are the extreme fundamentalist dairying jihadis that be on here from time to time declaring death to diet feeders.

He has nice wellies ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

barnaman wrote: »
    Sounds like a Georgian set up. Check that its not a protected structure. Home place is and it includes all the farm buildings. Technically meant to get pl permission before do anything with them. In practice never had to but if converting it to a house they would be stricter. Looks like a cart house if its series of open pillars to front. Problem with these for conversion need really good damp proofing. Consider installing that now if going to convert later to dwelling.

Too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

You dairy boys do not hang around! Nice job; lay it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

90% of new build around the country offer nothing to the local area, some are hideous!!Big fan of conversions even tho they might not make economic sense

barnaman wrote: »
    You dairy boys do not hang around! Nice job; lay it yourself?

Ourselves and a neighbour. Took 5 m.

How will you clean it out? Will post a pic tomorrow of our milking parlour its a very old stone building

Loader and bucket can go in half way and pull it out. Don't let it get too deep it shouldn't be too bad. 100 times better than what was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭gazahayes

kevthegaff wrote: »
    90% of new build around the country offer nothing to the local area, some are hideous!!Big fan of conversions even tho they might not make economic sense

House down the road here that's locally called the ugly house. Their son is in school with my nephew who's 4/5 and they give him am awful time.
    Father did up the home house here 40 plus years ago doing 90 % of the work himself. And he still reckoned he'd of built 2 houses for what it cost him.

Loader and bucket can go in half way and pull it out. Don't let it get too deep it shouldn't be too bad. 100 times better than what was there

Plenty hire companies will rent out mini loaders or diggers, fierce handy for that kinda job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Iirc, Switzerland in 2013.

One of the 'benefits' of having all the cows dry is the chance to ramble aimlessly around the web:)

Just hope Santa beings me a bigger data allowance:o

Edit: this is the site, lots and lots of photos of cows.

http://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2015/10/cows/411955/

It's no.17

Happy news, see the dairy payments are up on agfood as due for payment , go in to financial self services and its under payments due ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Everyone I know in Switzerland, at least in the mountains, has the cows in tie stalls with a loose chain for winter - from the Abzug usually in the first week of October when the rain on the high pastures starts falling as snow through to April or May when they go back up. You can tell when the cows are in residence because all of their bells hang in order of seniority on the side of the barn.

Milking by pipeline in the stalls, tails tied up, and some really complex stainless steel rail driven hiab type grab lifts which move barn dried hay from the loft above the cows down to the feed space in front of them.

When they are up in the chalets during the spring & summer making cheese it's similar temporary stall arrangements with a bucket milker or primitive pipeline, straight into the cheese vat.

kowtow wrote: »
    Everyone I know in Switzerland, at least in the mountains, has the cows in tie stalls with a loose chain for winter - from the Abzug usually in the first week of October when the rain on the high pastures starts falling as snow through to April or May when they go back up. You can tell when the cows are in residence because all of their bells hang in order of seniority on the side of the barn.

Milking by pipeline in the stalls, tails tied up, and some really complex stainless steel rail driven hiab type grab lifts which move barn dried hay from the loft above the cows down to the feed space in front of them.

When they are up in the chalets during the spring & summer making cheese it's similar temporary stall arrangements with a bucket milker or primitive pipeline, straight into the cheese vat.

There must be numerous artisan cheeses or is it centralized at some stage of production?

Dawggone wrote: »
    There must be numerous artisan cheeses or is it centralized at some stage of production?

Premium cheeses produced by individual families during the spring & summer - the best ones at two different altitudes in two separate chalets - sent down at the Abzug to be aged at the Molkerei (creamery). In addition other cheeses, butters etc. would be produced more centrally at the Molkerei with surplus milk, and I think also with all "winter" milk.

It's very altitude dependent - I may be wrong but I always assume that the reason so many old Alpine villages (mainly ski resorts today) are at 1100m odd is that it's as high as you can get and still rely on water unfreezing during the day in the winter so that the animals can drink. The villages are actually the winter farm yards.

At least in our part of the Oberland, the Molkerei itself was a very small operation with milk arriving in churns & by trailed tank. Huge rivalry with neighbouring villages.

Not sure of the exact numbers but I think there were 7000 cows in the wider valley - a lot more cows than full time residents - and I think we were about 2000 residents in the village, so I'm guessing 1500-2000 odd cows to our village creamery making cheese for their various extended families with the surplus going in to the village. Three other creameries within 12km doing the same.

If you went a couple of dozen km down the mountains towards Gruyere the scale might well have changed a bit, these things are very local.

Premium cheeses produced by individual families during the spring & summer - the best ones at two different altitudes in two separate chalets - sent down at the Abzug to be aged at the Molkerei (creamery). In addition other cheeses, butters etc. would be produced more centrally at the Molkerei with surplus milk, and I think also with all "winter" milk.

It's very altitude dependent - I may be wrong but I always assume that the reason so many old Alpine villages (mainly ski resorts today) are at 1100m odd is that it's as high as you can get and still rely on water unfreezing during the day in the winter so that the animals can drink. The villages are actually the winter farm yards.

At least in our part of the Oberland, the Molkerei itself was a very small operation with milk arriving in churns & by trailed tank. Huge rivalry with neighbouring villages.

Not sure of the exact numbers but I think there were 7000 cows in the wider valley - a lot more cows than full time residents - and I think we were about 2000 residents in the village, so I'm guessing 1500-2000 odd cows to our village creamery making cheese for their various extended families with the surplus going in to the village. Three other creameries within 12km doing the same.

If you went a couple of dozen km down the mountains towards Gruyere the scale might well have changed a bit, these things are very local.

How many different cheeses in the village?
    I presume that's where you learned the cheese makers trade. What kind/style of cheese are you aiming for? Compté?

Dawggone wrote: »
    How many different cheeses in the village?
    I presume that's where you learned the cheese makers trade. What kind/style of cheese are you aiming for? Compté?

If I learned anything about cheesemaking it was by osmosis & heavy consumption! - I lived there as an "International", primarily used it as a European base & to school my somewhat free-range children. I do have a couple of great advisers over there, who are about as shocked by my imminent conversion to cheese making as the locals in West Cork!

All the cheeses in that village, at least the family ones, would be close to Comte / Gruyere style - generically Swiss Bergkasse. They are made in the chalets at altitude as the cows go up further behind the snow line to graze. The highest cheese chalets are spectacular, often up on small plateaus or peaks - beautiful in the winter as well as the summer. The swiss being the swiss they don't allow any kind of development in those buildings so they are still only used for grazing / cheesemaking despite what would be eye-watering value as ski chalets..

The next door village did a good line in soft goats cheese being the ancestral home of the Saanen breed.

If I learned anything about cheesemaking it was by osmosis & heavy consumption! - I lived there as an "International", primarily used it as a European base & to school my somewhat free-range children. I do have a couple of great advisers over there, who are about as shocked by my imminent conversion to cheese making as the locals in West Cork!

All the cheeses in that village, at least the family ones, would be close to Comte / Gruyere style - generically Swiss Bergkasse. They are made in the chalets at altitude as the cows go up further behind the snow line to graze. The highest cheese chalets are spectacular, often up on small plateaus or peaks - beautiful in the winter as well as the summer. The swiss being the swiss they don't allow any kind of development in those buildings so they are still only used for grazing / cheesemaking despite what would be eye-watering value as ski chalets..

The next door village did a good line in soft goats cheese being the ancestral home of the Saanen breed.

Thanks. Informative and descriptive. More please.

West Cork has a little hive of cheesemakers, you're in the right place.

So what kind of cheese are you going to make?

I was expecting a lump of chess the day you bought that tank kow;)
    Other one sitting in the yard if anyone interested 2k litre

Had to get vet out today, springing heifer with mastitis, weanling with pneumonia. Ended up we cut the spin off , it was completely covered in warts, also got him to handle a heifer I suspected wasnt in calf, she's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Had to get vet out today, springing heifer with mastitis, weanling with pneumonia. Ended up we cut the spin off , it was completely covered in warts, also got him to handle a heifer I suspected wasnt in calf, she's not.

Another spring due cow bulling here yday, I'd assume salmonella again, 4th one so far, all early spring, pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Only 2 rows of cows left to dry off tomorrow great feeling but boy its a hatefull job

Timmaay wrote: »
    Another spring due cow bulling here yday, I'd assume salmonella again, 4th one so far, all early spring, pain in the hole.
    what will you do with them? This heifer didnt go in calf last winter and was scanned in calf during the summer, I am thinking first mart after christmas

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Only 2 rows of cows left to dry off tomorrow great feeling but boy its a hatefull job

Have to dry off march calvers here yet, may leave it till new year depending on form tomorrow and wed. Balls of a job alrite but grand milking a row or a few rows less.

what will you do with them? This heifer didnt go in calf last winter and was scanned in calf during the summer, I am thinking first mart after christmas

Will she heal that quick after removing spin? Never done it here but have a march calver here with a teat destroyed dunno what happened it but she is showing no sign of soaking up in the quarter, she not dried yet.

Milked out wrote: »
    Will she heal that quick after removing spin? Never done it here but have a march calver here with a teat destroyed dunno what happened it but she is showing no sign of soaking up in the quarter, she not dried yet.
    ah no the heifer thats not in calf will go to mart. The one that had her spin cut off is in calf- for now- temp of 106, on metacam and betamox ,so she will be here for a while