Smartphones have ruined concerts, pubs, etc

They've ruined cinemas too with light polution and people answering calls.

I actually don't mind when the screen lights up in the cinema, because it means I can get better aim with throwing popcorn at them, when some gob****e does take out their phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I think if people are really enjoying themselves, they will have no time to waste it on the phone recording it and will instead be engrossing themselves in the experience.
    It is acceptable for short clips, but if you do it constantly, then you should have stayed at home as that is not how you enjoy a concert.
    The last concert I was at was the Taylor Swift concert, and in fairness, it wasn't a problem. People seemed too busy dancing and singing to bother much with their phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I'd rather be on my phone than be in a conversation about Kerry playing Galway in 1971.
    I'm sure that's because you know that Kerry were beaten by Cork in the Munster Football final, so didn't make it out of Munster. Fair play to Offaly for beating Galway in the final, though.
    Fleawuss wrote: »
    Jesus lads were getting a bit grumpy aren't we!
    Hey lads, it looks like Fleawuss is the gig-recording guy! :pac:

I will admit that I have done it to a small extent in the past, but never for more than one song, and usually not the full song, just a sampler to have as a reminder. Sometimes even a photo of the gig, from the angle you witnessed it, can bring back enough memories of the gig.

(And I don't own a smartphone.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There was a Paul McCartney concert on BBC a couple of years ago. It was being filmed in the BBC studios by professional cameramen and the audience were well aware it was going to be broadcast on television. Despite this they were all standing there holding their phones up filming the stage. I was watching this concert on television thinking it would be nice to be there in person while the people that were actually there were watching the concert through a tiny phone screen. Bunch of morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

There was a Paul McCartney concert on BBC a couple of years ago. It was being filmed in the BBC studios by professional cameramen and the audience were well aware it was going to be broadcast on television. Despite this they were all standing there holding their phones up filming the stage. I was watching this concert on television thinking it would be nice to be there in person while the people that were actually there were watching the concert through a tiny phone screen. Bunch of morons.

FYI
    eh that was Faul McCartney, Paul McCartney died in 1966 and was replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Ah begod n begorrah, don't I remember it well the first time darkie o'Hanlon brought in the first nooz paper to Slatterys. Sittin dere, readin n learning sthuff. Hasn't been the same since faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I have no problem with smartphones at concerts. I have a big problem with drink at concerts. Always ruined by people going to/coming from the bar and the jacks, and the high number of drunk people at Irish concerts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Hey lads, it looks like Fleawuss is the gig-recording guy! :pac:

I will admit that I have done it to a small extent

We all partied. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Was at David Gray in the Bord Gais last year and the ushers went around pointing the flashlight of shame on phone users. It was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I saw Saint Etienne in the National Concert Hall a few months ago. A couple of times, people were told to put the phones away, but only if they were easy for the ushers to get to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Worst thing about smartphones and pubs is the death of the table quiz. Used to love heading to them, a bit of craic with a few pints. But no one can be relied upon not to cheat anymore. Was at one a few years ago, where some of the questions were next to impossible. One table were quite obviously checking answers on their phones, but the most irritating part was them cheering when the answers were called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

What has really ruined pubs is loud music that stops you from chatting with your mates

There has always been loud music for as long as I can remember.

Smartphones have ruined the nightlife because people spend more time recording the moment than actually living it. Sometimes I do be almost afraid to log into facebook after a night out in case I see a photo of myself doing something stupid. God be with the days when you could dance like nobody was watching.

Also if someone gets into trouble or passes out, people are more likely to record it now than actually help the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Worst thing about smartphones and pubs is the death of the table quiz. Used to love heading to them, a bit of craic with a few pints. But no one can be relied upon not to cheat anymore. Was at one a few years ago, where some of the questions were next to impossible. One table were quite obviously checking answers on their phones, but the most irritating part was them cheering when the answers were called out.

I've actually been to one where everyone was requested to put their phones in a box behind the bar and it was so much fun! Nobody hiding in their phone, people actually had to talk between rounds and no cheating!

It's more difficult to approach the young wans nowadays too because they're glues to their phones. What is worrying is that these phones seem to be getting bigger. If someone has a phablet you nearly have to jump up to see who is on the other side of it. I could be just an auld perv though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

thelad95 wrote: »
    I've actually been to one where everyone was requested to put their phones in a box behind the bar and it was so much fun! Nobody hiding in their phone, people actually had to talk between rounds and no cheating!

That sounds great, but I can't believe people actually agreed to that. Maybe its because I'm so used to everyone ignoring each other while they check themselves into Facebook, followed by taking a picture of their pint of Guinness and posting it, followed by checking for likes for the rest of the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,188 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don't really mind smartphones in pubs.. because mine and those who I drink with keep it in their pocket or bag. I'd only check for messages or whatever if I went to the toilet or the bar.. never at a table in company it's the height of rudeness.

As for gigs.. yes I agree. venues used to police it but the prevalence of them now it's just impossible, everyone has one. I hate watching a gig and someone reaches around and all of a sudden I have a quarter of an arm coming over my shoulder and an IPhone in my face.

A friend of mine is a photographer and it is a great passion.. actually I would say obsession of his and he is very good at it. He also happens to love gigs like me and all music but he spends 75% of the gig watching it through a lens and clicking away. The next day he will have a w*nkfest with his online photographer buddies about the photos and it seems of more interest then actually living in that moment of the concert that you paid to see ! For an intelligent fellow he doesn't get my point but I tend to drift away elsewhere in the crowd and meet after when he starts his snapping or else I'd snap. Just live in and enjoy the ****in moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

But the truth didn't really matter, I mean ultimately who cared if they played in 71 or 72, debate about facts that could not be ascertained at that time and in that place was the lubricant that kept many chats going.

There's nothing like being stopped mid flow when someone comes up with an answer on the f'ing phone. You should introduce a limit to fact checks per night: a bit like the Challenge Rule in tennis!
    Fact checking is one thing but this horse****e of checking the phone every two mins for Facebook/ Twitter and whatever-the-fvck-else basically says "Well, there may be something more interesting going on in my world that beats having a conversation with you":mad:

Strumms wrote: »
    A friend of mine is a photographer and it is a great passion.. actually I would say obsession of his and he is very good at it. He also happens to love gigs like me and all music but he spends 75% of the gig watching it through a lens and clicking away.

Photography is a great passion for me too and I've spent a lot of money on gear but I rarely take photos at events. I want to enjoy myself on a night out and not have to worry about getting the shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Was at U2 recently and was standing on the floor. Am 6 2 so usually have a great view no matter were I stand. I could not get over the amt of muppets recording each song on old phones and blocking everyone's view. I tapped a guy on the shoulder at one stage and asked him to lower it. People are so infatuated with their phones and living in the virtual world as the real world passes them by. In years to come in hospices I'd imagine a lot of the dying regrets will be I wish I spent less time in the virtual world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

Its a pity ya can't get a full face elastro plast ye could slap on these morons,ye know leave em blind ans speechless , but able to hear the phone,then keep ringing it on em.
    I think security staff should be equipped with dizzy stick's ,tazer's n cattle prod's at Gig's to eliminate this anti social behaviour all together,but that's me all over, I've gone soft in me auld age,year's ago ye'd give em a choice of A+E to go too, before ye dropped em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The band King Crimson have been playing concerts in the last few months, and before every gig they ask people, nicely, to put their phones away until the end. Then there's an explicit photo opportunity. Apart from the occasional exception, it's worked.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,987 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

So, you prefer to spend your time talking sh*te rather than have an answer?

You obviously haven't read Conors' vagina smashing thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,987 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Menas wrote: »
    We could have a whole subforum dedicated to what contributed to the downfall of the pub!!
    Phones.
    Greedy publicians.
    Tax.
    Too much sports on tvs.
    Not understanding their clientèle.
    12 pubs.
    The recession.
    Ear splitting music.

The smoking ban and the stringent drink driving laws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Was at U2 recently and was standing on the floor. Am 6 2 so usually have a great view no matter were I stand. I could not get over the amt of muppets recording each song on old phones and blocking everyone's view. I tapped a guy on the shoulder at one stage and asked him to lower it. People are so infatuated with their phones and living in the virtual world as the real world passes them by. In years to come in hospices I'd imagine a lot of the dying regrets will be I wish I spent less time in the virtual world.

i assume you stand at the back so people shorter than you arent blocked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭dslamjack

AHH sure Pub's started going down hill when that Pub Spy lad got going.
    Then came air fresheners in the jack's and jack paper,not the reading kind,they used to cut the evening press in to square's ,now that was real recycling.
    Pub Grub totally ruined it ,silk suits n office type's sipping spritzers or bottled water,yep that shower were never going to let the early morning lads finish their game of dart's.
    I just don't know wat auld Brendan or joxer would have made of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

esforum wrote:
    i assume you stand at the back so people shorter than you arent blocked?

I'd never stand behind someone taller than me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Prior to Jack White's gig in Kilmainham one of his roadies came on stage and asked people to keep their phones in their pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

I have no idea how young people have fun these days.

The amount of stuff my mates and I got up to during our teens/early twenties... wouldn't have done have the stuff and so would've had half the fun if camera phones were around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Prior to Jack White's gig in Kilmainham one of his roadies came on stage and asked people to keep their phones in their pockets.

Proper order.

I was at a Paul Brady concert in the NCH and we were also warned to turn off phones. A few morons didn't comply but the ushers were over to them in a flash, it was great to see it, made my night.