Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smartphones have ruined concerts, pubs, etc

• 12-12-2015 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

I don't understand people who stand there watching a concert, which they have paid up to €100 to see, through the screen of their phone. I'm sorry love but if you're putting it on Snapchat, nobody cares and if you're saving it to your phone you'll never look at that shït again.

People need to start rocking out again and remember how to live in the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

thelad95 wrote: »
    I don't understand people who stand there watching a concert, which they have paid up to €100 to see, through the screen of their phone. I'm sorry love but if you're putting it on Snapchat, nobody cares and if you're saving it to your phone you'll never look at that shït again.

People need to start rocking out again and remember how to live in the moment.

They've ruined cinemas too with light polution and people answering calls.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Cameras phones have ruined more than concerts, they've ruined every social outing. You can't do anything without some Kunt uploading it to facebook, youtube etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Cameras phones have ruined more than concerts, they've ruined every social outing. You can't do anything without some ****er uploading it to facebook, youtube etc...

Especially hostage situations and other life or death situations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Don't mind phones and cameras at gigs tbh.

The fcukers recording gigs by holding their iPads in the air warrant a slapping alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Every idiot wants their 15 minutes of fame by having something go "viral" .. not helped by so-called "news" sites that promote this stuff at the same importance as actual REAL news.

The Internet has been great from the perspective of communications, retail, banking, information and so on.. but socially it allows every muppet to have a voice or be a "celebrity". That's NOT so good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Jesus lads were getting a bit grumpy aren't we!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

On one hand its nice to have some sort of visual memories of a gig or whatever. The thing is though the people who do it for the entire gig how the **** are they able to enjoy it??

I used to take the odd photo here and there but normally just save it for sightseeing etc now. If im gonna pay big bucks to go to a gig im gonna take it all in **** the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Every idiot wants their 15 minutes of fame by having something go "viral" .. not helped by so-called "news" sites that promote this stuff at the same importance as actual REAL news.

The Internet has been great from the perspective of communications, retail, banking, information and so on.. but socially it allows every muppet to have a voice or be a "celebrity". That's NOT so good!

People who the Victorians would have locked away in a sanitorium now have a soapbox.

...remember the time when there'd be a chat that would go off in a tangent, and that tangent would be followed up and would cause a mini debate in itself. So you'd be talking about the game next Sunday between Kerry and Galway, and some fellow would refer to the semi final in 76 or was it 77, and someone else would say Enda Colleran was still playing, and each sub topic would cause a big analysis in itself.

And that's all gone now cos someone whips out a mobile and verifies the matter, ending all debate in a matter of seconds?

Well I miss those times. I wonder did it contribute to the downfall of the pub? So have mobile phones actually altered the art of conversation?

It's so pointless, someone else will put it online anyway. So when I think of the great concerts, Underworld in Dublin in 2009 or 2010, there are any number of clips on youtube to pick from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Maybe you're just boring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Alien Haze

Hang on
    just finding the answer on my mobile now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

...remember the time when there'd be a chat that would go off in a tangent, and that tangent would be followed up and would cause a mini debate in itself. So you'd be talking about the game next Sunday between Kerry and Galway, and some fellow would refer to the semi final in 76 or was it 77, and someone else would say Enda Colleran was still playing, and each sub topic would cause a big analysis in itself.

And that's all gone now cos someone whips out a mobile and verifies the matter, ending all debate in a matter of seconds?

Well I miss those times. I wonder did it contribute to the downfall of the pub? So have mobile phones actually altered the art of conversation?

So, you prefer to spend your time talking sh*te rather than have an answer?

What has really ruined pubs is loud music that stops you from chatting with your mates

Fleawuss wrote: »

He who smelt it must have dealt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I wonder did it contribute to the downfall of the pub?

We could have a whole subforum dedicated to what contributed to the downfall of the pub!!
    Phones.
    Greedy publicians.
    Tax.
    Too much sports on tvs.
    Not understanding their clientèle.
    12 pubs.
    The recession.
    Ear splitting music.

So, you prefer to spend your time talking sh*te rather than have an answer?

But getting to the answer was all the fun. Indeed usually it didn't matter if the question was unresolved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Given the amount of times I have been out in groups and watched people go through the exact same conversations/arguments as if they were some well the rehearsed play the use of a phone to put an end to it is welcomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭saltandpepper10

I think you make a very valid point which I fully agree with,but it also has the ability to stop an argumentative person or a compulsive liar in their tracts which has to be a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'd rather be on my phone than be in a conversation about Kerry playing Galway in 1971.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭warpdrive

It's funny because no phone is good enough to record the sound well enough to be enjoyable when played back.

And then we have the issue of vertical recorders...there really needs to be something done about these morons. Why aren't phones incorporating suggestions or something into their cameras when the video setting is chosen? Something popping up on screen saying "turn the phone horizontally you fuking prick" would help

Well, what people tend to forget and which I feel is quite an important factor to consider is that.. oh hang on, am getting a text here.

I think you make a very valid point which I fully agree with,but it also has the ability to stop an argumentative person or a compulsive liar in their tracts which has to be a good thing

But again the argument was part of the fabric of the pub 20 years ago. Not blazing rows, but the "no no you simple clown, sure how the f*** was Colleran playing then, he broke his leg in 70 in the Sigerson Cup...and incidentally UCG haven't won it since but they had a good run in was it 96 or 97..." and off we'd go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

Threads merged

Sod that, i want a world where everyone has the correct information. Nothing as bad as the truth getting lost amongst the Chinese whispers.

Yep, the extortionate price of drink had nothing to do with it nor the unappropriate racket purporting to be music coming from a jukebox/cat being strangled on stage

warpdrive wrote: »
    It's funny because no phone is good enough to record the sound well enough to be enjoyable when played back.

And then we have the issue of vertical recorders...there really needs to be something done about these morons. Why aren't phones incorporating suggestions or something into their cameras when the video setting is chosen? Something popping up on screen saying "turn the phone horizontally you fuking prick" would help

Or given the way human beings hold them that the camera lens or software be adjusted / designed to automatically record video in landscape. It's not as if the image is being recorded in an analogue way.

Sod that, i want a world where everyone has the correct information. Nothing as bad as the truth getting lost amongst the Chinese whispers.

Yep, the extortionate price of drink had nothing to do with it nor the unappropriate racket purporting to be music.

But the truth didn't really matter, I mean ultimately who cared if they played in 71 or 72, debate about facts that could not be ascertained at that time and in that place was the lubricant that kept many chats going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Alien Haze

NO WE'RE NOT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Saw this the other day and it sums up the OP, Ed Sheeran playing two feet away from you in a private show and what's the first thing they reach for? You guessed it :D

But the truth didn't really matter, I mean ultimately who cared if they played in 71 or 72, debate about facts that could not be ascertained at that time and in that place was the lubricant that kept many chats going.

I get completely what your saying and technology has definitely impacted society in many ways.

The so called 'social' media phenomenon has spawned a generation of spoilt egotistical attention seeking morons and effectively people are so much within their own bubble or up their own arse now that human interaction is suffering.

From the point of view that you are describing of mates having a few jars and putting the world to right with endless debates i do see what you mean in terms of maintaining that closeness and bonding with friends. Sometimes i suppose the bigger picture is greater then the actual facts getting lost in the debate.

This old pedant though is glad to have a fallback in a debate.:D

I get completely what your saying and technology has definitely impacted society in many ways.

The so called 'social' media phenomenon has spawned a generation of spoilt egotistical attention seeking morons and effectively people are so much within their own bubble or up their own arse now that human interaction is suffering.

From the point of view that you are describing of mates having a few jars and putting the world to right with endless debates i do see what you mean in terms of maintaining that closeness and bonding with friends. Sometimes i suppose the bigger picture is greater then the actual facts getting lost in the debate.

Put very well.

I'd say you won a few of the pub debates!

The conversation has changed. Points are quickly developed and facts established in an instant, not analysed and talked over.

They've ruined cinemas too with light polution and people answering calls.

I actually don't mind when the screen lights up in the cinema, because it means I can get better aim with throwing popcorn at them, when some gob****e does take out their phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I think if people are really enjoying themselves, they will have no time to waste it on the phone recording it and will instead be engrossing themselves in the experience.
    It is acceptable for short clips, but if you do it constantly, then you should have stayed at home as that is not how you enjoy a concert.
    The last concert I was at was the Taylor Swift concert, and in fairness, it wasn't a problem. People seemed too busy dancing and singing to bother much with their phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I'd rather be on my phone than be in a conversation about Kerry playing Galway in 1971.
    I'm sure that's because you know that Kerry were beaten by Cork in the Munster Football final, so didn't make it out of Munster. Fair play to Offaly for beating Galway in the final, though.
    Hey lads, it looks like Fleawuss is the gig-recording guy! :pac:

I will admit that I have done it to a small extent in the past, but never for more than one song, and usually not the full song, just a sampler to have as a reminder. Sometimes even a photo of the gig, from the angle you witnessed it, can bring back enough memories of the gig.

(And I don't own a smartphone.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There was a Paul McCartney concert on BBC a couple of years ago. It was being filmed in the BBC studios by professional cameramen and the audience were well aware it was going to be broadcast on television. Despite this they were all standing there holding their phones up filming the stage. I was watching this concert on television thinking it would be nice to be there in person while the people that were actually there were watching the concert through a tiny phone screen. Bunch of morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

There was a Paul McCartney concert on BBC a couple of years ago. It was being filmed in the BBC studios by professional cameramen and the audience were well aware it was going to be broadcast on television. Despite this they were all standing there holding their phones up filming the stage. I was watching this concert on television thinking it would be nice to be there in person while the people that were actually there were watching the concert through a tiny phone screen. Bunch of morons.

FYI
    eh that was Faul McCartney, Paul McCartney died in 1966 and was replaced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Ah begod n begorrah, don't I remember it well the first time darkie o'Hanlon brought in the first nooz paper to Slatterys. Sittin dere, readin n learning sthuff. Hasn't been the same since faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I have no problem with smartphones at concerts. I have a big problem with drink at concerts. Always ruined by people going to/coming from the bar and the jacks, and the high number of drunk people at Irish concerts

Hey lads, it looks like Fleawuss is the gig-recording guy! :pac:

I will admit that I have done it to a small extent

We all partied. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Was at David Gray in the Bord Gais last year and the ushers went around pointing the flashlight of shame on phone users. It was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I saw Saint Etienne in the National Concert Hall a few months ago. A couple of times, people were told to put the phones away, but only if they were easy for the ushers to get to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Worst thing about smartphones and pubs is the death of the table quiz. Used to love heading to them, a bit of craic with a few pints. But no one can be relied upon not to cheat anymore. Was at one a few years ago, where some of the questions were next to impossible. One table were quite obviously checking answers on their phones, but the most irritating part was them cheering when the answers were called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

What has really ruined pubs is loud music that stops you from chatting with your mates

There has always been loud music for as long as I can remember.

Smartphones have ruined the nightlife because people spend more time recording the moment than actually living it. Sometimes I do be almost afraid to log into facebook after a night out in case I see a photo of myself doing something stupid. God be with the days when you could dance like nobody was watching.

Also if someone gets into trouble or passes out, people are more likely to record it now than actually help the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Worst thing about smartphones and pubs is the death of the table quiz. Used to love heading to them, a bit of craic with a few pints. But no one can be relied upon not to cheat anymore. Was at one a few years ago, where some of the questions were next to impossible. One table were quite obviously checking answers on their phones, but the most irritating part was them cheering when the answers were called out.

I've actually been to one where everyone was requested to put their phones in a box behind the bar and it was so much fun! Nobody hiding in their phone, people actually had to talk between rounds and no cheating!

It's more difficult to approach the young wans nowadays too because they're glues to their phones. What is worrying is that these phones seem to be getting bigger. If someone has a phablet you nearly have to jump up to see who is on the other side of it. I could be just an auld perv though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

thelad95 wrote: »
    I've actually been to one where everyone was requested to put their phones in a box behind the bar and it was so much fun! Nobody hiding in their phone, people actually had to talk between rounds and no cheating!

That sounds great, but I can't believe people actually agreed to that. Maybe its because I'm so used to everyone ignoring each other while they check themselves into Facebook, followed by taking a picture of their pint of Guinness and posting it, followed by checking for likes for the rest of the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don't really mind smartphones in pubs.. because mine and those who I drink with keep it in their pocket or bag. I'd only check for messages or whatever if I went to the toilet or the bar.. never at a table in company it's the height of rudeness.

As for gigs.. yes I agree. venues used to police it but the prevalence of them now it's just impossible, everyone has one. I hate watching a gig and someone reaches around and all of a sudden I have a quarter of an arm coming over my shoulder and an IPhone in my face.

A friend of mine is a photographer and it is a great passion.. actually I would say obsession of his and he is very good at it. He also happens to love gigs like me and all music but he spends 75% of the gig watching it through a lens and clicking away. The next day he will have a w*nkfest with his online photographer buddies about the photos and it seems of more interest then actually living in that moment of the concert that you paid to see ! For an intelligent fellow he doesn't get my point but I tend to drift away elsewhere in the crowd and meet after when he starts his snapping or else I'd snap. Just live in and enjoy the ****in moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

There's nothing like being stopped mid flow when someone comes up with an answer on the f'ing phone. You should introduce a limit to fact checks per night: a bit like the Challenge Rule in tennis!
    Fact checking is one thing but this horse****e of checking the phone every two mins for Facebook/ Twitter and whatever-the-fvck-else basically says "Well, there may be something more interesting going on in my world that beats having a conversation with you":mad:

Strumms wrote: »
    A friend of mine is a photographer and it is a great passion.. actually I would say obsession of his and he is very good at it. He also happens to love gigs like me and all music but he spends 75% of the gig watching it through a lens and clicking away.

Photography is a great passion for me too and I've spent a lot of money on gear but I rarely take photos at events. I want to enjoy myself on a night out and not have to worry about getting the shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Was at U2 recently and was standing on the floor. Am 6 2 so usually have a great view no matter were I stand. I could not get over the amt of muppets recording each song on old phones and blocking everyone's view. I tapped a guy on the shoulder at one stage and asked him to lower it. People are so infatuated with their phones and living in the virtual world as the real world passes them by. In years to come in hospices I'd imagine a lot of the dying regrets will be I wish I spent less time in the virtual world.