Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I assume you can just ignore that field?

Or have some fun, pretend you worship the almighty Savior and Destructor, Cthulhu!

I remember in first year in college we were told of a guy who wrote Sun Worshipper on his registration form. Come the 21st December, 8am or so, he was wrecked hungover after going on the lash for the last night before heading home for Christmas, when the dean of the college banged on his dorm room door, demanding he come out to join him to greet the sunrise and fulfil his religious duties... :D

They always ask religion in hospitals because if someone is particularly unwell they can prepare for pastoral visitation but also they have to be aware of restrictions on care within certain religions.

It has no other bearing on treatment or priority at all.

I know in one major Dublin hospital they stopped putting up the Crib at Christmas because non christian patients were complaining. Issues are arising with several hospitals that house chapels for not catering to other religions, the likely outcome being that they have to get rid of all chapels.

I put Jedi on the last census form. My misses was not impressed and the rest of the family were put down as Catholic though no one here goes to mass. ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

I once found myself being shaken awake in hospital by a nurse (alcohol related accident) and she kept asking me my name religion, eventually she shouted name! and I replied "Pink fairy". religion!.."no thanks" and I turned over and passed out again...my wife who had been in tears until that point started laughing and told me afterwards that as soon as she heard me say that she knew I was grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's a mad question to ask.

Imagine you're in a hospital bed and someone says to you "which made up pretend friend do you think is the best and in your opinion is way better than any other made up pretend friend"?

I understand though that it has to be asked...jehovah witness and blood transfusions spring to mind.

I thought the idea was to get a dying person blessed and forgiven of sin before they pass away. They won't spend any time in pergurtory if the priest gets there in the time.

Clever Irish hospitals thinking about the bigger picture.

mfceiling wrote: »

Imagine you're in a hospital bed and someone says to you "which made up pretend friend do you think is the best and in your opinion is way better than any other made up pretend friend"?

I understand though that it has to be asked...jehovah witness and blood transfusions spring to mind.

If I was a doc I'd dress as Dracula and suck the fckers dry :)

Oscar Pistorius has had his conviction changed to murder, he's to be resentenced and will obviously be sent back to jail.

Seems the appeals judge really went to town on the ruling of the trial judge, who if I recall correctly decided he couldn't have known that shooting blindly through a door four times might have resulted in someone getting killed.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Yeah, I found that super weird when I was in A&E in the Mater years ago. I was vaguely worried that the wrong answer would see me thrown out.

The wrong answer is Jehovah's witness.

Oscar Pistorius has had his conviction changed to murder, he's to be resentenced and will obviously be sent back to jail.

Seems the appeals judge really went to town on the ruling of the trial judge, who if I recall correctly decided he couldn't have known that shooting blindly through a door four times might have resulted in someone getting killed.

Delighted to hear. Was a nonsense judgement which has been heavily criticised. Like a Ref in a big game bottling a much deserved red.

He isn't a nice guy in person at all, no one who has competed against him would have a good word to say.

Delighted to hear. Was a nonsense judgement which has been heavily criticised. Like a Ref in a big game bottling a much deserved red.

He isn't a nice guy in person at all, no one who has competed against him would have a good word to say.

Whether or not he's a nice guy isn't relevant though. I wonder if under SA law, his defence are now allowed appeal this new decision

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Whether or not he's a nice guy isn't relevant though. I wonder if under SA law, his defence are now allowed appeal this new decision

The only appeal left to him is to the constitutional court. He will need to prove that a constitutional right has been breached in the sentencing which is an uphill battle to be honest.

Of course his general demeanour has no bearing on guilt, but in my opinion he's a murderer that played the victim throughout the entire trial and that to me is despicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

The wrong answer is Jehovah's witness.

I combined these two posts and thought Pickarooney was making an epic joke about it being okay to shoot 4 times through the door if you thought it was a Jehovas witness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

If anyone here uses ulster banks online banking and your chrome stops working, uninstall trustee rapport, it is causing issues. I just lost an hour to the f**ker when I have a massive report due in a few days :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭TeoReid

I thought the idea was to get a dying person blessed and forgiven of sin before they pass away. They won't spend any time in pergurtory if the priest gets there in the time.

isn't it also about some religions not accepting certain medical treatments? Jehovah's Witnesses and blood transfusions, for example?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

They always ask religion in hospitals because if someone is particularly unwell they can prepare for pastoral visitation but also they have to be aware of restrictions on care within certain religions.

It has no other bearing on treatment or priority at all.

I know in one major Dublin hospital they stopped putting up the Crib at Christmas because non christian patients were complaining. Issues are arising with several hospitals that house chapels for not catering to other religions, the likely outcome being that they have to get rid of all chapels.

I put Jedi on the last census form. My misses was not impressed and the rest of the family were put down as Catholic though no one here goes to mass. ever.

Do they still do the thing where a priest does the rounds every day and asks if you want to pray/have communion/whatever?

Stheno wrote: »
    Do they still do the thing where a priest does the rounds every day and asks if you want to pray/have communion/whatever?

Sometimes just a chaplin. Not sure how common it is, but they do still do it and I hope they continue as even for non religious folk, sometimes its nice for lonely patients to have a chat with someone.

RIP Scott Weiland :(

Oh I so want to comment! But I know I'd be red carded quicker than Donnacha O'Callaghan :)

Think it's fairly easy to buy on leeson St....

*coughs...so I've been told...coughs*

State of the weather. I guess I'm staying in. The question is though, which unlucky delivery man am I summoning to my door? Any suggestions? I live in D2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

State of the weather. I guess I'm staying in. The question is though, which unlucky delivery man am I summoning to my door? Any suggestions? I live in D2

Get aussie bbq via deliveroo?

We're going for dinner on Saturday night to an over the top fancy schmancy hotel/restaurant.

Problem number 1 - looks like it's a suit and tie job...uptight there for a start.
    Problem number 2 - I just looked up the menu and there is literally nothing on it I'll eat.
    Problem number 3 - wife's mother and father are going (not much crack to be had with a couple who are almost 70)

Any one think of an excuse that I can pull out here - might try the old "fake my own death" if all else fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

We're going for dinner on Saturday night to an over the top fancy schmancy hotel/restaurant.

Problem number 1 - looks like it's a suit and tie job...uptight there for a start.
    Problem number 2 - I just looked up the menu and there is literally nothing on it I'll eat.
    Problem number 3 - wife's mother and father are going (not much crack to be had with a couple who are almost 70)

Any one think of an excuse that I can pull out here - might try the old "fake my own death" if all else fails.

The old "explosive diarrhoea" never fails. A few trips to the jacks, holding your stomach and looking uncomfortable and shouting curses from the throne while you're in there - she won't suspect a thing!*

* Make sure you open the windows so she thinks you're getting rid of the smell

Zzippy wrote: »
    The old "explosive diarrhoea" never fails. A few trips to the jacks, holding your stomach and looking uncomfortable and shouting curses from the throne while you're in there - she won't suspect a thing!*

* Make sure you open the windows so she thinks you're getting rid of the smell

Feed of egg sandwiches beforehand and there'll be no pretending needed...

Plain Muller rice with choc milk mixed in, dumped on the toilet and trailed from the door to the throne should seal the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

There's ERC matches on. That's a perfectly valid excuse right there.

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'm sure they'll cook you some chicken nuggets and chips if you ask really nicely mfceiling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭TeoReid

Plain Muller rice with choc milk mixed in, dumped on the toilet and trailed from the door to the throne should seal the deal

I get the feeling you've used this one before...

awec wrote: »
    I'm sure they'll cook you some chicken nuggets and chips if you ask really nicely mfceiling

Would be sweet if that was the case. Fcuking nonsense like quails eggs with green asparagus and broccoli puree.
    What's wrong with soup?
    Poached Atlantic halibut with razor clams, cockles, tarragon and watercress puree.
    Rib eye steak, chips, onion rings and pepper sauce for MF please.