If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Theres always one clown that brings a guitar to a party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭lanos

I play guitar. I never ever want to play guitars at parties but my friends know I play and so if there is a guitar at a party brought by someone else I'll normally be asked to play a song or two.

you are on the edge mate
    the next step is to bring a bandage with you to risky parties.
    if you sense that there is a guitar present, you need to move fast and fake a hand injury.
    if you do not do this, you risk being complicit in a guitar playing session conspiracy.
    All reasonable efforts must be exhausted to avoid even the suspicion of guitar wanker activity.
    the defence "they made me do it" will not satisfy the court.
    you risk being tarred with the same brush as the guitar wanker from
    The Inbetweeners 2 Movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cork guitar player

Ha Ha, yeah, hate ****e guitarists at party's,

But someone who can read the room, entertain and delight with whats appropriate, and brings some joy and good vibes, well

makes other geezers jealous I suppose ;)

Sheeps wrote: »
    I know a guitar wanker or two. I leave the party when someone has a guitar. Irish goodbye, just slip out and say nothing.

Bye then, jaysus...

I only play when asked too, I'd never force myself on anyone.

Its nice to watch someone else play of an evening, if even they have a small bit of talent/spark , even if you sour to$$ers class them as a wanker

But I do it for a living so I can do what people want to hear, thats the rub.

I reckon there are a lot of DJ's and knob twiddling gear heards here without an iota about real musical ability. Let the hate flow lads...

Disclaimer:Out of tune wonderwall covers, yeah, flamethrower time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Heckler

Bit like when I find my self in west cork. In a pub having a laugh. Couple of fellas turn up with a bodhran and a fiddle and if you make a sound you get the evil eye and ssshhhh.

Feck off I was here first.

Heckler wrote: »
    Bit like when I find my self in west cork. In a pub having a laugh. Couple of fellas turn up with a bodhran and a fiddle and if you make a sound you get the evil eye and ssshhhh.

Feck off I was here first.

Its called culture, fek back to where ever you came from then, cafe en sine or what ever floats your boat.

You go to West Cork, you should know how West Cork does things.

Some of the best nights of my life spent at mad,mental, random sessions in Hackkets of Schull.

Were you that miserable looking lonely bloke in the corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Sitting in the corner, spitting out tunes randomly to show off. Im sick of it , sick and tired of it. Theres only so much Jeff Buckley I can listen to.

Favourites include:

Kings of Leon
    Jeff Buckley
    James Blunt

I blame the women, flocking to these with a wet stain like a snail following them. Thats great and all, you do what you gotta do to get that tail, but I came here to have the craic, a few beers and a laugh, not for you to have impromptu performances.

How do you guys feel? Are you one of them? If so, whats your motivation?:mad:

Dude. It's the tail. I ain't lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,979 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

But I do it for a living so I can do what people want to hear, thats the rub.

Oh no... "It's ok, I'm a professional" guitar wanker/singer/song writer!!

I only play when asked too, I'd never force myself on anyone...

That old excuse gets used quite a lot ;)

cantdecide wrote: »

I hate being made to play

They pointed a gun at you did they ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,153 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Butthurt guitar wanker spotted itt.

sour to$$ers

Let the hate flow lads...

He was so focussed on his finger plucking that he lost the ability to spot irony...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 CodeNameEagle

So the guitarist got more attention than you...
    Pathetic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

He was so focussed on his finger plucking that he lost the ability to spot irony...

I think the post must have struck a chord with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,672 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

When I did it, I always did it for the tail. There's guaranteed to be one girl there wetting herself for ya the second you pull it out.

I ended up marrying a girl who hated my guitar wankering and I've now gone full circle to just wanting to chat/drink at the house party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

Saw this on the Classical Art Memes Facebook page today and though of this thread. :D

http://postimg.org/image/4lqjgwmq5/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭368100

This thread made me happy, nobody ever says this at the party, it's always shhhhh, he's really good. Grrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭guylikeme

Actually love a sing song at a party. Like anything, it's a free country. Nothing stopping one leaving if they don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Zimmey

guylikeme wrote: »
    Nothing stopping one leaving if they don't like it.

An option many people take. It's a shame to kill a party that was buzzing though, don't you think?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Actually love a sing song at a party. Like anything, it's a free country. Nothing stopping one leaving if they don't like it.

It's exactly this 'listen or leave' attitude that is the crux of the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭guylikeme

You could leave the room and talk outside? Why so negative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

You could leave the room and talk outside? Why so negative

It's a party, not a gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Sometimes I bring my accordion to house parties and play trad with other people there on varying instruments including but not limited to tin whistles, fiddles, banjos, flutes, guitars, etc.

Stance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

It's ****ing annoying. Maybe later on when things are winding down, but seeing Johnny attention seeker break out the acoustic as early as he can would wreck your head.

turnikett1 wrote: »
    Sometimes I bring my accordion to house parties and play trad with other people there on varying instruments including but not limited to tin whistles, fiddles, banjos, flutes, guitars, etc.

Stance?

My stance is as far away from that party as possible.:pac:

I see. Guess I'll bring the Rhianna cds next time!

Funny how it's always Rihanna vs. Diddley-idley. If only there were a third type of music.

Agreed. Some Rhianna-diddley-idley fusion perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Agreed. Some Rhianna-diddley-idley fusion perhaps.

I thought Riverdance was supposed to corner that demographic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,386 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Love the auld sing along with the guitar. You can't bate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Zimmey wrote: »
    An option many people take. It's a shame to kill a party that was buzzing though, don't you think?

Depend on your definition of buzzing really.
    Standing around talking about football/work/college etc while listening to someone elses choice of 'boom-boom' music on a too loud or too low stereo isn't everyones cup of tea earlier.

Never been to a party in a one room house yet !!

Most house parties I've been to tend to be spread between a sitting room or two, the kitchen and an outside smoking area and there's usually a different buzz in each area. If I want to talk ****e you'll find me in one area, if I want to enjoy a sing-song I could be in another.

Preference??? The sing song. I can smoke, talk ****e and listen to crap piped music 365 days of the year. The party sing-song usually means I'm pissed and in good company that I wouldn't normally be with. Only happens a few times a year so I tend to enjoy it when it does !!

Having said that...... There are some serious Guitar **** out there. I've no problem with the fellas that are having a laugh themselves and couldn't give a toss about who's singing or what key they're singing in. It's the "Sssssshhhh...listen to me and how good I am " brigade that might drive me away from it. That's when you lose the party vibe.