Dr.Winston O'Boogie wrote: » I play guitar. I never ever want to play guitars at parties but my friends know I play and so if there is a guitar at a party brought by someone else I'll normally be asked to play a song or two.
Sheeps wrote: » I know a guitar wanker or two. I leave the party when someone has a guitar. Irish goodbye, just slip out and say nothing.
Heckler wrote: » Bit like when I find my self in west cork. In a pub having a laugh. Couple of fellas turn up with a bodhran and a fiddle and if you make a sound you get the evil eye and ssshhhh. Feck off I was here first.
One More Toy wrote: » Sitting in the corner, spitting out tunes randomly to show off. Im sick of it , sick and tired of it. Theres only so much Jeff Buckley I can listen to. Favourites include: Kings of Leon Jeff Buckley James Blunt I blame the women, flocking to these with a wet stain like a snail following them. Thats great and all, you do what you gotta do to get that tail, but I came here to have the craic, a few beers and a laugh, not for you to have impromptu performances. How do you guys feel? Are you one of them? If so, whats your motivation?:mad:
cork guitar player wrote: » But I do it for a living so I can do what people want to hear, thats the rub.
cork guitar player wrote: » I only play when asked too, I'd never force myself on anyone...
cantdecide wrote: » I hate being made to play
cork guitar player wrote: » sour to$$ers Let the hate flow lads...
[Deleted User] wrote: » He was so focussed on his finger plucking that he lost the ability to spot irony...
guylikeme wrote: » Nothing stopping one leaving if they don't like it.
guylikeme wrote: » Actually love a sing song at a party. Like anything, it's a free country. Nothing stopping one leaving if they don't like it.
ShiverinEskimo wrote: » It's exactly this 'listen or leave' attitude that is the crux of the issue.
guylikeme wrote: » You could leave the room and talk outside? Why so negative
turnikett1 wrote: » Sometimes I bring my accordion to house parties and play trad with other people there on varying instruments including but not limited to tin whistles, fiddles, banjos, flutes, guitars, etc. Stance?
turnikett1 wrote: » I see. Guess I'll bring the Rhianna cds next time!
turnikett1 wrote: » Agreed. Some Rhianna-diddley-idley fusion perhaps.
Zimmey wrote: » An option many people take. It's a shame to kill a party that was buzzing though, don't you think?